Originally posted by LTC@May 16 2005, 08:47 PM

Hi about wat I know...

Car uses alternator. It starts charging the moment u switch on the engine.

Bike uses rectifier. It charges only when u revv the engine. Therefore the voltage will more or less be inconsistent. When u have difficulty starting ur bike, it's a tell tale that there's something wrong with the batt.

I don't think you're right. A rectifier is a voltage regulator. It regulates the voltage to 14 volts even when high rev, so to protect the battery. An alternator is to generate electricity, a battery charger. Both items has to be present in cars and motorbike.

• Replies 24.2k

KUKUP SEAFOOD TOUR , A.G.M & STAR WARS EP3 MOVIE

Date: 29/05/05 Sunday

Destination: Kukup Seafood Place

Time: 1030 AM

Meeting point: 2nd Link GP PETRONAS (beside ESSO)

**Agenda -To discuss the trip to THAILAND in Dec & also plans for the next 6 mths

**Will move off via 2nd Link..and back also via 2nd Link...Faster & Easier

**Pls bring along ur CASHCARD & also RM1.30 for Tg Kupang Toll

**Change money in advance...(SGD-RM)$$$$$

Attending:

1) ABATTORY

2) Al-Simmons

3) Niti

4) Soffian

5) Aikon

6) Dakar

7) Daniyal

8) Newsuit

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....

varastormer

study 1st ah bro no hurry, gd luck for ya examz ah.....:goodluck:

werxguy

dude how ya can go for da pasir gudang - pekan nenas trip tak?

abbattory

bebe abt da high windscreen its kinda true, den da 29th me tba cuz i cant always get sunday off so easily more over thai trip on dec is no no for me, confirm leave tak leh....my shows will onz da whole month...but all da best to da rest dudes....

LTC & varas

yup yup 1st sight i tot stx13 but den kena sai bmw lei.....hehe! but price alot of difference, its almost like comparing anna kournikova & boobelicious chioh bu next door.......hehehe!

:gun: :gun:

dakar

for da short trip this sunday anyone bring any emergency stuff?

i will bring these all juz in case, but those hv 1st aid kit & watever i left out juz add on here cuz i will be bring 3 boxes to help da loads...

1. 2 spark plugs

2. 2 headlight bulbs

3. worm kit

4. foot pump

5. cable ties

6. flash lite

7. super glue

8. duck tape

9. 2 auto roamin mobile phone

10. 3 litre petrol cannister

11. funnel head

12. clutch cables

:smile: :cheeky:

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

HAIL BROS .....

Those who can go to the KUKUP trip just add in your name ...cut n paste the format .

PRODERO >>> No worries lah bro .... cant go on the 29th its ok .... will tell you the details about the AGM but Thailand you also cant go ..... hmmmm no worries also ....there's always pics for you to see when we get back . History in

the makin VARA 125 reach THAILAND ....dat will be a feat .

VARASTROMER >>> It's ok lah bro .... whenever you're free just come down .

Guys ..... for the windscreen i will keep you posted .... the supplier is not in SG rite now .....so have to wait for hime to cum back

CIAO

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....

KUKUP SEAFOOD TOUR , A.G.M & STAR WARS EP3 MOVIE

Date: 29/05/05 Sunday

Destination: Kukup Seafood Place

Time: 1030 AM

Meeting point: 2nd Link GP PETRONAS (beside ESSO)

**Agenda -To discuss the trip to THAILAND in Dec & also plans for the next 6 mths

**Will move off via 2nd Link..and back also via 2nd Link...Faster & Easier

**Pls bring along ur CASHCARD & also RM1.30 for Tg Kupang Toll

**Change money in advance...(SGD-RM)$$$$$

Attending:

1) ABATTORY

2) Al-Simmons

3) Niti

4) Soffian

5) Aikon

6) Dakar

7) Daniyal

8) Newsuit

9) Rideliquid

"To be old & wise, you must first be young & stupid"

abbattory

juz a suggestion isnt better if we ride up to thai on july or aug instead of dec cuz raining season n we got alot of p-platers like al-simmons, babybike n who else still inexperience, no offence 2 anyone cuz i would be more den happy to join & this is 1 of my dream riding up there in 1 pc n come back safely n tell da whole abt da VARA 125 riders achievement dat would be da best.....

i dun mind being da sweeper or da load carrier for tools n kits since dats wat my panniers r for but touch wood all would be fine, if aug u guys onz den power 2da max............ahhhhh!

abt kukup i will try to make juz 4u ah bro....hehehe! thanks again!

those who wanna go this vesak day trip n ya batt more den 1 yr better change it ah, no point savin now den stuck in malaysia lagi mahal sei......juz my 1 cents dudes!

dakar

i tink i will bring spare batt for our bike from ah wah.......if got stock....wah my box heavy oredi....heheheh!

:cheeky: :smile: :lovestruck:

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Originally posted by Pro Dero@May 17 2005, 12:42 PM

juz a suggestion isnt better if we ride up to thai on july or aug instead of dec cuz raining season n we got alot of p-platers like al-simmons, babybike n who else still inexperience, no offence 2 anyone cuz i would be more den happy to join & this is 1 of my dream riding up there in 1 pc n come back safely n tell da whole abt da VARA 125 riders achievement dat would be da best.....

Bro..no offence oso...but Al-simmons inexperience..?? i dont tink so la bro..the p-plate is juz secondary....i tink u noe he's the one dat led us to cherating...personally as a newbie in long distance riding,i must say he's a gd rider for a p-plater...

Al-simmons>>will gladly have u as a lead man anytime bro...:thumb:

"To be old & wise, you must first be young & stupid"

ride liquid

hv ya way dude, btw i still remember da time when al-simmons crash his bike into a cab n i was the only one who help him got it fix up at a cheap price....dun take things too hard lei, his juz stayin nearby my block....hehehe!

abt p-plate riding far dun let ya ego go over ya brains cuz my uncle juz died on da way back from thai on his goldwing, 20yrs experience, i am juz concern...let me repeat it again no offence juz be careful dudes.... :sian:

varamax

dude ders a slot on this thu n fri @ 4.30pm for class 2a lesson 2 b4 test man, join me lei...hehehe!

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

I dun care whether you are experience or inexperience....P-plater or non P-plater....I juz dun care....we are here to learn from one another!...As far as i know...our bike wont look nice without the P-plate...Inexperience need exposure while the experience can share some tips....we learn from each other! We must stay humble....Lets make Outriders proud this Thailand trip! How about that!

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Originally posted by Pro Dero@May 17 2005, 01:34 PM

hv ya way dude, btw i still remember da time when al-simmons crash his bike into a cab n i was the only one who help him got it fix up at a cheap price....dun take things too hard lei, his juz stayin nearby my block....hehehe!

abt p-plate riding far dun let ya ego go over ya brains cuz my uncle juz died on da way back from thai on his goldwing, 20yrs experience, i am juz concern...let me repeat it again no offence juz be careful dudes.... :sian:

i cant speak for al-simmons..but i feel you cant judge a person just bec he is a P plate...

some time p_plate ppl take more caution, i unless you were a total mess when u were P plate.. then maybe that could explain why u assume as such

and it aint cool to bring up the fact that al-simmons had an accident, i can see your trying to imply something discretely... accidents happens.. i thank god every day it didint happen to me.. . its bad enough that had to fork out $$$ to fix it, ...dont rub it in.....

pls dont be those kind of ppl who like to remind others of their past mistakes or situation, cos no one appreciate a person like that....

Hi..all Vara bros,Peace...

Bros >> OK... Let's deal something more meaningful....hope this'll keep some idle mind occupied

Briefly

1) Battery Life - the heart of the electrical system.

The life of a storage battery depends on the materials and workmanship used in building it and on the care it receives in service. Over charging a batt. shortens its life by overheating, by producing excessive gas bubbling & too concentrated an electrolyte (sulphuric acid solution). This can be caused by faulty generator/ alternator control which continous to charge even after batt. is fully charged.

A continually undercharged batt. becomes sulfated, a condition which causes loss of active mat'l since the resulting dense crystals of sulfate are no longer convertible to electrical energy. Batt. life is also shortened by mechanical breakage, caused by loose holders due to vibrations.

2) Electrical System

In any automotive,it would basically found four main circuits and a great number of branch circuits. These four mains are the Generating , Starting , Ignition and Lighting . Branches serves special purposes eg. radio or aux. lights

.....Next Change... Voltage Regulator / Rectifier

adios amigo

you know if you go

Hey bros,

Visual, Daniyal, Rideliquid >>>> peace bros....me no hard feelings...let my riding do the talking....

everyone will go through the p plate phase anyway...it's just a matter of where u've been with the P Plate and the experience you've gained from the one years of riding....so what if u've met an accident...it's how u've bounced back from it and continue riding...

Aikon >>> need your expertise in the fixing up of hazard light...maybe can teach me a thing or two this coming sunday during the trip...i'll bring the necessary equipments...

Anyway, for those with Class 2....something to bring up...

Syed can have second thoughts on his AT...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

pq: I have no idea whether it's just a myth that there is no alternator for our bikes but so far I haven't hear from anyone that can confirm that there is the presence of alternator on our bikes or all bikes. I look at the engine area of my bike but I just can't find anything that resembles an alternator. Can anyone point out(graphics)?

Guys: From a neutral point, I'll like to touch up on wat Pro Dero had mentioned as I believe he has good intentions at heart for all of us.

1. To ride in better weather condition. December is known to a rainy season and it's quite a disadvantage for riders not discluding drivers.

2. Safety aspect of long distance riding. We ride as a group and we dun leave anyone behind. Wat happened to his uncle is unfortunate. It happens to police riding instructors too(More than 30yrs exp). P- plate issue is Pro Dero's explanation point nothing personal. Most of us wear a P- plate before so does he. Why do ur think he will want to insult us.

3. Last but not least travelling as a group up north is to enjoy and live the spirit right? Having a better riding weather condition will be more enjoyable right? Remember the December's floods in Malaysia? It took lives... Have anyone of us really ride up into Malaysia in bad weather condition?

4. Bringing up about an accident isn't nice but nothing wrong to remind each other to be more careful...

In short, to me Pro Dero is just pointing out the safety aspect of the ride and nothing else. Perhaps the wrong choice of scenario but he meant well. I know I'm not active in the group outings but this is just my speech.

Keep an open mind. Just like if pq can point out the alternator to me, I'll be more than happy cos I'll understand my bike better.

Varas: Sadly I think the helmet will never be approved in SG. Look at it and U'll know why...

Peace...

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Experience counts when going into thailand or anywhere else in the world.

The experience to tell you what is the intention of the car infront of u, what to look out for when overtaking.... etc . A long distance trip like thailand , travelling in a convoy is much more demanding.

Its not just simple task especially for the lead bike and the sweeper.

It would help if the 2 know what they are doing and with some experience.

And its not easy to ride in the rain , especially the kind that u encountered in NS highway.

Prodero might be fast with his words , I am sure he meant well.

LTC>> I think the alternator is built in our engine. Which is at either side of the bike (don't know which side for varadero . It is covered by the engine casing. The whole thing got alot of copper winding stuff on around it. The whole thing should be alternator.

Alternator is same as generator which produces electricity for our bike.

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

Originally posted by Varas@May 17 2005, 08:51 PM

LTC>> I think the alternator is built in our engine. Which is at either side of the bike (don't know which side for varadero . It is covered by the engine casing. The whole thing got alot of copper winding stuff on around it. The whole thing should be alternator.

Alternator is same as generator which produces electricity for our bike.

Thanks for the enlightenment. I will check with the pros at my side.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

daniyal, visual & al-simmons

why do u guys like to hit on me ah? i am juz being fcuking concern....my uncle died recently no rain or tsunami, got killed how do i feel????

i am juz pointing out da weather, condition of road, enviroment & riders focus is fckuning important, i hate it when some ppl hv narrow thinking, u guys dun hv 2 ya ya w/o askin & understandin, it seems dat LTC & varas can understand me so well...I CARE DATS WHY I MERELY SUGGESTING?

i too wanna go ridin to thai liao....i oso p-plate so why get so werk up wif me?

pls we are here to share view point & open mindedness of a community not only outriders but there alot more groups who can talk & ride well & safely...get it...?

peace riding & assumption is da epitome of failure....

Ehheheheheh....

Ekhekhekhekhekhekhee heh heh heh.... :cheeky:

Eheheh heh heh heh...

Ermm.... :smile:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Originally posted by Pro Dero@May 17 2005, 10:13 PM

daniyal, visual & al-simmons

why do u guys like to hit on me ah? i am juz being fcuking concern....my uncle died recently no rain or tsunami, got killed how do i feel????

i am juz pointing out da weather, condition of road, enviroment & riders focus is fckuning important, i hate it when some ppl hv narrow thinking, u guys dun hv 2 ya ya w/o askin & understandin, it seems dat LTC & varas can understand me so well...I CARE DATS WHY I MERELY SUGGESTING?

i too wanna go ridin to thai liao....i oso p-plate so why get so werk up wif me?

pls we are here to share view point & open mindedness of a community not only outriders but there alot more groups who can talk & ride well & safely...get it...?

peace riding & assumption is da epitome of failure....

Bro...

First Rule of Riding... Keep Cool... :thumb:

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Hi..all Vara bros,Peace..

Originally posted by LTC@May 17 2005, 08:32 PM

pq: I have no idea whether it's just a myth that there is no alternator for our bikes but so far I haven't hear from anyone that can confirm that there is the presence of alternator on our bikes or all bikes. I look at the engine area of my bike but I just can't find anything that resembles an alternator. Can anyone point out(graphics)?

----

LTC >> bro, to give you a rough idea....there's a definately an alternator lurking somewhere in our bike ( will take some pics later )...firstly,the dead give a away....a rectifier (converts AC to DC) is present near the fuse box....basically a generator is a machine which produces current ....where else an alternator is a generator-type giving out alternate current....hence a rectifier always comes hand in hand with an alternator...bundle up with the rectifier is also the voltage regulator which regulates or limits the output current to say... 12 Volt... ( disclaimer: do correct me if facts are wrong..thanks )

----

......need your expertise in the fixing up of hazard light...maybe can teach me a thing or two this coming sunday during the trip...i'll bring the necessary equipments...

Al-simmons .>>...sure bro,that wiring diagram is ready too...but me not tagging along this Sun perhaps next meet up.....btw me no expert...juz a DIY Road Side Messchanic

----

Ehheheheheh....

Ekhekhekhekhekhekhee heh heh heh....

Eheheh heh heh heh...

Ermm....

----

Niti >> what telah happened ?? saw something beautiful flying issit....again?? :faint:

---

Pro Dero >> bro...with all due respect this is a public forum ....appreciate if u can keep that F words to yourself and Let's agree not to agree... simple as that...THANKS bro.

adios amigo

you know if you go

Originally posted by Aikon@May 18 2005, 12:45 AM

Al-simmons .>>...sure bro,that wiring diagram is ready too...but me not tagging along this Sun perhaps next meet up.....btw me no expert...juz a DIY Road Side Messchanic

----

perhaps can email me the wiring diagram and i'll try to figure out myself...

many thanks...

my email add [email protected]

haiz...........

think gonna some rough riding in the forum again...

for a while (">)......

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Anyway Aikon, need to get additional relay for hazard light?

only condensor and switch enough rite??

Got this pics after reading some phantom knights forum....

http://www.seewhatsee.net/storage/DIY/relay.jpg

As the diagram suggest, i believe u need to trigger the signal light switch before u can on the hazard light....just like what most of our bikes that have hazard lights...

possible to on the hazard light without triggering the signal light switch....like what Rideliquid's bike....

Need to do some rewiring all over?...perhaps unknown can answer this...

LTC & aikon

peace!

:bow: :clap: :angel: :cheers:

hv u guys tryin running seperate wirirng on each other bike, see if there is any difference in RPM?

btw u can use a multi volt meter to check ya batt & circuitery flow, i can lend u if ya wanna try....troubleshootin is fun....hehehe!

maybe we should make a meet up not juz to makan but to really strip baby dero naked n see her inside out, wat u say daniyal VARA organiser? :p

those who hv speedometer prob:

1. pingster

2. simone

3. visual

4. aikon

5. anyone i left out?

next meet up point if juz wanna makan siglap or al-amin or zam zam nvr try eh?

aikon>> alternator is generator, generator is alternator. Gen are americans way of saying alternator as per oppose to british. Basically both refers to the same thing..

This is with respect to ship, but i guess all sama sama .. :smile:

oh btw , our rectifier , if i am not wrong got the word DUCATI on it . kekeke check it out :thumb:

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

Hi..all Vara bros,Peace...

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@May 18 2005, 02:03 AM

Anyway Aikon, need to get additional relay for hazard light?

only condensor and switch enough rite??

Got this pics after reading some phantom knights forum....

http://www.seewhatsee.net/storage/DIY/relay.jpg

As the diagram suggest, i believe u need to trigger the signal light switch before u can on the hazard light....just like what most of our bikes that have hazard lights...

possible to on the hazard light without triggering the signal light switch....like what Rideliquid's bike....

Need to do some rewiring all over?...perhaps unknown can answer this...

-----

Al-Simmons >> bro here goes.... IMO,actually there's two options to wire up....firstly,as per diagram....it shows an additional relay is used linking to a switch ( toggle type )....to me this is OK...but another way to it is...which is economical ( additional relay not needed )...

....try tapping the hazard light wirings directly from the stock / original just after L terminal ....instead of X terminal when using the first option.

btw....some pointers....

1) the signal switch must always remain @ NEUTRAL/OFF if the hazard lights are to be activated.

2) Dont forget to standby an extra fuse (10 amp)...you'll never know when things go wrong.

3)The big challenge is where and how?.. to tap the wirings...FYI ..the stock relay are on the front LHS(left hand side) just below the speedometer.

4) Dont get confused with names....some call it relay...to most its a condenser but the book says Hazard Warning Flasher ...comes in 2 or 3 terminals...with X (from Batt) and L ( Output ) costs arnd $4.50 to $5 a piece....toggle switch $1.50 a pc.

5) Wirings at toggle switch terminals....decide which ends as COMM hotline terminal.

6) Lots of patience needed....so dont rush....study the bikes first....then OT..OT...good luck

Disclaimer : me maybe wrong...any feedbacks are most welcome..thanks

----

Varas >> thanks for adding....aahh those ang mohs....always want to have it their way.

---

Pro Dero >> bro..thanks for being understanding...and PEACE too.

---

haiz...........

think gonna some rough riding in the forum again...

for a while (">)......

Pingster >> its a fact of life...relax...take it easy bro.

adios amigo

you know if you go