QUOTE (WAI @ April 11, 2007 09:36 pm)

Anyone interested in having minor maintenance (wash bike, lube chain, stip bike, tok c**k, lepak, smoke and whatever but stictly no sex) tomorrow noon ard 3pm or 4pm to 6pm , feel free to give me a call or SMS at 97872727. Me will be meeting Easyriding and conduct the maintenance session at Blk 638 Punggol Drive MSCP top deck.

- WAI

- Easyriding

- Hideaway

and the drums are rolling ~

• Replies 24.2k

Anyone interested in having minor maintenance (wash bike, lube chain, stip bike, tok c**k, lepak, smoke and whatever but stictly no sex) tomorrow noon ard 3pm or 4pm to 6pm , feel free to give me a call or SMS at 97872727. Me will be meeting Easyriding and conduct the maintenance session at Blk 638 Punggol Drive MSCP top deck.

- WAI

- Easyriding

- Hideaway

- kailong (Niti go then i go...Hee)

http://www.motorcycleinfo.co.uk/resources/6795/assets/images/Technical/data_r1200gs_thumbnail.gif
Originally posted by Hideaway@April 12, 2007 09:53 am

Oh , u going for class 2B ? i tot u got ur bike already? then u riding already ?

huh?

Hideaway - I haven't get 2B yet. Transferred bike first as Chow wanted to get rid of it keke... no choice... anyway not riding it... dun want to tio revoke even b4 gettin e license...

My motto... ride safe, wear safe, be safe....

With regards to starting e bike , i was just wanting to run the engine a bit mah.

Lumut

The sector Singapore-Lumut (688 kms) was my first 8-hour day in the saddle of my then-new ST4s and what I thought would be a good test of the machine. (Since then I've done it in 6 hours by getting off the expressway at the right exit!) Normally I’d overnight in KL but as time was limited, I elected to go straight through. I left Singapore in the afternoon and managed to catch up to the afternoon showers that are common at the change of season.

Peeling off the highway, I used highways 60 and 73 but these were undergoing lots of road works. In the dark and wet, they weren’t a lot of fun. Lumut is in the state of Perak and is 99 km from the highway exit.

This is a riverside town so there is really only one main street. Here you can find most things from grocery shops to hotels. Rooms can be found from upwards of RM 60 (S$ 30) but the biggest one is the Orient Star at RM 145/night. Around town, there are a couple of pub/restaurants including Jook, Capri and Rockafellas – an old favourite when the Raja Muda Fleet used to go into Lumut. Go to Jook and you’ll probably meet the English owner who just happens to love bikes as well and owns a Suzuki DR 650.

The absolute best hotel stay I’ve ever had was at the Swiss Garden, Lumut. The hotel is set on a beach on the northern side of the river, opposite town. To reach it, you have to ride through a very nice stretch of an oil palm plantation. Once at the hotel, you’ll be treated to some real peace and tranquility – golf, if you must. Room rates start at about RM 299 (US $ 70) but I was fortunate to have scored the junior suite and that was the best!

The little motorbike shop in Lumut managed to change the rear wheel bearing on the Duc. It had to be ordered in from the next town but they got me rolling again as good as new.

This sleepy little town is a major Malaysian Navy Base but otherwise its major claim to fame lies in the fact that Pulau Pangkor is just a stone's throw from shore. In all my years in Asia, I’d heard stories of how beautiful Pangkor was but I’d never managed a visit. Now was my chance.

Pulau Pangkor

When I first saw Pangkor, I was on another adventure of sailing a small beach cat from Singapore to Phuket. At the time I was more interested in getting to the Lumut Yacht Club and having a nice hot meal. Pangkor, at that time, looked very plain. But somehow it manages to hop on various top-ten lists! You'll have to leave your bike on the mainland and just hire a scooter on Pangkor. Motor scooters are readily for hire in the town area.

Thirty minutes on a ferry (RM 3) from Lumut is Pangkor and Pangkor Laut. The first jetty is more the port so hoping off at the second pier delivers one into the main town. Pangkor lies about halfway up the Malacca Straits, that is surprisingly the second largest producers of fisheries next to the Java Sea. It comes as no surprise then that the island's main industry is fishing related. More surprising though is that I have never seen such clean shops in a fishing village! Most of the shops were literally spotlessly clean – a pleasant surprise.

The western side of the island houses the beaches while the eastern side is home to the port, fishing fleet and town area. It’s about a 30km circuit to loop around the island that has a population of roughly 30,000 made up of Chinese, Malays and Indians.

All manner of accommodations are available on the island. These range from beachside chalets to hotels at RM 60 – 300/night (S$ 30-150). One of the nicest beaches was Coral Beach where at low tide you can walk to an outlying islet. The most common occupation of tourists on the island appeared to be walking as people savored the lush and prime rainforest that covers the island and was the site of National Geo's Eco-Challenge.

Just off the southwestern side lies Pangkor Laut and its sole occupant is the Pangkor Laut Resort that can be yours to share with a limited few for about RM 1000 (S$ 500) per night for a ‘cheap’ room. It looked charming but not really my cup of tea.

Back on Pangkor, I was more intrigued with the fact that it had been one of the last outposts of the Dutch and the scene of an intense battle before they fled their fort in 1670, the remains of which can be seen just south of the town.

An airport on the island is serviced three times a week by a 40-minute flight from KL.

From Lumut, you can head for Penang on the main ‘back road’ that joins up with the NS Expressway or head to Ipoh.

Ipoh

This is a fairly large town, as I seem to get lost in it every time I pass through. The town is famous for its noodles and quarrying. As you approach the Ipoh area, you’ll see great limestone cliffs – not unlike those in neighbouring Thailand. The attraction of Ipoh is otherwise an interesting Temple in the huge caves of the limestone faces where some very big snakes are believed to live.

The Ipoh Tunnel section of the expressway is really good – pity then that it’s a short section. As you wind your way up on the southern side of the tunnel, you’ll have a 3 lane twisting blacktop to play with. You’ll also see where the old section of the highway was smothered in a landslide about 8 years ago. The tunnel is a 2 lane job with enough elevation to cool things down for a little while.

On the northern side of the tunnel, the expressway winds around the foothills with some very fast sweepers. Then it’s all downhill from there!

Penang

This is another fabulous place on the Malaysian west coastline and worth a visit for the food alone! Gurney Drive during the day is just a drive but at night it’s transformed into the culinary centre of the universe.

The island is large and contains everything from nightlife, restaurants, historical buildings and modern facilities. Hotels range in price from RM 50 (US $15)/night to about RM 180 for a nice 5 star room.

You can get to Penang in one hit from Singapore but it’s a 5 – 7 hour trip, depending what/how you ride. If you’re heading to Thailand from Singapore, Penang makes a good halfway stop. From here to the Thai border is about an hour and a half.

Riding around Penang can be a little bit of a chore especially during peak hours. The road system, although elegant, is a hand-me-down from colonial days and has a hard time coping with modern traffic. Things snarl up pretty quickly but the jams don’t last very long. Lots of Penang residents work on mainland Butterworth so try and avoid the rush hours.

Getting onto Penang Island will cost you RM 1 (US 25 cents) to use the spectacular Penang Bridge.

Most of the resorts are on the north side of the island, with the south end being the preserve of manufacturing. The international airport is also on the south side.

Places to see would include Georgetown with its old shop houses and check out the E&O Hotel, a grand old building that has been fully restored to its former glory.

Butterworth

This is the mainland town of Pulau Penang and the former base of the Australian and New Zealand Armed Forces. There is a lot of industry here and the North South Expressway runs right through it. You peel off here to go to Penang via the big bridge. But the real treasures of Butterworth are the numerous Mini workshops around. I found 2 on the old highway and 1 in town. There were a couple of VW Bug places as well but seeing as I'm going through my Mini phase, I didn't stop for photos of the bugs - next time though!

Langkawi

The Island of Legends will be about an hour's ride from Penang. I’d been there for a lot of regattas over the years but I only really got to enjoy the island the first time I shipped my bike onto the island. The roads are in good order and are being improved all the time.

Passengers can take the ferries that leave Kuala Kedah on a half hourly basis, but your bike has to go on the goods ferry. The goods ferry leaves on the tide but generally departs Kuala Kedah at 2-3pm daily and you pick your bike up the next morning on Langkawi.

Langkawi is a duty-free island and therefore paperwork needs to be done for every vehicle entering/leaving the island. This is no hassle and the transport cost RM 50 + RM 10 for paperwork. The service providers will load your bike for you and roll it off at the other end. The first time I saw the loading process, I was totally amused. You will be too, but don't worry because it works.

The island has all amenities - backpackers and everything! The north side of the island houses the most ritzy resorts i.e. the Datai but also has some really nice roads, 1st and 2nd gear corners. The only thing you really have to worry about is the wildlife that sometimes wanders onto the roads e.g. monkeys, monitor lizards that are scale models of the Komodo dragons!

There’s a nice road up to the highest point of the island, Gunung Raya. The beachy side is the east coast Pantai Cenang. Here you'll find a really nice beach, the back packer joints and Underwater World. One thing you must do there is the Langkawi Cablecar – it's cheap at RM 15/adult and the Swiss cablecar system will take you on a stunning ride to the top of the island.

Nightlife Langkawi takes on a whole new definition. Watch out for the numerous buffalos that wander the streets at night. They’re as big as a car, just as dangerous and as dark as the night. You won’t see them till you see the whites of their eyes!

A popular bikers' joint is the Sri Indah Restaurant on the back street of Kuah Town. The owner is a keen biker and has a Honda ST1100. On some evenings, the whole Harley contingent on Langkawi will roll up there but everyone is made to feel welcome. Another good restaurant is Mr. Teo’s on the beach street of Kuah, opposite the International Paint shop.

http://www.motorcycleinfo.co.uk/resources/6795/assets/images/Technical/data_r1200gs_thumbnail.gif

Sorry guys, those i posted is the blog from a ang-mo who go touring the whole of msia...

- WAI

- Easyriding

- Hideaway

** Not sure if it is still confirmed as dark clouds is all around. But Im waiting for the weather to clear. Those who dun mind the rain, I dun mind the session. For confirmation can just sms me straight.

Four Wheels Move The Body

Two Wheels Move The Soul

Reines Fahrendes Vergnügen

Its getting real sunny now. Those interested can just call me or drop by.

Two Wheels Move The Soul

Originally posted by kailong@April 12, 2007 01:31 pm

Sorry guys, those i posted is the blog from a ang-mo who go touring the whole of msia...

those were very interesting place to wonder....If only i am still single,better shape,and my XR is better and healtier,i would ask Demon to go riding...sigh...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

Originally posted by toobez@April 12, 2007 02:10 am

hi beb..

you could try sing huat behind biketech21 or any other scrambler or scooter shop that deals in vespas or KTMs as the M5 bulb is stock for them.. halogen bulbs are like $6 from sing huat but draw 55watts instead of 35 from stock and although are bright last like 2 months only..

peace

Thanks bro.:thumb:

Originally posted by kailong@April 12, 2007 01:31 pm

have u heard about 6 varaderos travelling the whole coast of malaysia then :confused:

Trengganu

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/pa2deb2bb0ad31499d6e8100857b9692a/ee454fd6.jpg

Kelantan (border to thailand)

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/pfbc2363516901b6d8f016f8729a5bf3e/ee454eaf.jpg

Kuala Perlis

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/p76d968f8331ed20e7078cd87e7ec7426/ee454a1c.jpg

Gerik Highway (cornering)

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/p14c67e9696274d21a7cf39643ed2f919/ee45080a.jpg

Lumut (near the naval base)

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/pf7f0420edb3fd249a73c5eedf4e32ba8/ee4546bc.jpg

the closest road to the sea

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/pda94a2ffa5745c0988cd768e4327e39d/ee4502e2.jpg

most likely will come out with a Coast to Coast Ride (part 2)...will need to plan this again...

but those interested u need to expect more of this...

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid208/pdf1410f3b53213e01745163531e6aa3b/ee453bea.jpg

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

patricc>>> warm up your bike every morning....so that cold air wont trap inside....cold air is causing your bike cannot start...as for the meter go haywire...hhhmmm...electrical stuff n fuses....do bear in mind...in order for you to charge your battery while warming up your bike...you got to throttle and maintain at 5000rpm....thats when battery will be charged...:smile:

kailong>>> i was juz about to post that some of us have done the whole peninsula malaysia trip...but al_simmons beats me to it...eheheh...

specialC>>> Everybody loves SpecialC...:cheer:

http://www.voguehost.com/ims/u/DaNiYaL/Ronin/DSC00846.JPG

Picture above brings back memories...and $6RM maggie goreng....:thumb:

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

AJ >>> up for another big trailie ride?

Anyway some of the Enduro Team guys are inviting all the enduro bikes for meetups. Big Vara, Small Vara, Big Strom, Small Strom, TDMs, Caponards, ATs, GSes, Tigers (if any), big dirts......

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@April 12, 2007 07:25 pm

AJ >>> up for another big trailie ride?

Anyway some of the Enduro Team guys are inviting all the enduro bikes for meetups. Big Vara, Small Vara, Big Strom, Small Strom, TDMs, Caponards, ATs, GSes, Tigers (if any), big dirts......

hmm....i'm actually not into meetups anymore....pass my time liao...can you jus see how bloated i've become oready...it means i m more of a slacker now...but i jus love to do the action....provided time and money permits...

well,no more XR for long ride...maybe the TDM must have been cursing me the other time thats why the XR dead...:cheeky:

will definately join you bunch for the next ride...at the mean time,i jus shut up and save money for both my klx and xr repairs...damn..:weep:

P.S : i was reading the whole Pangkor thing and sounds interesting...and also the Langkawi...i've been there once back in 1995 backpacking with friends...nice place....awesome waterfall....beach and Ice Horlicks...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

EasyRiding > We should buy more bottles of that. Any trouble with your ride? Your GF got pull your ear?

Hideaway > How's the additive? any difference? We go shopping OK? Think alot of stuffs have to buy. Hahaha

Two Wheels Move The Soul

Hey guys, just want to ask other than biketech21 n BS of coz where else can I get e centre stand?

Crash bar is from Biketech21 or First motor... anywhere else?

Aikon - tat time for the order from Biketech21, wat was e price for each of e above items?

Originally posted by kailong@April 12, 2007 10:26 am

- WAI

- Easyriding

- Hideaway

Aiyoh, sorry bro!! Today I got In service lar so cant join all of you for the maintanance thingy. Sorry Bro....

Anyway, Kailong invited us for a trip to Setiawan, Perak between the 23rd and 28th May. Leaving Singapore on the 23rd at midnight and expected to reach Perak by 6am on the 24th. Accomodation will be at a hotel owned by one of his cousin's boyfriend so cheaper rates expected.

After dat, planning to move up North to Penang and might want to drop by at Thailand :smile:

Anyone interested? I tot of going, provided my leave is approved... :p

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Originally posted by patricc@April 12, 2007 07:25 am

Niti - Long Hill??? eh not too sure where le keke :sweat: anyway got chance meet at CCK for kopi lo...

Guys, you can reach me at 81808078... or email [email protected]...

As for riding mah, Im stuck at BBDC 8.01 so shld b goin 4 TP only in abt 1.5 mths time hehe :cry:

Long Hill = Bukit Panjang bro...!!

Correct me bro... U got bike but not ur 2B licence yet?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Niti > Hehehe. today my in-service half day. BTW I heard that come this may, Sgt & Staff extra 0.25 P.B

Two Wheels Move The Soul

Niti - Keke yup u got it right haha no choice ya... not much ppl sellin 2nd hand Vara.. i ask around for sometime b4 suddenly got 3 bikes for sale (chow, spectre and arjen's fren)

i plan to ride for a few years b4 upgradin 2 cl2 bikes ma so in e end I took Chow's bike. I heard frm Spectre he sold off to a Malay guy while arjen's fren is unknown case.

Everytime always e same ma... when want to buy nobody let go... then when nvr look, suddenly many lettin go hehe....

Originally posted by WAI@April 12, 2007 09:31 pm

Niti > Hehehe. today my in-service half day. BTW I heard that come this may, Sgt & Staff extra 0.25 P.B

:offtopic: That's what I was informed during the Workplan Seminar today. But the thing, is it's PB.. just a one time payment. Considered OK la, a bit of bonus. But I think I will be more happier if they increase our payhike from 5% to 10%. Confirm i buy R1!!

Miso -->> Here got a lot. 'E' have, 'A' have, PCG, APD, TP... u from?

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Originally posted by mi20@April 12, 2007 09:55 pm

me previous PHQ PTD then reservist PCG. NS time lah ..

anyone in SOC ?

Alias? Noordin? Khairil Rassidy? Familiar?

Catch the buggaarr....!!