Originally posted by daystar_70@Nov 18 2004, 02:19 PM

bro,

steady lah, most likely bike is too "cold" if you have not been using it for a few days.

what i usually do before i start is to "shake" my babe up a little. Engage the choke, then e-start.

SO FAR SO GOOD, start the first time every time.

Thanks Brudder,

But my bike would even died while riding.

Any explanations??

Could it be the air filter, the carb...

Really dont know.

Help!!

Brudder Visual,

Not only happen while starting up.

Me panic.. like hell.

It died off while gg up hill this morning.

• Replies 24.2k

don't wory...newsuit...it due to your spark plug ya...your plug gonna blow liao...

You should try warming up ur bike if u plan not to move for weeks....ur plug like kena shock like that lah...suddenly it kena move after sleeping for few days.... hahahaha...try changing plug ya..... feedback the outcome to us ya....

same thing if u start moving off...don't throttle too hard till RPM reach 10.....or more...it might shorten the life of ur plug....and more wear and tear to the engine........coz...lubrication of the cylinder wall depends on the oil pump....but so far i don't really know the frequency of our bike oil pump flow..i guess it should be good..as we can travel smoothly @ 110km/h even for an 1hour or more... no overheating ya.....

But as for ya problem...try changing the plug first ok....then warm up little longer say...10mins b4 moving off...then go slow...first till your thermostat at the water pump open....how to see..????,,.......there is BARS indicator at the meter right...

Usual once the engine is in steady mode...,..means the oil pump and water pump fully lubricate and water already cover the cylinder water jacket and the flow in constant.....then the indicator shows 4BARS....and it stays like that all the way...when you are stuck in a JAMMED...sometimes the BARS go up to 5....thats the most so far on my bike lah........(anyone got any terms to share...you are welcome)

Originally posted by dakar@Nov 18 2004, 04:53 PM

don't wory...newsuit...it due to your spark plug ya...your plug gonna blow liao...

You should try warming up ur bike if u plan not to move for weeks....ur plug like kena shock like that lah...suddenly it kena move after sleeping for few days.... hahahaha...try changing plug ya..... feedback the outcome to us ya....

same thing if u start moving off...don't throttle too hard till RPM reach 10.....or more...it might shorten the life of ur plug....and more wear and tear to the engine........coz...lubrication of the cylinder wall depends on the oil pump....but so far i don't really know the frequency of our bike oil pump flow..i guess it should be good..as we can travel smoothly @ 110km/h even for an 1hour or more... no overheating ya.....

But as for ya problem...try changing the plug first ok....then warm up little longer say...10mins b4 moving off...then go slow...first till your thermostat at the water pump open....how to see..????,,.......there is BARS indicator at the meter right...

Usual once the engine is in steady mode...,..means the oil pump and water pump fully lubricate and water already cover the cylinder water jacket and the flow in constant.....then the indicator shows 4BARS....and it stays like that all the way...when you are stuck in a JAMMED...sometimes the BARS go up to 5....thats the most so far on my bike lah........(anyone got any terms to share...you are welcome)

Brudder Dakar,

Thanks very much.

And thats very comforting.

Anyone knows whats the size for the plugs.

Should I get the iridium plugs? Ngk Or Denso???

Hey Its me........

YES.....finally decided and bought the Vara 125.

Looks like there is one more Vara on the road from today.

Look me up on a Blue Vara, FY6253 plate.

Have not been riding for 10 years now....a little shaky when i took the bike today.

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

size? so far motorbike all the same size right?

as when i go to shop they dont ask for size bt what brand.. iridium.. bit pricy.. but claims to last longer..

so far ive been on NGK or denso.. so far so good..

altho after 10,000km.. i would change the plugs

Originally posted by byteblock@Nov 13 2004, 08:05 PM

so,is anyone going to recommend me where to get my 1st hand or 2nd hand vara?

its either i buy ride a varadero or i take the MRT..

i just passed last wk..gimme some names of some shops with the prices can..?thanks:help:

hi

I got mine from GHC, 1110 Serangoon road.

Price is somewhere between S$10K - S$11K. You have to bargain and negotiate.

I "think" I got an OK deal.

Price include new IU, GIVI E450 box, bike cover and a simple helmet, 1/2 year road tax. Insurance is separately purchased.

I thought BoonSiew is giving 3 years warranty now but GHC cannot confirm that.

But i think if you buy from BoonSiew or AS Phoon at Motorshow now, you can get that. Not sure

about price.

So.....keen to ride a Vara ?

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

Originally posted by Chow@Nov 18 2004, 06:08 PM

Hey Its me........

Have not been riding for 10 years now....a little shaky when i took the bike today.

Welcome onboard Bro :cheer:

so i think u slowly will be thinking of adding accessories like tank bra, crash bars, undercowl and mayb windscreen. :smile:

i think crash bars is a must!!!! and haiz..... today my frenz drop my bike.... lucky got the crash bars there, oni some scratches on the bars :sweat:

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Originally posted by daystar_70@Nov 18 2004, 02:16 PM

pingster,

this weekend most likely not possible. next week would be good. let me know if okay. I placed order first.

daystar,

think den its okie lah, no need to place order for me coz gonna change it this weekend. thanz dude :smile:

btw any recommendations on engine oil?

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Originally posted by Chow@Nov 18 2004, 06:23 PM

hi

I got mine from GHC, 1110 Serangoon road.

Price is somewhere between S$10K - S$11K. You have to bargain and negotiate.

I "think" I got an OK deal.

Price include new IU, GIVI E450 box, bike cover and a simple helmet, 1/2 year road tax. Insurance is separately purchased.

I thought BoonSiew is giving 3 years warranty now but GHC cannot confirm that.

But i think if you buy from BoonSiew or AS Phoon at Motorshow now, you can get that. Not sure

about price.

So.....keen to ride a Vara ?

Congratz brother Chow!...Welcome to the world of Varadero 125!..To be honest, u pretty got a good deal...I think boon siew is offering 1 year free servicing...no matter how many times...its free as long as ur bike is in 1st year...what else?...nothing much...as long as u like ur bike...i think that is the most important thing...it doesnt really matter where u bought ur bike from...ehehehhe...

Daystar>>> I already transfer the money to your account...

Wild I>>> Got a problem...is it ok for u to get hold that KL apartment contact number...I lost it together with my hp last week...sorry, bro...

Btw...once i got my engine oil...i will change at workshop...but the problem is i dun know which werkshop...

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Hi all, I'm new to Scramblers Forum. Just a few questions to check...

I just got my Class 2B, I thought varadero XL-125 is pretty nice...

May I know how much will it costs?

Which bike shop is selling 2nd hand varadero XL-125?

How tall must you be in order to ride that bike?

Can I trust this bike to Malaysia?

Do appreciate your reply... Thank You!

CHEERS!

darby c",)

http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w264/jen_funderburk/dog.jpg
Originally posted by newtsuit@Nov 18 2004, 05:02 PM

Brudder Dakar,

Thanks very much.

And thats very comforting.

Anyone knows whats the size for the plugs.

Should I get the iridium plugs? Ngk Or Denso???

Not all spark plugs for motor bikes are the same size.

The recommended plugs stated in the manual are:

CR8EH-9 (NGK)

U24FER-9 (DENSO)

Personally I prefer Denso as I used both before.

One press on the electric start, the engine roars to life regardless rain or shine.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Originally posted by darby@Nov 18 2004, 07:40 PM

CHEERS!

darby c",)

This bike is a bit heavy for beginners.

U think u ready?

Think almost the same weight as S4.

Enduro bike meant for travelling.

2nd hand bikes, take a walk down BIKE streets.

BIKE streets= Row of bike shop.

Look around and dun be hasty. Look for the best buy.

Can join the guys for the meetups top find out more.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Originally posted by LTC@Nov 18 2004, 08:24 PM

This bike is a bit heavy for beginners.

U think u ready?

when u get ur 2B, u are Qualified to ride a bike. (irregardless of what type of bike) so got to have confidence lah..

for me when i got my 2b, 4 days later i was riding the v125.. and of course lah at first.. bit hard to handle...

franky.. only if you plan to get

cb125r or titanCG.. then wont have any problem 9as u already have experienced them)

but any bike *incl phantom or even honda custom* u need to get used to the bike.. maybe 1 day or 2 then alls ok...

Thanks for your reply, bro....

Anyway, I'm not sure whether I'm prepare for a heavy bike onot, but I dun mind trying, to ride all kinds of bike that suits my height.. V125 is one of my choice...

*Thankie*

CHEERS!

darby c",)

Originally posted by LTC@Nov 18 2004, 08:20 PM

Not all spark plugs for motor bikes are the same size.

The recommended plugs stated in the manual are:

CR8EH-9 (NGK)

U24FER-9 (DENSO)

Personally I prefer Denso as I used both before.

One press on the electric start, the engine roars to life regardless rain or shine.

Thanks brudder LTC,

Will check the plugs tomorrow lunch time.

Regarding NGK or Denso...

maybe l'll try one at a time.

So you still going for the air filter change. Fill me in.

Maybe l'll tag along.

Thanks again.

Originally posted by visual@Nov 18 2004, 09:47 PM

maybe u can fill us in on your height..

i feel if your >1.6.. then no problem..

Keke... I think I'm about 1.56 or 1.58 ba... Is there anyway I can lower the seat of the bike? :cheeky:

By the way, anyone going to see the race at Kallang this weekend? Is there any female riding the V125?

Yesterday, I went to Ubi & Alexandra area to look for the 2nd hand V125 but according to the bike shop, they mentioned that V125 is not very common that is why it's diffcult to find...

May I know where you guys brought your V125 & how much does it costs you...

CHEERS! :thumb:

darby c",)

Female riding Vara125 ... Nvr heard of in sg .. Uk got alot

But last time I noe 1 female riding Vara1000 , Auntie-eagle..

Eat miles for breakfast , lunch, dinner, and sometime supper...

Hardcore tourer..

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

Originally posted by Chow@Nov 18 2004, 06:08 PM

Hey Its me........

Chow,

congrats :thumb: ......you will not regret on your decision.

You will :lovestruck: the bike.

Take a look at this, yours is on the way......

http://www.geocities.com/daystar_70/7c45.jpg

Psalms 118:1

Give thanks to the LORD , for he is good; his love endures forever.

Originally posted by darby@Nov 18 2004, 07:40 PM

CHEERS!

darby c",)

hi darby,

2nd hand i not too sure where to get..but 1st hand, Chow has just completed his deal with GHC-Serangoon. Abt 10-11K.

It is a slightly heavier bike than most 2B, but i should say it would be easy to control and manipulate the bike due to its sitting posture.

Yeah, like LTC mentioned go take a look; get a feel and then decide. No need to rush.........

As for riding up to Malaysia; there is a vara that has travelled up to Penang (i heard lah) but there will be 6 more to testify.....after 5 Dec.....

:bouncefire: KL :bouncefire: KL :bouncefire: KL

Originally posted by darby@Nov 19 2004, 07:40 AM

Keke... I think I'm about 1.56 or 1.58 ba... Is there anyway I can lower the seat of the bike? :cheeky:

By the way, anyone going to see the race at Kallang this weekend? Is there any female riding the V125?

Yesterday, I went to Ubi & Alexandra area to look for the 2nd hand V125 but according to the bike shop, they mentioned that V125 is not very common that is why it's diffcult to find...

May I know where you guys brought your V125 & how much does it costs you...

CHEERS! :thumb:

darby c",)

bike seat can lower, but i have not tried it; still considered low for me.

as for female rider, yes see pic to confirm.

try checking @ Superbike Ubi Road 1 #01-4XX (Tel : 67457965) if they never change number; they are the first to sell the bike 3 years back.

http://www.spiderskills.com/skyman/varadero/info/vara_girl.jpg

Originally posted by daystar_70@Nov 19 2004, 09:15 AM

bike seat can lower, but i have not tried it; still considered low for me.

as for female rider, yes see pic to confirm.

try checking @ Superbike Ubi Road 1 #01-4XX (Tel : 67457965) if they never change number; they are the first to sell the bike 3 years back.

http://www.spiderskills.com/skyman/varadero/info/vara_girl.jpg

Wow! u mean u guys riding V125 to KL this Dec... COOL!

I read about Bro Chow just brought his V125 at GHC-Serangoon. Frankly speaking, I have the intention of upgrading to 2A & 2. Therefore, I tink it's better to get a 2nd hand bike...

I understand that it is slightly heavier among all the 2B bike. I agree with you that it is easy to control and manipulate the bike due to its sitting posture...

I would like to view the bike as well as to get a feel of sitting on it... My fear is that I'm just to short for that bike... Would like to find out more about the V125...

Will keep a look out for that bike... Thanks anyway... Cheers! Happy riding guys...

CHEERS!

darby :thumb:

u may be albe to get a second hand vara at mah motor pte ltd. will be going down today afternoon with azman ( another vara rider) around 1pm. u interested. i'll check out whether its available

WAT UP GUYS....!!!!

Been a few days dat i've log on.....how's everybody ? Been reading quite a no. of post.....interesting !

NEWSUIT

CHOW

DARBY

As for your ht ...ther's no problem adjusting the seat ... VARA 125 is one of the best handling bike around....so you dont have to worry . Cople of yrs back there's one lady rider riding VARA 125......her name is Sandy and she's around your ht n she got no problem handling a bike ...she sold her bike already as she have migrated . Watever it is....take your time ....dont rush .

Maybe you can meet up wif us ....and see the bike .

SIMONE

CIAO

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....