hey guys..I just bought a RXZ first hand...and was told by my shop mechanic to run in at 80km/h till 1000km then can start to bring up the speed and whack...however...my frens some say 500km can whack alrdy...some even say need to wait until 2000km....some even say 2-stroke bike no need to run in..what the hell??!?!?!?! i am blur..help pls?!

I wanna stand with you on a mountain,

I wanna bath with you in the sea,

I wanna lay like this forever...

Until the skies...falls down on me...

Love U Always...

• Replies 30

Originally posted by -SwQ-@Dec 26 2006, 03:09 AM

hey guys..I just bought a RXZ first hand...and was told by my shop mechanic to run in at 80km/h till 1000km then can start to bring up the speed and whack...however...my frens some say 500km can whack alrdy...some even say need to wait until 2000km....some even say 2-stroke bike no need to run in..what the hell??!?!?!?! i am blur..help pls?!

another run-in questions... diff ppl believes in diff things... no one can say which is the best or you must follow...there are ppl out there who dun run-in and bike still running after years.. there are also ppl who run-in religiously and bike always breakdown... follow the mech way lor... run in at 80.. but do vary the speed and thru all the gears... i also dunno much... newbie here...

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

haha i see i see...okok...hmz..just hoping to find a exact answer to it...coz I really feel like whacking..but my mileage is onli 400++km...haha~ sianzzzz!!!! so I just want to find out what is the exact km..at least I have a target in mind...

Love U Always...

Originally posted by -SwQ-@Dec 26 2006, 03:20 AM

haha i see i see...okok...hmz..just hoping to find a exact answer to it...coz I really feel like whacking..but my mileage is onli 400++km...haha~ sianzzzz!!!! so I just want to find out what is the exact km..at least I have a target in mind...

think abt 500-800 can liao lah... i will do jus this... but whacking??? i dun really recommand... esp these days rain... take care...

hmz..I see I see...ya...of coz not to whack in rainy times ah...besides I never bring my bike out if it rains...dun wan it to get the rain water...haha~ hmz..anyway...just hoping to quickly run in finish...try bring up the speed abit..and whack when the times and road condition are more lighter...that's what I bought a 2 stroke for ma...haha~ :)

Love U Always...

Originally posted by newbie@Dec 26 2006, 03:31 AM

just whack. nothing will happen.

now he's confused... to whack or not to whack??? :smile:

haha...newbie...are u sure? if like that I whack alrdy ah...haha...i heard RXZ is very prone to piston jam...tht's why i worried..so I run in like sh*t...going 70+ 80+ everytime..kaoz..haha

Love U Always...

HAHAHA!!! retro...u got my feelings spot on! haha

Love U Always...

Originally posted by -SwQ-@Dec 26 2006, 03:34 AM

HAHAHA!!! retro...u got my feelings spot on! haha

on one hand you want to whack... but on the other you scared something might happen to the bike... confusing... but i do advise you to think twice before whacking... bike got problem can solve.... biker got problem.. that's a tough one... :smile:

Hmm, ever heard of hard running-in??? Guess u can search somewhere in the forum. Its the exact opposite of what you do in normal running in... supposed to have better effect for your piston.

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

yea bro..I heard of hard running in also...but...i find it abit weird eh..the block.piston and everything is still not well lubricated and worked...u hard run in..won't it just spoil the whole thing? hmz...dun dare try eh..haha~

Love U Always...

Originally posted by -SwQ-@Dec 26 2006, 04:47 AM

yea bro..I heard of hard running in also...but...i find it abit weird eh..the block.piston and everything is still not well lubricated and worked...u hard run in..won't it just spoil the whole thing? hmz...dun dare try eh..haha~

like wat i said diff ppl believe in diff stuff... but hard run-in does have some better effects.. paper says so... i mean after dyno lah...

oh i see...hm...so tomorrow I go try top speed already?! haha~ hm...guess what u said is right..diff ppl believe in diff thing...

Love U Always...

Originally posted by -SwQ-@Dec 26 2006, 04:57 AM

oh i see...hm...so tomorrow I go try top speed already?! haha~ hm...guess what u said is right..diff ppl believe in diff thing...

try liao tell me... i interested to know... :smile:

Ride normally, shift normally without limiting your engine revs, and don't "purposely" whack. If you really need to rev to get out of a situation, do it. Running in is basically that.

I don't think you want to whack in this wet weather.

Originally posted by rhema83@Dec 26 2006, 08:49 AM

Ride normally, shift normally without limiting your engine revs, and don't "purposely" whack. If you really need to rev to get out of a situation, do it. Running in is basically that.

I don't think you want to whack in this wet weather.

can help noticing but is that an aftermarket pipe on your bike?? GPR?? :confused:

does it consume less fuel when it run in finish? i notice my sp full tank only 160km running in at the moment. so great diff from 240km, my sp no mod all stock. just went overhaul.

easy.. wanna wack but scared bike no problem then biker got problem??

WACK is 1st 3 gears lor.. should be ok lah.. Cheers Merry Xmas

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

Originally posted by 200sx@Dec 26 2006, 03:05 PM

does it consume less fuel when it run in finish? i notice my sp full tank only 160km running in at the moment. so great diff from 240km, my sp no mod all stock. just went overhaul.

Shouldn't be so low. Just ride normally. As long as you don't purposely whack, you should be ok.

Yes retro it's a GPR titanium oval.

if you're not gonna ride the bike for 10 years... why worry if it'll survive 10 years?

just whack after 500.

dun red-line , use good 2t , 2t open big .. this should prevent any piston jam

drag abit thru every gears , use engine brake when approaching a stop but dun drag happy happy at higher gear then suddenly close throttle :goodluck: change engine oil ard first 200-300km to get rid of the metal filing from the gear box..

a common mistake made by many to run the bike slowly at expressway , it dun really give u a chance to use engine brake

cos i am riding a aprilia , according to rotax manuals , ard 90% of the piston sealing take place at the first 45min.. the 1st hr is the most critical to ur piston sealing... after riding the first 45min -1hr , stop the bike and allow it to cool completely before starting again