Originally posted by ah ray@January 24, 2007 07:49 pm

so that is to say MF batt need not have any initial charge or optional? when i changed to MF batt that time the bike shop did a initial charge for my batt..:smile:

I am not sure whether an initial charge is required for MF battery. I use the method which I have described and the battery is working fine. The previous battery last for one year plus and the current one coming to a year soon and is still in good working condition. No signs of weak battery yet. :sweat:

• Replies 2.7k

Originally posted by Yeoman@January 24, 2007 11:51 pm

I am not sure whether an initial charge is required for MF battery. I use the method which I have described and the battery is working fine. The previous battery last for one year plus and the current one coming to a year soon and is still in good working condition. No signs of weak battery yet. :sweat:

:thumb: for the sharing

Originally posted by idle69@January 24, 2007 10:19 pm

So easy...open up both mirrors...dan open de cover wif piaggio logo 1...de cover shaped like underwear 1...dan take out de headlight..dan take out de small side light wif de rubber tingy loh..dan plug out de light n plug in ur LED loh..easy job...

Thanks Yeoman for sharing! I'll just stick with my trusty battery and pray then!:)

idle69, u wanna fix ah.. still got the blue led? i don't mind doing diy together with you. I stay in Sengkang.. got time, maybe diy together???

2005 : Yamaha TZR 125

2006 : By Public Transport

2007 : Piaggio Amalfi X9

Originally posted by Winterlight@January 25, 2007 09:40 am

Thanks Yeoman for sharing! I'll just stick with my trusty battery and pray then!:)

idle69, u wanna fix ah.. still got the blue led? i don't mind doing diy together with you. I stay in Sengkang.. got time, maybe diy together???

hey winterlight, u wan to fix the LED? I also wanna fix.. maybe we can do it together.. U bought the LED alreadi?

Max

SpecIII Rider

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk53/u0605382/SNC00042-1.jpg

http://www.speedtest.net/result/333285646.png

Originally posted by inspire85@January 25, 2007 01:24 pm

hey winterlight, u wan to fix the LED? I also wanna fix.. maybe we can do it together.. U bought the LED alreadi?

So easy...at nite got time come out find 1 place lim kopi loh...uncle teach u all how 2 change side light!

For you will know my name

when I lay my vengeance upon thee

X9 Evolution 200

Specie Evoluta

Originally posted by idle69@January 25, 2007 06:38 pm

So easy...at nite got time come out find 1 place lim kopi loh...uncle teach u all how 2 change side light!

Wah uncle so steady ah? Swee.. I gt alot of things wanna learn..

Max

SpecIII Rider

Originally posted by inspire85@January 26, 2007 03:06 am

Wah uncle so steady ah? Swee.. I gt alot of things wanna learn..

Huh...mi oni noe how 2 fix side light nai...outside still got other lao jiaos knowledge like telephone book dat thick leh...mi small fry nai..

For you will know my name

when I lay my vengeance upon thee

X9 Evolution 200

Specie Evoluta

haven't buy the led.. no time to go down SL Tower , wanna test with idle's one n see how it looks . inspire85 u also live near sk?

Originally posted by Winterlight@January 27, 2007 03:06 pm

haven't buy the led.. no time to go down SL Tower , wanna test with idle's one n see how it looks . inspire85 u also live near sk?

Yah i stay in amk.. I oso haven buy the LED light.. Wad type of LED to buy? Later buy wrong cannot fix in jialat..

Max

SpecIII Rider

Recently, my signal switch has been giving me problem. When I opened up the switch, I realised that the copper contact plates inside the switch are badly corroded.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/HPIM0862.jpg

The !@#$%^& design is in such a way whereby it is almost impossible for me to service and reassemble back the switch to its original condition. I also feel that buying a new original signal switch unit is not worth the value as it may result in the same state as the current one. Therefore, I went down to Sim Lim to source for an alternative switch and found a SPDT rocker switch suitable for the application.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture037.jpg

I also bought a piece of single sided copper clad board (those used to make PCB boards) and cut it to the shape of the original signal switch faceplate.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture042.jpg

After sawing and filing, I ensure that the rocker switch fit snugly in the self made mounting plate.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture043.jpg

The next step, I stripped some multi strand single core wire and soldered it to the pins of the rocker switch. I also did some tinning on the other tip of the wire to ensure that the copper strands dont split up in the process of fitting the switch later.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture050.jpg

A black spray is applied over the mounting plate to allow it to merge with the colour of the handle bar plastics. A 3mm hole is drilled at the edge of the mounting plate for mounting purpose.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture051.jpg

Assemble the whole thing together and the self made signal switch unit is ready for assembly.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture053.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture054.jpg

In order to minimise modifications to the original settings, I use back the original 4 pin housing which is used to connect to the original signal switch unit. The wire of the self made signal switch unit is directly inserted into the housing.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture057.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture058.jpg

A last check to ensure that the wires on the rocker switch are proper soldered onto the pins.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture059.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture060.jpg

And yes, the signal switch unit is completed. :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture062.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture063.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v302/derlih79/Picture064.jpg

PS: I am here just to share an innovative idea and strictly not for commercial usage. :sweat: :smile:

u god back ur bike liao ah? :confused:

my signal switch oso giving problem :sian:

but still can work :lol:

Originally posted by BabyVTEC@January 25, 2007 09:57 pm

My x9 LCD display hay wired liao some lines missing any cure??

this few days no rain at all, dunno why suddenly go crazy.

No one have any idea on this???:confused:

By the way, Yeoman DIY idea and skill really impressive.:thumb:

i'm very impressed yeoman... maybe u can make some units of it and sell .... i want to make but... very lazy haha

Originally posted by Winterlight@January 28, 2007 11:12 pm

SOrry but Yeoman... What tool did u use to shape the copper?

Thank you guys for your compliments. Yes, it is a signal light switch. I use needle files to do the shaping for the copper clad board.

Thanks Yeoman for your advise in PM to me.

Tried to reply you but some error occurs.

Actually my light switch also some problem, sometimes sticking to left or right instead of return to original position. but still working but i foresee very soon it become same like your problem.

Originally posted by Yeoman@January 28, 2007 09:27 pm

The !@#$%^& design is in such a way whereby it is almost impossible for me to service and reassemble back the switch to its original condition. I also feel that buying a new original signal switch unit is not worth the value as it may result in the same state as the current one. Therefore, I went down to Sim Lim to source for an alternative switch and found a SPDT rocker switch suitable for the application.

I dismantle b4. It can be assembled back one.

Just need time and patience, bro.

I take out very ez. the contacts, i spray contact cleaner, WD40, polish it. then spent about 20 mins fixing it back cos of the ball bearing keep going out of place.

really need patience manz. :cheer: I also nearly went to buy a new one instead.

Originally posted by edwin-nel@January 29, 2007 05:12 pm

I dismantle b4. It can be assembled back one.

Just need time and patience, bro.

I take out very ez. the contacts, i spray contact cleaner, WD40, polish it. then spent about 20 mins fixing it back cos of the ball bearing keep going out of place.

really need patience manz. :cheer: I also nearly went to buy a new one instead.

Yes, it can be done. But for me, I prefer some creativity. :smile:

A big thanks to idle69 who taught me how to open the headlight cover n fix his led for me! :) i see his evo... i lao nua..

Inspire85, i think i can teach u liao!

Originally posted by Winterlight@January 29, 2007 10:21 pm

A big thanks to idle69 who taught me how to open the headlight cover n fix his led for me! :) i see his evo... i lao nua..

Inspire85, i think i can teach u liao!

wah.. meet up with uncle bo jio.. haha.. u got both side of the light changed? I need to buy the light first..

Max

SpecIII Rider