SBF X9 Cafe 2008 - Amalfi/Evo

Solaris10

Today, i cant help it but to install the new Showa i receive.

Spend about 2 hours taking the old shocks out and fit the new Showa in. Taking out is quite a hassle, but fitting it on is successful, because the hole size, width of the joint is a match.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid216/p32e527dde916d0b273130c78ecc4ae22/ec89a159.jpg

I took it for a spin after the installation, Starting wasnt use to it... feeling the rear is abit stiff and going over the hump was quite bumpy.

Handling is very stable, and cornering is very confident, because i can feel the traction of the rear tyre gripping the road surface, doesnt bounce when the road is uneven.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid216/pcd8edc7ce76f035e7e1391c0321328c8/ec89a157.jpg

I havent try it with pillion yet, maybe after i fetch my gf and monitor, and update and the performance. Overall my weight is about 70KG, and the adjustment on the suspension is the softest now. I may adjust to abit stiffer to see if any changes, just want to know how it various and how stiff it can go on my weight plus my gf weight, she is about 52kg...

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid216/pf2142a474b217cfccf2fec38b681bebb/ec89a158.jpg

http://www.sigur-ros.co.uk/site_images/takk/subpagenav02_r1_c1.gif

• Replies 2.9k

:thumb: cool...finally c some proper rear shocks for x9...

thumbs up for ur effort in search for a "correct" rear shock for X9 :cheer:

hope it goes well

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

Originally posted by spy622@Oct 14 2006, 10:36 PM

:thumb: cool...finally c some proper rear shocks for x9...

thumbs up for ur effort in search for a "correct" rear shock for X9 :cheer:

hope it goes well

do u think showa can be fix on forza ??

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Oct 15 2006, 11:56 AM

do u think showa can be fix on forza ??

No.... definitely cannot... the eyelet or the coupling is different... Yours is like a tuning fork... mine is just a eyelet.

Where can you order it ? Maybe some bike shops in Singapore sell them for big bikes. Or you can order from eBay, if someone still selling.

http://www.sigur-ros.co.uk/site_images/takk/subpagenav02_r1_c1.gif

Originally posted by chivas@January 04, 2007 08:58 am

hey bro ur batt just went dead for no reason huh???? :confused:

or batt simply too old liaoz ???

ALAMAK.

tot i sms you about it already.

I on Hazard light.

27 hour later, go down to start bike. discover, battery is dead lor

QUOTED FROM KENNY BRO....

Running in speed full Details i have done for my X9:

a) 30 to 50km/h for first 0 to 200km

40 to 60km/h for 200 to 300km

c) 40 to 70km/h for 300 to 500km

d) 50 to 80km/h for 500 to 650km

e) 50 to 90km/h for 650 to 750km

f) 60 to 100km/h for 750 to 900km

g) 60 to 105km/h for 900km to 1000km

h) 70 to 115km/h for 1000km to 1500km

Hope this arrangment can help you to Find your Answer faster.

Q1: what's PICS >

Q2: What's the different between dry/wet batt. >

Q3: How many Litre petrol can X9 carry >

Q4: Fuel consumption for x9 >

Q5: Where can get best price X9 >

Q6: What is the fastest speed tried for X9 >

Q7: Where to service other than Agent >

Q8: What r the common problem >

Q9: What is the life spend for Belt/roller/U-shoe >

Q10: Can i on/off the head light >

Q11: What 're the basic things i need to know Engineoil/oil filter/hub oil/Spark plug/Air filter >

Q12: What're the different between EVO 200 and Amalfi 180 >

Q13: Why "OIL" and "SERVICE" light blinking >

Q14: Back Firing >

Q15: What r the actual tyres pressure >

Q16: Tyres recommendation >

Q17: Why my throttle not twisting well >

Q18: what does the "mean" on the LCD means >

Q19: What petrol is suitable >

Q20: What're the maintenace cost for x9 >

Q21: What tyres is most recommended for x9 >

Q22: How to check engine oil level >

Q23: Engine oil Recommendation >

Q24: What should i do if i wanna duplicate extra key >

Q25: How to set from miles to Kilomtres >

Q26: How long can a set of tyres last >

Q1: what's PICS >

communicate with pillion ,listen to FM and connect your handphone, so that you can answer or make phone calls when riding.

Q1a: How to talk to Pillion when riding >

There is 2 way to talk to your pillion when riding>

a) double click on the system to talk and off (i can show it to you if you can meet me somedays).

B) Just use your finger to hit at the mic (it only last for 20sec)

Q2: What's the different between dry/wet batt. >

Dry cell> you dun need to top up batt. water

wet cell> need to check and top up but usually last longer

Q3: How many Litre petrol can X9 carry >

a) x9 180 (Amalfie) 14.5L

B) x9 200 (Evo) 16L

Q4: Fuel consumption for x9 >

Around 22-26km per L

Q5: Where can get best price X9 >

Currently, Ban Hon provide the best price in the whole market.

Q6: What is the fastest speed tried for X9 >

around 120-142km/h

Q7: Where to service other than Agent >

EuroSunrise, Tai Hin, FutureScootering, Wonderful motor, etc....

Q8: What r the common problem?

Fuel meter accuracy, LCD meter.

Q9: What is the life spend for

Belt/roller/U-shoe >

Orginal Belt = 12000km

Kelvar Belt = 18000km or more

Orginal Roller = recommended to change around 10,000km

Orginal U-shoe = recommended to change around 10,000km

Q10: Can i on/off the head light >

Head light on/off switch can be fix

Q11: What 're the basic things i need to know Engine oil/oil filter/hub oil/Spark plug/Air filter >

Engine oil - Level check / Top up > every 3000km

Engine oil - Replacement > every 5000-6000km

Oil filter - Replacement > every 2 engine oil change

Hub oil level - Check > every 6000km

Hub oil level - Replacement > every 2 engine oil change

Spark plug / Electrodes distance � Check / Replacement

> every 6000km

Spark plug / Electrodes distance � Replacement > every

12000km

Air filter Maintence:

1. Wash with water and neutral soap.

2. Dry up using a clean cloth and small compressed air jets.

3. Soak with 50% fuel and oil SELENIA AIR FILTER OIL mixture.

4. Let the filtering element drip and press it with your hands without squeezing.

Caution � If the vehicle has ridden on dusty roads, the air filter must be cleaned more frequently than what indicated in the scheduled maintenance table.

Caution � Never let the engine run without air filter. This would cause an excessive cylinder or piston wear.

Q12: What're the different between EVO 200 and Amalfi 180>

a) X9 Evo 198cc - X9 Amalfi 182cc = 16cc different.

B) X9 evo 200cc with adjustable windscreen

c) Side mirror

d) Clear signal lens at rear

e) Open seat button. (Evo in and outside, Amalfi only inside)

f) Lcd Meter colour (Evo Green, Amalfi Blue)

g) Different shape on Body

h) EVO 16L tank, Amalfi 14.5L tank (all including reserve)

Q13: Why "OIL" and "SERVICE" light blinking >

It is just a setting for x9, dun worry it won't harm your scooter if you did do servicing and it can be reset.

a) how to reset?

x9 evo200 (located at the right mirror)

X9 Amalfie180 (located at front panel)

Q14: Back Firing >

is because of air and fuel mixture too lean (Btw, backfiring problem dun cause any serious harm to our X9s engine )

Q15: What r the actual tyres pressure >

Front 210

Rear 230 (with pillion 240-250)

Best to check every 2 week, it help you to lower wear & tear on your tyres

Q16: Tyres recommendation >

Michelin Gold Standard

Q17: Why my throttle not twisting well >

Just need to unscrewed the balancer and added a washer than your throttle will become smooth again

Q18: what does the "mean" on the LCD means >

The reason why your 'mean' speed is displayed as a ridiculously low number is due to the way its calculated.

When the 'mean' speed is reset, the timer is set to zero. working in conjunction with the odometer, 'mean' speed is simply distance travelled divided by time elasped.

Let's say you reset the 'mean' speed indicator while travelling at 60km/h on the way to work at 8am. the 'mean' speed will show 60km/h since that's your speed at time = 0. the display is updated every minute or so, so you can roughly tell how fast you're going.

Upon reaching the work place (say 830am), you parked your bike, went to work... time passes... when it's time to go home (say 830pm).. you hop on your bike, off to the expressway, and voila! your mean speed has dropped to 1-5km/h. that's because the timer doesn't stop running. while you're at work from 830am till 830pm (12 hours), the timer is still going but your bike's stationary.

it's no wonder that the mean speed will drop to a ridiculously low number... imagine distance travelled since 8am (hmm... 20km?) divided by time elasped (12 hours). mean speed ~ 1.5km/h...

Q19: What petrol is suitable

The X9 or Piaggio engine is design and build base on 95 octane fuel. As long as the petrol you filled in is 95 or 98 octane, it is fine. Do not fill in a 92 octane base fuel as this will produce engine knocking. Before you do a fill or pump, you be able to find out on the pump indicator of the octane level used.

Q20: What're the maintenace/parts cost for x9 >

Below prices is what i can get:

1. Kelvar Belt = $94

2. Roller x6 = $15

3. U-shoe = $6

4. Castrol R4 engine oil = $16

5. Orginal x9 oil filter = $15

6. Orginal X9 NGK Spark Plug = $8

7. Orginal X9 Amalfie Brake-Pad = $38

8. Orginal X9 Evo Brake-Pad = $43

9. X9 Evo Side Mirror = $165

Q21: What tyres is most recommended for x9 >

Michelin Gold

Front $90

Rear $100

Q22: How to check engine oil level >

1. Move your bike to a flat ground and rest it on the main-stand (with cold engine).

2. Remove the cap and check that the oil level is between the MAX and MIN references (rear tyre need to be touching gound, place back the cap without tighten it)

3. The MAX level reference means that in the engine there is an oil quantity of 1,000 cc.

4. If the oil level is below the MAX level, fill in adding oil without never exceeding the MAX level.

Q23: Engine oil Recommendation >

Castrol R4 10-50 or as long as is Fully syn will do.

Q24: What should i do if i wanna duplicate extra key >

1. You need to buy a key with chip (you can get it from Piaggio center cost Around $12-$18), because x9 is running with Immobilier system, without the chip key, yo� won't be able to start your bike.

2. You need your orginal Key (Red Key) to program (can be done at Piaggio or dealer if you are not sure)

The LCD display gives a 5 digit indication for the total kilometres covered by the vehicle. It can be expressed in kilometres or in miles: of course, this indication cannot be reset.

Q25: How to set from miles to Kilomtres >

1. On elec. LCD, press "Trip" and "M" at the same time, then turn the key switch to "ON"; keep these 2 buttons pressed for more than 3 sec to display "SET" on the display, then the display switches from miles to kilometres.

Q26: How long can a set of tyres last >

From 15000 to 20000km for rear

From 30000 - 40000km for front

X9 Amalfi

Engine

Single Cylinder 4 Stroke

Displacement

182cc

Emission

Meets European Multidirective 97/24 CE, Chapters 5 and 9 (Euro 1)

Cooling system

Liquid

Ignition

Electronic CDI with Variable Timing

Brakes

Integral Braking System with Two 240mm Front Discs and One 240mm Rear Disc, Brembo Serie Oro Callipers

Wheels

Die-cast Light Alloy, 14" x 3.50

Fuel Tank capacity

14.5 Litres (2.5 litres Reserve)

Gear

Automatic CVT

X9 Evolution 200

Engine

Single-cylinder Piaggio LEADER, 4-stroke 4-valve

Displacement

198cc

Emission

Meets European Directive 02/51 /CE (exhaust) Euro 2

Cooling system

Liquid

Ignition

Electronic CDI with variable timing

Brakes

Integral braking system with two 240mm front disc and one 240mm rear disc

Wheels

Die-cast light alloy, 3.5" x 14"

Fuel Tank capacity

14.5 litres (of which 2.5 reserve)

Gear

Automatic CVT

X9 500

Engine

Single Cylinder 4 Stroke Piaggio MASTER

Displacement

460cc

Emission

Meets the Euro 1 gas and noise emissions standards (EC directive 97/24)

Cooling system

Liquid

Ignition

Electronic with variable spark advance. High energy inductive winding

Brakes

Integral: the left lever acts simultaneously on the rear disc and the left front disc, optimally distributing the braking effort; the right brake lever acts only on the right front disc

Wheels

Pressure die cast light alloy - 14" x 3.50

Fuel Tank capacity

15 litres of which 2.8 are reserve

Gear

Single overhead camshaft (SOHC) with 4 valves

Information on X9 Evo 200cc

This revamped and updated version of Piaggio's maxi-scooter replaces the X9 Amalfi and features changes that even the most clueless observer would have no trouble noting.

Changes to the nose of the scooter are the most striking, with sharper lines that inject aggression into its character.

These flow upwards into new, body-coloured wing mirrors that incorporate built-in turn signals, making Piaggio surely the first scooter maker to borrow a styling feature from Mercedes-Benz.

Other revisions include double stitching on the seat upholstery, clear

lenses and chrome backing for the lights, and sportier detailing for the

instruments.

It is the changes you cannot see that bring the most worthwhile

improvements, though.

Under the pillion's backside resides a bigger, more powerful engine whose 198cc capacity allows it to just sneak under the 200cc limit of a Class 2B rider's licence.

With 21bhp, the X9 Evolution is never going to outrun a Lancer Evolution

VIII, but it keeps up with most traffic adequately. And the new engine pulls with noticeably more vigour, especially when overtaking.

It is also smoother than the engine in the old X9 Amalfi.

Tellingly, Piaggio has dropped the 250 model from its X9 line-up because the Evolution performs well enough to render that model obsolete.

Another unseen improvement is to the chassis, which feels stiffer than

before.

This makes the bike more stable and improves its handling. It no longer

shudders over bumps.

Smoother airflow is a further refinement that is easily appreciated.

The Evo has a new, adjustable windscreen which reduces turbulent airflow around the rider's head, so that highway riding is quieter and more relaxed.

What remains is the ease of use and convenience.

This scooter's 45-litre carrying capacity makes it one of the most useful

machines on two wheels, and allows it to ferry relatively large items that you would otherwise never consider transporting on a bike around.

This trait has always been an X9 virtue, except that in Evo trim, it is now

able to get the goods home faster.

1) doubled windscreen adjustable to 3 positions

2) Brake:

2a) left hand brake is for front and rear (stable braking system)

2b) right hand brake is for front (slow down system)

3) Fuel tank:

3a) total top up of 16.3L

3b) Total travel 0f 16.3L: 372km + reserve 81km = 453km at speed of 40 to 70km/h

4) Fuel meter:

4a) When you top up full tank, fuel meter will only start to drop after 90km onwards

4b) Best part was: electronic meter even show you distance you have travel when on low fuel (it mean that, even you are on low fuel, you still know how long more you can travel)

5) Electronic Meter:

5a) Time and date Set

5b) Trips set (more than 1)

5c) Show max speed you have travel

6) 2 helmets under seat

7) stopping light available

info from UK X9 club Forum

Just to avoid any confusion caused by the generic service book or errant dealer, I have composed a short guide to servicing your X9.

The aim is to save you money and ensure your machine gets the care it requires at the correct intervals!

To date these are the different models of X9;

X9 125 (2001-3)

X9 125 Evolution (2003-)

X9 250 (2000-2001)

X9 250 SL (2001-2004)

X9 250 Evolution (2004-)

X9 500 SL (2002-4)

X9 500 Evolution (2003-)

The various engines are as follows;

Leader 125 (All 125 models)

Honda 250 (250 & 250 SL)

Quasar 250 (250 Evo)

Master 460/1 (500SL)

Master 460/2 (500 Evo)

All Piaggio dealers can carry out servicing on 125 and 250 models, but only Master dealers should service or repair 500's because they have the diagnostic tools and trained staff to deal with this sophisticated engine.

The frequency of servicing is as follows;

All models require a first service at 625 miles or four months, whichever's first.

Honda powered machines require an oil change only every 2000 miles. The routine servicing is carried out every 4000 miles or twelve months whichever comes first.

Leader and Master powered machines need servicing at 4000 mile/ 12 month intervals with NO requirement for a 2000 mile oil change, whatever your service book or flashing dashboard icon may try to tell you! You simply check the oil level at 2000 mile intervals using the dipstick.

Owner maintenance is an essential part of owning a Motorbike, and the X9 is no exception! Despite the fact that it is possible to ride one for 4000 miles without even checking the oil, you will get a lot more out of one in the long term if regular owner checks are carried out.

Good practice is to clean the bike from top to bottom once a week (less in Summer) checking the function of the lights and checking the oil/ water levels while you are adding the finishing touches with some Mr Sheen or whatever...

On all but the 500 Evo models, there is a rubber roller on the stand which tends to get stuck. Ensure it turns freely between your thumb and forefinger, and oil the spindle if required. A seized roller will eventually eat it's way through your engine casing which is not at all desirable!

Exhausts (again, not 500 Evo) are made of Mild steel which is strong and withstands vibration very well, but will corrode if exposed to air and moisture.

They are painted with VHT (Very High Temperature paint) which by nature does not last too long, so should be cleaned and sprayed when they start to look tatty (or a bit before this if you want an easy ride) with VHT aerosol (�4-5 a tin, and lasts for a year or two per tin)

Tyres can last as much as 10,000 miles or more, but with spirited use may need replacing from around 4-5000 miles on the rear of a 500.

You can minimise tyre wear by smooth acceleration, cornering and braking.

Tyre pressures should be checked weekly, boring as it is, and remember to add a few P.S.I and wind the rear shocks up a few notches if you have a passenger or topcase. Minimum legal tread epth is 1mm on bikes, not like cars which are 1.6mm.

Ultraseal adds a few miles to a tyres life, and prevents most punctures.

Drivebelts should be changed at 8000 mile intervals except the Quasar powered machines which last for 10-12,000 miles.

However... These belts are capable of lasting safely to 12,000 miles if the machine has been used sympathetically. It is possible to check the width and condition of the belt at 8,000 miles, and ascertain how much wear is left, rather like the tread depth on a tyre. If you are going on a long trip at '7,000 miles' get the belt checked or replaced BEFORE you go. You never know...

Care and sympathy along with quality dealer servicing is going to get you more pleasure for less outlay, and help preserve residual values too.

DID YOU KNOW?

The left brake lever operates a front and rear brake BUT always has a bias towards the rear brake! The X9 has more braking surface than any other Scooter!

The X9 has two sidelights, two rear lights, five brake lights and twin headlamps! It's the best illuminated Maxi Scooter in terms of bulbs per vehicle!

Michelin Gold Standards or Pilot Sports are the preferred tyre for the X9, and 500 models have a different speed rating to lesser models.

Master powered machines have fuel injection, which is capable of storing any faults into a KAM (Keep Alive Memory) so a suitably equipped dealer can interrogate the machine at a later date and find the fault fast!

An X9 is 96% recyclable. Into what, I don't know!

Every non Honda powered X9 has a factory fitted immobiliser which uses a transponder in the key to activate the ignition. Don't lose the Red master key because you need it to program any new keys if you lose one.

The X9 was developed using a wind tunnel. This is surprisingly uncommon in the Scooter world, but it shows in performance, economy and stability!

I hope this helps somebody, somewhere....

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

QUOTED FROM RAINMAN BRO....

To All X9ners,

The X9 or Piaggio engine is design and build base on 95 octane fuel. As long as the petrol you filled in is 95 or 98 octane, it is fine. Do not fill in a 92 octane base fuel as this will produce engine knocking. Before you do a fill or pump, you be able to find out on the pump indicator of the octane level used. Hope this helps.

Guys & Gals,

If after you buy a brand new Piaggio bike from any dealer and you find that there are faults occuring, please bring back the machine immediately to Piaggio instead of the dealer you got the bike from. Reason is because Piaggio would have your bike's serial number registered in their data base and it would help them in rectifying faults quicker then if you were to go back to the dealer and have some one look at your bike and not know what the problem is. For those of you who do not know where Piaggio is, below is the address:

19, Genting Road, S(349478)

Tel: 65474466

Fax: 65474277

Look for Mr. Yap.

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

It is really a boring start of 2007 on my X9 Amalfi. My spark plug thread was stripped and the whole plug flew out when I was in the midst of making a right turn. Fortunately, no cars behind me or I wont be able to type this message now. :sweat: Anyway, I would like to find out what is the most cost effective way to get this thing fix up. Retap the thread? Top overhaul? Or change the entire engine block? CNY coming soon. Promise to give mama my bonus and therefore have to save a bit on repair cost. Greatly appreciate those who able to answer this post. Thank you in advance. :smile: :sweat:

Originally posted by acit22@January 06, 2007 12:55 pm

anyone noes how much it cost to fix de alloy metal foot plate for x9? btw will it rust?

it will not rust as it's aluminium..

Originally posted by sigg4@January 06, 2007 04:17 am

hmm wondering if there are still as much X9 riders a not men. Alot of X9 owners already upgraded to other bikes liao. kekekeke...

thats a natural progression...

im sad to leave this group...cos my work requires me to have 4 wheels...

hmm wondering if there are still as much X9 riders a not men. Alot of X9 owners already upgraded to other bikes liao. kekekeke...

then where are all the X9 new owners? or all the X9 are sold and still held at shop? :confused:

I downgrade leh....from S4 to X9...but maintenance wise...S4 is better than X9. Only good thing on X9 is large compartment and comfortable.

2000-2001 NSR125R(FM 1024)

2001-2003 CBR400RR(FJ 0182J)

2004-2005 TA150 phantom(FS 9740)

2005-2005 GSXR400RP(3 months)

2005-2006 CB400 VerS(FP 6619)

2006-2006 TA200 phantom(3 weeks)

2006-2007 Piaggio X9 (FU 8448)

2007- current Mitsubishi Lancer CS3 & TA150 phantom

Be fast on corners, not straight road

i upgrade in terms of length counted? :cheeky:

from runner to evo :D

define downgrade..

CC?

length?

price?

speed?

Guys...Whats the best coolant for the engine X9...Im curently using Castrol, those normal ones.$5 per bottle...

But the tempreture seems to rise easily...But the fan will on la..

Is it alright if everytime the temp rise but fan will turn on. Will it do any harm to the bike...

And at what marking will the fan on...Mine is 1 to 2 bar below red mark then an start to on....