Welcome to the X8ers Club

http://www.MyOnlineImages.com/Members/disar/images/piaggio_x8_x6c1.jpg

PIAGGIO X8 200: TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Engine - Single-cylinder, 4 stroke, 4 valve Piaggio LEADER with SAS and catalytic exhaust

Displacement - 198 cc

Bore - 72 mm

Stroke - 48.6 mm

Fuel - Unleaded

Compression ratio - 11.5:1

Power - 21 hp (15.7 Kw) at 8,500 rpm

Torque - 17.5 Nm at 6,500 rpm

Cooling - Liquid

Gearbox - Automatic CVT (continuously variable transmission) and torque server

Start - Electric with automatic start

Frame - Double cradle of steel tubes

Front suspension - Ø 35 mm tele-hydraulic fork with straight shafts, 90 mm vertical travel

Rear suspension - Engine works as single-arm. Two dual-effect hydraulic shock absorbers and four-position spring preload, 90 mm vertical travel

Front brake - Stainless steel disk, Ø 260 mm, floating caliper with two pistons, Ø 25.4 mm

Rear brake - Stainless steel disk, Ø 240 mm, caliper with opposed pistons, Ø 32 mm

Front wheel rim - Die-cast aluminium alloy, 14" x 3.50

Rear wheel rim - Die-cast aluminium alloy, 12" x 3.00

Front tyre - Tubeless 120/70-14”

Rear tyre - Tubeless 130/70-12”

Length/Width - 2,050 mm/ 760 mm

Wheel base - 1,490 mm

Seat height - 790 mm

Dry weight - 157 kg

Fuel tank capacity - 12 litres (of which 1.8 litres reserve)

Max. speed - 120 km/h

Consumption - (ECE 40 cycle) 23 km/l

Emissions - Meets Euro2 standards

• Replies 2.1k

Posting on Behalf of Rusty 83 bro...

hi all x8ers! im quite keen on buying an x8 after seeing it on the road, hehe it looks really nice and i also like its huge compartments.

i have been reading up on the x8 cafe thread to see if any x8 owners experiencing any problem with this bike anot but err...the thread is really long lor lol about 100 ++ pages.

so i think ill just post here and hope some active x8 bikers will come and solve my doubts about this bike hehe.

hmm i have a few questions...(preferably reviews from x8 owners for 2years and above =D )

1. i would like to ask if anyone is facing any major problems up till now? like spent over few $100 on repairs?

2. how much do the monthly maintainence cost? i.e change of engine oil, belt chain etc.

3. anythings or parts need to change often? tyres?

by the way im not interested in any 2nd hand x8..cause i have an extremely bad experience...(do not trust anyone!!)

i bought my my current bike from some guy i found in this forum and the repairs up till now has already cost me near to $1500(bought it for $2.7 FP plate)...i have been riding for about 3 years now..its a WR200 scrambler..and after those repairs, the current condition of the bike is as follows:

no signal lights(keeps blowing after replacing new ones, dunno y =_=), neutral lights, fuel gauge, speedo, rpm, horn, handle bar slanted, IU spoilt, bike has loud cracking noise when picking up speed after changing gear, can only go about 60km/hr max, valve spoilt. :giddy:

haiz..this is what i get from buying 2nd bike without proper knowledge. (newbies buying 2nd hand bikes pls BE CAREFUL!!)

million thx to replies!!

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

hey disar any mod for performance recommended? Had changed to polini clutch and installed polini speed control. Going for the GPR next, any recommendation to mod before the gpr?

Originally posted by Brembo@January 09, 2007 08:50 am

Posting on Behalf of Rusty 83 bro...

hi all x8ers! im quite keen on buying an x8 after seeing it on the road, hehe it looks really nice and i also like its huge compartments.

i have been reading up on the x8 cafe thread to see if any x8 owners experiencing any problem with this bike anot but err...the thread is really long lor lol about 100 ++ pages.

so i think ill just post here and hope some active x8 bikers will come and solve my doubts about this bike hehe.

hmm i have a few questions...(preferably reviews from x8 owners for 2years and above =D )

1. i would like to ask if anyone is facing any major problems up till now? like spent over few $100 on repairs?

2. how much do the monthly maintainence cost? i.e change of engine oil, belt chain etc.

by the way im not interested in any 2nd hand x8..cause i have an extremely bad experience...(do not trust anyone!!)

i bought my my current bike from some guy i found in this forum and the repairs up till now has already cost me near to $1500(bought it for $2.7 FP plate)...i have been riding for about 3 years now..its a WR200 scrambler..and after those repairs, the current condition of the bike is as follows:

no signal lights(keeps blowing after replacing new ones, dunno y =_=), neutral lights, fuel gauge, speedo, rpm, horn, handle bar slanted, IU spoilt, bike has loud cracking noise when picking up speed after changing gear, can only go about 60km/hr max, valve spoilt. :giddy:

haiz..this is what i get from buying 2nd bike without proper knowledge. (newbies buying 2nd hand bikes pls BE CAREFUL!!)

million thx to replies!!

hi bro,

It depends on what you are looking at....

Storage, speed or comfort.

Storage - one of the best as can put 3 helmet below seat and 2 in box... no other bike can do that so far.

Speed - on average, 130km/h no issue but crusie btn 90-110km/h best as very relax.

Comfort- slightly lose out X9 as seat is shorter but still pretty comfort for 2 unless both very big size.

Problems - mainly only new X8s that had.Eg; signal switch faulty,slight clutch slip,tyres easily out of shape(not the preilli ones) after a few months, had all except tyres changed and done at PSC during warrenty time.For those who had own the bike 6 months & above , no reported defects or problems at all so far till date.

Personally owning a X8, so far have no problems with the bike and like i mentioned in the sale thread for scooter 2007, it's mainly because of family committment...... son going school and daughter coming to this world soon, hiaz.... money become a issue, else i would love to continue to ride the bike for the next few years.

- as reflected above.

- monthly not much, just every 3-4k engine oil change(abt20),alternate change, need to change oil filter(abt20), every 12-15k(mileage) change belt,u-shoe and roller,etc/...(full svc)(abt 2hnd plus).

- tyres i stated as above also..... any way if you do not take care of the bike, do expect many parts to be change lor.... it's the same for all bikes......

Btw, i understand from Brembo that there's no more new X8 around liao.....

Beside that, do not because of once bad experience spolit all other bikers reputations.... there are lots of other bikers out there who do take good care of their bikes.....

if you are looking for one, i would reccommend u go for a 2nd hand one as problems would have been all resolved but of cos do view the bike carefully before buying and best is to get a friend who know how to look at one before buying....of cos i also agree that some riders who do not take of the bike at all also/...........

All the best to your bike hunting!! :cheer:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

Hey Rusty 83, here are some answer to your queries. Hope it helps

I've been riding an X8 for 2 years now, so far no major problems except for the normal wear and tear

Maintenance cost will come every 3K - 5K although the manual recommends every 6K

If you are a heavy rider then every 3K - 5K you need to change

I suggest you join the X8ers in our meet ups so you can personally asked us on maintenance and problems. Not all X8 are problem free just like any other bikes.

Very sorry to hear about your misadventure on buying a 2nd Hand bike.

Originally posted by muddi@January 09, 2007 12:12 pm

hey disar any mod for performance recommended? Had changed to polini clutch and installed polini speed control. Going for the GPR next, any recommendation to mod before the gpr?

I suggest you change the GPR 1st and see wat enhancement the pipe gave you. But do remember you need to retune your bike after installing the pipe.

For me, my scoot i had also change the gear ratio and added in polini oped pod before my GPR. So my GPR is like an icing to a baked cake :smile:

hey guys thanks for the reviews and advices

haiz i still cant decide :mad: actually im also looking at another bike yamaha x1 coz its very cheap even 1st hand only costs 3k plus low maintainance and super low fuel consumption about 40km per litre..

so if i compare x1 and x8...

x1 maintainance n petrol cheaper, bike also a lot cheaper. but not as comfy as x8 and also x8 has better performance and storage.

so x8 = looks nicer than x1, performs better than x1 but expensive..but..i like it more than x1..

but...the major problem now is M O N E Y as im NSF at the moment and as u all know NSF allowance is really pathetic...haiz.. :help:

btw firestorm_33 ur fren is in the same camp with me and he told me about u selling ur x8 :smile:

spOOky ride II

Date : 27 Jan 2007

Time: 2100hrs till early morning

Place To Meet Up : TBC

Itinerary For The Nite: TBA on 15/01/2007

Untouched itinerary during SpookyRide I & potential places to discover. (based on SPI site, visit http://www.spi.com.sg)

a) Mysteries of Tanjong Rhu - Tanjong Rhu HDB (missing blk 13)

b) Kampong Java Park - Next to KK Hospital

c) Sonng Sister's House - Grange Rd, Orchard

d) Mystery of Dairy Farm - Upper Bukit Timah Rd

e) McRitchie Water Tomb - McRitchie Reservoir

f) Mt Pleasant Cemetary - Lornie Rd

g)

h)

Anymore places guys? Fill in the blanks pls

Interested Spooks

1. Kimi

2. Recon

3. Brokenbones

4. Justborn

5. disar + Gfren

6. SensibleX8 + Gfren

7. Lawrence Yeu

8. beachboyzsg

9. rockfordfosgate

10. ah ray

11. goldstar

Note: the ride may be postpone if weather doesn't permits

Originally posted by Sonic@January 17, 2007 04:05 pm

really no more x8? if its ture then now no more new x8 and x9. does piaggio has any replacement models?

saw a couple of new X8 at ASPhoon Changi. I think arnd S'pore there are some new X8 balance from the old shipment. New ones no news yet :smile:

ooOooo disar: no need reply me about the basic wear n tear stuff for x8 le happen to read this thread :cheer:

btw tyre 3k-5k must change le?

oh my

i ride my sp -.- for i think 10k+ le my dunlop tt900 the threading still alot

can explain why? 3-5k keep changing tyre is darn ex leh!

btw my weigh 70kg with occasional pillions of 40-80kg

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

Originally posted by cOngx@January 17, 2007 09:57 pm

btw tyre 3k-5k must change le?

oh my

i ride my sp -.- for i think 10k+ le my dunlop tt900 the threading still alot

can explain why? 3-5k keep changing tyre is darn ex leh!

bro, tyres cannot be every 3K to 5K change :smile: if engine oil possible but tyres can last up to 18K but i change at every 12K

but this is what u say ma!

Originally posted by cOngx@January 17, 2007 10:07 pm

but this is what u say ma!

Ooops sorry bro i tink i was drunk wen i answer tat question. it should be:

Tyres at every 12K although some had stretch it to 18K

Everyone else my apologies for the wrong info given on my earlier post :smile:

hahaha its ok, anyway why u selling going for x9 500cC?

btw whats ur FC like??

from the technical specs my 2stroke sp can go even more leh 20-23 if valve open 23-28 if valve rarely open

Originally posted by cOngx@January 17, 2007 10:22 pm

hahaha its ok, anyway why u selling going for x9 500cC?

btw whats ur FC like??

from the technical specs my 2stroke sp can go even more leh 20-23 if valve open 23-28 if valve rarely open

Me don own a X9 500 bro :smile: I'm selling my X8 :smile:

my FC is 25km/L

My X8 cannot start this morning but the head light is on when I turn the key.

Can someone please give me some advice as I am very new to biking?

My X8 is coming 5 months old and mileage is 4K+.

So far only changed engine oil twice at 1K and 3K, nothing else.

Best regards,

Lawrence Yeu.

Check yr fuse? maybe fuse blow liao. :sweat:

Originally posted by lawrence_yeu@January 18, 2007 10:19 am

My X8 cannot start this morning but the head light is on when I turn the key.

Can someone please give me some advice as I am very new to biking?

My X8 is coming 5 months old and mileage is 4K+.

So far only changed engine oil twice at 1K and 3K, nothing else.

Best regards,

Lawrence Yeu.

your engine switch got on?

another possibility is like wat uncle mark said, fuse blow....

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

I had fuse blown situation on my GTS200 before, which was my main power supply's fuse, so scenario was, when I turned on my ignition, no lights, no indication, can't crank, totally nothing. I just replaced a new fuse will do...

2nd scenario was from my fren's X9 200 Evo, turned on ignition, indications, headlights all ok, initially had cranking sound but can't start, subsequent cranking became weaker then. Checked his batt with a voltmeter, only left with 10v w/o engine turn on. This shld mean that the batt is weak already and time for a change...

Though different bikes, but when comes to such situation, troubleshooting methods are more or less similiar. Just sharing some personal experiences here for others to understand better... :smile:

I don't blame people who doesn't show courtesy, they just didn't get taught on how to do so.

when u say ur bike cant start, is there a cranking sound when u attempt to start it?

if yes & if u have added a main headlight switch, off the lights b4 u try cranking

if no den workshop visit u must

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg