Hi everyones, recently i went to enroll class 2A license. I wanna to know what the correct way to move in slalom as i always Half-clutch at 2nd gear which i feel safe. Whereas i keep letting the instructor saying i need to fully let go the clutch when playing slalom.

Doing fine with half-clutch going in but the instructor told me I'm too slow and need to be fast. In my mind i was thinking am i learning to be safety rider learner or preparing for my MotoGP training to break world record timing?

I tried the fully- let go clutch but i feel that is unsafe and make me wobble in the course. So over here i like to hear what should i do?

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/543/image000vy.jpg/

half-clutch is only for gear 1. if slalom u half-cluth, u run the risk of not getting power to power out of the turn.

throttle when entering/exiting the turns, not during. be flexible with your handle bar and u'll be fine

• Thanks 1

half-clutch is only for gear 1. if slalom u half-cluth, u run the risk of not getting power to power out of the turn.

throttle when entering/exiting the turns, not during. be flexible with your handle bar and u'll be fine

If he instructs you to be fast, it doesnt mean zipping pass the cones.. what he meant was that the speed that you're at is too slow for you to properly execute the turn. You'll have to trust the instructor, once u get the hang of it, going 'fast' would actually be easier

When the game is over, the King and the Pawn go into the same box - Anonymous

When i was doing my 2B, the most difficult was the stupid plank. When i was doing my 2A, it was the stupid pylon shalom.

The crash bar so big you really, really got to wrestle with the bike and corner low low to make sure your damn crash bars don't hit the damn cones.

I find that the bigger bikes are generally more stable and easier to control then the small and tiny 2B bikes.

I find that the bigger bikes, once you clutch in, the bike will fall. I remember a few years back, the XJR400, very effortless to corner. Then when clutch in, i feel like some ghost pulling me down to kiss the ground.

But now they are using smaller CC bike in class 2A course.

When i tend to fully let go clutch, the bike always not enough power which make me wobble or even fall but for half-clutch, it may have something pulling behide but i can run in the course.

Haiz i think i gotten fail all the way in slalom without knowing the technique of using fully let go clutch.

smaller cc bike in 2a? i thought the smallest is cb400?? just trial and error lo.. engage gear 2 ease off clutch and throttle just before the first cone, when executing the slalom, just play with the throttle, ignore the gears, if u dont do well in the slalom, it'll be difficult going through the bumpy course

When the game is over, the King and the Pawn go into the same box - Anonymous

Haiz just try lor this friday see can or not.. If still cant maybe i just quit and wasted the enrollment fee. Just go in let go clutch and throttle..

Now CDC using 250cc bike which i feel no power at all need to throttle hard which will wobble.

clutch fully out is correct.

half-clutch on a bike is only for launching from stationary, or very low speed control in upright position.

half-clutch in pylon, if u accidentally clutch all the way the bike will drop. throttle is the only thing keeping a bike from falling, especially big bikes. therefore, rather than being 'safety minded', your style is actually more dangerous. and this is just pylon, you haven do u-turn in real life on class 2a/2 bike. mid of the u-turn and u accidentally clutch too far in and the bike will confirm drop.

you are experiencing a common 'scared' response.

you can either:

1)constant throttle while very slightly depressing rear brake thru the whole course, or

2)do a twist-close-twist-close technique. enter the course, close throttle let the bike naturally lean and drop into the first cone, then give throttle a good handful and immediately close back. this forces the bike upright as it goes thru the gap, then let it naturally lean and drop the other side towards the next gap. the trick is to do a very hard throttle twist and immediately closing without waiting till you're past the gap.

do not combine the 2. do not do twist-close method with rear brake applied coz its a sure way to drop the bike. and always look thru the gap, not at the cones.

you may not like to hear this but the fact is if the bike wobbles its coz your throttling is clumsy, and/or you're looking at the cones. you're trying to do the usual 2b method of constant throttle but because its too fast, you try adjusting the speed by adjusting your throttle and adjusting throttle of such a powerful bike at low rpm is exactly what is causing you to wobble.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Hmm thanks guy for the information and maybe is my "scared" making me thinking to clutch in cause while other main road normally above gear 1 i let go clutch.

@xXxRatedxXx: Dragging rear brake and throttle? Will stall the bike or not cause when the bike at low speed with gear 2, it will jagging like hell. Do i need to swing the bike till like the instructor like that?

Hmm thanks guy for the information and maybe is my "scared" making me thinking to clutch in cause while other main road normally above gear 1 i let go clutch.

@xXxRatedxXx: Dragging rear brake and throttle? Will stall the bike or not cause when the bike at low speed with gear 2, it will jagging like hell. Do i need to swing the bike till like the instructor like that?

If its jagging means not enough throttle... swinging is fun.... might as well crash the thing while u are at it.... not your bike what, what do you care? lol. If the instructor is able to, so can you!

Yea i know the bike is not mine but i going there is to get the license and not to spoil the bike. Keep failing the same damm thing is not fun at all =_=

Dun be discouraged. I told myself this. For my 2B i failed almost every bike stage at least once. Some repeat 2-3 times. Then I told myself, I repeat so many times I should be better than the others cuz I had more practice, can (must) one time pass TP. and I did! Try that :D Motivate yourself.

Thanks xiaoviper, maybe i will try to motivate myself and try on the techniques which above forumer told.

Dragging rear brake and throttle? Will stall the bike or not cause when the bike at low speed with gear 2, it will jagging like hell. Do i need to swing the bike till like the instructor like that?

if u choose to drag rear brake method, then you must also maintain constant open throttle. so long throttle open, bike wont stall. the common 'scared response' of this method is you feel too fast and you try to adjust speed by adjusting throttle. dats when the wobble comes in, and if you go as far as shutting the throttle closed to slow down while dragging rear brake, dats when engine stall and you drop.

this method demands constant throttle no matter wat, and then suck in your fear and muscle the bike thru the cones. if you can force yourself to maintain open throttle, then the worst that can happen is just harmless bang the cone coz u not reacting or muscling the bike fast enuff.

dont focus on the instructor. focus on relaxing, trusting the bike and catching the feel. note that the instructor managed his posture and technique as a result of being super relaxed and super confident with the bike, not the other way round.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Oh, one more thing... Don't quit! Just keep going, you'll make it.

Never done 2A but my friend told me slalom really need to 'wack' the bike and keep the momentum going so you don't drop.

Oh, one more thing... Don't quit! Just keep going, you'll make it.

Never done 2A but my friend told me slalom really need to 'wack' the bike and keep the momentum going so you don't drop.

No need whack la, whack later too fast unless you good with brakes and corners. Constant speed i say, same as with 2B.

Actually i doesn't have any problem moving in but only the damm instructor keey asking me dont put my hand at the clutch even press abit also cannot.

I only press when it is necessary. Maybe see how is it.

Okay la. I tell you how i do it.

When you reach the line, you faster change to gear 2. You better throttle alot and use your rear brake to control your speed. You CANNOT use front brake or half clutch. You should be in gear 2 all the way, throttle must be steady and use your rear brake to control everything.

With the YBR250, its easier to do the pylon shalon because the bike is damn skinny like 2B bike. If you could do the damn shalom on a 125cc 2B bike, i dont see why you can't do it on the 250. If you say you were on the 400, then the way to do it is slightly different because of the very wide crashbar and weight of the bike.

Back when i was doing it on the XJR, i could only do the shalom for a maximum of 4 times before my rear brake overheat and make the brake fluid vaporise. Last time the figure of 8, can only do 3 times before you TOTALLY lose your rear brake. That's why last time TP test candidate, for every xjr the mechanic will hose down both the brakes before the next guy take over.

Okie today i went to tried the steps and finally pass my lesson 1 and maybe today is lucky day or maybe the instructor is nice.

Now lesson 2 is ahead of me and wonder will it be another problem for me or not..

Okie today i went to tried the steps and finally pass my lesson 1 and maybe today is lucky day or maybe the instructor is nice.

Now lesson 2 is ahead of me and wonder will it be another problem for me or not..