my kr tank is very rusty inside...anyone can enlighten me on ways to get rid of the rust?? besides buyin a new tank of course..

--------------------------

[date of achievement] or [license achieved] - no one wants to noe... thk u ;-p

• Replies 19

Originally posted by skirtchaser@February 04, 2007 11:26 am

my kr tank is very rusty inside...anyone can enlighten me on ways to get rid of the rust?? besides buyin a new tank of course..

check your PM

A second of precaution is an hour of safety. It never hurts to ask.

䏿‡‚å°±è¦é—®ï¼Œé—®æ˜¯ä¸ç”¨é’±çš„!

"Life is Neither Fair or Just"

Originally posted by jhawk2820@February 04, 2007 01:14 pm

check your PM

Why so secretive?

sorry guys, I not being secretive.

I have clear my send PM. so i tried to state there base on my memory.

"

Krr fuel tank are very prompt to rust. could be the material not that good.

can check online for fuel tank restoring kit from oversea and usually it not cheap, can easily cost 60 - 70 buck. and you have to DIY carefully else need to re-do every again. rust might form again

secondly can send to bikework in euno to cut open the tank and clean away the rust, following by apply a layer of sealant. ( sorry, i heard from my mech previously but i dont know which shop, please dont PM me regarding about the workshop) however, the rust might form again.

cost abt 70 ~ 100.

3rd, change new fuel tank at LAB, cost abt 200 ( check and forgotten liao)

dont know got colour or not, if not, need to respray

4th, the most easlier way, install fuel line filter. just need to cut open the fuel line and install the filter, just a 5 mins job.

there are a few type in the market eg plastic and glass. however, i got bad experience using glass filter. 1st time crack and all my petrol drain of, second time the filter crack again and i immediately change to plastic 1. as its translucent, you can see if the filter whether inside is dirty. if dirty, change and replace a new 1.

filter can prevent the rust going in your carb.

if the rust enter you carb. think you need to spend lost of money to clean the car. thing like fuel overflow needle will get choked by rust and if the needle got choke, you fuel will be slowly dripping out from the overflow pipe.

i have a unused plastic filter and caltex super 2T(JB), left abt 900ml for sale.

no separate sale, selling as a package at $13 fixed "

interested party pls PM your contact and self collect at AMK Ave 10.

Originally posted by ZuLkICkfliP@February 26, 2007 07:53 pm

so the plastic filter cost less than 10bux issit??

my tank inside abit rusty oso.

hmm, cant remember liao.

because i brought few piece at a ago. 1 piece can be used for many months.

better solve the rusty problem asap. its gonna be a headache to solve when the rust when into the carb.

Mind takin a pic of the filter?

Originally posted by compfused@February 26, 2007 08:58 pm

Mind takin a pic of the filter?

dun have camera.

but i just did a check on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Lot-of-10-3...091608133QQrdZ1

look similliar, but not excatly same

hope its help

jus be careful when you install the fuel filter... as after you added the filter, the fuel line is now lengthened, so when you lower the fuel tank to close, the fuel line may bend and result in lesser fuel flow to the carbs... you will feel loss of power when at high speeds, cos the fuel flow is not enough to support the demand by the engine... :smile:

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Originally posted by retro@February 27, 2007 01:13 am

jus be careful when you install the fuel filter... as after you added the filter, the fuel line is now lengthened, so when you lower the fuel tank to close, the fuel line may bend and result in lesser fuel flow to the carbs... you will feel loss of power when at high speeds, cos the fuel flow is not enough to support the demand by the engine... :smile:

ya, you are right.

need to trim the fuel line shorter to accomdate the fuel line filter.

well, if you are not a daredevil, can trim the fuel line bit by bit and slowly get to the correct lenght.

actually there a fuel filter located behind/below the fuel switch, you can take out and clean before install back. but the fuel filter rather corse, so only able to filter bigger chuck of rust pieces.

Originally posted by retro+February 27, 2007 01:13 am-->
QUOTE (retro @ February 27, 2007 01:13 am)
jus be careful when you install the fuel filter... as after you added the filter, the fuel line is now lengthened, so when you lower the fuel tank to close, the fuel line may bend and result in lesser fuel flow to the carbs... you will feel loss of power when at high speeds, cos the fuel flow is not enough to support the demand by the engine... :smile:[/b]

This is wat i was thinkin bout.will the filter affect the amt of fuel going through(till will affect performance)??

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d30/zulkickflip/Daretobediff.jpg
Originally posted by ZuLkICkfliP@February 27, 2007 01:56 pm

This is wat i was thinkin bout.will the filter affect the amt of fuel going through(till will affect performance)??

you mean theres already a filter.So we are adding another one la. Maybe the course filter oni to filter foreign objects not rust.

you wont feel it..

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Originally posted by ZuLkICkfliP@February 27, 2007 01:56 pm

you mean theres already a filter.So we are adding another one la. Maybe the course filter oni to filter foreign objects not rust.

the additional filter wouldnt affect the performance if install properly

the fuel line filter have smaller filter holes so its will help prevent finer rust dust entering the carb.

Originally posted by Cerius@February 28, 2007 12:16 am

does bikeshop sell the filter ?

should have,

glass fuel line filter last time i ask in SGP cost abt 18 ~ 20 buck. meant for bigger CC bike. the filter element is wire mess which i think the mess holes are too big to filter away smaller rust. one good thing abt glass filter is that can wash and reuse

but i got twice bad experiences with glass filter which crack within 2 days :giddy: that why i switch to plastic 1.

Originally posted by Cerius@February 28, 2007 12:16 am

does bikeshop sell the filter ?

yes they do... i have 1 at home oso... :cheeky:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200