Originally posted by hanzi24@Aug 8 2004, 09:26 AM

someone help... my sp got a lot of white smoke... dunno whats wrong... 2t setting already lowest... went to shop they told me to whack at gear 1 and gear 2 then will dun have liao... sounds unreal... can anyone tell me how to solve it? cos need to go inspection... btw im using esso low smoke 2t...

could it be oil shield torn?

coz if the oil shield torn it will cause alot of white smoke oso

forgot the exact reason le.. laz time my SP kena b4, but i change the oil shield then ok liaoz

14feb2007 till now -- fz1000s

finally.. i switched to YAMAHA

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Originally posted by luvpuzzle@Aug 9 2004, 04:36 AM

could it be oil shield torn?

coz if the oil shield torn it will cause alot of white smoke oso

forgot the exact reason le.. laz time my SP kena b4, but i change the oil shield then ok liaoz

oil shield? what and where is the oil shield?

NSR150SP -> Wave 125S ->CB400Spec II -> R607 -> DRZ400SM -> CB400Spec II -> Ducati Monster 400 -> Suzuki Swift/Gilera ST200 -> Colt Version R -> Jazz GD1 -> ???

by the way, what coolant and 2t is best and affordable for sp?

NSR150SP -> Wave 125S ->CB400Spec II -> R607 -> DRZ400SM -> CB400Spec II -> Ducati Monster 400 -> Suzuki Swift/Gilera ST200 -> Colt Version R -> Jazz GD1 -> ???

did u pour 2t into ur oil tank?

Originally posted by hanzi24@Aug 9 2004, 09:41 AM

bro share wif u something abt e white smoke thingy

went for inspection recently...a lot of hassle

firstly, lowering 2t pump does not really help in white smoke reduction, i tuned mine v small also using motul600 but the bike still smokes out...instead of risking a piston jam cos i like to rev hard sometimes...i had e 2t pump tuned back

2ndly, u can try e following..change e oil seal or wash ur exhaust pipe. rather ex, oil seal 55RM and wash exhaust S$45...my experience

3rdly, b4 u go for inspection go for a half hr ride b4 u enter e centre......warming up e bike until u urself see that there is no visible smoke is not enought...i tried it and fail...for me i stopped outside e centre and rev all the white smoke away but dun be like me so c***, rev until overheat, coolant leak

lastly, dun go to VICOM, its full of sh*t...go to the STA near alexandra area there...rather lenient

according to NEA guidelines there shld be no smoke at all..which i find its damn difficult

hope i''ve helped :)

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

Originally posted by Avita@Aug 9 2004, 12:30 AM

no la.. i havent see before ma.. so now asking around whether anyone got pics of a sp with 2 exhaust cause like never see before :)

if i not wrong, pgm4 looks similar to sp especially with repsol paintwork...difference is its bigger in size and it has 2 exhaust...1 on each side

rs250 has 2 exhause too...but on the same side...1 on top of the other...very special

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1

Originally posted by Avita@Aug 9 2004, 12:40 AM

guys i need to know actually is it worth getting a sp. cause i will be using this 2b bikes for say 4-5 yrs so now already sp no more production, when 5 yrs later if i need change spare parts, wont it be very ex?

dont worry its very worth it...especially if you maintain it well...sp or rather honda, is known for being durable and reliable...so you dont have to worry about it as long you do your part

Originally posted by hanzi24@Aug 9 2004, 12:59 AM

can it be my 2t and petrol?

using esso low smoke and shell 98

2t does make a difference, but most 2t in singapore all put low smoke/smokefree, but my smoke level still high...this kinda bo bian 1...hard to avoid...

Originally posted by Avita@Aug 9 2004, 12:40 AM

guys i need to know actually is it worth getting a sp. cause i will be using this 2b bikes for say 4-5 yrs so now already sp no more production, when 5 yrs later if i need change spare parts, wont it be very ex?

i am a 1st owner FR plate SP...means abt 5 yrs old liao..still serving mi as well as the day i took it from the mototiam..no problems at all except the occasional wear n tear which canot be avioded..spares not a problem la..there r still many sp on the road which still means quite a big market for the spares :) unless u r toking abt 10-20 yrs down the road :cheeky:

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

Originally posted by d0n^@Aug 9 2004, 03:14 AM

no lar

im safety rider as well :smile:

anyway heard that bring to shop to let them bring to inspection for u = $20+

havent tried it myself...but the time will come soon...feb 2005~~

think bring down to vicom personally first...if really cannot then let motordiam do it for you loh...sometimes vicom people give chance 1...quite slack

i think he meant the oil filter

Originally posted by hanzi24@Aug 9 2004, 09:56 AM

by the way, what coolant and 2t is best and affordable for sp?

2t got alot brand leh...for 2t dont use those very cheap type...cause 2t quite important for sp...4t then can use cheap

Originally posted by MC28@Aug 9 2004, 12:28 PM

did u pour 2t into ur oil tank?

pour 2t into fuel tank makes the engine slightly smoother...abit can liao

Originally posted by sunnyday@Aug 9 2004, 01:01 PM

i am a 1st owner FR plate SP...means abt 5 yrs old liao..still serving mi as well as the day i took it from the mototiam..no problems at all except the occasional wear n tear which canot be avioded..spares not a problem la..there r still many sp on the road which still means quite a big market for the spares :) unless u r toking abt 10-20 yrs down the road :cheeky:

haha you sp old bird liao...when upgrading?

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 9 2004, 01:03 PM

i think he meant the oil filter

sp got oil filter mehz?i ride for one and a half years,nv do such things before...maybe it's time to send for a top service..

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 9 2004, 01:06 PM

pour 2t into fuel tank makes the engine slightly smoother...abit can liao

no point...unless u not using the normal 2t pump,den u run on premix...if doing both,will produce alot of white smoke...

Originally posted by MC28@Aug 9 2004, 01:08 PM

sp got oil filter mehz?i ride for one and a half years,nv do such things before...maybe it's time to send for a top service..

yup got...usually change after every 2 oil change...or issit air filter? :confused:

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 9 2004, 01:09 PM

yup got...usually change after every 2 oil change...or issit air filter? :confused:

oil filter is for 4t and on bikes like s4 or g1 which uses 4t as engine oil...2 stroke use 4t as gear lubrication..so there's no logical explaination which u nid a oil filter to filter out the fuel or gear lubrication...

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 9 2004, 01:08 PM

haha you sp old bird liao...when upgrading?

erm..sp gd bike leh..no pt upgrading..haha..somemore engine condition still so gd..only thing beri dirty coz i neber maintain my exterior..only maintain engine nia..upgrade need money leh..S4 one engine oil n plug change..almost $100..sp only $20+..ahha..

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

Originally posted by bgoy@Aug 9 2004, 12:51 PM

bro share wif u something abt e white smoke thingy

went for inspection recently...a lot of hassle

firstly, lowering 2t pump does not really help in white smoke reduction, i tuned mine v small also using motul600 but the bike still smokes out...instead of risking a piston jam cos i like to rev hard sometimes...i had e 2t pump tuned back

2ndly, u can try e following..change e oil seal or wash ur exhaust pipe. rather ex, oil seal 55RM and wash exhaust S$45...my experience

3rdly, b4 u go for inspection go for a half hr ride b4 u enter e centre......warming up e bike until u urself see that there is no visible smoke is not enought...i tried it and fail...for me i stopped outside e centre and rev all the white smoke away but dun be like me so c***, rev until overheat, coolant leak

lastly, dun go to VICOM, its full of sh*t...go to the STA near alexandra area there...rather lenient

according to NEA guidelines there shld be no smoke at all..which i find its damn difficult

hope i''ve helped :)

hey bro

the STA u referring to is the one located next to army camp one huh?

more lenient meaning they allow a little smoke? or they tell u no smoke allowed but conditionally pass u?

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 9 2004, 01:02 PM

think bring down to vicom personally first...if really cannot then let motordiam do it for you loh...sometimes vicom people give chance 1...quite slack

no leh~~

dat inspector which my friend bumped into

quite ngeow

his standard is no smoke allowed at all

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 9 2004, 01:09 PM

:giddy: :faint:

bro~~ oil filter and air filter a lot of difference lehz~~ :cheeky:

it something in the engine that prevetns oil from flowing thru to somewhere, forgot le

laz time my mech told me de

if oil shield is broken n oil flows thru, will see alot of white smoke de

14feb2007 till now -- fz1000s

finally.. i switched to YAMAHA