STX/FJR/FZ-1S pls comment or advise me. Thanks alot!!!

Hi bros,

I'm giving myself these 3 choices.

Mind update me on the pros and cons of these 3 bikes stated above.

Really appreciate your time and precious info.

RXZ125 / CBR400RR(hurricane)

Super4(Version S) / RXZ125

CBR954RR / ST1100Y(Sold on 24/01/2006 'history')

Super4 FQ(Version S sold on 08/05/2006 'history')

Hayabusa K2(OTR 08/05/2006-sold on jan'08 'history')

Suzuki Intruder (Aug2011 - Sept 2011)

Honda CBF (Sept2011 - Current)

Honda Varadero (08122012 - April 2014)

• Replies 62

Hi bros,

I'm giving myself these 3 choices.

Mind update me on the pros and cons of these 3 bikes stated above.

Really appreciate your time and precious info.

Chain vs shaft driven. What's your preference?

I'm riding an STX. I used to ride phantom, then steed, then st11 and now STX. STX is really amazing. Comfort is superb, power is amazing. But as with all big bikes, very hot. Somemore, it is fuel injection which makes it even hotter than usual. But i am really really pleased with the STX. It is really shiok.

My friend just bought a FZ1S and I test rode it. It is good, but compared to an STX, definitely has less power. And of course, comfort and stability is far from STX. Also, the tank of FZ1S is less than 20L while the STX is 29L. FC of the STX for me is about 16km/L whereas the FZ1S is less than 15km/L, but i guess it depends on riding style. But still, you will have to refuel so much more often for the FZ1N than e STX.

After experiencing the power of STX, I really felt FZ1S was quite under powered. And I presume long distance touring would be less comfy with a small windshield compared to the STX. :)

So here are my views.

I have no opinion on FJR cause I have no experience in it. But I have asked around before and a guy who has ridden STX, FJR and GTR told me than FJR is definitely much more powerful than the STX but the STX is surely more comfortable.

armani

Chain vs shaft driven. What's your preference?

Bro frankly speaking I prefer shaft.

I'm riding an STX. I used to ride phantom, then steed, then st11 and now STX. STX is really amazing. Comfort is superb, power is amazing. But as with all big bikes, very hot. Somemore, it is fuel injection which makes it even hotter than usual. But i am really really pleased with the STX. It is really shiok.

My friend just bought a FZ1S and I test rode it. It is good, but compared to an STX, definitely has less power. And of course, comfort and stability is far from STX. Also, the tank of FZ1S is less than 20L while the STX is 29L. FC of the STX for me is about 16km/L whereas the FZ1S is less than 15km/L, but i guess it depends on riding style. But still, you will have to refuel so much more often for the FZ1N than e STX.

After experiencing the power of STX, I really felt FZ1S was quite under powered. And I presume long distance touring would be less comfy with a small windshield compared to the STX. :)

So here are my views.

I have no opinion on FJR cause I have no experience in it. But I have asked around before and a guy who has ridden STX, FJR and GTR told me than FJR is definitely much more powerful than the STX but the STX is surely more comfortable.

armani

Hi Armani,

Actually my 1st choice is STX but after read up some reviews, found that STX got some unsolve problem

(eg Bike dies off while riding/unable to start for no reason).

So I went on to FJR but heard got some ticking issues oso unable to solve.

For FZ1-S all reviews are positive.

Due to lost touch with my previous bikes kakis and trusted mechanic, I'll have to post in here to get

precious feedbacks.

I rode ST11 b4 that's y I made STX my 1st choice thou my ST11 was a problem bike but still it is comfortable ride.

I know if wan torque feeling FJR is the choice.

BTW bro Armani mind pm me ur contact for further queries... Thanks a lot.

s t x

Hi greatmole,

Mind tell me more of your views or opinion?

My friend said the fjr is unstable without panniers. Not sure if its really true or just him. but price wise for a sports tourer, fjr cheaper plus accessories. Fz1 if you don't something not too heavy. But comfort wise, can't beat fjr and stx. Stx I think easier to filter through traffic vs the fjr

I too heard STX can filter thru much easier....

BTW wat bike u riding now?

i am riding fjr..rose fz gen1 before but never rode stx. my review is fc wise fjr is ard 16.8km/l. full tank is 25l but light will blink to reserve at 18l. the feelin is super at 100+kmh definitely. bike is hot but not as hot as fjr..the heat dissipate from the bottom of the bike..fz from all over so u will have sweaty balls. i like it dat u cn adjust the windshield height as n when coz it reali helps to make ur ridin more comfy. hot weather put to lowest..cold weather put to high. fz u r stuck at 1 windshield. more or less stx n fjr shud be abt e same juz dat i feel dat stx more for uncles..dun flame me..juz my opinion

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
I too heard STX can filter thru much easier....

BTW wat bike u riding now?

Super 4 muaha. Looking to upgrading to class 2 also. Stx might be uncle looking cos goldwing inspired but fireblade chassis seh haha. I would take fz1 if I'm tight on budget, will take fjr if I need comfort but will take stx any time if I really can spend. Personally I take a hayabusa haha

So here are my views.

armani

Pardon me for my ignorance.

I think STX is V-engine, right? FJR and FZ is inline 4.

Plus a STX versus a FZ1 - one is a 1300cc while one is a 1000cc ride.

So in terms of power wise, we are like not comparing apple-to-apple.

Please do not flame me. I am just a newbie. :)

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

I won't say it is unstable if one is riding a FJR without both the side panniers.

Yes, the rear of the ride may feel lighter without the two side panniers. But the "unstability" is not very noticable. Still can manage and handle the bike well.

Hi Armani,

Actually my 1st choice is STX but after read up some reviews, found that STX got some unsolve problem

(eg Bike dies off while riding/unable to start for no reason).

So I went on to FJR but heard got some ticking issues oso unable to solve.

For FZ1-S all reviews are positive.

Due to lost touch with my previous bikes kakis and trusted mechanic, I'll have to post in here to get

precious feedbacks.

I rode ST11 b4 that's y I made STX my 1st choice thou my ST11 was a problem bike but still it is comfortable ride.

I know if wan torque feeling FJR is the choice.

BTW bro Armani mind pm me ur contact for further queries... Thanks a lot.

I am not sure if I am right.

The ticking issue is common among Yamama bikes. It is the cam tensioner and the timing chain.

Just go for regular maintenance to either adjust the cam tensioner until can no long tighten, then change the cam tensioner and the timing chain.

Once you hear the "tiak-tiak" ticking sound, go for "check-up".

Not very expensive to change both.

Maintain the shaft of the FJR with regular change of shaft oil, which is just a few dollars (very cheap!!!). Ignore this maintanence and if the shaft is to break into two *touch-wood* on you, it is going to be very *ouch ouch* to your wallet.

That is what I did with my FJR previously and it served me well. :)

worry free :thumb:

after i got 1st experience with XJ900S, very good impression with shaft driven.

Not totally worry-free leh, Bro.

Still have to remember to change the shaft oil leh. lolz... :angel:

Not totally worry-free leh, Bro.

Still have to remember to change the shaft oil leh. lolz... :angel:

what i mean was the drive chain slack during long ride. :)

o ya, for shaft driven,

dont forget about the thrust clearance check and mid gear service,

did you check on your previous FJR?

I just bought a new Stx from Boon Siew. 2012 model. Ppl always ask me, why didn't u get the FJR or the GTR?

My reply, is that if u want power, look elsewhere.. A tourer is meant to tour and be comfortable on, not excessive power to ruin ur ride. Been riding zx10 and Duc, so power wise I think the Stx is ample.

http://amptrooper.10.forumer.com/images/smiles/amptrooper/Emoticon%20Star%20Wars%20154.gif http://amptrooper.10.forumer.com/images/smiles/amptrooper/AMP.gif

o ya, for shaft driven,

No, I didn't. Did not own it long enough to explore all the wonders about the FJR. :)

@fx110 any good place to recommend to check for these servicin? hw much does it cost?

o ya, for shaft driven,

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
I just bought a new Stx from Boon Siew. 2012 model. Ppl always ask me, why didn't u get the FJR or the GTR?

My reply, is that if u want power, look elsewhere.. A tourer is meant to tour and be comfortable on, not excessive power to ruin ur ride. Been riding zx10 and Duc, so power wise I think the Stx is ample.

true enough man

So anyone can name some main problems on STX n FJR?

I heard STX will wobble at high speed (ie 180-200km/h) is that true?

Super 4 muaha. Looking to upgrading to class 2 also. Stx might be uncle looking cos goldwing inspired but fireblade chassis seh haha. I would take fz1 if I'm tight on budget, will take fjr if I need comfort but will take stx any time if I really can spend. Personally I take a hayabusa haha

Ya hayabusa is a great bike. Owns a K2 b4 n serves me well for 1.5yrs til the day I've no choice but to gv it up. But now prefers comfy bikes with spacious boxes. :p

@fx110 any good place to recommend to check for these servicin? hw much does it cost?

@Fredd

back to dealer service center much better,

other than dealer service center, i dont think outside bikeshop have enough skill (even time) to do that.

cost will depend your bike model,

i did on my XJ900S around $300-400.(with other service together.)

mostly service swing arm linkage will go do together with thrust clearance check and mid gear service.