I have recently gone back to riding and would like to have a go on Johor circuit.

Could you guys recommend the best time to go? I heard on Saturdays and Sundays is when lots of fast riders will be there. It can be a bit intimidating when all these experienced riders are on track. The last thing i want is to be a moving chicane.

So when will be the best time for track virgins to learn the track and gain confidence. I guess weekdays is the only time for this am i right?

later..

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb122/backmarker_2007/Bike%20Pics/ducati.jpg

• Replies 30

Week days are good if you want to be alone and want to do some testing. But if you are completely new to short circuit riding, then there may not be someone at the track to answer any of your queries on a weekday.

On Weekends, you get to share the track with others and probably learn a thing or 2 and meet some new kakis. Last thing to worry about is getting in anyone's way, experienced or not, we all pay the same rental fees, plus it's the duty of the rider behind to pass safely.

Generally, DO stick to your arranged line and avoid sudden changes to "give way" as the experienced riders would be able to judge quite accurately where you are ending up anyway and will make adjustments to pass.

Everyone's usually friendly and most advice given isn't to humiliate anyone, just to keep proceedings for everyone(in future or present) safe... afterall, no one wants to crash right? Anyway, welcome to the family... :hungry:

Sat 10 - 11am good time, not so crowded. 11am onwards abit more riders, I observed.

Like what 5th Rider suggested, it's not a good idea to ride alone in the track, unless you have an objective, else you will likely be cruising around. Someone to follow is always a good start.

I'm more than 2 mins/lap (read slow), but trust me, other than Trackday, most faster guys are nice enuff to take care of the slower riders on the track :thumb:

Like today, was a good 2 sessions from 10am to 12pm for me.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

great. thanks for the tip.

Maybe i should head up on a weekday first to familiarise myself with the track layout. Once i know the race lines, i will go on a weekend so i can get off the race line if i see a fast bike coming up in my mirrors to let them pass. Maybe then i may join one those groups in this forum going up too. Thanks bro.

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@February 21, 2007 05:18 pm

Sat 10 - 11am good time, not so crowded. 11am onwards abit more riders, I observed.

Like what 5th Rider suggested, it's not a good idea to ride alone in the track, unless you have an objective, else you will likely be cruising around. Someone to follow is always a good start.

I'm more than 2 mins/lap (read slow), but trust me, other than Trackday, most faster guys are nice enuff to take care of the slower riders on the track :thumb:

Like today, was a good 2 sessions from 10am to 12pm for me.

yeah, i guess having someone with expriecne is good. but i need to gain confidence first and learn the track layout. Also need to learn how my bike handles too.

Spoke to some bikers at my workshop and they were talking of this corner la that corner la, i have no idea where or what they are talking about. Kinda intimidating i think.

Originally posted by BackMarker@February 21, 2007 05:29 pm

Spoke to some bikers at my workshop and they were talking of this corner la that corner la, i have no idea where or what they are talking about. Kinda intimidating i think.

Ha....

Kinda of some coffe shop talk where it's ego boosting time, is it?

U know where they claim they take this corner at 250km/h. And then they overtook this bike during another corner.

I suggest that since you are new, get advice from riders that is qualified to give advice. It doesn't mean the rider is the fastest of the lot, he's the most qualified.

You have to develop the correct and safe riding habits right from start.

Anyway, welcome to track riding. Be safe!

Originally posted by BackMarker@February 21, 2007 05:29 pm

yeah, i guess having someone with expriecne is good. but i need to gain confidence first and learn the track layout. Also need to learn how my bike handles too.

I'm also newbie, looking at some quiet track time sometime next week to refresh my riding after a long break. Want to hookup? Let me know.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Originally posted by BackMarker@February 21, 2007 05:22 pm

great. thanks for the tip.

Maybe i should head up on a weekday first to familiarise myself with the track layout. Once i know the race lines, i will go on a weekend so i can get off the race line if i see a fast bike coming up in my mirrors to let them pass. Maybe then i may join one those groups in this forum going up too. Thanks bro.

Not necessary to give way to others coming up from behind.

Like 5thRider said, "Last thing to worry about is getting in anyone's way, experienced or not, we all pay the same rental fees, plus it's the duty of the rider behind to pass safely.

Generally, DO stick to your arranged line and avoid sudden changes to "give way" as the experienced riders would be able to judge quite accurately where you are ending up anyway and will make adjustments to pass.

"

Your mirrors are going to be a distraction for you, from the way you put it. It'd be best to remove everything that distracts you.

Originally posted by ulysses_sc@February 21, 2007 06:05 pm

I'm also newbie, looking at some quiet track time sometime next week to refresh my riding after a long break. Want to hookup? Let me know.

will do bro. I will drop you a note when i intend to go.

however, i need some time to get my gear together. i sold or threw away lots of things after i stopped riding several years ago. also my bike is not here yet.

drop me a PM with your contact number and i will sms you when i am ready.

later..

Originally posted by KISS@February 21, 2007 05:53 pm

Ha....

Kinda of some coffe shop talk where it's ego boosting time, is it?

U know where they claim they take this corner at 250km/h. And then they overtook this bike during another corner.

yeah bro, its a load of bull i am sure. its impossible do turn at 250kmh. they dont even do that on MotoGP.

i think i will get some advice from my workshop boss. he is a PG regular and used to race in GP back in the 70s. seems he is pretty well respected in the bike community here. he still rides in PG and i heard he is pretty quick. I think if you guys are PG regular, you would have seen him.

anyway, thanks for the tips bros. will take it all onboard. but i will get my safety gear together first.

later...

Originally posted by BackMarker@February 22, 2007 09:32 am

its impossible do turn at 250kmh. they dont even do that on MotoGP.

i think i will get some advice from my workshop boss. he is a PG regular and used to race in GP back in the 70s. seems he is pretty well respected in the bike community here. he still rides in PG and i heard he is pretty quick. I think if you guys are PG regular, you would have seen him.

U talking about Fabian, is it?

Back to your first point:

Actually, its possible to do a corner at 250km/h and yes, they do that in the MotoGP but not at the Johor Circuit.

Originally posted by tourer84@February 22, 2007 02:39 pm

Me a newbie going track possibly on next mondayn (26th Feb), anyone wanna join me?

Then a bunch of S4s and various bikes, all newbies are going on next friday (2nd March), feel free to join!

all newbies going izzit? feel like joinin cuz i dunno where the hell the track located but i ride kr only leh...i scared i'll slow u guys down..anyway are the safety gears necessary??

--------------------------

[date of achievement] or [license achieved] - no one wants to noe... thk u ;-p

Yeap all newbies no worries. We all pay for the track, don't need to worry who slows who down. The pros will overtake us safely.

Minimum requirement on Johor Circuit (Pasir Gudang) is glove, FF helmet, high cut boots, armoured-mesh or leather jacket. Safety gears are definitely necessary to ensure a stress-free and more enjoyable track outing. I wouldn't want to take a corner with just sandals, singlets and shorts. :p

You can PM me if you want to meet up and go together... Keke. Cheers. :)

Originally posted by skirtchaser@February 23, 2007 10:57 pm

all newbies going izzit? feel like joinin cuz i dunno where the hell the track located but i ride kr only leh...i scared i'll slow u guys down..anyway are the safety gears necessary??

I also ride a Kr..Its ok for small bikes..Even Kup Kia overtake big bikes at corners..But its better for u to get ur gear and to enjoy in track.Cos afterall its leather protecting u and not ur skin..

Originally posted by stuzztrev+February 24, 2007 03:31 pm-->
QUOTE (stuzztrev @ February 24, 2007 03:31 pm)
I also ride a Kr..Its ok for small bikes..Even Kup Kia overtake big bikes at corners..But its better for u to get ur gear and to enjoy in track.Cos afterall its leather protecting u and not ur skin..

[/b]

--------------------------

[date of achievement] or [license achieved] - no one wants to noe... thk u ;-p

Maybe can follow you guys to watch instead? I'm always a spectator never a competitor..:sweat:

Originally posted by skirtchaser@February 25, 2007 10:35 am

i mean i'll slow u guys when on the way to the track not on the track itself :sweat:

ok i dun have all those stuff tat u mentioned lol so it'll be great if they let my go on track wit sandals n shorts lol...actually i have not even a faintest interest previously of goin to a track as my frens doesnt either n it seems to cost a lot of money so tats y i doesnt own or dunno wat to get to prepare for track day...i guess i have to pass tis time round but still its temptin though.

anyway wat bike u ridin huh tourer??

Keke... No worries... Most likely will meet up 9 at white house. Anyone? Tomorrow? Hope got veteran riders so can learn a thing or two.

I wanna go,... :bounce:

Mzg me pls at 96949540(Saufi),...

Placez to meet & timingz,...

Mzg2,...:smile:

Thanxz,...

FJ3032P (RXZ)*sold 2004

FX7651C (Super 4 V-Tech 3)*sold 2005

FY3157J (CBR1000RR04)*sold 2010

FX6847L (Sparkz 110)*sold 2009

FBA2432U (RXZ)

SJK6055B (Toyota Axio)

Originally posted by tourer84@February 24, 2007 03:51 am

Yeap all newbies no worries. We all pay for the track, don't need to worry who slows who down. The pros will overtake us safely.

Minimum requirement on Johor Circuit (Pasir Gudang) is glove, FF helmet, high cut boots, armoured-mesh or leather jacket. Safety gears are definitely necessary to ensure a stress-free and more enjoyable track outing. I wouldn't want to take a corner with just sandals, singlets and shorts. :p

You can PM me if you want to meet up and go together... Keke. Cheers. :)

If I could get my bike ready on Thur, will join ya. Feel like joining ppl for once, instead of asking ppl.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

hi guys! can i join too? wanna go for a wkday session to practice.. just went to track for the first time today. :sweat: all i can say is UPZ :thumb:

bryan

Oct 05 - Dec 06: HONDA Phantom

Dec 06 - May 08: HONDA CBR400RRR

Jul 08 - Jul 09: HONDA CBR600RR8

Wa lao...I couldn't go for Sunday's track day -- work and work like a mad dog. I green eyed liao

Anyways, there's no reckoning on whether it would be advantageous if newbies (put it into urban slang) picked a weekday track time slot. I've personally benefitted from that in the sense that I could do "track orientation" and also, to pick up on my skills and mistakes.

The best part? Timing yourself.

Well, of course, once you've gotten the hang of track racing, next step is to probably share the track with the big boys. Now if I could find a free Saturday to do so. Haiz...

Does this mean that track days are not recommended

for 'L' platers?

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2872/dsc004871dk6.jpg

Don't think too hard about it. You don't need a reason.

JUST RIDE.

I am going this friday feel free to join, should have 10 bikes or so, most I never meet before....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7