sigh pie fail my prac 3 today again... 4 time alr.. demoralized sia need to take 5th time also dont know can pass or not ;(

Slope is ez, is the S course timing keep 11.xx....... 13 lesson and still at prac 3 really no talent sia.

prac 1 - 5 prac 2 - 3 prac 3 - 4 going 5 :?:?

Any advice guys ?

Bro I think you need to relax before and during the lesson. I saw some 2b riders during my circuit revision and they were tense. And that causes them to make mistake. And that made them more tense. Just a bad cycle. Try to relax.

Ride on

• Replies 4.8k

S course, you need to bank, 敢敢来, if you are straight straight kind, very difficult to get good timing.

And in the S course, there is a short stretch of straight road, open throttle there with clutch control, then bank and finish ur S course. If too fast, do a quick rear brake, not too hard else will fish tail.

Eye point is very important in this course. If you keep looking just in front of you, your actions wont be fluid.

Then watch this video repeatedly and imagine how you will do it albeit not at this power standard - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7wtDIn5_fc. U will know what I mean by the "short stretch of road" in the S course.

I was from SSDC but I think there should be no difference in techniques.

sigh pie fail my prac 3 today again... 4 time alr.. demoralized sia need to take 5th time also dont know can pass or not ;(

Slope is ez, is the S course timing keep 11.xx....... 13 lesson and still at prac 3 really no talent sia.

Any advice guys ?

The best tip for you is dun compared, it doesn't matter if others pass the lesson during the first try and you the fourth or fifth time. Just make sure you conquer yourself and gain confidence with any bikes and meet all the test requirements. You paid for the lesson there, make it count. And never be afraid to ask the instructors for coaching advice.

Yup i know but being stuck at a stage is demoralizing for so long. I really improved but still... oh well booked another lesson to try again! thanks alot hushpuppy ;)

S course, you need to bank, 敢敢来, if you are straight straight kind, very difficult to get good timing.

And in the S course, there is a short stretch of straight road, open throttle there with clutch control, then bank and finish ur S course. If too fast, do a quick rear brake, not too hard else will fish tail.

Eye point is very important in this course. If you keep looking just in front of you, your actions wont be fluid.

Then watch this video repeatedly and imagine how you will do it albeit not at this power standard - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7wtDIn5_fc. U will know what I mean by the "short stretch of road" in the S course.

I was from SSDC but I think there should be no difference in techniques.

I got bank but i always afraid that i will fall off the bike if bank too much ! i think its my throttle control since i always close when i feel like falling off then slower already....and CDC dont have that straight stretch from the video but thanks alot!

Bro I think you need to relax before and during the lesson. I saw some 2b riders during my circuit revision and they were tense. And that causes them to make mistake. And that made them more tense. Just a bad cycle. Try to relax.

Ride on

Roger!! i will try, sometimes very nervous for lesson haha ! thanks alot!!

Don't worry, practice make perfect. ;)

As long you wanted to get the licence, it will be your which is matter of time. Most important is ride safe even make mistakes in school is fine (to me). But on the road outside then don't be... Reason is too dangerous if happen. :eek:

So wish you pass your lesson! :o

Welcome you to bike world. :)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Thanks alot for the advice!! and your avatar looks like one of the CDC instructor's bike haha!

You started 2 months ago and had taken 13 lessons.

You very on.

I joined 3 weeks ago only went for 1 lesson and failed. Still a long way to go. We each have our problems, let's perservere together.

Hhaha true i just wanted the license very badly for the transport and all my friends pass already and i just started, those same day register with me already prac 5 lo!

I'm consider bad already... my brother just passed his TP, he only had 12 chop (avg 1 or 2 for each lesson) on his book.. im at prac 3 and alrdy 13 :? oh well not talented but not giving up either...

Oh well jiayou papabike!! Just keep camping for slots and book whenever you can. I go for super early morning lesson to not skip work or classes.

Edited by xuanzang

F8 is all abt eyeline. Cultivate that 1 1st. When that becomes natural, grdually start adding more & more speed.

The cones around the 8 are there for a reason. When you enter look at the 1st cone in front of you. When you reach that cone turn your head back left & look at the cone at mid section. When you reach the beginning of the 2nd loop, turn your head right & look at the exit. When you reach the exit point, turn your head left & look at the stop line.

Jus keep doing it until it feels natural.

Study this girl's head movement just before she makes a turn. Then you will be clearer abt what im talking abt. Head snap!

Ask the instrctor if he can gv you a pillion ride around the 8! Its quite an experience!!

Edited by jbdoggy

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

I got bank but i always afraid that i will fall off the bike if bank too much ! i think its my throttle control since i always close when i feel like falling off then slower already....and CDC dont have that straight stretch from the video but thanks alot!

My instructor told me not to play with throttle for the 8 and crank course. He said that will just make the bike jerky and less stable. He said just open throttle and apply rear brake half to control speed and maintain stability.

Actually the same tip can be used for the slalom as well.

Ride on

Don't worry. I been there and passed lesson 3 in cdc only at my 6 attempt so don't worry just keep on go practice.

You will grab the technique soon enough. No need to compare with others.. Most important is yourself and how you cleared the courses.

Does not matter if you need to take more lessons. Good luck and practice more!

Any advice guys ?

Hey xuanzang, don't be too demoralised. If you think you're not doing well for prac 3, then you should ask me what happen on my first prac 3 last Tuesday haha. Prac 1 - 2 times, prac 2 - 2 times, prac 3 - ???

I had difficulty kicking up to gear 2 everytime i enter the figure of 8. Don't worry you're not alone.

Anyway my next prac lesson 3 wil be on Friday at 12.45pm and Sunday at 8.30am. When is your next lesson?

For me, i watch alot instructional videos and try to pick up the essence. Sometimes I even watch Moto Gymkhana. Haha - And u will realized, it's all fundamentals first.

Frankly speaking, even now I OTR, eye point still not that natural yet, so sometimes if i cub bends, I tend to be wide. The fundamentals like posture and eye point, they go a long way man.

In SSDC, I bank till I scraped the foot rest, then kerna call to 1 corner and kerna F. If during TP test scrape, it's Immediate Failure. :popcorn:

Once u r used to the movements, the throttle, clutch, rear brakes will come naturally. I do accelerate in the S course but that came naturally after alot practice.

My instructor told me not to play with throttle for the 8 and crank course. He said that will just make the bike jerky and less stable. He said just open throttle and apply rear brake half to control speed and maintain stability.

Ride on

F8 is all abt eyeline. Cultivate that 1 1st. When that becomes natural, grdually start adding more & more speed.

The cones around the 8 are there for a reason. When you enter look at the 1st cone in front of you. When you reach that cone turn your head back left & look at the cone at mid section. When you reach the beginning of the 2nd loop, turn your head right & look at the exit. When you reach the exit point, turn your head left & look at the stop line.

Jus keep doing it until it feels natural.

Study this girl's head movement just before she makes a turn. Then you will be clearer abt what im talking abt. Head snap!

Ask the instrctor if he can gv you a pillion ride around the 8! Its quite an experience!!

haha dont think they will give us a ride plus i think i rather use the bike time to grasp the technique!!!! yup ill try the eyeline and throttle control!!

Don't worry. I been there and passed lesson 3 in cdc only at my 6 attempt so don't worry just keep on go practice.

You will grab the technique soon enough. No need to compare with others.. Most important is yourself and how you cleared the courses.

Does not matter if you need to take more lessons. Good luck and practice more!

my 5th time next week hope i do pass really want to learn new stuff !! thanks for the encouragement!

Hey xuanzang, don't be too demoralised. If you think you're not doing well for prac 3, then you should ask me what happen on my first prac 3 last Tuesday haha. Prac 1 - 2 times, prac 2 - 2 times, prac 3 - ???

I had difficulty kicking up to gear 2 everytime i enter the figure of 8. Don't worry you're not alone.

Anyway my next prac lesson 3 wil be on Friday at 12.45pm and Sunday at 8.30am. When is your next lesson?

haha my prac 1 -5 times prac 2 - 3 leh prac 3 - 5 ?? ;(

I booked mine at 7 sept, 1245 slot! and what happen to you ?

Kick harder, i know the feeling when it gets stuck a neutral then your whole fig 8 is screwed. sometimes it happens to me still.. then i try to salvage it asap..! clutch in and kick again!

haha dont think they will give us a ride plus i think i rather use the bike time to grasp the technique!!!! yup ill try the eyeline and throttle control!!

my 5th time next week hope i do pass really want to learn new stuff !! thanks for the encouragement!

haha my prac 1 -5 times prac 2 - 3 leh prac 3 - 5 ?? ;(

I booked mine at 7 sept, 1245 slot! and what happen to you ?

Kick harder, i know the feeling when it gets stuck a neutral then your whole fig 8 is screwed. sometimes it happens to me still.. then i try to salvage it asap..! clutch in and kick again!

Passed my prac 3 on my second attempt. If a noob like me can do it, so can you!

I'll be on my prac 4 this weekend but both days will be at 8.30am. Hope to see you around!

A prac 5 rider told me that gear 1 and gear 2 are close so just kick to gear 2 about 2 - 3 secs after moving off and it works like a charm! But i still can't maintain my throttle therefore my timing was swee swee to pass.

On another note, 2 instructors have told me that i look like a drunkard when i move off because i wobble abit although both legs are already on the footrest. How do i not wobble when moving off? Tips needed

Passed my prac 3 on my second attempt. If a noob like me can do it, so can you!

I'll be on my prac 4 this weekend but both days will be at 8.30am. Hope to see you around!

A prac 5 rider told me that gear 1 and gear 2 are close so just kick to gear 2 about 2 - 3 secs after moving off and it works like a charm! But i still can't maintain my throttle therefore my timing was swee swee to pass.

On another note, 2 instructors have told me that i look like a drunkard when i move off because i wobble abit although both legs are already on the footrest. How do i not wobble when moving off? Tips needed

If you wobble quite a bit when moving off it probably means you are not throttling enough. Try using more throttle.

Likewise for F8, before kicking from gear 1 to 2, make sure you have enough speed before kicking up gear, if not you may end up going into neutral.

All the best and have fun!

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

They do sometimes take students pillion around the 8 to let them feel the banking

Yea people like myself! Haha.

Thank you guys (mica , rijac , timewalker , etc) for the tips and advice that you posted in this forum.

Don't be affected by mean people.

:) :cheer:

Ride safe!!! (:

Happen to be reading the post from beginning, you can go to post 1063.

I also just started. First Lesson 1 on 22/8. 2nd lesson 1 on 5/9. Glad to chance upon some valuable info here. Thank you all those who have contributed over the years.

Something I learned the hard way. Didn't know that for theory, I don't have to follow the sequence. Dumb dumb wasted time waiting for theory 1 first.

Also, during practical1, I wonder why the rest wear and took out helmet so fast. Then I realise I don't have a red tag on the d ring. Now, still trying to figure out a way to remove and wear it quickly. I'm worst than darkredmica. Wear helmet also got problem. Haha!

Wah my name mentioned here. Haha. Yeah I was pretty bad. I fell countless times and wanted to give up countless times. But always remember you can't fail forever. Keep trying keep going keep coming back. If a technique doesn't seem to work for you, try a second one. Ask for tips over here or ask the instructors.

And importantly like the others have already mentioned, don't compare with your friends. The lessons are stressful enough (for me), you don't need the additional stress.

Here's my record once again for 2B:

L1 - 2

L2 - 4

L3 - 4

L4 - 3

L5 - 2

L6 - 2

L7 - 1

L8 - 3

TP - 1

2A:

L1 - 2

L2 - 1

L3 - 3

TP - 1

Most of the learners for Class 2A took way faster than me to clear the lessons and don't seem to struggle as much as me for the courses esp pylon slalom. I almost wanted to give up for my 2A but I'm glad I pressed on.

I had to. For both my classes, I bought the bike first before getting my license hence I guess giving up wasn't really an option. Everytime you feel like giving up, look at bike pictures, go surf SBF used bike garage section and you'll know what to do.

Good luck to all!

Everytime you feel like giving up tell yourself, if Mica can do it so can you. (: I was the unfortunate benchmark for my fellow learners back then. I was really quite a slow learner as you can see, still am actually!

Wobble can be during moving off or during stopping.

Wobble when moving off means that you don't have enough throttle. Throttle a bit more, and use the clutch to control. Wobble when stopping means you are stopping too suddenly. The bike will tilt forward as it comes to a full stop, and then tilt backwards before returning to rest position. The trick here is to use your rear brake more than your front brake. Front brake is stronger and overusing it will make you stop too quickly, resulting in wobble.

It will help to go for more revision lessons, and try start/stop in the nursery area until familiar.

Yeap, I tried those too, problem is bike will tends to wobble while trying to feel the bite. In TP test, since TP stationary, maybe cannot see so obvious, but with instructor following you, a lot of points ganna deducted. Will have to random from now on. No Choice.

If you fail to engage gear 2 in fig 8, all is not lost. You have about 1 second or so to recover. Rev the throttle and kick again. This has happened to me before and I still managed to clear fig 8 within the 11 seconds limit. This is why you must practice figure 8 until you can do it fast, so that the wasted 1 second won't cost you penalty points.

If you wobble quite a bit when moving off it probably means you are not throttling enough. Try using more throttle.

Likewise for F8, before kicking from gear 1 to 2, make sure you have enough speed before kicking up gear, if not you may end up going into neutral.

All the best and have fun!

Your instructor is right. Although you can vary the throttle, but it's hard to control within such a short space and time. Just apply constant throttle, and use rear brake to moderate your speed. You won't fall off as long as you don't hit the kerbs. Remember to always look ahead to where you wanna go, not straight ahead.

Can't remember if you can use the rear brakes for slalom because it's been a long time since I was at CDC, but at SSDC, slalom is to be cleared using throttle control only and using rear brake at slalom is a 4 point penalty (at least for 2A).

Ride on

Wah my name mentioned here. Haha. Yeah I was pretty bad. I fell countless times and wanted to give up countless times. But always remember you can't fail forever. Keep trying keep going keep coming back. If a technique doesn't seem to work for you, try a second one. Ask for tips over here or ask the instructors.

And importantly like the others have already mentioned, don't compare with your friends. The lessons are stressful enough (for me), you don't need the additional stress.

Here's my record once again for 2B:

L1 - 2

L2 - 4

L3 - 4

L4 - 3

L5 - 2

L6 - 2

L7 - 1

L8 - 3

TP - 1

2A:

L1 - 2

L2 - 1

L3 - 3

TP - 1

Most of the learners for Class 2A took way faster than me to clear the lessons and don't seem to struggle as much as me for the courses esp pylon slalom. I almost wanted to give up for my 2A but I'm glad I pressed on.

I had to. For both my classes, I bought the bike first before getting my license hence I guess giving up wasn't really an option. Everytime you feel like giving up, look at bike pictures, go surf SBF used bike garage section and you'll know what to do.

Good luck to all!

Everytime you feel like giving up tell yourself, if Mica can do it so can you. (: I was the unfortunate benchmark for my fellow learners back then. I was really quite a slow learner as you can see, still am actually!

Mica, i now declare I'm worst than you.. I failed my 2nd practical 1 today. Did 3 low speed braking passed 1. Did 3 high speed engine braking, passed twice. Once released both clutch and hand brake together. 2 small f8 - wobble at the last cone.

Nervousness and impatience are my problems. Can't practice much as there to many lesson 1 car drivers moving slowly. A lot of gear 1 and 2.

For those who pass. Congrats.

Mica, i now declare I'm worst than you.. I failed my 2nd practical 1 today. Did 3 low speed braking passed 1. Did 3 high speed engine braking, passed twice. Once released both clutch and hand brake together. 2 small f8 - wobble at the last cone.

Nervousness and impatience are my problems. Can't practice much as there to many lesson 1 car drivers moving slowly. A lot of gear 1 and 2.

For those who pass. Congrats.

No worries man. Two attempts at lesson one is nothing. This creates a stronger foundation to carry on to lesson 2, 3, 4. My foundation was weak hence I struggled at lesson 2, 3 and 4.

It's ok to repeat the lessons ya! Keep going!

Btw. I booked a lesson on polling day. Is lesson still on that day? I also booked one on the 12 sep too. 😂 back to back

Bro i took prac 1 5 times before i pass man... feels like a joker

on the 5th time the instructor tell me can sit down alrdy sure pass you as i do everything smoothly one shot haha.

Just dont give up as its your foundation, i know im bad but oh well i dont give up that easily!

Bro i took prac 1 5 times before i pass man... feels like a joker

on the 5th time the instructor tell me can sit down alrdy sure pass you as i do everything smoothly one shot haha.

Just dont give up as its your foundation, i know im bad but oh well i dont give up that easily!

Thanks bro, jia you together