Just trying to gather some interest.

I'm trying to acquire a GMT II ceramic like paithorn's

Are there serious takers for $10.3k

• Replies 2.8k

  skydude said:
http://offerstation.com/ai/10360_b.jpg

the gmt also nice nice

i feel, its not worth the money...for carrera grand...

aniway, im also looking at omega..hehe..but taking my time to scout around..no hurry.

Honda CBR1100XXX Super Black Bird-Invalid entry

Hmmmmm, nobody wants a GMT II anniversary Ceramic Bezel?

hi. any comments about the watches sold at mustafa? seems like they have quite a decent variety... is there any reason y their prices are like 20% lower? wan buy a hamilton watch n so far, mustafa's price is the best

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/red_rider_1979/aaa-1.jpg

Deal for the GMTII didnt fall through. nothing there.

==============================

Mr Hat, many places also selling less 20% not only mustafa. in fact some places selling more than 20% discount

  Throttle said:
Deal for the GMTII didnt fall through. nothing there.

==============================

Mr Hat, many places also selling less 20% not only mustafa. in fact some places selling more than 20% discount

bro i thought GMTII at 10.3k quite a good deal. most ADs selling premium prices, least i heard going for 10.5-8k

but many are taking the 'wait and see' mindset, for the price to ease :thumb:

  seb033 said:
bro i thought GMTII at 10.3k quite a good deal. most ADs selling premium prices, least i heard going for 10.5-8k

but many are taking the 'wait and see' mindset, for the price to ease :thumb:

hhmm...i dont think the price will ease for this watch........

anyway deal not there so nothing to talk about already.

Planning to order these watches in bulk as I find them quite cool. It is a replica of those used by UDT/frogmen in WWII. Here is it's description. Price wise should not between $100-$150 depending on the discounts I can get for bulk orders.

As countless battlefronts in the Pacific, African, and European theaters called for direct amphibious assaults against islands and beachheads, a small corps of exceptionally skilled fighting men was formed. These men undertook never-before-attempted missions ranging from recon of enemy-held positions to the demolition of shoreline obstacles clearing the way for landing craft. This elite corps of US Navy underwater warriors, nicknamed FROGMEN, became the forerunners of todays US Navy Seals.

US Navy BU Ships Canteen Type 1940s World War II style wrist watch, Model WR16155. is a new re-creation of the original underwater timepieces issued by the United States Navy during World War II to the U.S. Navy Frogmen!

This high quality timepiece boasts a SOLID STAINLESS STEEL case and screw down gasketed stainless steel back which is stamped: USN BU SHIPS (United States Navy - Bureau of Ships). It is fitted on a quality re-creation of the military World War II style one piece olive green khaki canvas strap with steel buckle. It has a non-glare semi domed crystal of hardened acrylic, and just like the originals the SCREW DOWN CANTEEN Style crown cover is attached to a steel O-ring chain secured to the side of the case to prevent loss, and is water resistant to 3 ATM (about 100 feet).

To assure dependability and accurate time keeping, this rugged time piece is powered by a precision ISA 1148 caliber modern QUARTZ movement with the HACK SET battlefield synchronization feature. When you pull out the crown the seconds hand and movement stops...this is known as HACK SETTING, and is a handy feature for synchronization with other watches for military use and for to the second time keeping.

The historically correct dial is black satin enamel finished and is signed U.S.N. BU SHIPS below the 12 in raised subdued black lettering. It has BLUED STEEL LUMINOUS hands, white center SWEEPING seconds hand, a 60 minute outer track, and bold white Arabic numerals.

Case measures 46mm lug tip to lug tip, 44mm including the threaded screw-down Canteen crown cover, and 13mm in thickness, and 18mm between the lugs. Watches of the 30's, 40's, and 50's were smaller than what is being produced today. This watch is a recreation of the original, and is therefore similar in size to the watches of that era.

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/22122007099.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/22122007102.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg
  Throttle said:
Just trying to gather some interest.

I'm trying to acquire a GMT II ceramic like paithorn's

Are there serious takers for $10.3k

hey bro!! welcome to the club!! you need to get 2 for this price to happen?

no need lah but the fella back out....so no deal in the end.

that fella means seller or buyer? i am confused....$10.3 if brand new piece is a steal!! currently price maintianing at $10.5 and above... demand still exceed supply!!

that fella is seller.

I had kangtao to buy it cheap and i really dont need another Rolex although i dont have a GMT Master in my collection, so i though of buying it to sell.

heh heh heh....paiseh...

yeah, price for this watch is at premium . Currently still $10.5 to $11k......

i see.... wah....throttle becoming middlemen liao....but IMHO, this watch is not an "everybody's Rolex"...just like the Daytona...... so the prospective buyer would probably not save a few hundered bucks and not buy from a AD.... just my feel....

Hi guys, I have a question.

I have a tissot whose date is always out of sync ( not accurate). Been to the service center and it was working fine for a month or so, then the problem came back. Is this a normal thing? Do you guys have to adjust your watch date manually every once in awhile?

  paithorn said:
i see.... wah....throttle becoming middlemen liao....but IMHO, this watch is not an "everybody's Rolex"...just like the Daytona...... so the propective buyer would probably not save a few hundered bucks and not buy from a AD.... just my feel....

Yes agreed.

  867k said:

I have a tissot whose date is always out of sync ( not accurate). Been to the service center and it was working fine for a month or so, then the problem came back. Is this a normal thing? Do you guys have to adjust your watch date manually every once in awhile?

my mechanical watch is spot on........

  867k said:

What's wrong with the calendar function of your watch?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg
  paithorn said:
my mechanical watch is spot on........

Wow… perpetual calendar watch:thumb: End of 2008 February is the time to test the perpetual calendar function of your watch:angel:

  Phang said:
What's wrong with the calendar function of your watch?

The date will be late by a day or so, have to manually adjust it. It seems that the date stop moving by a day or something. The time is working properly tho. Is this normal?

The service people also told me a very amusing thing (to me that is), they say that I cannot adjust my watch at between 7pm - 4am. If not it will cockup the mechanism. :giddy: I do not have alot of watch but this is the first time I heard of such restriction. Do you guys know of such thing?

  867k said:
The date will be late by a day or so, have to manually adjust it. It seems that the date stop moving by a day or something. The time is working properly tho. Is this normal?

The service people also told me a very amusing thing (to me that is), they say that I cannot adjust my watch at between 7pm - 4am. If not it will cockup the mechanism. :giddy: I do not have alot of watch but this is the first time I heard of such restriction. Do you guys know of such thing?

about not adjusting the date between 7pm and 4am - its true. Some watch manuals also explicitly advise against doing so, and it will screw up the mechanism. :thumb:

As for ur date - ur watch time may be lacking 12 hours behind. that is, its showing say 3am instead of 3pm. that why the date jumps a day late. try winding forward 12hrs and see if it helps. if it doesn't, highly possible that the date mechanism spolit.

seb033 is right, the date change mechanism starts to engage and release during this period. Setting the date during this period may cause the date change mechanism not working properly. Even some of the modern movements can allow you to set date at any hour but I still adhere to this rule.

I never set the date of my watches correctly as I seldom wear them more than 1 day. If I really need to set it, I will wind the watch to 6 o’clock and set the date to the date a day earlier and wind the watch past 12am to advance the date to the current date and set the time.

Why so much complication ?

The simplest best way is like Phang described, start one day before and wind the hands past 0000hrs for the date to click to the next digit which will be the correct date.

Thanks for the help guys, really appreciate it.

Its a pain in the butt to send the watch to service center, they dont open on Saturday and I have to take leave to send the watch and another leave to collect the watch.

Thanks again, I will do as advised.

Happy watch buying to you guys...

and a Happy New Year.