Everyone is talking about Voltage guage why not a A/F guage which is much more useful!

A standard Air Fuel Ratio Guage csot $100++ It will show whether our Bike is running lean, optimal or rich. But the gauge alone cannot function... It need another set of Oxygen Sensor (in exhuast)

Oxygen sensor in the exhuast detects the amount of O2 in our Exhuast and feed back via Electrical voltage to the A/F guage... where the voltage feedback is converted to needle movement...

This would be a nice accessories on bike for WRX wannabe! :sweat:

I am more interested in Fuel saving... if Bike is running rich all the time for normal commuting, I will tune it and get the A/F Ratio down.

Also to prevent Engine damage if A/F is too lean...

Hopefully can mass order and mass install!

91-92: 84 Yam LC125

95-97: 88 Suz GSX400R & 88 GSX400FW

97-01: 95 Suz Bandit400

01-04: 96 Suz DR650SE

04-11: 99 Suz SV650S

05-05: 94 Suz DR200SE

06-16: 06 Kia Rio 1.4(M) Sedan

11-12: 02 BMW F650GS

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

• Replies 23

nice one. im interested to get one as well.

http://www.vwgolf-mk2.com/eairfuelratiogau...stallation.html

http://www.turbobits.co.uk/manuals/af_gaug...nstructions.pdf

http://www.rbracing-rsr.com/rsrgauge.htm

actually, bikes that are EFI already has an oxygen sensor. correct me if im wrong. so with that, we can just purchase the AF meter alone and tap the original oxygen sensor wires.

but still, i rather get my own oxygen sensor.

P/S: by any chance anyone knows wat air fuel mixture ratio is optimum for your cars or bikes? they arent the same rite

Ah... You didn;t read what you linked me...

According to the Turbits PDF file... 14.5 part of air to 1 part Fuel is the A/F raito any higher it is deemed to be DANGEROUSLY LEAN :sweat:

Fact is most bikes are carb, apart from some suber like Haya, G1, Black Bird, R1, ZX12 (some earlier models are carb version...)

So we need an oxygen sensor... Even if the bike is EFI and equipped with O2 Sensor, it will be best to get an external one...

(else it is LIKE getting NKF own internal Auditor to Audit NKF, sure faultless one :sian: )

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by paiseh@March 22, 2007 10:58 am

P/S: by any chance anyone knows wat air fuel mixture ratio is optimum for your cars or bikes? they arent the same rite

same ratio for optimum combustion fuel-air, also known as the stoichiometric ratio.

1 part fuel to 14.7 part air (or 6.8% fuel)

it's the most efficient - fuel saving wise.

anyway, in theory air/fuel guage sounds good but it is pretty much useless unless:

1. you are riding a carburetor bike (which pretty much holds the air/fuel ratio constant). most modern vehicles are efi and they will adjusts the air/fuel ratio in order to achieve optimum combustion (factory pre-defined )based on the oxygen reading from the lambada sensors.

2. you are able to adjust the mixture on the fly (which probably won't happen until the next generation of power commander or similar)

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Saw this on Ebay... full set cost US$60 (exclude Shipping)

Translate to about $100± inclusive shipping (provided seller don't son on shipping charges)

K&N Air/Fuel Ratio Monitors& 02 sensor

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

i tink i rather concentrate on my rpm meter :D

floppy hit it right on. pretty useless for me actually

Actually all the extra accessories we put in are of little use lah... they only provide sort of like early warning... Like Voltage meter, if you ride frequently there is no basically no use for the meter... Maybe 1 year later when the batt start weakening then it maybe...

Same for the A/F Gauge, my bike is carb, so I can advise my mech accordingly during servicing to do the needful

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

If you want to fit an A/F or Lambda sensor, just go to any original parts supplier for any modern EFI car. You can buy the lambda sensor that fits their system, fit it down track on your exhaust.

Of course you will need to put a hole and screw fitting in your exhaust, then get hold of a suitable gauge.

Finally you will need to workout some way of adjusting your fuel/air mix. Or will just have to wait till yu get it to a workshop.

Another way is to take a look through a suppliers catalogue, like Bosch Automotive, then get Lambda sensor, compatible gauge etc and fit that.

Wont be cheap though

yeap... Got it planned out liao... Just checked Ebay.. there are a number of Supplier that supply O2 sensor and A/F gauges...

VERY TRICKY part is I NEED to drill a hole in my exhuast pipe. I will drill just before my muffle (out of the view of TP/ROV of cos)... then either I tap the hole or I weld a nut/bush/whatever on top of the hole with thread that fits the O2 sensor... this I need help from Workshop... thereafter I just screw on the O2 Sensor, figure the wire route to my bikes dash panel...

Then figure how to mount the AF gauge then Job Finish...

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by Limsteel@March 22, 2007 07:00 pm

yeap... Got it planned out liao... Just checked Ebay.. there are a number of Supplier that supply O2 sensor and A/F gauges...

VERY TRICKY part is I NEED to drill a hole in my exhuast pipe. I will drill just before my muffle (out of the view of TP/ROV of cos)... then either I tap the hole or I weld a nut/bush/whatever on top of the hole with thread that fits the O2 sensor... this I need help from Workshop... thereafter I just screw on the O2 Sensor, figure the wire route to my bikes dash panel...

Then figure how to mount the AF gauge then Job Finish...

If you are using it for tuning purposes, you would need a narrow band sensor and it's not going to come cheap. The O2 sensor is only useful for vehicles with ECU so that adjustments can be made on the fly, even so, no cars come with Air/fuel display as standard.

Some cars retro-fit with Air/Fuel display which serves absolutely no purpose but more like disco lights.

"no use" I cannot agree fully. Little use, I agree. Anyway, I check the standard O2 sensor are quite cheapo in EBay... It is the Wideband ones that cost an arm/leg...

Full set with Dual Sensor Wideband Air/Fuel Meter Kit US$429 (haven't factor in shipping)

http://www.unlspeed.com/ebay/FAST_170402.jpg

3-Wire Universal Platinum Tip Oxygen Sensor cost US$40 at Ebay. 2wire for heating the Probe, 1 wire for the Signal to A/F gauge. single wire might cost US$8 to $30

K&N set US$60 (add US$40 for shipping)

http://www.knfilters.com/images/airfuelmon.jpg

there are lost of gauge that are of little use... Volt Meter, RPM, Vacuum... all these are cosmetic too, but they do provide some information, which we don;t need most of the time...

Anyway, I am apprehensive about the idea of drilling my exhuast. drilling is one thing, having an O2 sensor in the path of exhaust gas will restrict the air flow further. Already our pipes are very restrictive, further restriction might have adverse effect..

So until I can find a better way to mount the sensor, I will "can" the idea for a while...

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by paiseh@March 22, 2007 03:39 pm

i tink i rather concentrate on my rpm meter :D

floppy hit it right on. pretty useless for me actually

same same.. any cheap lobangs for nice looking tachometers bro?

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg
Originally posted by dinie@March 26, 2007 07:16 am

same same.. any cheap lobangs for nice looking tachometers bro?

hehe, will PM u soon :smile:

Great Piece of Device for those with EFI Bike and cars...

This can be use for my Kia Rio!

I can lean or rich your A/F on the go, with a turn of a dial...

But abit Expensive for a variable resistor... just that I donno the resistor range... else can go Electronic shop to buy...

http://www.speedydelivery.co.uk/media/mod_chip_mk2.jpg

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

bro limsteel

Here is probably the cheapest air/fuel monitor on earth. It's serve more like disco lights.

http://autospeed.drive.com.au/cms/A_0217/a...?popularArticle

Since it's for tuning, no point having your O2 sensor permanently mounted in your exhaust system, just stick it in like a probe. If your exhaust system has a cat, then the O2 should be mounted before the cat, otherwise, the O2 location is not critical.

Originally posted by paiseh@March 26, 2007 08:21 am

sweet... thanks in advance man..

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg
Guest cheeko
Originally posted by paiseh@March 26, 2007 08:21 am

:smile: hey paiseh, do u have any 60mm diameter tachometers for 2 cylinder engines? Cos the ones at autobacs are for 3, 4 & 6 cylinders. Couldn't find any for my tmax. I need a precise tachometer to tune my engine :smile:

Cheeko, Dinie.

This thread is for A/F gauge... please use the relevant thread for you quries.. Thanks.

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by cheeko@April 02, 2007 10:27 am

:smile: ok thanks paiseh, we go other place to discuss. Not nice to discuss other items, later kena fook.

u dint click on the link ah? its fuel ratio meter :hungry:

btw, limsteel dint fook ppl la, he tell ppl in a friendly manner wat :smile:

u guys did research on this? u do know u the placement of the O2 sensor is critical? too far from the headers, u wont get a reading, too near and u'll damage the sensor. they need a certain temperature to work. i did a read up last year.. u'll need a threaded bong so that u can screw in the O2 sensor.. and there are pros and cons between the normal 02 sensor and the wide-band sensor.. wide-band more ex, and more accurate... normal narrow-band can be good enuf for most..

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m58/abm_shafiq/IMG_6747.jpg

Originally posted by ehem@April 19, 2007 05:10 am

u guys did research on this? u do know u the placement of the O2 sensor is critical? too far from the headers, u wont get a reading, too near and u'll damage the sensor. they need a certain temperature to work. i did a read up last year.. u'll need a threaded bong so that u can screw in the O2 sensor.. and there are pros and cons between the normal 02 sensor and the wide-band sensor.. wide-band more ex, and more accurate... normal narrow-band can be good enuf for most..

Finally something that sounds right...

Lambda sensor is the thing that looks like a spark plug that u need to insert into your exhaust. there isn't different places u can put.. jus that small stretch on your exhaust. it won't cause much restriction cos it won't be totally inserted into the exhaust. instead, u'll have a threaded extension welded onto your exhaust so that the tip sits slightly extended into the exhaust.

typically AFR won't do u much good unless u have a piggy back like a Power Commander or a totally custom ECU where u can tune the fuel map (i think this is for EFI bikes only...) which brings me to the variable resistor that allows u to fool the ECU on the go. it looks like something that can alter the environmental temperature reading, which is essentially a variable resistor by itself. however i think it is best to know the resistance ranges from your original sensor first... before putting anything on that will fool ur ECU. wrong values might have adverse effects..

apologies for any wrong info i might have given... but to the best of my knowledge its like this... :cheeky: