Looking for CBR 918/919 Riders

Blade900

• Replies 8.1k

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2006, 08:55 AM

hmmmm...almost 5k 'lampost' away liao...hiak hiak hiak.. :D

:faint: o_O

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

the function of a jet kit is to adjust the fuel flow rate into the engine combustion chamber.

stock needle can't be tuned, so we need to use jet kit for tuning purpose.

a jet kit fitted almost equal to increase in fuel consumption. a stock needle gives the best fuel consumption after all the calculation done by the honda engineer.

if we use full system with stock neddle, we have insufficient fuel supply at higher rpm (high flow exhaust), but too much fuel at low rpm (decrease in compression). just like me now.

there's no way to get more power with same fuel consumption.

so we fix jet needle to increase the fuel flowrate to gain more power.

if jet needle fitted and decrease in fuel consumption, it means your engine output will drop.

simple calculation below:

100bhp = 0.26 x 10^9 joules per hour.

1 litre of fuel = approximate 35 x 10^6 joules

efficient of engine let say 30%

so 1 litre of fuel we only get about 12 x 10^6 joules

to gain 100bhp we need 21 litres of fuel per hour.

(this is why our peak bhp only comes at high rpm, need lots of fuel being burnt per minute to get the power out)

cut short all the theory... (you can find info in many thermo dynamic books...)

to gain more power, we increase fuel + air supply (fuel must mix with correct amount of air to get the optimum combustion condition), so we need a jet needle allows high flow of fuel and high flow air filter for more air.

what we get from jet kit with stock exhaust system is, we increase the fuel-air supply, but without the full system to allow high flow of exhaust gases at high rpm, most of the fuel is wasted at high rpm.

the money spent on jet needle with stock can't give you much power, may be you will feel smoother throttle, but definately will increase the fuel consumption and may be about 1 bhp gain only?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 27 2006, 09:38 AM

the function of a jet kit is to adjust the fuel flow rate into the engine combustion chamber.

a jet kit fitted almost equal to increase in fuel consumption. a stock needle gives the best fuel consumption after all the calculation done by the honda engineer.

if we use full system with stock neddle, we have insufficient fuel supply at higher rpm (high flow exhaust), but too much fuel at low rpm (decrease in compression). just like me now.

if jet needle fitted and decrease in fuel consumption, it means your engine output will drop.

(this is why our peak bhp only comes at high rpm, need lots of fuel being burnt per minute to get the power out)

to gain more power, we increase fuel + air supply (fuel must mix with correct amount of air to get the optimum combustion condition), so we need a jet needle allows high flow of fuel and high flow air filter for more air.

what we get from jet kit with stock exhaust system is, we increase the fuel-air supply, but without the full system to allow high flow of exhaust gases at high rpm, most of the fuel is wasted at high rpm.

the money spent on jet needle with stock can't give you much power, may be you will feel smoother throttle, but definately will increase the fuel consumption and may be about 1 bhp gain only?

tks sev for the clear explantation... i nw understand more liao...but if i were to change, i might as well change to jet needle...at least in future u can add on full system......

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 27 2006, 09:45 AM

btw louis, side track a bit, from your dyno chart, when is your 100bhp mark? what rpm and speed?

Sev, u install ur GPR system, hw long was ur inspection?n hw much is it?

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

Whao ...:thumb:

So Sev go change ur nick to 'guru sev' ... :D

Yup

wow very solid explanation... but i duno how to do the maths.. cos my maths fail wan... lucky sev explain in layman terms.... good ah :thumb:

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2006, 10:38 AM

Micron

Mayb ur guys can try this pipe..juz pm him and get the quotation from him..street legal n removable silencer...:lovestruck:

wow very nice pipe.... exactly like mine, just dat its scorched titanium...

GUYS...get this pipe... no regrets wan, can definitely feel a huge increase in power lor ! :thumb:

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2006, 10:44 AM

http://img86.imageshack.us/img86/8699/huggersitemouth9wk.jpg

eh i think i still have 1 piece left in my malacca workshop leh... if murphy want, maybe can send it to u? sell cheap2 lor... :cheeky:

i still remember its silver in colour... but have to call my mech to check see whether sold or not... :smile:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Apr 27 2006, 11:44 AM

eh i think i still have 1 piece left in my malacca workshop leh... if murphy want, maybe can send it to u? sell cheap2 lor... :cheeky:

i still remember its silver in colour... but have to call my mech to check see whether sold or not... :smile:

hw much u wan to sell....n hw to i take from u..but hte pro is my undertray might hit the hugger

Originally posted by Murphy@Apr 27 2006, 03:03 PM

hw much u wan to sell....n hw to i take from u..but hte pro is my undertray might hit the hugger

hmm see how... when i go back malacca i'll send to louis, then if fit oni we discuss ok ! :cheeky:

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2006, 01:10 PM

from ur face can tel... :D

got the word BTC on it arh?? :confused:

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2006, 04:10 PM

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/6835/200604230092fa.jpg

so small how to see leh ?? o_O

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Apr 27 2006, 04:14 PM

got the word BTC on it arh?? :confused:

me GCMTC leh....so no worry....am oso with u