How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

Let me calculate for u,

15k OPC car. down 5K

loan 10k

Let say interest is 3%

loan 5yrs will be 1.15 x10k

= $11500 / 60mths

Ur 5 yrs loan per mth installment is $192

Loan 7yrs per mth is $144

I bet is cheaper then a lot of Class 2 running ard!

http://www.zx-12r.org/PhotoPost/data//506/2ZX12RBabe3.jpg

• Replies 870

Yah, but don't forget about insurance + petrol + parking...

Can easily add up to another $200~300 per month if you divide by 12 months.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

1. I'm very concern about this Throttle. We have a humble amount slightly above 30k in our account u see. I wouldnt want to see it shrink due to car.

2. Downpayment is usually at 10K right? This I'm not sure but most of my friends told me that usually they forked out 5k for their cars. 5k is a lot to me leh. What more 10k. My hard earned money will be gone. I'm not sure if I can get it back though.

3. I think I understood this. My kids are the upmost priority now. I wouldnt want them neglected.

PS. Ok bro, will stop with the Mr. I really thought u are like 40 something leh... Sorry sorry..

Thanks again fellas for ur insights. I will discuss this thoroughly with my wife see what she has got to say about it thought I can foresee that she will just leave the big decisions to me. If it's really not within our budget maybe I just get another 400cc bike lah. Might be looking at the GSR400 with all those sideboxes and all.

1. It WILL shrink if you get a car. there is no doubt about that

2. Down payment is up to you but the less you down , the more interest you pay. the more you down , the less liquidity you have.

3. I'm only 35 lah............

Yah, but don't forget about insurance + petrol + parking...

Can easily add up to another $200~300 per month if you divide by 12 months.

Of course lah, U wnt a bit more comfort thus u got to pay extra more.

Compare to last time i ride a class 2 bike, the opc car confirm a lot cheaper!

He can also go up north to get his grocery, tat will confirm cut his expense by half to wat he get from sing.

Well, again its up to wat u choose.

http://www.zx-12r.org/PhotoPost/data//506/2ZX12RBabe3.jpg

So far my hopes of owning a car has sunk. After much considerations from u fellas, I think I'm really not ready lah... My wife just smiled not saying anything from my decision. So I guess it will just have to wait until I'm promoted & earning more than I am right now. Being in debt is just a heavy burden lah. Can't imagine going thru all that...

VODKA Rain

If your latest plan seems absent of me... There is nothing I can do...

Rain, I think success is always sweeter for the one who earns it.

You have earn already quite a few things in life.

heck you even have one kid more than me ! hoho

so save up a little more so that you can be less pressured when you finally get a car.

I think you are still quite young. under 30?

rain, since you still can ride, y not settle for a budget car, 2nd hand, OPC, just for the sake of moving around shoppin over the weekend with baby diapers and such. with ur saving, you can downpay a sustantial amound so your mthly installment can be lower.

petrol usage you have ur bike's to hedge against your car's so wouldnt be much.. killer is the parking and ERP ( you u fancy town) or fines...

think if you can set aside 500 comfortably, should haf no prob with an OPC 2nd hand car

alot of times pple restrict themselves in the context when they need to expend it.. if you dont consider a car, even for an OPC, dont think you will ever drive... let the reality sink into your comfort zone and then it will work out fine.. i find it rather reasonable for one with baby to haf a car..

after all, think back and look at your wifey and baby, do they deserve better, after all the while they stick with you?

Yes, Base on Delusion's advice, do balance things as you understand your own situation best.

however, dont go with the notion "that when boat reach the bridge the journey will be straight"

Make sure you at least have the ability the steer the Boat straight to the bridge. On the way, you will need to forgo some things as the is a price for driving in Singapore. Just be ready and willing.

PErhaps when you get your car in future, you can post some photos on the beloved car photos thread in this section.

You have earn already quite a few things in life.

heck you even have one kid more than me ! hoho

so save up a little more so that you can be less pressured when you finally get a car.

I think you are still quite young. under 30?

Yeah you can say that Throttle. I just want to reward my family, not something flashy to show others. But flashy or not a car is expensive. I guess I just need to be patient & save a little more.

And I'm not getting younger... 2 more years & I'll be 30!

think back and look at your wifey and baby, do they deserve better, after all the while they stick with you?

I couldnt agree with you more bro, just the best for my family...

Make sure you at least have the ability the steer the Boat straight to the bridge. On the way, you will need to forgo some things as the is a price for driving in Singapore. Just be ready and willing.

As with most other things isn't it? I believe that we gotta be a bit realistic that if I want something I gotta lose something. What really irks me is that I have to work so hard to get a humble car when this particular person that I know, his father bought him a Lancer EX! I'm sad that I'm not as blessed at that young fella but I have to acccept the fact that life isn't fair.

But deep within me I knew that all the stuffs around me, the roof over my head is my hard earned money not a gift from someone & I guess thats something to be proud of. I dont lavishly eat at restaurants except our monthly Fish & CO (which is my wife's favorite retreat), I dont spend on all those flashy handphones, whatever I need to spend on myself I make sure my utilities are cleared, my wife & son gets whatever they want then it's me. Now I have to be pushed one step back as my next son is already coming.

What pisses me off is how people looked at my newborn. This uptight elder colleague of mine whom all of us hated overheard my topic with another married fella abt cars this morning in the pantry. This is what happen:

Old guy = Aiyah got baby bonus what! 2nd child now 10k!

I stood up & said = Please dont offend my son. You think I'm having him for money is it? Whats your problem anyway?

Old guy = See lah u got kids then u cannot enjoy, no freedom. Diapers lah, milk lah all those tiny baby things lah... buy car so difficult for you but easy Beemer 7 for me. I really pity you.

Me = *Speechless cause I lost the war.

My fren = Pa****k, when u die leh? money go where?

*He sniggers at us & walks out

This taught me a valuable lesson. I must talk about cars to people who are either friendly for opinions or are sharing the same grounds as me.

VODKA Rain

1. It WILL shrink if you get a car. there is no doubt about that

2. Down payment is up to you but the less you down , the more interest you pay. the more you down , the less liquidity you have.

3. I'm only 35 lah............

my senior onli 35 ??? :giddy:

measn u are the harry tan days ...

Yeah you can say that Throttle. I just want to reward my family, not something flashy to show others. But flashy or not a car is expensive. I guess I just need to be patient & save a little more.

And I'm not getting younger... 2 more years & I'll be 30!

I couldnt agree with you more bro, just the best for my family...

As with most other things isn't it? I believe that we gotta be a bit realistic that if I want something I gotta lose something. What really irks me is that I have to work so hard to get a humble car when this particular person that I know, his father bought him a Lancer EX! I'm sad that I'm not as blessed at that young fella but I have to acccept the fact that life isn't fair.

But deep within me I knew that all the stuffs around me, the roof over my head is my hard earned money not a gift from someone & I guess thats something to be proud of. I dont lavishly eat at restaurants except our monthly Fish & CO (which is my wife's favorite retreat), I dont spend on all those flashy handphones, whatever I need to spend on myself I make sure my utilities are cleared, my wife & son gets whatever they want then it's me. Now I have to be pushed one step back as my next son is already coming.

What pisses me off is how people looked at my newborn. This uptight elder colleague of mine whom all of us hated overheard my topic with another married fella abt cars this morning in the pantry. This is what happen:

Old guy = Aiyah got baby bonus what! 2nd child now 10k!

I stood up & said = Please dont offend my son. You think I'm having him for money is it? Whats your problem anyway?

Old guy = See lah u got kids then u cannot enjoy, no freedom. Diapers lah, milk lah all those tiny baby things lah... buy car so difficult for you but easy Beemer 7 for me. I really pity you.

Me = *Speechless cause I lost the war.

My fren = Pa****k, when u die leh? money go where?

*He sniggers at us & walks out

This taught me a valuable lesson. I must talk about cars to people who are either friendly for opinions or are sharing the same grounds as me.

alamak i coming 30 also no wife, no kid . at least u got a family.

not somthing ppl can buy and give u wan ..

though when we look around we do see some rich yong punk , but what to do .as long as we no steal , no rob , no kill ..

we must be content with what we have .. as there are ppl much worse of

Comparing with others is the root of all envy.

Live for yourself, why give a d@mn what others say?

Nobody knows your needs more than yourself.

Nobody knows your commitments more than yourself.

Nobody else is responsible for your decisions & well being other than yourself.

People who say nasty things & undermine you typically are jealous of what you have & need to have the feeling of one-upmanship to stroke their ego. So, do them a favour & let them shoot their mouths off, then move on & have a GREAT LIFE!

I pity the old guy.....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Comparing with others is the root of all envy.

Live for yourself, why give a d@mn what others say?

Nobody knows your needs more than yourself.

Nobody knows your commitments more than yourself.

Nobody else is responsible for your decisions & well being other than yourself.

People who say nasty things & undermine you typically are jealous of what you have & need to have the feeling of one-upmanship to stroke their ego. So, do them a favour & let them shoot their mouths off, then move on & have a GREAT LIFE!

Are you trying to tell me something? Because the way I read it is as though you are feeling sore at me.

Are you?

VODKA Rain

rain1407 - after reading so much and seeing your age, i believe at ur present salary, supporting your family is quite tight...or i must say very tight...maybe can considered getting a car after 30 or when u have a higher pay or wat...nowadays inflation is killing us....i suggest take taxi to pamper your wife and kids rather than mrt or bus...maybe after 1 mth of taxi trips, u will know actually how much it burns your wallet as taking taxi is still cheaper then having a car...taking taxi is paying upfront and we can control the frequency of it. but once u have the car...tats it....u own it...pay later..the lump sum payment...will...haiz...say liao also make me gek sim....

Are you trying to tell me something? Because the way I read it is as though you are feeling sore at me.

Are you?

no I am not sore at you. Why should I? I don't even know you.

This is an open forum for sharing comments & experience, which is exactly what I am doing. I do not know why you took it personally, especially since I did not quote anyone in my post.

Nonetheless, :sorry: is a simple word. I sincerely apologize to you for whatever I did that may have hurt your feelings in anyway.

(I read & reread my post & I can't understand what I said that anyone could have found remotely offensive, kindly enlighten so I can be better in my communication in future)

my senior onli 35 ??? :giddy:

measn u are the harry tan days ...

Yes I was during the Harry tan days.

He is a fair guy. good man, in my opinion

Passed away not too long ago..

"One family unbroken, we join in one acclaim,

one heart one voice uplifting, to glorify Thy name."

Are you?

Hhhmmm Rain, I also think you might have read it a bit too personally.

Kiamh's post definitely not offensive in essence.

He is also not the troublemaker type forumer as far as i know

anyway, we move on.

Hey bro kiamh,Im just asking if u are trying to tell me something only as when I read it, I thought it was something I write & i might be wrong about. I dont wish to make enemies as I have quite a number of good friends in this forum. Worried that I might offend you or sombody so no pun intended or whatsoever & I'm not taking this personally. Don't worry lah...

PS: the words that strike my uneasiness is when u end with GREAT LIFE!

What I took from u is shut up, dont compare and move on!

I apologise again for the misunderstanding... :sweat:

VODKA Rain

I think Rain is so lucky to have an understanding wife..

today..i drove to work..a short trip from wdls ave 12 to the sle exit into bke took blardy 20mins..in wat wd b a 1min trip.

it took me almost the same time as i wd if i had taken the BMW(Bus,MRT,Walk).in contrast..it's almost double my travelling time on the bike (45mins)

well the grass is always greener on the other side.

Rain..IMHO..if u wana go late nite makans..isit gona b with ur still young children?if not.actuali not reali need for car..

n even if the children come along..after midnite taxis sureee a lot.hehehe.

i think ur 2nd one coming rite?mebbe wait for a 3rd thennn can buy opc or something like tt.

cos then muz take 2 cabs mahhh.hehe.

I wana ride again.aiming for AT.hehehe.

if not for the fact tt i need to ferry clients arnd..i think i can ride a niceee shiny r6.hehe

aniwae..u cant go wrong in this thread with wonderful advisers like throttle arnd..

2007 - Present FY WaveR Blue

2005 2006 FY WaveR Orange

2005-2006 FU CB400 VTEC1

2003-2004 FU DrZ400E

2002-2003 FV RxZ Catalyzer

2000-2002 FH TzR

Guys............. my company paid for my Van so how to tabulate huh !!! My CFO only pay me so little .....................

you forgot to say that you own the company.

oh let me share u a story..

i meet an old buddy of mine whilst i was having coffee at kopi tiam..

he's earning nett 2.5k driving a nice new honda civic

all looks good on the surface..

until u prod further..he needs the car for his sales activities..

if not he will rent out the car.

thus...he's looking for an office job..

hw did it all go wrong?2.5k nett sounds acceptable.though mite b a bit xiong.

ans:credit card bills.

he's paying the minimum sum abt 500 a mth for all his credit card bills.

i duno when he's clearing..i worry for him..with the car..he can actuali earn more with it but it's actuali up to him.

he's prob one of the soon-to-be bankrupt mats.

moral of the story:get rid of the credit card monster n live below ur means..

i cant remember who but there's someone in this thread who saves 70% of his income..tt's a v good habit.

juz park it properly.hehehe.

i like the rizwan.com blogger.amazing analysis.wonder if he's juz a rilekz mat juz like me at heart.hehehe

2007 - Present FY WaveR Blue

2005 2006 FY WaveR Orange

2005-2006 FU CB400 VTEC1

2003-2004 FU DrZ400E

2002-2003 FV RxZ Catalyzer

2000-2002 FH TzR

if u wana go late nite makans..isit gona b with ur still young children?if not.actuali not reali need for car..

n even if the children come along..after midnite taxis sureee a lot.hehehe.

i think ur 2nd one coming rite?mebbe wait for a 3rd thennn can buy opc or something like tt

When we were younger the makan sessions are in fact daily, u know lah the "pak toh" (pls correct the spelling for me haha!) period. Now & then when my mum's not working & she is taking care of her grandson then we would ride out. But this frequency is only available during the weekends when we visit her.

And bro, we're gonna stop at 2 lah. Enough already... This is definetly sure!

hw did it all go wrong?2.5k nett sounds acceptable.though mite b a bit xiong.

ans:credit card bills.

he's prob one of the soon-to-be bankrupt mats.

moral of the story:get rid of the credit card monster n live below ur means..

I have 1 credit card since 2003, but so far I've used it only twice. Scared lah abt the penalties upon not paying up. I've heard people who got into trouble with the cards & quite sad about them not having some financial discipline.

And i think bankrupts can happen to anyone, not neccesary stereotyped to any specific race.

VODKA Rain