How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

Originally posted by nivleK1985@May 12 2005, 03:18 PM

:smile: I wish I'm able to idle stay at home shake leg etc :weep: working and studying is very tiring :weep:

think of your future.

U could either enjoy now or suffer later in life

Suffer now in order to enjoy better later.

When I mean Suffer is working hard to lay the strong foundation for your future.

May 1999 - Aug 1999 - Yamaha FZR150

Aug 1999 - Nov 2001 - Honda Phantom 150

Nov 2001 - Oct 2005 - Honda CB400 Superfour HYPER-VTEC

April 2005 - Aug 2010 - Nissan Latio

Aug 2010 - Aug 2011 - BMW 320

Sep 2011 - Current - Honda Stream

• Replies 870

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by LordDraco@May 12 2005, 03:34 PM

think of your future.

U could either enjoy now or suffer later in life

Suffer now in order to enjoy better later.

When I mean Suffer is working hard to lay the strong foundation for your future.

:pity: but wat abt people like me who all day long under the hot sun as a bangla...... :weep:

*grinz* ur house not tall enough

nope :)

You all very bitter siah.. :lol:

But I agree with every single one here though..

No I don't intend to drive a car yet.. just interested to noe how much I should be earning before I even think of getting one...

And yes, I agree with Bro Throttle too. No intention to 'por' him but he's one of those VERY few rich chap who don't mind sitting under my void deck, who talks in a very friendly way without airs/stuck up ness/authoritative attitude whatsoever, and at the same time owns lotsa goodness in life.. :thumb:

We need more of people like his calibre I believe.

Most of the rich kids/young adults inc. whom I seen/talked/acquainted/friends with really can't make it de.. I ain't saying all though, just most.

Complain too much, talk so much, show off way very much, but don't strive much with effort that an average joe has. It's dad's effort that brought em around and they tend to forget that really.

Maybe it's just the way life is..

If only my dad is rich, I would have loved to use that money freely for a degree education without worrying whether I have enough to feed... instead of having to scrimp/save/scrooge to save up for one now at a freakingly slow and painful and sometimes embarassing pace.. I do dream of having a rich life once in a while, but not for materialism needs as they are definitely secondary... I fantasized about having lotsa money to pay for a uni education and having a good job...

but of course.. reality bites :smile:

live and learn...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Yo Naz, as long as you dont feel like a slave to the car when you buy it, that is enuff right?. it's a matter of what type of car.

i got my first car when i was 25 - 26. 14 yr old car which i paid all my hard earned cash for ($24k) so no need to worry about monthly instalments etc....

Luckily, it didnt break down on me...

anyway, thanks for your kind words. perhaps becos i know people from many walks of life so i get to see the different perspectives. I also wont forget that i grew up playing soccer with my Malay friends in an empty field behind my old block of flats, and riding BMXs with my ah beng friends some of whom have already dropped out of school.

Gotta go for a good cigar tonite after recovering from flu now , heh heh heh heh heh

Guest cheeko
:pity: Hi mr throttle, can u give some advise for those people who is at the end of the ladder like me..... :pity: Cos even if by working very hard also got no use...... Forever stuck down below all my life..... :weep:

firstly dont think of yourself that way...

there are some rich folks with little or no morals /ethics/integrity.

stay above that and you will be higher in many people's eyes.

dont be what you are not. many people like to talk loud and act tough.

know that there are people who are below you and struggling twice as hard.

set your priorities, dont need to keep up with the joneses...

improve your knowledge and gain wealth in different areas.

wealth comes in many different forms, money is but one of them and probably the worse one. health, knowledge and integrity are also worthwhile forms of wealth that we should acheive.

Originally posted by cheekozer@May 29 2005, 02:26 AM

:pity: Hi mr throttle, can u give some advise for those people who is at the end of the ladder like me..... :pity: Cos even if by working very hard also got no use...... Forever stuck down below all my life..... :weep:

Set a realistic goal and strive for it... hardwork sometime is not really enough but a bit of luck.

I fully agree with what trottle say in his previously few messages and I think is a good golden advice for all folks here including me... :thumb:

Then again ... there are a few way to climb up the ladder

one way is not the advisable way as it lacks integrity and non-ethical - stepping pple on the way up

the other way is just waiting for your opportunities, getting not only $$$ but knowledge that translate into wisdom and also experience. Perhaps gaining also a good skillsets - in either physically or intellectual.

Some work is more on brain power - i.e. sales, finance manager, etc

Some work is more on physical skillsets - i.e. chef, contractor and etc

A person may not be rich, but so forth they are happy, take pride in their work, work with high integrity and be ethical. I think that is pretty good and be proud of urself.

I do also believe that if one got good self-confident plus self-aware (of own short-coming and improving it) one could be pretty successful.

Upz for u all =)

This thread should apply to bikes too, seeing too many new bikes/eat grass pple around.

Now I got my knowledge, juz finished school (again), but i owe a xxxxload to the bank, relative to my unemployed status. So to avoid being a slave to a new bike, I will force myself to forgo it for a year to pay off my loans. I'm with u throttle, want to be debt-free. Have spent too long in the negative zone, and it sucks.

Becoz of my poverty my bike suffered, since $ to repair parts was lacking. I will never want to be in debt again, hence no car, and no new/used bike even, until I clear my liabilities. I've been a clerk/waiter/pub/storehand/driver/valet/techsuport/etc etc all these sai gangs just to support myself, and keep bike alive till today. Never again I say, its horribly depressing and you worry all the time.

Please don't buy a car/bike without doing the sums properly. It will "kill" you and whatever freedom you think you get from it.

Originally posted by sloth@Jun 8 2005, 03:07 AM

Upz for u all =)

This thread should apply to bikes too, seeing too many new bikes/eat grass pple around.

Now I got my knowledge, juz finished school (again), but i owe a xxxxload to the bank, relative to my unemployed status. So to avoid being a slave to a new bike, I will force myself to forgo it for a year to pay off my loans. I'm with u throttle, want to be debt-free. Have spent too long in the negative zone, and it sucks.

Becoz of my poverty my bike suffered, since $ to repair parts was lacking. I will never want to be in debt again, hence no car, and no new/used bike even, until I clear my liabilities. I've been a clerk/waiter/pub/storehand/driver/valet/techsuport/etc etc all these sai gangs just to support myself, and keep bike alive till today. Never again I say, its horribly depressing and you worry all the time.

Please don't buy a car/bike without doing the sums properly. It will "kill" you and whatever freedom you think you get from it.

U could make it soon .. wish you lots of luck.

And u can get whatever you realli wanted .. bigger car, nice car and etc next time.

But then ... all these are material .. all the most is you must be happy and enjoying whatever freedom you had being debt-free, stress-free or whatever....

I am still in debt ...sad to say ... housing loan (ano 19 years), car loan (another 6 years), instalment of credit but lucky is 0% interest ....

But still pretty happy lah and got some freedom ... :)

what is considered making it?

$10k per month?

$20k per month?

grass is always greener on the other side.

sorry i'm :offtopic:

Originally posted by blurrblurr@Apr 27 2005, 01:13 AM

My friend told me a story. He was fetching his ang mo client from USA from airport to his hotel by hiring a taxi. On the way they met a long traffic jam. And the Ang mo start to ask

Ang mo: I heard that Singapore cars is double the price of a car in US? Why are there still so many cars around? Singaporean must be working very hard to be so rich? Singapore is so small do they really need a car? And the all the cars I notices looks very new!

My friend : Maybe or maybe is the peak hour so you see much more cars on the road. They are rushing for work!

Taxi drivers : Nope. I know the answer. The reason is Singaporean work very hard to earn themself a car so that they can join the jam in the expressway.

Don't you agree?

:lol: :thumb:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by STi@May 4 2005, 09:48 AM

:faint: :faint: I second to that!!!

My Sis a Primary school teacher and when i hear her complain about the children there and how sometimes thier parents come complain about the teachers cos she punish the kid by asking him to write a hundred times 'i will not forget to do my homework next time".... :faint: , i was thinking what will ever become of these children... :sweat:

100 lines!? remember once i need to write 500 lines n dont dare let my mum know if not sure kana pull my ears n face the wall :sweat:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by cheekozer@May 29 2005, 02:26 AM

PRIDE is the word bro. take pride in wat ever u do u nobody can look down on u. i especially despise ppl who dont dont perform as they r capable of. regardless of wether a doctor, lawer or watever u do a sloppy job nobody will respect u

have faith in urself :goodluck:

hope this thread dont miss lead youngster into buying car the vote of $3500 being the highest :faint:

when i married in 1995 combine income ^$60,000 annual also dont dare think of car 'cos was planning for our first child. but due to my wife living with me in woodland n wok in alexander spend ^2hr everyday on public transport i pain pain buy her a small charade which cost $30,000. so mthly installment ~$550. add up per mth

2yrs back my wife change job to sales got transport n parking allowance then we upgrade to corolla. though now combine income ^double n live in private property i also not shy riding bike loh 'cos i dont need a car (i dont like to drive :cheeky: )

i fancy big comfortable car but i rather save enough $$ for my annual long trip, occasional weekend escape, allowance for my parents, saving into my daugther's saving acc, prep for my 2nd baby, mthly big feast, kopi with friends, drinking session with buddies & important saving for retirement :goodluck:

now that i only need to pay cash for my car installment ($740) my wife can quit her job without worries. infact she was jobless pass few mths 'cos conflict with boss n she spend quality time with my daugther n her mum. pew...now she start woking again mu allowance ^again :sweat:

bottom line i m trying to say is by all means buy wat ever car u desire but life is not all abt owning a car...there still other things in life :goodluck:

No lah..........Life is about buying car, the SL500 that is....

hahahahahah

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 15 2005, 05:41 PM

No lah..........Life is about buying car, the SL500 that is....

hahahahahah

haahaa...if u read on 1 of the thread u will c i stated my dream car as SL500 :lovestruck: that is when i have my retirement plan, parents n kids all sorted out then maybe will consider :goodluck:

i cannot fathom myself spending that kind of money on a car actually....

the most expensive car i may be willing to pay for is probably no more than $200k

even if i am worth a few million more than now..

otherwise, i think i'd rather use the money for other causes.

going back to the choices in this poll...all the figures dont look right.

should start at $2000 to $3000, $3000 to $4000, $4000 to $5000 etc...

makes more sense

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 16 2005, 11:06 PM

the most expensive car i may be willing to pay for is probably no more than $200k

should start at $2000 to $3000, $3000 to $4000, $4000 to $5000 etc...

makes more sense

Kinda of agree with that!

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 16 2005, 11:06 PM

should start at $2000 to $3000,  $3000 to $4000, $4000 to $5000 etc...

makes more sense

agree! i always think that this thread is going to miss lead dudes earning $1000 into buying a car :giddy:

u r quite rite abt spending that kinda $$ on a SL500...but its just so irresistable :lovestruck: maybe got chance will just rent it for a couple of day :cheeky:

So what's the cost of owning and maintining a car in Singapoe.

Let's take the example of the cheapest car in Singapore.

Hyundai Accent 1.3M - S$40,888 (S$35K loan @ 2.2%/7yr)

Based on straight line depreciation, and bare minimum costs involved

Annual loan interest - $770

Annual depreciation - $4088

Annual rd tax - $700

Annual HDB car pk - $1080

Annual insurance @ 50% NCD - $700

Annual office car park - $1200

Annual ERP @ $3/day - $800

Annual petrol @ $200/mth - $2400

Annual maintenance - $200

Annual traffic/parking fines etc - $200

That's a whopping $12,138 per year.

It costs a bare minimum of S$1011.50 per month to maintain the cheapest car in Singapore !!! COOL!!!

Copied from a car forum.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

they got the depreciation calculation wrong cos there is also the scrap value at the end of the ten year tenure to factor in

Annual maintenance - $200

confirm not enough

yah, this has been discussed before....

so those who try to"hit swollen face skin to look fat" will suffer.

Baseline ... no matter how cheap a car is.

Monthly payment for a car is should be easily around 800 to 1000 minimum. 1000 as the most likely figure.

For those who earn 2k, that about 1/2 of your pay.

For those who earn 3k, that about 1/3 of the pay.

Any big problem for car if a 2nd hand ... wah .. die liao. Eat Grass.

Know of friend who own car but barely got $$ in banks.