[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 11 2005, 01:08 AM

One fine day, after I'm done with superbikes, I'd definately get a Monster again! :D

Now you can have both - superbike and monster, the new S4RS!

THE “MONSTER SUPERBIKE” WITH TRACK-PERFECT PERFORMANCE

The legendary Testastretta engine now powers the leading street fighter motorcycle. Designed with the most experienced riders in mind, who expect the best in terms of technology, performance and componentry, the Monster S4Rs sets a new standard in the category, benefiting from all the experience gained in the World Superbike Championship.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/motocafe/2006S4RS.jpg

http://www.ducati.com/bikes/my2006/ducatiM...elName=MS4RS-06

• Replies 14.5k

erm.. i dun tink he will like dat.. haa.. prefer a more simple moster...

S4RS is nice n good.. i heard a S4R b4.. i still feels the monster suits the classic air cooled engine.. hhaa.. it attracts me more too.. :lovestruck:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Yo everyone!

Thank you all for the replies!! I am still trying out new things so haven't got the time to reply. I am going to try "Engine Degreaser" I saw at Shell maybe over the weekend.

Don't think I wanna spray the engine case because don't wanna leave my bike in the workshop for a few days. If really can't get rid of the stains then I give up lah haha.

Neo I tightened the speedo cable and now it is working. It got loose lah .. The tacho is fine.

Anyway I'll try to go for a general checkup ASAP. In the meantime, still getting used to this bike. It is so rough and brutle. Sometimes I paiseh to drag 1st gear, pple will think that I'm trying to show off or what. But it is normal to drag this bike right? Do you guys ride this bike gently or hard??

c26492.jpg

Well, I think the S4RS looks very nice on specs. That radiator and oil cooler is straight off the 999. :thumb:

But, I think i'm old fashioned, and I love the air cooled 1000DS engine. And I like the look of the dual lowmounts. :D

Hi, fellow Monster and ex-Monster Riders,

I am planning a long trip and am having problem wondering how to pack my belongings. Tried some soft saddle bags from a friend but I feel that it may wobble too much. Am leaving next Wednesday.

How do you folks travel?:confused:

This will make monsters look dated.... Drooling good look man! I cant stand it!!

I think Ducati had it this time. With ppl even buying the MS, this will sell like roti boy!!!

Instrumentation aint that bad too @ 175kg

CONCEPT DUCATI HYPER( not even super) MOTARD!!!

http://www.gizmag.co.uk/watermark.php?p=4839_16110585934.jpg

http://www.gizmag.co.uk/watermark.php?p=4839_16110591142.jpg

http://www.gizmag.co.uk/watermark.php?p=4839_16110591127.jpg

http://www.gizmag.co.uk/watermark.php?p=4839_16110590450.jpg

http://www.ducati.com/bikes/index.jhtml;js...V4?family=bikes

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 16 2005, 11:50 PM

What panniers are you using?

I used Oxford Humpback panniers on my Monster, no problems doing 160. If it wobbles its probably not strapped down properly.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/thumb_DSCN6074~0.JPG

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/thumb_DSCN6070.JPG

These look as good as hard panniers. Where can I get them? Are they costly?

Are tank bags comfortable if fitted onto Monsters for long hauls?

hi everyone!

I'm a 'new-old' rider so to speak. Used to ride an RS125 back in '99 I've been out of the bike scene once i ORDed, and went to uni overseas but am due to return to singapore for good in 2 weeks time. my first order of business is to try and find a bike. Since i have a 2A licence and have no urge to go for class 2, i am currently deciding between an RS250 and the M400. I'll probably go for the M400 though because running costs and maintainance will probably be much lower with a 4 stroker, and i am not much of a speeder anyway. I was just wondering if you guys could help out a wannabe monster biker by telling me a couple things?

The first is: How much does 3rd party insurance cost you guys? I'm a 25 years old and i've had my 2B licence for 6 years (5 years for 2A). When i heard that insurance on the RS250 is about 800+ at my age/experience level my heart nearly stopped beating!!! I used to pay like 200 bucks for third party back in '99 for my RS125!! And i was 19 and a new rider back then!! I hope the monster fares better (i suppose it should, since it isnt a high performance/sport machine)

The second is probably the most important one. I've got a total budget of about 6K for a nice second hand monster (preferably black). Not all of it will be spent on the bike: my first order of business will be to get high mount exhaust pipes fitted (i think they look soooo sexy with high mount pipes). The one that really catches my eye is this one from akrapovic http://www.akrapovic-exhaust.com/main/catalog/ducati/monster600-900_93-01/slipon/bikeside.jpghttp://www.akrapovic-exhaust.com/main/catalog/ducati/monster600-900_93-01/slipon/fullback.jpg

its bloody gorgeous! I dont really care about performance gains but it sure looks good and the slim profile will make it easier for me to cut through heavy traffic. Anyone know where i can get these in singapore and are they street-legal? If you guys have any suggestions for other street-legal high mount M400 exhausts i would love to hear it! Is it about correct to say that the pipes + fitting and stuff will cost about 2K or less?

That leaves me with about 4-4.5K for just the bike depending on how much the exhausts cost. Is this reasonable for a monster in very good mechanical/cosmetic condition? Age of the bike is not a concern to me really. Or another alternative could be to get a near dead monster for below 3K and spend one lump sum to get the thing back to near new running condition. The question is, where can I find second hand monsters? They really are pretty rare arent they. Anyone know any bike shops where i can browse around or if you know anyone selling one privately?

Sorry for the long post, really appreciate any help you guys can give. thanks a lot! :thumb:

hi espido,

Thanks a lot for the welcome and the heads up :thumb: . i actually saw that for sale post you linked a while back, but thought he had already sold the bike. I'm going to send him a PM to let him know i am interested in a few minutes. really appreciate you looking for a bike for me though. Wheres a good place to get the exhaust system bought & fitted in singapore? Is there also a list of good places to check out for second hand monsters? From some of the posts i read before, there is the the agent who rarely has second hand bikes, and also some place called kallang cycle? Any other places i should check out?

Hey a well mantained Monster is hard to come-by and is worth every cent! Would rather spend $8K on a good machine than spend $3K on a problematic one. Not saying that all $3K Monsters are not well mantained, but generally well mantained Monsters dont come cheap. Just my 2 cents hehe ..

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by espido1001@Nov 11 2005, 09:31 PM

ducatitan : sorry bro i dun think there's a meetup today...no response fr the rest..

i enquired abt remus slip-ons..they're abt 500-600 per can...for monsters...almost close to 1.2k..

yoshimura tri oval surprisingly quite ex ... 500-600 per can as well.

akrapovic is slightly more than the two mentioned.600-700 per can .

arrows r abt 700 per can...

all these r the legal versions..with noise restrictors tht could be removed..

i was extremely surprised by the prices...coz i tot termis were the most ex...but apparently they cost abt almost the same as the rest... if i not wrong?

espido: No problem... btw, just got my bike today from Eugene, good to go! But cost quite a bit... I have to change my sprocket & chain because some stupid mechanic din put a spacer for my rear tire...

Anyone knows a good place to change sprocket & chain for monster? Minerva is gg to charge me ard $300... they using stock sprocket & DID chain.

Also, anyone tried other sprocket size? The stock one is 46 for rear.

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

Originally posted by dark_monster@Nov 17 2005, 10:06 PM

your typo error or i kena tok liao huh? :confused: :mad:

With Ducatis, its not just the price, but the overall condition of the bike that matters more. :thumb:

Originally posted by Tincan@Nov 17 2005, 10:21 AM

These look as good as hard panniers. Where can I get them? Are they costly?

Are tank bags comfortable if fitted onto Monsters for long hauls?

The panniers costs $300 plus, the tailpack about $260. I don't like tankbags because they interfere with my riding, especially on the twisties.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/thumb_DSCN8795.JPG

Thats my bike, somewhere in Gerik, near the Thai border. I was able to bring with me one heavy duty bike lock, bike cover, a pair of slippers, one set of casual clothes, one set of raincoat and rainpants, a roll of duct tape, a camera, a tool pouch, 2nd set of riding gloves, a bottle of shampoo and powder.... All in the tiny tailpack :D

Let me know if you wanna borrow my tailpack!

You can get your pipes highmounted by fabricating the headers. I know of someone who did it for his ST4, costs around $250 altogether.

Those are mellophone pipes, earlier Ducatis come with them, so do the new Sports Classics :thumb:

I think I devaluate my bike like no other... I clocked 4400km on my bike in a month! :giddy:

Hi, guys ...

Dukes are meant to be ridden, hence the reason why Ive juz sold mine. Between my touring bike and my commuting scooter, my Duke was juz not clocking up the mileage. It's kinda of sad, seeing her covered and parked.

Letting go was not easy, I took a swansong ride on her, talked to her, took some pics and it helped to ease the sadness. Parting was made easier by knowing the fact that the next owner is someone who obviously takes good care of his ride. I'm comforted that she is in good hands.

Owning a Duke is, well, .... special.

So can go look see at you guys when you all have meet up? eh, my runner is italian .... :smile: Neo, haven't see your new ride yet, you know. Nice one.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Hi, can anyone kindly advise me on where can i get a Fiberglass/Carbon Fibre Belly Pan/Lower Cowl as well as the rough pricing to suit a 97' monster 400? As well as Informations regarding the Customised Rear S/S lid for the number plate after Removing/Cutting the rear Mudguard/Tail Piece?Thanks in advance for any replies!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

Originally posted by GalanteD@Nov 19 2005, 03:15 AM

Hi, can anyone kindly advise me on where can i get a Fiberglass/Carbon Fibre Belly Pan/Lower Cowl as well as the rough pricing to suit a 97' monster 400? As well as Informations regarding the Customised Rear S/S lid for the number plate after Removing/Cutting the rear Mudguard/Tail Piece?Thanks in advance for any replies!

Hi GalanteD,

I believe I came across your required item at ebay.com

And also the tailchop mod I think I read it at http://www.ducatimonster.org/ before as well. Happym modding.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

GalantD: i was initially interested in doing the tail chop as well.. it seemed pretty easy with the kits they provide online(eg:ebay) and it makes the monster look like it just went on steriods.. aniway according to the majority of ppl at monster.org...it is not really recommended for countries with erratic wet climates...i sure wouldnt wanna see yr white t-shirt 'decorated'with a streak of black rain water when it rains... :thumb:

Originally posted by vincekam@Nov 19 2005, 04:03 PM

Hi GalanteD,

I believe I came across your required item at ebay.com

And also the tailchop mod I think I read it at http://www.ducatimonster.org/ before as well. Happym modding.

There price on ebay was too expensive, USD145 before Shipping costs. Believed i came across this in Singapore too, one of the mechs at minerva knows how to do it with a customised S/S angled plate. Saw a couple of guys done it here already! Thanks for the info!

Originally posted by espido1001@Nov 19 2005, 07:50 PM

GalantD: i was initially interested in doing the tail chop as well.. it seemed pretty easy with the kits they provide online(eg:ebay) and it makes the monster look like it just went on steriods.. aniway according to the majority of ppl at monster.org...it is not really recommended for countries with erratic wet climates...i sure wouldnt wanna see yr white t-shirt 'decorated'with a streak of black rain water when it rains... :thumb:

Thanks for your share of the info! But i will only ride this bike on weekends as this bike is only to satisfy my passion for riding. Also, i have no white Tishirts as i am a 101% fan of Black colour!