can anyone tell me what is the diff between black bird and fjr1300 in terms of speed (pick up and top speed) and fuel consumption ( 1litre can go how many km) use it for touring and daily usage

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01767/Triumph_Tiger800-2_1767913c.jpg

RD125 TZR125 Phantom200 GSXR400 SRAD750 CBR1100XX FJR1300A GSR600 Tiger800

• Replies 16.5k

fjr is a sports tourer.... of coz speed lose to blackbird.... consumption wise of coz blackbird more lahh....

wot kind of riding posn.... wot u wan to use it for is the deciding factor....

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

anyone knowz wots the mileage of FJR per tank in terms of kilometres n miles??

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jul 5 2004, 11:57 AM

For me..

Good days, 17km/L

Bad days, 15km/L

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jul 5 2004, 11:57 AM

If I ride casual, I've seen 400km+ from full tank to just touching reserve, keeping revs at about 4K and working the gears, highway routes mainly. If the right wrist gets carried away, you can take away about a hundred from that. Hard to gauge milage really, traffic, route type, bike condition and riding styles all contribute to it.:thumb:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by cyclop@Jul 6 2004, 12:21 AM

If I ride casual, I've seen 400km+ from full tank to just touching reserve, keeping revs at about 4K and working the gears, highway routes mainly. If the right wrist gets carried away, you can take away about a hundred from that. Hard to gauge milage really, traffic, route type, bike condition and riding styles all contribute to it.:thumb:

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thirsty: :thirsty:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

hmmmzzz fjr thread seems kinda silent lateli.... moi fren juz bot a fjr.... is der any essentials accessories dat he shud be needing...

any old birds can advise???

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

what is the price for a new FJR and how many litre is a full tank

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01767/Triumph_Tiger800-2_1767913c.jpg

RD125 TZR125 Phantom200 GSXR400 SRAD750 CBR1100XX FJR1300A GSR600 Tiger800

Omnilash, i am quite surprised even your bad days mileage is much higher that my best days. My full tank can only fetch me max 310km before the fuel indicator starts blinking. Is there something I did/did not do that may reduced my mileage? Can anyone help me out on this?:confused:

Go to the ant, you sluggard; consider its ways and be wise! It has no commander, no overseer or ruler, yet it stores its provisions in summer and gathers its food at harvest.

How long will you lie there, you sluggard? When will you get up from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest - and poverty will come to you like bandit and scarcity like an armed man.

Originally posted by FJR-vincent@Jul 9 2004, 12:18 PM

Omnilash, i am quite surprised even your bad days mileage is much higher that my best days. My full tank can only fetch me max 310km before the fuel indicator starts blinking. Is there something I did/did not do that may reduced my mileage? Can anyone help me out on this?:confused:

U cannot use the fuel meter to gauge.. Its not very accurate..

Mine oso started blinking sometimes at 280Km.. After warm up, it might increase by 1 or 2 gauge..

U should calculate base on how much fuel u top up...

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

u mean to say... the mileage meter in FJR is inaccurate??? defective???

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jul 10 2004, 10:41 AM

u mean to say... the mileage meter in FJR is inaccurate??? defective???

not the odometer or trip meter.. They are perfect..

Its the FUEL GAUGE or FUEL METER watever u call it..

oops okieokie.. got it!! :cheeky:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Guest R1szuan

wah ashenz

You seem to be pretty active in a few bikes thread eh?You seem to be posting from TDM to VFR to FJR on thier spec and usage? You like all this bike eh?

But are you statisifed with your current bike? :smile:

Originally posted by R1szuan@Jul 12 2004, 10:04 AM

wah ashenz

You seem to be pretty active in a few bikes thread eh?You seem to be posting from TDM to VFR to FJR on thier spec and usage? You like all this bike eh?

But are you statisifed with your current bike? :smile:

hhhhaahaha thanx for ur concern... yah.... mi quite satisfied with wot im riding now.. for moi current budget hehhee... :D but a man is nvr satified until he get fulfil his dreams rite???

i adore FJR n VFR... both moi dreams... cun afford it when i last change bike.. so juz get the nxt best alternative mah..... so now juz read, ask n learn frm these few threads to know the bikes more from the old birds here n prepare myself wif the knowledge so dat if i ever get to fulfil moi dream.. i wud know how to treat the bikes well....

hehehhee.. in regards to the TDM thread... wanted to buy 2nd hand TDM... den realised itz a defective bike... juz made to look nice... thank god realised in time.. coz i nearli pay deposit liaoz.. hengg.. anyway some of the guyz der r juz a#*holes.. cun be bothered...

wot r u riding now??? tink FJR n VFR r the best all rounders... wanna join the "dream dream league" but i tink i made up my mind liaoz... hehhehe~

anyway we r :offtopic: , pm mi if u wanna tok more :D

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by shadowman@Jul 12 2004, 01:53 PM

franky speaking........,to me u seem don know wat u really wan!

FJR, VFR, TDM, ST11......all belong to different class of bike.

Each of them is expert in their own trade.

For wat i see, u are not focus in any trade(bike)

oneday u maybe the jack of all trade but master of none...

i just state my view here

no offend.......

sorry but i do not agree with u saying abt the jack of all trades thing... i feel it is better that one do try out a lot of bikes in order to find out what one really wants... there are people who have changed tons of bikes ranging from road bikes to sports bikes to scooters to eudora bikes before they decide on the bike they like... hence its pretty unfair to make the comments above isnt it? Moreover i believe one is in no position to judge anybody based on one's individual preference.... in other words... he has his freedom to like whatever bikes he want isnt it?

come to think of it...sometimes i really wonder what the threads in "bike specs & reviews" are for? Are they for people to seek information about a specific bike or attempting to create multiple bike clubs within SBF itself... the purpose of these threads somehow got distorted.... and for eg. if u are not riding a fjr1300, u shouldnt even post in it... hmm... kinda hostile isnt it? maybe some moderators would like to clarify the purpose of having this sub category "bike specs & reviews"? And whether people who are not riding a specific bike are welcome to post in these threads?

I just state my views here...

no offence....

(sometimes i really wonder if these two sentences are disclaimers to allow people to post whatever opinions, no matter its hurting or not, in the forum. Pretty misused isnt it? :smile:)

Looks like non-FJRians are posting more than FJRians.. Wat are we doing... wake up...

Guest two wheels rider

no offend.......

Guest two wheels rider
Originally posted by gwen@Jul 12 2004, 10:37 PM

sorry but i do not agree with u saying abt the jack of all trades thing... i feel it is better that one do try out a lot of bikes in order to find out what one really wants... there are people who have changed tons of bikes ranging from road bikes to sports bikes to scooters to eudora bikes before they decide on the bike they like... hence its pretty unfair to make the comments above isnt it? Moreover i believe one is in no position to judge anybody based on one's individual preference.... in other words... he has his freedom to like whatever bikes he want isnt it?

come to think of it...sometimes i really wonder what the threads in "bike specs & reviews" are for? Are they for people to seek information about a specific bike or attempting to create multiple bike clubs within SBF itself... the purpose of these threads somehow got distorted.... and for eg. if u are not riding a fjr1300, u shouldnt even post in it... hmm... kinda hostile isnt it? maybe some moderators would like to clarify the purpose of having this sub category "bike specs & reviews"? And whether people who are not riding a specific bike are welcome to post in these threads?

I just state my views here...

no offence....

(sometimes i really wonder if these two sentences are disclaimers to allow people to post whatever opinions, no matter its hurting or not, in the forum. Pretty misused isnt it? :smile:)

wahlau.You can gib view others cannot give ar?So what's your POINT???:giddy: o_O

no offend.......

:offtopic: :offtopic: :spam: :spam:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by omnislash@Jul 12 2004, 10:45 PM

Looks like non-FJRians are posting more than FJRians.. Wat are we doing... wake up...

:thumb: :clap:

pls refrain from goin :offtopic:

this is a thread for those who r interested in knowing FJR and its specs n performance, related etc......

those who went off topic, pls kindly remove ur posts... if u wanna tok about other stuffs other then FJR... pls do create a new thread in "Chatterbox" :D

Pls keep this thread strictly technical...

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

To all FJRians,

sorry for the mess in here....

i had deleted my last post.

there is no attemp of insult or hurting anyone in the process of my last post.

Gwen wat u have said has state ur point, and i do agreed.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid144/p9e54de4d0b4905a59d5dd3014acc66de/f67cabae.jpg

my fren juz bot a FJR... less den 2wks ago... dat day went wif him to yamaha workshop to clarify some matters..... we parked at the bike lots outside the workshop..... in the meantime got a few despatch riders parkin beside us.... when we came out.... moi frenz new FJR kena 2 super deep scratches to his panniers...... he like life kena drained frm him... lanlan.. send it for patching n respray.....

any of the fellow FJr riders got any solution to protect the panniers???

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jul 14 2004, 12:30 PM

my fren juz bot a FJR... less den 2wks ago... dat day went wif him to yamaha workshop to clarify some matters..... we parked at the bike lots outside the workshop..... in the meantime got a few despatch riders parkin beside us.... when we came out.... moi frenz new FJR kena 2 super deep scratches to his panniers...... he like life kena drained frm him... lanlan.. send it for patching n respray.....

any of the fellow FJr riders got any solution to protect the panniers???

We can't really do much if its accidental or if someone wanna be deliberate, sad though.

Maybe our own practices can reduce the accidental type of damage. Like where we park, how we park, do we try to squeeze into a tight spot or rather park somewhere else and walk a little. Do we wanna mix with the "cub knia" at the causeway during peak or rather wake up a little earlier and avoid the traffic;or the way we ride........ you know, stuffs like that.

I've seen this RT once trying to squeeze between 2 buses and they closed in on him. Not only were his 2 panniers damaged......well, you can imagine the rest.......a reality check for all us bikers. :bounce:

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

http://www.betterbiking.co.uk/maids/report.pdf

Sorry guys, I know this is off topic, but it makes good reading, chk out the above link. :sorry: :offtopic:

The years thunder by.