Honda RVF400/NC35

eh frens n lao jiaos of rvf . need help here !! have u all ever encounter when u try to start there is no response at all? not even a cranking sound , i check mine today ,gear in neutral,enuff fuel,engine switch on. sometimes when i turn key on,the volt meter n all lights are dead,even erp oso no respone. why is it so ? all this happen after i encounter this after a nasty hump n bike n to land a bit hard..is it wiring loose or wad. secondly my fuse i check all the chips are ok expect there is 4 chip, and 2 spare if im not wrong ? i saw the label stated 10a and some 15. but mine is all 15 volt blue chip.. ani advice ?? super urgent, help man..sorri for the long winded

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by Non Stop Racing@Feb 15 2005, 12:57 AM

eh frens n lao jiaos of rvf . need help here !! have u all ever encounter when u try to start there is no response at all? not even a cranking sound , i check mine today ,gear in neutral,enuff fuel,engine switch on. sometimes when i turn key on,the volt meter n all lights are dead,even erp oso no respone. why is it so ? all this happen after i encounter this after a nasty hump n bike n to land a bit hard..is it wiring loose or wad. secondly my fuse i check all the chips are ok expect there is 4 chip, and 2 spare if im not wrong ? i saw the label stated 10a and some 15. but mine is all 15 volt blue chip.. ani advice ?? super urgent, help man..sorri for the long winded

ur rectifer gone case liao....need to change it.....plus change ur batt also....rectifer cannot charge ur batt cosing not enough elect supply....tt y ur lights r all out....

happen to me twice in a yr....v common prob in rvf...

wat u can do is to install a headlight switch...so u can turn it off when u dun really need it...like starting ur bike....

i have a headlight switch,got relay oso..during the day i always off headlight, riding distance always 30mins n above.rectifer is about i think less half yr old,the model is with cooling fins. aniway after tt bike die my fren come n help,he kinda shake the bike or knock around the seat region.. the lights came back again, n i try to start, it work. does this more to rectifer case or wiring loose/burn ? cos sometimes when the bike is hot, in neutral ,the neutral light keep flickering,sometimes disappear.. :(

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

The fuses should be in 2 colors : red and green. 10A is red, 15A is green. They should be placed according to the diagram show on the bottom of the lid when u open it up.

I suggest you check if the fuses are blown anot. Then make sure that the correct fuse is in the slot.

Once the mechanic (I wont say who), did this to my fuse box.... 15A fuse in a 10A slot and 10A fuse in a 15A slot. What happened was that my headlight and starter circuit, which is uses a 15A fuse (now a 10A fuse), kept blowing. That resulted in the bike not being able to be started at all.

So check the fuse placings first, they might have been placed incorrectly or they might have blown.

Ok, from what I saw in the other thread, all your fuses are 15A??!! Check the diagram! There are 1 or 2 slots that have 10A fuses!

Btw, the ones that are horizontal when you look at them on the left of the bike are the ones you should be concerned about. There should be 2 more vertical ones on the side, those 2 are the spares. So all in all you have 6 fuse placings, 4 actual ones (horizontal) and 2 spares (vertical).

I'm not with my bike now, so cant remember which is which, but according to the haynes manual.... should be like dat:

10A (Fan)

15A (Headlight)

10A (Ignition/brake light)

10A (Starter)

I will confirm this when i am with my bike later. But you MUST make sure they are the correct fuse! 15A slot you use 10A fuse still not that bad, but 10A slot you use 15A.... thats dangerous.

tks jungle boy!!! im going replace it asap

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Feb 15 2005, 08:26 AM

The fuses should be in 2 colors : red and green. 10A is red, 15A is green. They should be placed according to the diagram show on the bottom of the lid when u open it up.

I suggest you check if the fuses are blown anot. Then make sure that the correct fuse is in the slot.

Once the mechanic (I wont say who), did this to my fuse box.... 15A fuse in a 10A slot and 10A fuse in a 15A slot. What happened was that my headlight and starter circuit, which is uses a 15A fuse (now a 10A fuse), kept blowing. That resulted in the bike not being able to be started at all.

So check the fuse placings first, they might have been placed incorrectly or they might have blown.

Ok, from what I saw in the other thread, all your fuses are 15A??!! Check the diagram! There are 1 or 2 slots that have 10A fuses!

Btw, the ones that are horizontal when you look at them on the left of the bike are the ones you should be concerned about. There should be 2 more vertical ones on the side, those 2 are the spares. So all in all you have 6 fuse placings, 4 actual ones (horizontal) and 2 spares (vertical).

I'm not with my bike now, so cant remember which is which, but according to the haynes manual.... should be like dat:

10A (Fan)

15A (Headlight)

10A (Ignition/brake light)

10A (Starter)

I will confirm this when i am with my bike later. But you MUST make sure they are the correct fuse! 15A slot you use 10A fuse still not that bad, but 10A slot you use 15A.... thats dangerous.

opps...so sorry...wrong infor for u...but happen to me twice b4..change batt n

den everything k le...

guess i am too new to comment on anything....

i am so sorry...

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Feb 15 2005, 08:27 PM

I just checked my bike. Yes, the configuration is as mentioned above. Only correction is the 15A fuse is blue, not green.

I've got one extra 10A fuse, if you want i can pass to you.

Jungelboy,so how is the Acumen alarm on yr bike so far?Any electrical problems?

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Originally posted by y2kredbull@Feb 15 2005, 10:41 PM

Jungelboy,so how is the Acumen alarm on yr bike so far?Any electrical problems?

So far no electrical problems.

The tilt sensor is not bad, once the bike lifted up the alarm will sound. The ignition alarm is standard. As for the vibration sensor, not as sensitive as i would like it. It requires quite a hard knock or vigorous shake to get the alarm to do a warning beep.

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Feb 15 2005, 10:07 PM

opps...so sorry...wrong infor for u...but happen to me twice b4..change batt n

den everything k le...

guess i am too new to comment on anything....

i am so sorry...

The fuse only costs a few cents as compared to the battery and whatever. Always check the fuses 1st - correct fuse at correct slot and unblown fuses.

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Feb 16 2005, 02:25 AM

So far no electrical problems.

The tilt sensor is not bad, once the bike lifted up the alarm will sound. The ignition alarm is standard. As for the vibration sensor, not as sensitive as i would like it. It requires quite a hard knock or vigorous shake to get the alarm to do a warning beep.

Ya,same for me.

BTW,anybody who is looking for RVF,EXCEL CYCLE has 4 RVFs in hand.FR,FP,FQ and another one didn't notice.Saw yesterday when paying installment.

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Due to overwhelming response, i wanna say that my KNN air filter is Sold. Thanks.

I still have rvf carb for sales though, 1 set got 4. 1 is damage, 3 more left.

Selling $150 each.

Originally posted by Non Stop Racing@Feb 15 2005, 01:33 AM

i have a headlight switch,got relay oso..during the day i always off headlight, riding distance always 30mins n above.rectifer is about i think less half yr old,the model is with cooling fins. aniway after tt bike die my fren come n help,he kinda shake the bike or knock around the seat region.. the lights came back again, n i try to start, it work. does this more to rectifer case or wiring loose/burn ? cos sometimes when the bike is hot, in neutral ,the neutral light keep flickering,sometimes disappear.. :(

yah man, I think jungle is right, better change the fuses soon.

so this is the issue? errr...I got a previous experience....no starter sound, no lights also....I found the issue to be at the battery connections....think it was getting corroded and the nut securing the screw in the positive end was kinda loose.

the issue went away after I scrap off the deposited layer on the battery and resecuring the screw.

Duno if it will help but thought no harm take a look!

i went to k&t n eugene ur right..wire is loose. he tighten the nut then change to original fuse 10a 15a 10a 10a. so far so gd..but when bike is hot,my neutral light always disappear..no idea why. he quote me yuasa batt 75$, retifier 175$.. is tt reasonable ? cos my retifier when test ,it wasnt veri 'good'

Originally posted by Non Stop Racing@Feb 18 2005, 07:47 PM

i went to k&t n eugene ur right..wire is loose. he tighten the nut then change to original fuse 10a 15a 10a 10a. so far so gd..but when bike is hot,my neutral light always disappear..no idea why. he quote me yuasa batt 75$, retifier 175$.. is tt reasonable ? cos my retifier when test ,it wasnt veri 'good'

bro.....tink yusa can get ard 50+ LAB n rectifier 150 FJT...I can help you install foc...call me if you need....maybe going FJT soon maybe can help you buy also if you want but duno when going yet, probly next wk.....will keep you info.....best next week do cos I mid term break next wk. cheers

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Feb 18 2005, 08:10 PM

bro.....tink yusa can get ard 50+ LAB n rectifier 150 FJT...I can help you install foc...call me if you need....maybe going FJT soon maybe can help you buy also if you want but duno when going yet, probly next wk.....will keep you info.....best next week do cos I mid term break next wk. cheers

u goin down?can help me check out the price for a new headlight system?

tanks....

was doin 100km on the right lane of cte...one bloodly car tailgated f**king near...so i pick up my speed to 120 since there was cars on the centre lane n i cannot change lane....den he tailgated me bk once more...den i increase my speed to 130 n change lane when there was a chance n he followed me...WTF is the driver doing???? i had to cut in between 2 cars at a speed of 130 juz to make him stop tailgating me...

wat is happening to singapore roads these days man...

hopefully i will not gt killed on the road one day....

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Feb 18 2005, 08:20 PM

was doin 100km on the right lane of cte...one bloodly car tailgated f**king near...so i pick up my speed to 120 since there was cars on the centre lane n i cannot change lane....den he tailgated me bk once more...den i increase my speed to 130 n change lane when there was a chance n he followed me...WTF is the driver doing???? i had to cut in between 2 cars at a speed of 130 juz to make him stop tailgating me...

wat is happening to singapore roads these days man...

hopefully i will not gt killed on the road one day....

really sorry 2 hear dat u encounter such ch*e *ye drivers on the road.....Its like that one.....jus ignore him lor.....no point doing 130km/h & squeeze through the cars....very dangerous lah....somemore TP so active on road nowadays...better careful ah....

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Feb 18 2005, 08:12 PM

u goin down?can help me check out the price for a new headlight system?

tanks....

sure heard its ard 400 long time ago but will cx 4 you next week when I go down.

take care man, what luck to meet a Fxxxup driver.:sian:

btw there is a meetup tonite if you are interested can buzz fil I think....

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Feb 18 2005, 08:33 PM

sure heard its ard 400 long time ago but will cx 4 you next week when I go down.

take care man, what luck to meet a Fxxxup driver.:sian:

btw there is a meetup tonite if you are interested can buzz fil I think....

sory...not free tonight lei...mayb next time lo...

tinking bk on the incident....can it be cos i suddenly pickup my speed den the driver tot i was guai lan...so he followed me?mayb i was wrong to pickup my speed...

but he was so near to me i cannot dun pickup....

so is it me who cost tis incident in the first place?

:?

Hello RVFians!

Do you guys know how much it is to get a legal aftermarket exhaust and where to get it? What are the procedures to get it legalised? From what I know only Motoworld do that.

Where can I get the Varnel kit and what would be the costs?

about pipes u can pm filbert ,he using legal yoshi pipe.. varnel kit u talking about, is it the hrc 1 ?

Guest rvf666hell
Originally posted by Ken@Feb 16 2005, 03:39 PM

Due to overwhelming response, i wanna say that my KNN air filter is Sold. Thanks.

I still have rvf carb for sales though, 1 set got 4. 1 is damage, 3 more left.

Selling $150 each.

by the way , i may need the diagram in the carb ... u selling 4 that .... :sweat: :sweat:

Hello!

How much is the market price for an FP plate RVF?