Honda RVF400/NC35

Hi RVFians.. I juz bought my new RVF.. love the V4.. But have a problem..

Every morning start bike OR park halfday liao start bike.. Will start.. But engine will

sound "uneven" & weak and then die off... Need to maintain throttle for RPM at 1.5 or 2k for a while

den it wont die..

Anyone know how to rectify this problem?

Btw, rectifier , jet kits , everything juz changed.. Its the same before and after I made those changes..

Anyone know how to solve this issues ? Cos I got another RVF fren he start bike no problem de.. Even park 1 nite nxt day morning start also no problem..

PS: I tried set the idling.. also same..

• Replies 6.7k

Tackle the simple components first. For instance:

1 - Airbox. Is it dirty, or restricting air?

2 - Dirty carburetor?

Then on to the not-so-obvious but theoretically possible ones:

3 - All 4 carburetor ports out of sync? (carb balancing needed)

4 - Weak battery? (a simple voltmeter can tell)

5 - Incorrect tuning (now that you've got jet kits, make sure the mech has tuned your carb airflow; usually a screw on each carb that you can turn. Same mech job as #3 above)

6 - Idle jet dirty or clogged

That's all I can think of right now, apart from the fact that it has been cold at nights lately. Brrr....

Tackle the simple components first. For instance:

1 - Airbox. Is it dirty, or restricting air?

2 - Dirty carburetor?

Then on to the not-so-obvious but theoretically possible ones:

5 - Incorrect tuning (now that you've got jet kits, make sure the mech has tuned your carb airflow; usually a screw on each carb that you can turn. Same mech job as #3 above)

That's all I can think of right now, apart from the fact that it has been cold at nights lately. Brrr....

Airbox is okay.. Juz serviced..

Carburettor just washed not long ago..

The jet kit juz installed less than a month.. Mech took out the carb to install the jet also never say its dirty..

my current track bike....

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2312.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2311.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2291.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2362.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2361.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2359.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2358.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2357.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2354.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2343.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/brogger/CIMG2360.jpg

Hi RVFians.. I juz bought my new RVF.. love the V4.. But have a problem..

Every morning start bike OR park halfday liao start bike.. Will start.. But engine will

sound "uneven" & weak and then die off... Need to maintain throttle for RPM at 1.5 or 2k for a while

den it wont die..

Anyone know how to rectify this problem?

Btw, rectifier , jet kits , everything juz changed.. Its the same before and after I made those changes..

Anyone know how to solve this issues ? Cos I got another RVF fren he start bike no problem de.. Even park 1 nite nxt day morning start also no problem..

PS: I tried set the idling.. also same..

If it was fine after the rejet, then probably the pilot screws was not set properly. Turn it in all the way clockwise (finger tight), then turn it out anti-clockwise to 1 & 5/8 turns. if it does not fix the problem, replace plugs with new one. if still problem persist, then carbs need to be syncho.

hey there, my bike just started to have this leaking problem, i've done thorough check, its engine oil and the source of the leak is somewhere underneath my seat, near the fuel **** place. then i saw a fellow rvf rider yesterday and ask him, he say my cam housing or cam something needs to be changed.. what is that exactly bro's? and if i park the park the bike overnight, there will be a pool of black oil near my sidestand area..

06 to 07, GASGAS 200

07 to 08, KR 150

08 to 09, RXZ 135 or 133 i think.

09 to date, RVF400

Hi fellow RVF rider. Im new to this forus and I manage to learn bit by bit regards to this bike from all the pro in here. Currently just get one for myself and sad to say after I brought the bike, and after my mechanic do a good check and to find that the bike kana langga b4 badly. Now have to spend extra 2K++ to make it to good shape again. Lucky for me the engine is still silent and in good working condition.

But need to change lots of parts. The folk, press the body coz bend etc etc...Is there any meet up or any outing for the group. So that I can get more knowledge from you guys:)

The old man is back on his two wheels.......:angel:

The old Ride from 1992 to 2002

Yamaha Power Valve 125, Skipper, Aprilla RS125, Honda XR400

2008 to date = Yamaha Spark T135

2009 to date = Honda RVF400 NC35

The Drive from 1998 to date

Suzuki GTi, Wira, Evo4 and now Civic ES VTi

Im doing a make over for my bike! Anyone wanna joint? Totally new face lift for the old RVF

hey there, my bike just started to have this leaking problem, i've done thorough check, its engine oil and the source of the leak is somewhere underneath my seat, near the fuel **** place. then i saw a fellow rvf rider yesterday and ask him, he say my cam housing or cam something needs to be changed.. what is that exactly bro's? and if i park the park the bike overnight, there will be a pool of black oil near my sidestand area..

Try Wing Yap Mtr, look for the doctor (Ah Lee). He'll fix the problem for you. The doctor will cure the pain

From front to the tail change to Tyga fairing kit.

Hi fellow RVF rider. Im new to this forus and I manage to learn bit by bit regards to this bike from all the pro in here. Currently just get one for myself and sad to say after I brought the bike, and after my mechanic do a good check and to find that the bike kana langga b4 badly. Now have to spend extra 2K++ to make it to good shape again. Lucky for me the engine is still silent and in good working condition.

But need to change lots of parts. The folk, press the body coz bend etc etc...Is there any meet up or any outing for the group. So that I can get more knowledge from you guys:)

Two grand for repairs?

Wow, hope your mechanic have justifiable reasons to be charging you that amount.

The last time I've changed my stanchion tubes (lower shiny part of the fork) was for around $800 a pair.

If taken care of periodically, the RVF can be a great day-in-day-out bike, especially for enthusiastic "rounding" sessions too. It's an outstanding trackbike too. As for the bike itself, it's a V-four, where the 'V' = pickup power.

Well, hope you'll enjoy your ride better with the RVF as compared to anything else. :cool:

any1 know why recently my undersit (near thigh area) is getting much hotter? I just topup front and back coolant with water.. The temperature gauge only show 1/4 at most 1/2 if stop at junctions but i feel my thigh area much hotter than before. Anyone know any possibility?

hi fellow rvfians... juz wondering... wat exhaust pipes can be ued for rvfs??? based on performance and costs...? tanx... and where to get them???

yoshi tit, yoshi firespec, microns, gpr, leo vince..

legal ones...

any1 know why recently my undersit (near thigh area) is getting much hotter? I just topup front and back coolant with water.. The temperature gauge only show 1/4 at most 1/2 if stop at junctions but i feel my thigh area much hotter than before. Anyone know any possibility?

rvf are usually hotter than other 2a bikes.. =)

juz touch the main frame n u can feel the power. haahaa...

its recommended not to top up water or pour too much into the reservoir/rad as it maybe hard for hot air to expand when the coolant is running.. thus resulting in overheated rads/ spoilt waterpumps... =)

get ur mech for a check on the rad/coolant....

i experienced hotter rvfs than mine.. so its ok.... =)

n i have experienced rvfs which is hard to go hot.. haahaa...

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

Wah bro really lot of stuff to replace man. Cost me ard 4K, but I got no choice buy the RVF aldy. I dun know untill my mech strip it. No choice lor now have to ride till COE K.O

Where to get chain guard for my RVF and recommendation?

Two grand for repairs?

Hi Angmoh Nel! :cheers:

~~~TEAM RVF~~~FORCE V4~~~

Now ~~ Honda RVF NC-35 RT - FQ 66** M:cheers: :thirsty:

Hi guys new RVF-ian reporting =D love the bike. anyone with yoshi pipe has a popping sound when dethrottling?

No matter how fast you can go, you'll only be as fast as the vehicle in front of you.

hi all. im new here and i actually wants to get a rvf after my 2a tp. just wondering, is there any issue with tis bike as it is alrdy 10years + of age?

@brogger

we need a new engine for our bikes...

anybody have a spare engine or planning to sell? .... this is so sad I used a different track bike it didnt give me feeel I wanted...

thanks in advance...

hi all. im new here and i actually wants to get a rvf after my 2a tp. just wondering, is there any issue with tis bike as it is alrdy 10years + of age?

Got my FS plate last yr Sept. COE ending Nov 2010. So far everything is gd. Changed some wear and tear stuffs like ;

1. cam gasket

2. clutch plates

3. chain / sprocket

4. coolent rubber thingy

5. chain slider

6. extra switch for the headlight / radiator fan

7. "on/off/reserve" petrol switch

8. stock air filter (selling off the K&N one)

9. 3 set brake pads

10. Dunlop a10 1 set tires

11. Right side engine cover + gasket

12. POP racing footrest back to stock ones etc etc

Accessories nt so much;

1. Micron st legal endcan

2. R1 OEM brembo master pump

3. Change bk to stock paintwork

from sept till date i have spent ard 2.5k , this is what I have spent on my bike , everything include all e servicing.

Conclusion , internal parts wear and tear you cant check , a bit of luck and the seller's honesty is important.

Ride Safe.

Hi bros, is Rvf slow or my Rvf is slow ? Well, it had acceralate more faster then any bike I've seen so far but jus it's still like so slow , why is it so? Is thr like a speed limit set on the Rvf ?

Any bros dekitting their Rvf do contact me , looking for alot of stuffs !

Class 2b

2a

Current ride - Rvf 400

Hi bros, is Rvf slow or my Rvf is slow ? Well, it had acceralate more faster then any bike I've seen so far but jus it's still like so slow , why is it so? Is thr like a speed limit set on the Rvf ?

Any bros dekitting their Rvf do contact me , looking for alot of stuffs !

maybe ur carb nv synch?

or too long nv service.

or one of ur sparks died u dunno??

wat parts u looking for.. haa find in garage sales lo

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

Is this thread dying? HAHA

Winner dont quit.!

Quitter wont WIN

Year 2009 March - Honda NSR 150 SP (FT606*S)

Year 2010 Feb - Honda FireBlade CBR400 (FN640*S)

Year 2010 April - Honda RVF NC35 (FP 156*S)

Year 2010 July - Honda RVF NC35 (FR*75*L) - CURRENT