Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Jan 5 2005, 12:18 PM

Where have I heard this before "This bike's got soul"...

I dunno abt how some ppl might feel, but sometimes I think that "soul" is overrated. This is, of course, just my personal opinion.

When Porsche planned to change their cars to liquid cooled engines, the Porsche fans almost caused a riot.

Traditional Porsches were Air Cooled. The engines made all the right sounds, made all the right vibrations, and undeniably produced sufficient power. Or you could say, This Car has got "Soul". It comes alive everytime you open that trottle. Modern Porsches are somewhat diluted in this respect, the liquid cooled engines are smoother, quieter, and more powerful. But somehow, they lack something compared to the older air cooled ones.

Or how about a Ferrari? Their engines all have that trademark Ferrari "Bark". Just listening to a Ferrari run through the gears can make the hair stand. Or the classic American Muscle car, the Ford Mustang, Shelby Cobra, powered by the V8 engine. The V8 engine is by nature harmonic, its got to do with the timing of the cylinders. The result is an induction note and exhaust sound that just touches all the right senses.

Same goes to bikes. If you don't feel the difference, then so be it. But there are some of us who are really passionate about machines, theres no crime in that.

• Replies 2.2k

i love this bike not cos of it's brand or simply it's something affordable by the rich but the fact that it simple looks diff fr any other bikes tat i hv been admiring. some things u c, u like it and at times for no obvious reasons but i fell in love with this bike for sometime and has never fail to catch my attention. nope i dun ride a class 2 bike nor i do understand performance blah blah blah but this is one bike tat hardly has anything major done to it's overall looks and it look good this gd and it seems timeless to me :smile:

Rem a news abt Proton taking over 50% or more shares in Agusta..

since Proton base in Malaysia.. will they produce Agusta there? hmm mayb we can get cheaper MV since we r so near to Malaysia hehehe

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 5 2005, 12:30 PM

When Porsche planned to change their cars to liquid cooled engines, the Porsche fans almost caused a riot.

Traditional Porsches were Air Cooled. The engines made all the right sounds, made all the right vibrations, and undeniably produced sufficient power. Or you could say, This Car has got "Soul". It comes alive everytime you open that trottle. Modern Porsches are somewhat diluted in this respect, the liquid cooled engines are smoother, quieter, and more powerful. But somehow, they lack something compared to the older air cooled ones.

Or how about a Ferrari? Their engines all have that trademark Ferrari "Bark". Just listening to a Ferrari run through the gears can make the hair stand. Or the classic American Muscle car, the Ford Mustang, Shelby Cobra, powered by the V8 engine. The V8 engine is by nature harmonic, its got to do with the timing of the cylinders. The result is an induction note and exhaust sound that just touches all the right senses.

Same goes to bikes. If you don't feel the difference, then so be it. But there are some of us who are really passionate about machines, theres no crime in that.

Of course there's nothing wrong in believing in that. That's why it's a personal opinion. :D It's cool that you believe in it. You're entitled to it.

Soul is a subjective thing. To me... it's overrated. It's a sentimental attachment to a method/technology which may be past its prime.

While I can agree to engines making the right growling sounds... I can do without some of the niggles of older tech... especially reliability and longevity. If Porsche improved their engines and made it smoother and more powerful, then it's out with the old... for me, of course.

Eg: The Duc 916 was notorious for electrical problems, and the new 999 is so much more reliable. I'll take a 999 over an old 916 anytime, nevermind soul.

Again... it's a personal thing. No offence intended. :D

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Jan 5 2005, 05:11 PM

Eg: The Duc 916 was notorious for electrical problems, and the new 999 is so much more reliable. I'll take a 999 over an old 916 anytime, nevermind soul.

*SMACK SMACK SMACK*

What electrical problems? All it takes is some know how and TLC.

People who are not mechanically savvy should never own an Italian bike. They first have to know what they could be getting themselves into.

My bike's got soul because I had to pour my own freaking soul in it! LOL!

MFactoryhk.com

PERFORMANCE RACE COMPONENTS

Yo bro,

Pretty spicy bike. Yours?

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 4 2005, 10:41 PM

am a fan too! :smile:

i got a pic to contribute : the senna version (2002)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v493/gisvin/Bike/f4senna_1.jpg

Wow,

The Senna model looks damn gorgeous. :thumb:

Yah man,

Saw and heard the latest MV at Minerva work-shop. The exhaust note is really one of a kind. Doesnt sound like a Jap in-line 4 at all.

I dunno abt how some ppl might feel, but sometimes I think that "soul" is overrated. This is, of course, just my personal opinion.

But there exist some ppl who have an elitist streak about them. No mass produced Japanese machines for them... for them, they will only respect certain continental models, or exclusive ones... even though the Jap machines may outperform them in most or every aspect.

I guess it's all in the name/brand sometimes. ;)

Along with that name/brand comes the vision... or maybe illusion.... of "Heritage" and "Soul". :D

Yo bro,

Not every rider is into "performance". Just check out the passionate "Harley Riders" who

rumble around Singapore.

I see no ending in the quest for outperforming each other's machines.....

Originally posted by Will@Jan 6 2005, 03:30 AM

Wow,

The Senna model looks damn gorgeous. :thumb:

hehe i think so too :smile: and i think they r all so ooooooh steam! :cheeky:

Originally posted by fzmz@Jan 5 2005, 10:22 PM

*SMACK SMACK SMACK*

What electrical problems? All it takes is some know how and TLC.

People who are not mechanically savvy should never own an Italian bike. They first have to know what they could be getting themselves into.

My bike's got soul because I had to pour my own freaking soul in it! LOL!

You must have wrapped your 916 in Gladwrap to keep out the water right? :lol: :p

Now... you were about to PM me your phone number??? :D

Call me la. My number still the same.

Originally posted by Will@Jan 6 2005, 04:00 AM

Yo bro,

Not every rider is into "performance". Just check out the passionate "Harley Riders" who

rumble around Singapore.

I see no ending in the quest for outperforming each other's machines.....

Well.... we are talking abt sportbikes aren't we?? Performance is one of the benchmarks.... right?

Er... Harleys... err... No. I would never use the factor "Performance" if I wanted to discuss Harleys. :D They don't sit too well together.

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Jan 6 2005, 11:27 AM

Well.... we are talking abt sportbikes aren't we?? Performance is one of the benchmarks.... right?

Er... Harleys... err... No. I would never use the factor "Performance" if I wanted to discuss Harleys. :D They don't sit too well together.

Harleys er tat's not even a bike yucks :puke:

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 5 2005, 09:06 AM

no worries but we can try to keep it alive. v few own it cos it's too ex to afford one and i think the least ex one is abt 38K if am not wrong. maintenance & parts & servicing oso ex.

i had seen one at old sporting shop b4 (i thinking under servicing) but it looks skeletal.

my friends hv spotted one on the roads in sg but i hadn't had such luck to c it yet :sian:

i hv seen another one in sepang abt 2 wks bk and it's a malaysian registered bike. in fact 2 mvs, one is the brutale and keke u can see how careful they r when on the track not diving in too deep but more leisure riding keke.

just bought myself the SPR model fr MPH just over the weekend for 6.90 hehe the one & only pc left. wouldn't had gotten it if i hadn't picked up when the box fell on the floor and guess i was elated though my mission was to look for rossi m1 yamaha which is out of stock everywhere in sg.

hehe i hv a yellow color pic, hmm let me post it later

haha.... italian bikes r liddat.. the feelin of ownin it is shioke.. if u wanna c one..

there is one F4 750 S at the pleasure motor.. n one at excel.. hehe

the sound is... POWER... keke... :lovestruck:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 5 2005, 09:14 AM

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11150/normal_MV_Agusta_F4_1000S.jpg

the yellow one as promised :smile:

thnx ger... but i really prefer the tamburini.. keke.. but its oni a dream... haha

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Jan 5 2005, 11:07 AM

exotic bike....but should it just stay in the museum? i've seen a f4750s at upper thomson b4....looks damned gd in person.......

eh.. dun tink museum is a gd place lor... nice bikes should b seen on the road... :lovestruck:

But there exist some ppl who have an elitist streak about them. No mass produced Japanese machines for them... for them, they will only respect certain continental models, or exclusive ones... even though the Jap machines may outperform them in most or every aspect.

I guess it's all in the name/brand sometimes. ;)

Along with that name/brand comes the vision... or maybe illusion.... of "Heritage" and "Soul". :D

well... its really upz to some one lor.. cos some ppl juz like jap bikes... none of the italian suits them... but then... i like italian bikes... but of cos.. not to outcast the jappy oso lahz.. they r gd wor... :cheer: :cheer:

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 5 2005, 12:31 PM

i love this bike not cos of it's brand or simply it's something affordable by the rich but the fact that it simple looks diff fr any other bikes tat i hv been admiring. some things u c, u like it and at times for no obvious reasons but i fell in love with this bike for sometime and has never fail to catch my attention. nope i dun ride a class 2 bike nor i do understand performance blah blah blah but this is one bike tat hardly has anything major done to it's overall looks and it look good this gd and it seems timeless to me :smile:

haha.. i will say.. its an art... keke...:lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 5 2005, 12:32 PM

Rem a news abt Proton taking over 50% or more shares in Agusta..

since Proton base in Malaysia.. will they produce Agusta there? hmm mayb we can get cheaper MV since we r so near to Malaysia hehehe

eh.... mayb not wor... hehe... mayb some parts will b there...

or the bike may b slightly cheaper.. or production may increase... hehe... :cheeky:

Originally posted by ayuluv@Jan 6 2005, 12:31 PM

haha.. i will say.. its an art... keke...:lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

yep :smile:

Originally posted by ayuluv@Jan 6 2005, 12:23 PM

thnx ger... but i really prefer the tamburini.. keke.. but its oni a dream... haha

do so i :smile:

btw some news i surf upon - perhaps not new to fans out there

VARESE, ITALY; NOVEMBER 30, 2004: MV Agusta and Proton closed their agreement to increase the Italian company's capital by Euro 70 million, entirely underwritten and paid in by the Malaysian group.

The outcome of the refinancing is that Proton holds 57.75-percent of MV Agusta while the Castiglioni family retains 37.35-percent, Mr Massimo Tamburini has 2-percent and Husqvarna AB holds 3-percent.

Mr Claudio Castiglioni is still company CEO with responsibilities in the marketing and research and development sectors, whereas Proton will appoint the managing director in the near future.

The other managers appointed by Proton have already been announced. Zaidi Bin Mohd Yusoff is production manager, and Johnson Liu Wen Jong is manager of the finance area.

Proton, listed on the Kuala Lumpur stock exchange, is one of Asia's leading car manufacturers. Owner of Lotus, the Group is pursuing an international market expansion strategy involving industrial partnerships with prestigious companies in the automotive industry, including Volkswagen. Their turnover last year was Euro 1.5 billion, with Euro 114.5 million in profits and a worldwide workforce of more than 9,000.

NOTE: The Australian distributor for MV Agusta, Cagiva, and Husqvarna motorcycles is the Gold Coast-based Paul Feeney Group.

Source of article

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 6 2005, 11:40 AM

Harleys er tat's not even a bike yucks :puke:

Bad girl...

Naughty, Naughty, Naughty.... *wags finger* :lol:

With that statement, you're inviting flames from the Chopper/Cruiser/Harley community. :lol:

What I meant was that... when we're talking abt Ducs, we can still talk abt performance, 'cos that's what sportbikes are abt... besides the speed, handling, and looks.

Harleys are not abt performance. Hence my comment. ;)

Don't take it the wrong way OK? :lol: naughty... naughty... naughty....

all the model for MV Agusta is damn damn NICE

2003 - 2004 -->TA200 -- FW9**8Y

2004 - 2005 --> Rvf -- FQ****R

2005 - 2006 --> Cbr 954 -- Fw 3**6 B

2006 - 2007 --> Cbr 954 , Wave , Vios '07

2007 - Now --> Vios '07

If U CaN't CaTcH Up WiF Mi PlS StAy BeHiNd N EnJoY ThE ViEw

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/7070/rvfgroup5cy.jpg

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Jan 6 2005, 11:23 AM

You must have wrapped your 916 in Gladwrap to keep out the water right? :lol: :p

Now... you were about to PM me your phone number??? :D

Call me la. My number still the same.

I don't glad wrap the bike, just use 2 bike covers. LOL.

You believe me if I told you the paint work's DIY?

MFactoryhk.com

PERFORMANCE RACE COMPONENTS