Its good that there are forumer like Spectrum and endlessloop here. It takes some effort and dedication to share the information.

Now, when another vehicle change lane abruptly or tailgate me, I gave way or manage to avoid getting in a situation, without swearing at them, knowing that I manage to anticipate their actions before any unnecessary things happens.

Good job guys..

• Replies 1.6k

ValenYono,

I do feel the same way now.

Use to point fingers and all.

But With all this discussion... I Just let them pass...

Am glad I am not that bother by all this kind of traffic.

Tail gate me... I move to the side and look for space.

Mmm... thks Endless.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Yes, we are just riding a bike, what are we trying to proof?

Hog the lane to show others that we have the same right to use the road just because we also pay road tax?

It takes so little effort to give way to others and continue enjoying with our own journey, no need to get all worked up and spoil our day.

:smile: :cheer: :smile:

BTW Endlessloop, I use your method to get myself focus when I am dead tired on the NSH plus loud "Off Tune" singing and screaming :sweat:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Agree that it actually takes very little for bikers to give way so that we can continue to enjoy our day.

And that is actually our advantage and we should make full use of it.

If one were driving a car, it is actually much more difficult to filter lane and give way to get rid of that annoying tailgater behind.

Hmmm...this is interesting. I only knew of commentary riding. Now I know there is commentary singing.

Off tune or not, I would very much like to hear RebornBiker's singing

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Originally posted by ValenYono@Aug 5 2005, 07:34 PM

Its good that there are forumer like Spectrum and endlessloop here. It takes some effort and dedication to share the information.

Now, when another vehicle change lane abruptly or tailgate me, I gave way or manage to avoid getting in a situation, without swearing at them, knowing that I manage to anticipate their actions before any unnecessary things happens.

Good job guys..

Sometimes even though i anticipate others movement, it really piss me off when they dun do "error correction". Take for example, i was riding along SLE/TPE on the 1st lane, and there was a matrix on my left and another van in front of it. There's half a car's length in front of me, so i expected the matrix will cut across and i prepare to slow liao. Indeed, the matrix cut over and i press my horn to alert him, the farking driver didnt attempt to move back to its lane and continue to move towards me. I LL have to brake.. Although i anticipated his actions, at least he shld move back to his lane or wait till there is really enuff space for him to cross over loh... :nono:

Philosophy A: Ignore what everyone else thinks. Riding is a better way to get around. Ride paranoid and keep your skills sharp

Philosophy B: Ride with somebody who's better than you. You will pick up a handy trick or new skill just about every time you are out

Philosophy C: You don't need a big bike to prove ur passion for riding

There will always be vehicles like that...

...forgive him & move on.

Just coming back for AYE...

...when see this guy...

...driving so close behind me... (was clr just a few sec ago when I checked

my rear mirror)

So.. look fo a gap in the ctr lane & continue my journey home...

:cheer: :bouncefire: :bounce: :cheer:

So now this car go tailgate the next car...

I just ride back to lane 1... Keep a distance from him though...

He's clearing the traffic for me too... Ha Ha...

So perhaps he has an emer...

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

So many tips, but one big critism, how to remember everything, I think need an on-board computer doing all the observations and analysis, then flash a big red light as and when.

Human brain is only programmed to remember 5- 7 items, aboe that it cannot remmeber anything. Then if got too much to rememeber and recall, riding would be a nightmare.

Try to consolidate everything just to a few subjects and 5-7 items in one subjest.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Originally posted by chris 525@Aug 7 2005, 11:55 PM

So many tips, but one big critism, how to remember everything, I think need an on-board computer doing all the observations and analysis, then flash a big red light as and when.

Human brain is only programmed to remember 5- 7 items, aboe that it cannot remmeber anything. Then if got too much to rememeber and recall, riding would be a nightmare.

Try to consolidate everything just to a few subjects and 5-7 items in one subjest.

U r right. We can't remember everything. But what was said earlier in the thread is that u have to practise them. Not all at one go, but bit by bit until safety riding is 2nd nature to you. Thus u don't have to remember all the tips.

Accident sometimes is unavoidable. That is why we call it an accident, coz nobody wants it to happen. Even driving centre can't even gurantee you safety on the road if you use all the safety measures they have tought you.:smile:

Gd Pt Chris,

U can't remember all the tips.

But as u read them... it will register.

And hopefully, when you see the same situation...

it will trigger your mind to say...

"Hey, I read & discuss about this...

and perhaps, in that vital few seconds...

U can avoid a dangerous situation"

That is One Main Reason the Tips are put as a Picture/Graphic.

Easy to associate, understand & remember.

One of the best ways to Chat amoung Bikers.

Discuss the different situation we encounter in our Day to Day riding.

Then see how different bikers handle the situation & why.

And then draw your conclusion.

Most of the time... the best solution will surface.

And it can come from anyone.

Here in this Forum lies an excellent way to discuss all situation.

Thank You Andy & the Moderators!

I had picked up some excellent tips for fellow bikers here.

And as I apply them... there's really very little effort needed to remember.

It just comes naturally with action.

If someone has a skid & losses some skin on a certain corner.

He will remember forever to avoid the sand the next time

he comes round that corner.

Don't think I need to lose my skin over the same corner to learn

how dangerous a little sand can be.

So I remember forever " Avoid the Sand when Taking a Corner!"

:cheer: :bouncefire: :cheer: :bounce: :cheer:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/StreetSmart54.jpg

STREET SMART TIP OF THE DAY #54

FOCUS - Think of the Ride & not your work or gf/bf.

Concentrate on the road.

AWARE - Know whats around you. Remember... bikers are invisible!

Especially Road Junctions!

SCAN - Predict the direction vehicles/pedestrains coming into your path.

The road surface condition when taking corners

Traffic - Spaces between traffic is the best protection.

Gives more stopping distances for You that u may not skid

& the car behind to avoid you if u do skid & fall.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/panther02.jpg

STREET SMART TIP OF THE DAY #55

This instinctive response to a genuine life threat still exists in humans,

and we hear about it all the time when we hear stories of "target fixation."

When faced with a life-or-death hazard,

your body wants to stare at the threat.

Your mind wants to watch the enemy closely for any hints

as to what it might do.

When facing down a savage animal,

this may be the best thing.

On a motorcycle, it's exactly the wrong thing.

Focus on your escape,

and use your peripheral vision to track the hazard instead.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

just wanna comment on the travelling in between traffic, the previos 2 post on FAST.

it may not be the safest to be, esp on wet day. cos u will be travelling on the lane markings then. bad move. :sweat:

and if someone decides to cut lane? :giddy:

Send me a sign, wanna leave it all behind

I'll be leaving the hands of doom...

Rearrange the master plan, take the future in my hands

To be free and not trapped anymore...

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Originally posted by 2wheels@Aug 11 2005, 01:46 PM

just wanna comment on the travelling in between traffic, the previos 2 post on FAST.

it may not be the safest to be, esp on wet day. cos u will be travelling on the lane markings then. bad move. :sweat:

and if someone decides to cut lane? :giddy:

Ahem...

Between Traffic...

Means riding in the lanes (with enough stopping distance infront & behind)

not between lanes.

That would mean "flitering"

The Picture on Tip #54 is what u don't want to do.

As you had said.

Especially on a wet day.

Paint markings & Metal coverings.

Very slippery - very dangerous.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@Aug 11 2005, 07:02 PM

Ahem...

Between Traffic...

Means riding in the lanes (with enough stopping distance infront & behind)

not between lanes.

That would mean "flitering"

The Picture on Tip #54 is what u don't want to do.

As you had said.

Especially on a wet day.

Paint markings & Metal coverings.

Very slippery - very dangerous.

paiseh...tot when filtering also means between traffic :sweat:

neway in sing, diff to ride between traffic with enuf space in front/back esp when traffic moderately high. more space in front, other rd users tend to cut in. n dun forget the frequent tailgaters. on the other hand riding on the 3rd lane to give way to them is not a good choice with all those big monsters occupying it. :sweat:

Send me a sign, wanna leave it all behind

I'll be leaving the hands of doom...

Rearrange the master plan, take the future in my hands

To be free and not trapped anymore...

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

That's true... leave too much space infornt & some other vehicle cuts in...

But we have the option to slow down.

Guide is "2sec rule" (eg. Should count 2 sec with ref to fix marking)

Quite difficult to find wide spaces duing peak traffic.

But if u find the one behinds is too close...

Time to change lane.

Or go behind him...

A 3 land highway gives us plenty of options. :thumb:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Highways01.jpg

Riding into Gaps in Traffic will give us SPACE.

As the Rough Graphic above...

There maybe Gaps in any of the Lanes.

Just Slow Down & Filter into one of these Gaps.

Stay in the middle of the Gap.

U can choose between Slower Spd in the Left Lane,

Normal Spd in middle Lane

Overtaking Spd in the Right Lane.

(Just wait for the next Gap to come around... then filter in)

It will give us a Greater Margin of Safety.

"Stopping Distance for Us so we don't skid or crash into the Vehicle Ahead,

And if we do drop... the Vehicle behind has time & distance to stop or

Avoid Us."

Like to Acknowledge "Endlessloop" for this Valuable Contribution... :thumb:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/StreetSmart56.jpg

STREET SMART TIP OF THE DAY #56

When u See a Vehicle Moving Really Slow...

...There is a good chance he is lost & finding his way.

(can be a commercial vehicle looking for a place to deliver his goods or

As shared by our readers... Chinese New Year... looking for relatives

or friends home)

Most liable to Make SUDDEN Turns when he find the place he is looking for.

Stay clear for these vehicles less they turn into your path!

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

i have a question that i have been thinking about for some time. i don't know if this is the right place to ask, but you all seem like a very experienced and mature group, so here goes:

1. is it safe to be braking through a turn, even gradually? if not, why not? what are the likely consequences of braking through a turn? what i have been doing is approaching turns (left filter lanes, e.g.) at pretty high speed, braking till an acceptable speed to enter the turn, and then doing very light rear brake action to help make the tunr somewhat tighter if i find that my speed is still too high.

2. Is it safe to be clutching in while on the move? again, if not, why not? sometimes as i approach a traffic light from a distance, and it just turns red from afar, i will clutch in, coast a bit, drop a gear or two, and then gradually use the engine brake to slow the speed down to 20-30km/h then do a quick squeeze of the brakes to scrub off the speed to 0. some other times, along the expressways, behind a vehicle that slows down, i will clutch in and coast till the vehicle picks up speed before i rev up again.

think i have been told not to do the above, but then i have also read some magazines that talk about how races are won by riders outbraking others upon approach of turns, and such, so i am kinda confused. Hope i can learn something here, and not on the hard pavement.

Originally posted by mike1024@Aug 13 2005, 11:50 PM

1. is it safe to be braking through a turn, even gradually? if not, why not? what are the likely consequences of braking through a turn? what i have been doing is approaching turns (left filter lanes, e.g.) at pretty high speed, braking till an acceptable speed to enter the turn, and then doing very light rear brake action to help make the tunr somewhat tighter if i find that my speed is still too high.

Hi Mike...

This is a Text Bk Answer from "Total Control by Lee Parks"

(a very well read bk on Machine Control)

Motorcycle students are usually taught to do all of the braking before making a turn.

This is generally good advice, but there are times when it is necessary, or even

preferable, to brake while entering a corner.

This is commonly know as "trail braking".

Under braking, a forward weight transfer causes the front end to "dive."

This has the effect of reducing the rake and trail of the machine,

which makes it want to turn quicker and with less effort.

The benefits are obvious when trying to corner quickly.

But it is a difficult skill to master and should be learned by gradually working up a to a quick pace.

Here again, the technique of slowly rolling on the throttle while simultaneously slowly releasing the brakes will keep the front end form "pogoing" up, allowing the traction to remain as consistent as possible.

Trail braking is not the same as braking once you are already in a corner.

That has the opposite effect and actually makes the bike want to stand up.

The specific point at which you realease the brakes is less important than

making sure the release is slow and controlled.

(hope that help... mike) :cheeky:

You may want to also read this:

WHEN BRAKES LOCK UP

For a motocyclist, few thing are as scary as a front wheel lock up under braking.

Rear wheel skid are also unnerving, but they a bit easier to manage...

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

I also clutch in and coast occasionally, but I feel this could potentially be dangerous, as after a while, you will be slowing down, but your rear brake light will not be on. Thus, the driver behind you will have no warning that you are slowing down.

I try to tap my brake a couple of times when I am coasting along...

yeah, i can see that, but some times like along the expressways, it is not preferable to slow down that quickly, because there is a good gap between me and the vehicle in front slowing down. my small cc bike's pickup is not good, while the engine brake actually slows the bike down quite quickly. that's when i decide to clutch in and coast, firing up the engine when the car in front decides to accelerate again.

i still wonder - on a dry road, not going round a bend - what are the risks of clutching in?

what about around a bend? safe to clutch in?

spectrum:

thanks for the advice on trail braking - that explains why it feels better to be braking while entering the turn. in hindsight it does feel like the trail is being reduced, and turning is sharper.

besides the book (?) you quoted, what's a good book on this? where would be a good place to find it? borders? kino?

Originally posted by Spectrum@Aug 12 2005, 09:51 AM

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Highways01.jpg

"Riding into Gaps in Traffic will give us SPACE.

As the Rough Graphic above...

There maybe Gaps in any of the Lanes.

Like to Acknowledge "Endlessloop" for this Valuable Contribution... :thumb:"

You are most welcomed.

I would like to emphasize the value of the knowledge of what Spectrum had just described because this will very much reduce our frustration on the road and further increase our safety.

Traffic is not uniform. Not all drivers vehicles drive with a uniform gap from the vehicle in front. So there are gaps or empty pockets just in front or behind. It is just that we can't see them. But they do exist.

If you want to confirm, just stay on a flyover/overhead bridge over an expressway or major road and observe. You will notice this interesting phenomenon.

You will see a string of several very tightly-spaced cars. Then, followed by a gap. After that, another string of several tightly-spaced cars. Then, another gap follows.

What does it tell us? The smart riders will avoid riding amongst the tightly-spaced string of cars and ride in the empty gaps.

It is important to recognise the existence of such gaps. If we did not know of this, we will feel that we have to filter amongst closely-packed cars because we did not know elsewhere there is a better situation. And when we get tailgated, we easily frustrated because we did not know that there is a very nice comfortable gap just a short distance behind.

Make use of this pockets. They exist even on the rightmost lane as Spectrum said. So you can be riding inside a very fast 110-120 kmh gap/pocket and you can still have plenty of spacing to yourself.

Try it and observe if what we say is true!

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

85. A Twist of the Wrist: The Motorcycle Roadracers Handbook

Code, Keith

Trade Paperback ~ April, 1997 ~ In Print

List Price: $19.95

Link to Borders @ Orchard

The above book is available at Spore Borders.

And they can order for u bks not in the stores.

U may want to check out

"Total Control" by Lee Parks.

As for Turns...

I would keep it simple:

1. Judge the spd u want to enter the corner (signal)

2. Slow down & drop to the required gear.

3. Accelerate exiting the turn. (off signal)

Slowing down in a straight line is preferred.

At an Angle... less rubber on the road, side force...

So higher chance of skid. Hit a bit of sand/diesel... u go down.

Remember! Skidding while Cornering...

Top 2 incident for bikes...

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Icefalcon@Aug 14 2005, 07:56 AM

I also clutch in and coast occasionally, but I feel this could potentially be dangerous, as after a while, you will be slowing down, but your rear brake light will not be on. Thus, the driver behind you will have no warning that you are slowing down.

I try to tap my brake a couple of times when I am coasting along...

It is always good to let the vehicle behind know u are slowing down.

Eg our stop lite indication.

Droping of gears should be used whenever u feel the grd is slippery.

Eg Wet.

So balance both with the "stop lite indication"

As for stopping...

It is recommended to stop with 1st gear.

Reason being that if u need to pull away

in an emergency... u are in gear & pwr.

Generally, most bikers stop in neutral.

So put it in 1st gear if u feel the need to.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart