Originally posted by Spectrum@Dec 30 2005, 02:53 PM

HI All... All Ready for Tomorrows Ride...

:cheer: :bouncefire: :cheer: :smile:

Good way to Close 2005 & Welcome the New YEAR! :smile:

Recon 1!!! READY TO ROCK AND ROLL SIR!!! :cheeky: :smile: :cheeky:

• Replies 1.6k

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/StreetSmart96copy.jpg

I am gonna Enjoy it as Much as Youuuuuuuuuuuuuu....

:cheer: :bouncefire: :thumb: :cheer:

Please NOTE:

The Bigger the AWAS Sign or Arrows...

The Slower u wanna ride thru the corner.

Maybe even drop down 2 gears!

Sand and pebbles in a corner... is bad news.

AVOID! at all cost... if unable

try to ride straight thru...

Drop your gears to slow down

Use some front brakes if really have to.

Be careful of opposite traffic...

Stay on the Road...

The red pebbles just off the rd will cause skidding... :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

FOR TOMORROW RIDE TO BEKOK WATERFALLS

All Riders...

Please Plan to be @ Singapore Side of 2nd Link at 7.30am

That way We will all be @ GP Esso about the same time...

THks!

:cheer: :cheeky: :smile: :cheer:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Resizeof1Mcopy.jpg

Happy New Year 2006 :cheer:

It's Back to Work & We all Look forward to An Interesting Year.

This above Stretch of AYE just Before NUH had claim many victims.

Reason being that Traffic are coming in

from New Alexander Link, Queensway,

Exiting Bouna Vista, Clementi...

So a lot of lane changing....

Some Very Last Minute!

Come poorer visiblity... eg dusk plus rain...

It develops into a High Risk Location!

I am sure u can identify many more other locations...

May not necessary be on a highway.

But on Highways, injuries are more serious 'cos of the higher spd.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by smokegirl@Jan 3 2006, 01:11 PM

sometimes keep to yr lane also get buang...... :weep:

Well, Buang does happens...

But Being in your lane will give u more Space...

Cos if I Fall... I don't want to hit anything

And I Don't want anything to hit me... :giddy:

So... look for wide spaces between vehicles.

Infront & Behind.

Why Bikes Buang....

On main reason is avoiding a vehicle infront who stops in a sudden

Or one that cut into our path...

So... Keep that safety distance... Front & Back.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Bike01copy.jpg

There are a few reasons why Drivers don't see Bikes!

Two-third of the accidents involving other vehicles has the

other vehicle violating the motorcycle right-of-way.

But that's nothing new...

Some Pointers U May Like to Share With Your Driver Friend:

BIKES ARE CLOSER THAN YOU THINK!

Bikes are smaller than other road users.

This make us appear, to the untrain eye, to be further away.

When U see a bike appraoching,

Always look again before you judge their distance.

There is always less time than u think! :giddy:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Bike01copy.jpg

BIKES MOVES FASTER THAN YOU THINK

To make matter worst,

Motorcycle usually move more quickly than most other traffic.

Not necessary they are deliberately speeding,

But they have a better weight to power ratio.

So it is possible for us to accelerate faster.

Bikes normally accelarate out in front also to keep clear of

Other vehicles.

Remember... a light bump by any size vehicle will cause untold

damage on bikers... :giddy:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/ResizeofStreetSmart97.jpg

How Many Times had u see Vehicles changing lanes without signals.

Or Signal as they change lanes.

Just remember that Vehicles changing lanes happens all the time

More So when there is a Exit or Entrance to the Highway.

Don't be surprise! Give yourself plenty of space!

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@Dec 30 2005, 04:28 PM

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/StreetSmart96copy.jpg

If you want to read about our ride to Bekok organised by Specturm here and see the pictures, go to my blog: loudexhaust.blogspot.com.

It's up.

Cheers.:smile:

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/ResizeofStreetSmart98.jpg

"Accident Aft West Coast... "

Something u see posted once a while which will also involves some

traffic congestion.

Accidents does happen.

But there are Riders that does not have one...

For years...

So it's possible.

And Let that Rider be U.. :thumb: It Got To Do With - Attitude..

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/ResizeofWetStory03M.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/ResizeofWet04M.jpg

A Point to remember...

Cars are on 4 tyres... bikes has only 2.

They would definately outbrake us if he need to brake hard

For whatever reasons.

That leave us hitting his car

Or a skid that will leave us on the floor.

Give ourself enough stopping distance.

And look far ahead

To anticipate braking.

Painted arrow/lines on the road are also not the best place to

Apply our brakes.... on a wet day.

Remember...

"A Wet Tale"

Street Smart #99

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/Cen01.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/SteetSmart01.jpg

The Post that Started it All...

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

yeah, milestone, 100th street smart tips

I sometimes re-read everything when I'm bored or got plenty of free time while waiting for friends at school.

Good reminder for us all

btw Spectrum, I always want to ask, how u get all those photos man??

Money should never change one's values.Making money is only a report card. It's a way to tell others how you are doing

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/ResizeofBuffet02copy.jpg

Food is Something very close to our hearts...

So whenever u think of BUFFET..... Think......

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/ResizeofBuffer01M.jpg

Part of Safe Motorbike Riding Involves Creating Space

Between You & Other Vehicles.

Maintaining a Buffer Zone gives You more Time to Respond,

More Space to Protect You

And Improves the Chances of The other Driver Seeing You.

So that You Will always be safe!

You see... You Are Always Very Important! :cheer:

To your family & friends... Be Safe!

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Al-demon@Jan 19 2006, 12:00 PM

yeah, milestone, 100th street smart tips

I sometimes re-read everything when I'm bored or got plenty of free time while waiting for friends at school.

Good reminder for us all

btw Spectrum, I always want to ask, how u get all those photos man??

:smile: Al_demon, those pic taken with skill one. Esp those taken in SG, one hand ride 1 hand click click lor

hahah .... in time to come when u join us for rides than u will know.

Spec is coming up with Street smart website pretty soon. Dun piak jia his lobang hor ! ... :sweat: :sweat:

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l217/gabng/ashendonrd1900dx0.jpg
Originally posted by gabng@Jan 19 2006, 12:36 PM

:smile: Al_demon, those pic taken with skill one. Esp those taken in SG, one hand ride 1 hand click click lor

HI Gabng,

Nice of u to drop by... :smile:

Ahem... Don't ride & take photo lah! Too risky...

Normally when on the Move... One of the Pillion

Or Pax in my vehicle will do it...

Won't risk using one hand to take pic... better to just stop.

:cheer: Timely to

Thks Earlybird lovely pillion

who took most of the pics when we rode :thumb:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/StreetSmart101M_resize.jpg

Sharing Lanes @ Street Junction or Riding is not really a Good Idea.

Keeping to one side of the lane encourages cars to come squeeze beside you.

Two... is a Crowd. Company we can do without....

Story:

Friend of mine... Notice his badly Burnt skin on one of his legs.

Told me that while waiting for the lights to turn green,

A van came beside him... brush him causing him to lose his balance.

The Bike dropped & he didn't had enough space to jump as the other leg was caught between his bike & van.

So pinned down by the weight

of his bike with the exhaust on his leg.

He could only yell out for help.

Much pain & damage before the van driver notice what he had done

and helped to lift his bike.

Now the ugly leg is a constant reminder... "not to share lanes..."

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/SideofLaneM_resize.jpg

Riding Slower than the Average Traffic

Keeping to the Side of Lane encourages Vehicles to zoom pass

In the Same Lane...

It is Definitely Too close for comfort...

In the same token... riding slow between lanes is just as hazardous.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/CtrofLaneM_resize.jpg

Keep the Lane to Yourself...

Let them overtake on your right lane...

Eg. Well Clear!

The Recommended speed is to

1. Flow with the traffic or

2. Be overtaking at a slow rate (within spd limit)

It gives You better control of the situation

Rather than second guessing who's zooming pass you...

(eg having more hp is also a good safety asset)

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

When I was learning to ride in Oz, I was told not to stay in the centre of the lane due to oil slicks from cars (a lot of "rustbuckets" over there, if you get what I mean).

Instead, stay between the centre and the car tyre tracks of the lane. If you don't know where that is, look at the car in front of you and line your head with the driver or the front passenger seat.

It all depends, when it jus it stop raining, i'll stay on either the left or right car tracks of the lane, these are the areas which are more dried the the rest.

However, when it is dry all the way, i tend to stay on the middle lane. this is to ensure that i have enough areas to move about should vehicles decide to change lane suddenly.

But do note that when you wan to stay on the middle of the lane, keep with the flow of the traffic, do not thk that since you are keeping in line with the speed limit, you can stay in the middle lane, your actions will cause fustration from othe motorist whom may then decide to overtake you either from the left or squeeze you from the right.

If the traffic flow is much faster than you, it is more adviseable to keep to the left lane.

http://www.beepworld.de/memberdateien/members39/z1000/auspuff1.jpg

I miss my golden pipes...