Well since the Gmax Review in the sticky is gonna be moved to the advertisers thread, i'm gonna make a copy of my essay here :smile:

********************************Disclaimer****************************************

I do not have anything againts the runner and the review below is to the best of my knowledge and experience. I do love the runner as i have rode one before but the Gmax appeals more to me in the end. Do consider wisely before you decide to get the bike that you are interested in and not to be forced to buy something you would regret to purchase.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi to all those who are interested in the Gmax 200,

I believe its about time i input my review on this Gmax 200 after riding one for 4 mths. Well seriously speaking, the Gmax 200 doesn't differ much from the VXR 200(aka Runner 06). Price wise, it is nearly the same but with regards to long time maintainence, the Gmax would definitely be cheaper. Let me list you a few things to compare between the two bikes but do note that each bike got its own Pro's and Con's.

1) Obviously, the Gmax is made in Taiwan while the Runner is made in Italy.

Given the fact that the bike is made in Taiwan, it doesn't means that the bike has a lower quality. In fact it could be even better as the bike was manufactured to suit the Asian climate while the Runner is manufacture to suit the European climate.

2) Since the bike is manufactured locally (as in Asian region) parts can be ordered and received easily. It also cost much more cheaper given the currency difference between Taiwan and Spore compared to the Euro.

3) The Gmax weights much more heavier compared to the Runner as the frame of the Gmax and its center of gravity is slightly lower. It also means that the bike is much more stable at high speed in which you don't get the feeling that you are being blown away. Conering is also much stable and comparable to bigger bikes.

4) Unfortunately, the Gmax has a much more smaller fuel tank when compared to the runner but theoratically, the fuel consumption of the Gmax is supposed to be at 30km/litre for normal riding and it can go up to 35km/litres if you are a relaxed rider. For my personal experience, i only managed to get 28km/litre as i was mostly late to reach my destination (you get the idea huh :cheeky: )

5) This is the most common question that people would ask. What is the top speed of the Gmax 200? Well, for your information, i have tested the top speed of this bike 2 weeks after purchasing it hehehe... its out of Spore so still ok.. and the Top that i have gone to is 125km/hr after which i decided to close the throttle as i'm not a speed devil. Surprisingly, even at that speed, the bike didn't vibrate so much. In terms of long distance traveling, i am proud to say, the Gmax 200 have around 300km to reached Muar (long way) and enjoyed the shady durian trees before traveling another 250km back to Singapore.

6) In terms of maintainence, every parts of the runner is nearly similar to the Gmax except for a few different things which i have noticed and noted as below;

Firstly, the Gmax 200 does not come with a coolant reservoir hence its not water cooled but forced air cooled instead. This means there is less chances of having your piston and block getting overheated and getting a headache thinking on how and where to get the money to repair that faulty coolant pump. Also no need to care about topping coolant hence its saving u money again.

Secondly, the carburator of the Gmax looks abit different from the carburator of a VXR. There is this electronic throttle control device that is hooked onto the carburator in which i would have to do much more research on it. I believe this is the one that makes it a fuel economy bike. I will post more info once i get hold of this.

Thirdly, this bike comes with a central monoshock suspension which i believe makes the bike much stable. Dun really know much about it but i believe Edwin or BlackComet could explain further hehe..

Lastly, given the fact that the bikes comes with stock OEM Brembo front and rear calipers + steel braided hoses, i believe it a worthy investment for your safety.

7) Security wise, unlike the Runner 06, the Gmax does not comes with an immobiliser. Instead, the manufacturer designed a special type of key lock that enables the rider to close the key hole upon retriving their keys. I believe this is a much more cheaper alternative.

8) Compartment wise, which is a major draw point in my decision to get a Gmax, it is much more bigger that a runner 06. Basically you can actually put a full face helmet at the under seat compartment and much more. It also comes with a light feature to light up the compartment at night.

9) In terms of accessories, in my opinion, the Gmax acessories is much more nicer than the runner's..hehe. There are loads of different plug and play items that you can find in the market which cost much cheaper then its italian counterparts that you shall be addicted in making your bike looks nicer than the rest. I'm guilty of that at the moment :smile: I believe i have post the link to the Gmax accessories in one of the earlier replies.

10) The Gmax is universal. Although it is known by its different name in different countries for example Bobcat in Turkey, Blur in America and Elite Sport in Malaysia, the design remains the same and loyal to its creator and designers from Motive Power Industry in Taiwan. And since its universal, maybe there will be a much more cool n better parts coming from USA or maybe even cheaper repairs from our neighbouring country :smile: the outcome is limitless.

Well not sure if you guys could consider this as a review of the bike but for me, i am enjoying my bike very much and would really like to have more guys enjoying this bike like me :smile: I hope this "essay" would help you to understand more about this bike and for your info, i am still learning more about her every single day. Feel free to ask or PM me questions and i'll try to answer as much as i can.

Whiteoryx

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

• Replies 7.9k

Originally posted by G-max_scoot@Sep 7 2005, 11:41 PM

I happen to understand from a friend living in Malaysia that Modenas is manufacturing G-Max 150 in Malaysia. It is called the Modenas Elit Sports.

From what I knw is the Elit Sports uses 12-inch wheels (G-Max 13-inch front & rear) and twin piston front brake caliper (G-Max four piston caliper) and rear drum brakes (G-Max single piston disc brake).

There is a special device in the G-Max 150 which the Elit Sports does not have.

This special device manages the electrical, electronics and fuel system better in the whole bike.

It comes standard in all G-Max 150 in SG.

G Max Scoot,

I did some web browsing and noticed a few differences between G-Max and Elit Sports:

1. 12" rims on Elit Sport (most likely taken from Elit aka T-Rex. There is a 2-stroke G-Max 50cc with 12" rims too, sold in Europe)

2. different front mudguard (also taken from Elit)

3. front disk is similar to that of Elit

4. front fork is different since disk is smaller than G-Max's - suspect that T-Rex fork system is used here

5. no rear disk (of course).. and perhaps the rear curved mudguard is different to suit the smaller 12" rims otherwise there'll be ugly space

6. speedometer - indicates MODENAS instead of PGO. Layout is the same

7. decals are different from G-Max's

8. engine cover - has Modenas lettering on it

I paid RM5900 for it (excluding insurance). When I learnt that it was based on a PGO bike with more extras eg 13" rims and rear disk, I contacted Modenas to ask if they could install it for me. According to them it will cost too much coz the rims already cost RM1000, plus the disk and calipers another 700-900. The Elit Sports was downgraded so that it could be sold at that particular price. Plus the fact that it is locally assembled too.

Somehow I still hope that I can convert my Elit Sports to become a G-Max (complete with 13" rims and rear disk). Looking at the parts list above, i think that's gonna be expensive.

So what is that extra device u said Elit Sports does not have? Is it located somewhere in the battery compartment? I see two empty slots there, not sure if this is where the device is supposed to be. Can I purchase it then?

All in all, I think the price paid for this bike from Modenas is fair. If the G-Max were to be sold in Malaysia as a fully imported unit, I suppose the selling price will be RM9000 thereabouts including tax. I don't suppose ordinary mortals will want to have one, at that price.

Besides the cosmetic differences, I believe the Elit Sports performs just like a G-Max 150. Only thing I don't like is the terrible brake fade for the rear drums. The front brake is better though.

Originally posted by edwinT@Oct 18 2006, 04:18 PM

I've been told that the Elit Sports engine is not the same as the Gmax 150.

Elit is the same engine as the T-rex 149cc

Gmax is 151cc

edwinT>> Yupz, engine different but the chassis and body is the same :smile:

BlackComet>> Nice to see your bike hehe :smile: Need to appologise or not if i got touch touch and "molest" your bike just now? :cheeky:

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

Originally posted by Mean@Oct 18 2006, 03:38 PM

All in all, I think the price paid for this bike from Modenas is fair. If the G-Max were to be sold in Malaysia as a fully imported unit, I suppose the selling price will be RM9000 thereabouts including tax. I don't suppose ordinary mortals will want to have one, at that price.

Bro, cannot say like that leh, Gmax in Singapore cost arnd 12k in Malaysian ringgit, so that would really makes it very ex if it were to be sold in Malaysia. Some more we the Gmax owners in Singapore are indeed mortals :smile: But currently its very rare here in Singapore. Regarding the price, well, we all got no choice but to pay for the things we love and wish to have right?

Originally posted by Mean@Oct 19 2006, 09:00 AM

Different engine? Is this true? Any engine code that I can counter check?

Yes.

The Elit Sport retains the Elit engine which displacement is 147.5c.c. & is the same as the earlier PGO T-REX 150 engine. Currently, PGO T-REX 150, TR3-150 (3-Wheeler) and G-Max 150 all uses a bigger displacement of 150.1c.c.

There is only one way to check, that is to measure the bore & stroke.

147.5c.c.--- 57.0 X 57.7mm

150.1c.c.--- 57.5 X 57.8mm

The main reason for the upgrade for the engine displacement is to meet the high emissions levels ard the world. Hence, PGO manufacturers decided to manufacture scooters to comply to these standards.

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb103/g-max1881/2009tmax500.jpg

"ALWAYS SAFETY FIRST"

"RIDE SAFE & SMART"

HP - 9645 7667 (Alvin)

Originally posted by Mean@Oct 19 2006, 10:52 AM

Oh man.. 2nd class G-Max it looks like..

BTW Philippines G-Max riders also have a forum like this one, are we in contact with them too?

http://www.motorcyclephilippines.com/forum...aysprune=&f=131

Hi mean,

Im Asimo from autoshift.tk,as you know we i the proses to bring the pgo parts to Malaysia.The sampel already arive.Maybe we will start selling on this december.

wah,u seriously looking for 13inchi s.rim..hmm it is to expensive bro.Esp with Malaysian tax,custom will charge about 40% + not including transport + kos + and bla bla bla...

Current s.rim is not belong to PGO,it is SYM's s.rim.

U can see it here :

http://www.pgo.com.tw/T-rex.shtml

We are very lucky in this case i think.We get elit s with a reasonable price.Not to expensive.Except we dont have rear brake disc,13inch and diferent engine.But our elit s still can go up to 130kmh.Now it is not a big problem anymore for elit s owner,now we can upgrade the performance once the parts is arrive.U should try to use 4 Valve head after this!!Heheh

I dont receive a good response about the 13 inch sport rim from elit s.They prefer the performance parts.Bytheway bro mean,if u really interested with the 13inch s.rim ,PM me in autoshift and i will try to request it for you.About the perfromance part dont worry,we just receive the sampel.now in the proses to order it.we suppose to sell it by december during Perhimpunan Skuter Kebangsaan.

Guys in Singaporean Bikers,if u come to KL,let me know.Maybe we can ride togher to Genting Highlands ....heheh...

Gmax Is The Best

Originally posted by asimo@Oct 21 2006, 02:45 AM

Hi mean,

Im Asimo from autoshift.tk,as you know we i the proses to bring the pgo parts to Malaysia.The sampel already arive.Maybe we will start selling on this december.

wah,u seriously looking for 13inchi s.rim..hmm it is to expensive bro.Esp with Malaysian tax,custom will charge about 40% + not including transport + kos + and bla bla bla...

Current s.rim is not belong to PGO,it is SYM's s.rim.

U can see it here :

http://www.pgo.com.tw/T-rex.shtml

We are very lucky in this case i think.We get elit s with a reasonable price.Not to expensive.Except we dont have rear brake disc,13inch and diferent engine.But our elit s still can go up to 130kmh.Now it is not a big problem anymore for elit s owner,now we can upgrade the performance once the parts is arrive.U should try to use 4 Valve head after this!!Heheh

I dont receive a good response about the 13 inch sport rim from elit s.They prefer the performance parts.Bytheway bro mean,if u really interested with the 13inch s.rim ,PM me in autoshift and i will try to request it for you.About the perfromance part dont worry,we just receive the sampel.now in the proses to order it.we suppose to sell it by december during Perhimpunan Skuter Kebangsaan.

Guys in Singaporean Bikers,if u come to KL,let me know.Maybe we can ride togher to Genting Highlands ....heheh...

Gmax Is The Best

Hi Asimo,

heh heh u r here too..

I really like the looks of the GMax with 13" rims and ori brake discs front and back. However after close scrutiny I realised that to fit in the abovementioned items, some other parts also need to be changed eg the front forks as well as the front and rear mudguards. While I love the Elit Sport's performance, I don't think it is worth it to spend 2-3K just to upgrade it to look like the GMax. You won't get anything back when the time comes to sell the scoot later.

However, u r right that we are fortunate to be able to taste a GMax clone at that price (6K). Never mind the older engine, we can still go up to 130km/h easily.

Originally posted by Mean@Oct 24 2006, 09:24 PM

Never mind the older engine, we can still go up to 130km/h easily.

do note that there are errors on the meter. you're probably doing only 100+

PGO G-Max outing to Watch the Kallang Race on 29-10-2006 Sunday....

Meeting Time: 1100am

Meeting Place: HQ

1. G-max_scoot

2. Whiteoryx

3. skateboy

4. momo (Pending)

5. Brook - will come if i am not working on that day!

We will move off at 1130am to mit Bro Mark C & friends at Kallang Mac to hav lunch then go watch race.

"ALWAYS SAFETY FIRST"

"RIDE SAFE & SMART"

HP - 9645 7667 (Alvin)

Originally posted by edwinT@Oct 25 2006, 12:55 AM

do note that there are errors on the meter. you're probably doing only 100+

Thanks, I think this was also discussed in the Msian forum as well. Well it is not too bad if the error is consistent throughout the Elit / GMax / Alloro / Blur models, since the meter comes from PGO..

Originally posted by Mean@Oct 27 2006, 04:15 PM

Thanks, I think this was also discussed in the Msian forum as well. Well it is not too bad if the error is consistent throughout the Elit / GMax / Alloro / Blur models, since the meter comes from PGO..

yeah... just saying it so that you won't be surprised that you're travelling at 120 and you see a honda wave overtaking you effortlessly... :sweat:

i was going WTF????!!!!!

Originally posted by edwinT@Oct 22 2006, 06:19 PM

hello asimo apa khabar.

what is this 4 valve that you're talking about? mod the 2 valve to a 4 valve? share leh!

khabr baik...yup,change the head from 2V to 4V.just change the head..im still waiting the sampel from taiwan..later i will install it,test it and sell it..my bos said just change the head..cost about RM600-800 only.

Originally posted by edwinT@Oct 29 2006, 11:52 AM

yeah... just saying it so that you won't be surprised that you're travelling at 120 and you see a honda wave overtaking you effortlessly... :sweat:

i was going WTF????!!!!!

heheh..dont trust too much to your speedometer..not accurate at all...

only can trust gilera runnner...140kmh same speed with 140kmh car....heheh...

Originally posted by Mean@Oct 24 2006, 09:24 PM

Hi Asimo,

heh heh u r here too..

I really like the looks of the GMax with 13" rims and ori brake discs front and back. However after close scrutiny I realised that to fit in the abovementioned items, some other parts also need to be changed eg the front forks as well as the front and rear mudguards. While I love the Elit Sport's performance, I don't think it is worth it to spend 2-3K just to upgrade it to look like the GMax. You won't get anything back when the time comes to sell the scoot later.

However, u r right that we are fortunate to be able to taste a GMax clone at that price (6K). Never mind the older engine, we can still go up to 130km/h easily.

dont sell your elit s aa....good quality...!!

i already ask my bos to bring few set of gmax sport rim...

heheh...

Originally posted by asimo@Oct 29 2006, 05:09 PM

khabr baik...yup,change the head from 2V to 4V.just change the head..im still waiting the sampel from taiwan..later i will install it,test it and sell it..my bos said just change the head..cost about RM600-800 only.

now that is good news. keep us updated.

Originally posted by asimo@Oct 29 2006, 05:09 PM

Huh???? Did I see wrongly???

It not as simple as to change the 2V head to 4V head.

Then how abt the piston and block???

Does your 2 valve piston top have 4 holes for your 4 valves block to seat on??

If you wan to change for 2 valve to 4 valves, have to change the piston & block as well.

For your info, G-Max 150 4-valve engine capacity is 149.5 c.c. Pls check carefully.

"ALWAYS SAFETY FIRST"

"RIDE SAFE & SMART"

HP - 9645 7667 (Alvin)

Originally posted by edwinT@Oct 30 2006, 04:44 PM

hmmm.... if its too good to be true...

ITS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE! :D

Actually is can.

There's a special edition with nasa alloy.

It is kinda pointless just to change head.

U must get the head, psiton, crank and block to make the best out of it.

However. the joke is increase in only 1 hp.

And ur whole power curve chart change.