I donno if I am allow to post this but I really don't understand why we need to pay such high Coe for our ride and let gov benefit from our hard earned cash? Just came across the some information from LTA website. The objective of Coe is to let us bid against ourselves. So is there a way we can do our part to insist for a $1 dollar Coe when we book our next ride?

As a fellow bikers, we should be united and not let us be taken advantage for. This also go for motorcycle company. I know this will sound crazy but as long as we all pledge for a $1 Coe sooner or later we will still get our new ride... Well, we may need to wait but I guess it is worth the wait for a much cheaper machine right?

I hope all of you felt the same way as me because I really think Coe is a crap idea to earn our money. Let's do our part to make it possible. I know I will create a flaming session here but I think I still want to let my views seen. Just insist on a $1 Coe. Thanks for reading.

HOW DOES THE COE OPEN BIDDING SYSTEM WORK?

Bidders outbid each other to obtain a COE during the bidding exercise.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/bid_coe.html

• Replies 31

I totally agree with the first post.

But Singaporeans are selfish and don't cooperates.

The theory is that someone will willing to pay $2 and break the game theory rule.

Ok let me put you guys on a thought process.

Everyone who wanted a bike, will eventually get a bike. Tell me honestly, who know of friends who gave up owning a bike? NO? exactly.

Each month the COE quotas are fully taken up. OVer the years, everyone who wants to own a bike owns it eventually, be it to buy new or buy second hand.

Give me names of people that you know of friends or relatives who did not manage to get a bike after 6 months!!! NO? exactly.

If all of us can come to the understanding that EVERYONE eventually gets their bikes. THIS concept is very important.

If you guys were to study the bidding process, every round will have unsuccessful bidders. WHO ARE THESE LOSERS BIDDERS?

Does it mean that for bike COE biddings these 200++ unsuccessful bidders will give up ever to own a bike? NO! Exactly.

These unsuccessful bidders will try again the next round until they get their COE.

Take note that everyone will get their COE sooner or later.

So what we all need to do is to tell the bike dealers that we are only willing to pay $1 for the COE.

Or better yet, bid for the $1 COE ourselves. So that there will be 'lesser' buyers going to the dealers to push to COE higher.

To put it simply, we just need to convince 200++ of potential buyers to delay their purchase for one month. This will effectively make the bidders to be lower than the quota numbers and result in $1 COE.

Remember the rule, everyone will get their COE eventually.

In the past twenty years, how many of you knows of friends or relatives who failed to get their bike COE and gave up on owning a bike? NO? Exactly.

Eventually everyone will own a bike if of their desire.

So why fight among ourselves for a $4,502 COE?

Remember the rule if we coorperate, everyone will be paying $1 for COE actually.

(Provided LTA don't change the rule or say since demand is low, the quota will be cut further)

Anyway......remember this rule...don't be selfish.....everyone who wants a bike over the past 20yrs of COE existence has gotten it somehow. NEW or Secondhand.

In theory we just need to SHIFT the 200++ buyers by one month, and assuming demand is constant, the COE will remains $1.

(of course when COE is $1 people might be tempted to own 2 or more bikes, and push up demand further)

I totally agree with the first post.

But Singaporeans are selfish and don't cooperates.

The theory is that someone will willing to pay $2 and break the game theory rule.

Ok let me put you guys on a thought process.

Everyone who wanted a bike, will eventually get a bike. Tell me honestly, who know of friends who gave up owning a bike? NO? exactly.

Each month the COE quotas are fully taken up. OVer the years, everyone who wants to own a bike owns it eventually, be it to buy new or buy second hand.

Give me names of people that you know of friends or relatives who did not manage to get a bike after 6 months!!! NO? exactly.

If all of us can come to the understanding that EVERYONE eventually gets their bikes. THIS concept is very important.

If you guys were to study the bidding process, every round will have unsuccessful bidders. WHO ARE THESE LOSERS BIDDERS?

Does it mean that for bike COE biddings these 200++ unsuccessful bidders will give up ever to own a bike? NO! Exactly.

These unsuccessful bidders will try again the next round until they get their COE.

Take note that everyone will get their COE sooner or later.

So what we all need to do is to tell the bike dealers that we are only willing to pay $1 for the COE.

Or better yet, bid for the $1 COE ourselves. So that there will be 'lesser' buyers going to the dealers to push to COE higher.

To put it simply, we just need to convince 200++ of potential buyers to delay their purchase for one month. This will effectively make the bidders to be lower than the quota numbers and result in $1 COE.

Remember the rule, everyone will get their COE eventually.

In the past twenty years, how many of you knows of friends or relatives who failed to get their bike COE and gave up on owning a bike? NO? Exactly.

Eventually everyone will own a bike if of their desire.

So why fight among ourselves for a $4,502 COE?

Remember the rule if we coorperate, everyone will be paying $1 for COE actually.

(Provided LTA don't change the rule or say since demand is low, the quota will be cut further)

Anyway......remember this rule...don't be selfish.....everyone who wants a bike over the past 20yrs of COE existence has gotten it somehow. NEW or Secondhand.

In theory we just need to SHIFT the 200++ buyers by one month, and assuming demand is constant, the COE will remains $1.

(of course when COE is $1 people might be tempted to own 2 or more bikes, and push up demand further)

Bro kiss29,

Thks for supporting this idea. Really appreciate for your voice. I am so worried that I will be flamed until chao tar... We bikers/ buyer must stand together and agree to insist for a $1 Coe. In the event if Coe price do drop to e.g $1, I am sure there will be people want to take advantage and bid for $2. We as buyer must insist on only $1 and nothing more. It all boils down to us... Bikers... We can make a change.. I do believe biker community is a strong bonded community.. When u see a bike having problem, as a biker we will help in any way.. So let's extend our effort to make it possible. Remember this is a group effort... Thanks.

P.S. I am just an average Singaporean that think we should not tolerate the nonsense other people put up.

You can ask all forum members but not the whole singapore or even the motor tiam to do the same.. Just 1 bidder hit $3 it will change the whole story already.. End user normally own 1-2 new bike at most at a time but motor tiam is different story..

The counter part also deal with the germent as well to control motor vehicles here and there, they will also change the COE price as well..

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/543/image000vy.jpg/

I used to go through CBD to work in Jurong in the mornings. Nowadays I see a lot of ang moh on Ducati and Gilera waiting next to traffic lights.

Car so exp nowadays, even ang moh tak boleh tahan the COE and need get bike.

When I read about the dangers of riding motorbikes, I gave up reading.

http://fc01.deviantart.com/fs25/f/2008/071/2/d/Bleach_Gotei_13_Captains_by_Miralupa.png

I maybe wrong but there are just simply far too many selfish and self-centered people around. They have this mindset of "why should I suit the majority and not the majority suit me?" or "Why should I care what others cannot get? All I need to care is what I can get and if you cannot get it, that is your own problem because you are a loser." or in a more simpler way, "The whole world can die just as long as I do not die."

Just imagine those rich people who are can afford to get bikes like harley davidson or those whose license plate that is SXXXXCD, I believe they will not care about cooperating or think about people who need bikes as the only mean of income.

Edited by TsuchimiRin

My posts are based on peaceful discussion, honest questions happy jokes. If for any personal reason u find my post not suiting your ego, scrolling and clicking is always faster than typing. Not hearing my retorts to your rude remarks only means I have confirmed that your upbringing is that of barbarians.

Your Perspective on life comes from the cage you were held captive in. - Shannon L. Alder

think u all think too much. why is 4k now but not last last 20 year?

too many FT coming into singapore already. not everyone willing to pay for a car so bike is their best bet.

For bike shop that sell new bike. they must have coe ready if not how to sell bike? u tell them to wait for bidding and customer will rather go other shop that have ready coe instead of waiting.

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/IMG_0627_zps0816850b.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

I used to go through CBD to work in Jurong in the mornings. Nowadays I see a lot of ang moh on Ducati and Gilera waiting next to traffic lights.

Car so exp nowadays, even ang moh tak boleh tahan the COE and need get bike.

That is precisely why bike COE is skyrocketing. Because these expats can surely afford a $4k COE. Not only that, with the influx of rich FTs, motorbikes are weekend toys to many. They go for cute little Paggio scooters, or the Ducatis and HDs. Motor Tiam will be more than happy to bid high COE to secure the sale to them.

And yes, i support and will surely bid $1 COE.

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

We should promote the awareness of bidding the COE ourseleve via ATM. It is a 5 mins job maybe, i tried a few is quite easy.

For shops to bid high is easy, cos they are not the one who pay for it. Work out the loan package for customer. Even not $1 COE, $100 or so is still fine.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Do you managed to get the COE if you bid so low?

We should promote the awareness of bidding the COE ourseleve via ATM. It is a 5 mins job maybe, i tried a few is quite easy.

For shops to bid high is easy, cos they are not the one who pay for it. Work out the loan package for customer. Even not $1 COE, $100 or so is still fine.

ideally you want everyone to bid $1. but the problem is game theory, people who want the bike now are willing to pay more rather than wait for next coe bidding. so supply and demand determines the price. why coe so high because demand exceeds coe quota.

also, some people won't bother bidding themselves because they can afford paying more for convenience sake and the motor tiam will bid up for them.

Do you managed to get the COE if you bid so low?

What do you think? The purpose is to try the system, or how easy it is to bid. However, it is also sensitive to put step by step guide using photos on a ATM machine.

Edited by hachi

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

ideally you want everyone to bid $1. but the problem is game theory, people who want the bike now are willing to pay more rather than wait for next coe bidding. so supply and demand determines the price. why coe so high because demand exceeds coe quota.

also, some people won't bother bidding themselves because they can afford paying more for convenience sake and the motor tiam will bid up for them.

I dont mean that, ideally is everyone bid COE themselves, why COE is high because it is not the shop interests to bid low. Shop wanted sales. Simple as that. I am sure if you know it is 5 mins job, even you can afford it, you wont pay 4k for a COE. If everyone start it themseleves, we will not see a $1 COE, however i am sure we wont see 4k COE every month.

Eg, 300 COE bid by shops, 400 of the bids is more than 4k. COE 4k. However, everyone start bidding themselves, we will see a variations of prices. The price will more individual based rather then shop based. As for shop if they bid more so be it, as time goes if no market for package with COE, things will change.

Bro kiss29,

Thks for supporting this idea. Really appreciate for your voice. I am so worried that I will be flamed until chao tar... We bikers/ buyer must stand together and agree to insist for a $1 Coe. In the event if Coe price do drop to e.g $1, I am sure there will be people want to take advantage and bid for $2. We as buyer must insist on only $1 and nothing more. It all boils down to us... Bikers... We can make a change.. I do believe biker community is a strong bonded community.. When u see a bike having problem, as a biker we will help in any way.. So let's extend our effort to make it possible. Remember this is a group effort... Thanks.

P.S. I am just an average Singaporean that think we should not tolerate the nonsense other people put up.

$1 COE is to put thing into perspective, as individual you can bid as high as you want depending on the urgency of your needs, remember based on 20 years historical Motorcycle COE prices, I believe it is always less than 1k.

Looking at the system, for non-indivual account, they will pump in the money and bids to secure the COE. Having said that, if there are increased amount of bid for example, 300 COE for this month, there are bidders (200 Individuals) bidding $1-100, shop can just out bid they all, maybe $200 or so (reserve price aside as they cannot see your reserve price). This will push down the price. Currently situation is shops vs shops ( their interests is to push sales). If individual vs shops, yes they have the numbers we have the bait.

Edited by hachi

Shouldnt they come out with different COE category for different class bike? If the price of COE continue remain this high, lesser class 2B bike will renew their COE, ppl rather opt for higher CC bike cos not worth it to pay high COE for class 2B bike..very soon, there will be lesser and lesser 2B bikes in singapore as more ppl getting bigger bikes.

No choice. Should take a look at hochimin city!

Cannot compare like this one...some countries have more bikes maybe because their public transport is not that advance...ours got world class public transport.

Shouldnt they come out with different COE category for different class bike? If the price of COE continue remain this high, lesser class 2B bike will renew their COE, ppl rather opt for higher CC bike cos not worth it to pay high COE for class 2B bike..very soon, there will be lesser and lesser 2B bikes in singapore as more ppl getting bigger bikes.

u must be riding a small cc bike

2B bikes won't drop. Commerical, riders who just passed, riders with no intent to go 2A all rides 2B bikes. If bike cat got separate COE, I foresee 2B bikers suffer the most.

it will..when you decide to get another bike...or 10 years later..haha

who says not affected..unless you give up riding altogether...

have a smooth ride bro.

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

Not true, cos if true COE won't get so high in the first place, and ppl don't bid, it's the shops that bids with their must-sell-whatever-price-also-pay attitude. If everyone bid on their own what you said can happen ... at least for a while until someone gets impatient of waiting ...

Anyway our COE got raised is due to quota cut in the first place. Why cut? Who knows...

I am not sure which category will suffer the most..but if you base on machine price, logically ppl should bid lesser for bike with lower machine price...

the latest emmission std for bikes kick in this month...

i m sure coe going to drop this coming wed bid..

dealers with bikes of the last emmision std..push their old stock for sale..trying to unload all old emission std bikes...

now the latest std has kicked in..the need to register bike with old std is not allowed...so less ferosious bidding..

what a relief...

nb new bikes that do not meet latest emmission std cannot be registered

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer: