wooot.

that's awesome.

my fc so far 30km only.

without any mod. lol.

how come ah ? you ram ur throttle when traffic light turns green uh ? LOL . :thumb:

shadows of our lives are caused by our standing in our own sunshine.

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

wooot.

that's awesome.

my fc so far 30km only.

without any mod. lol.

Hmm, that is worrisome man. Ok let's start with the simplest possible cause.

1) tyre pressure - do check that you are not underinflated

2) Carbs running rich - many ways to check. The simplest is to feel the exhaust air with your hands and smell it. It should not smell of petrol. (sounds weird I know, but it does work)

3) Check that your sprocket and chain is not too tight and not too slack.

There are other reasons that I can think of. But these are the easiest to rectify.

Wikipedia is like God, only better. you get answers.

and please don't go all operational definition and say 'stands for' must have the Cee & Bee & Arr.

I already know about the CBR line being that for the sporty series. But I am curious about what each letter stands for.

Like the CBF series is Cheap. Built to ride. Fun or something like that.

Definitely not the same for the CBR... Not Cheap, and R is for..?

Oh well...

yes i did the tuning for him... no problem juz contact me at the number above for any QNS... rite now im doing a test on a new open port material with a longer pressure hose to make our bike go longer distance with better temperature rate...

So the mod you made for him is focused on creating a more efficient air intake system right? Makes sense actually, as the intake valves for the bike is pretty small.

Not too big though, otherwise you definitely need to toggle with the jets.

At least that is my noob understanding of the bike.

Protegas Et Deleas

By the way, can I trouble you to explain the part about longer pressure hose to make our bike go further with lower temperature?

I'm having trouble rationalizing it...

Sorry man, I am quite the noob.

Protegas Et Deleas

what you mean by rain water ? i rode in rain ytd ah. jus as for normal speed during raining la. slow and safe . LOL . i dare not ride fast during rain laa , self skidded once . but aftr all the upgrade to me is good la. :thumb:

hm..i would tink that having open pod filter means external things like rain water are more easily sucked into the air flow, as compared to having airbox which have got back facing airholes.

so im just wondering whether the open pod is able to tahan riding in heavy rain.

hm..i would tink that having open pod filter means external things like rain water are more easily sucked into the air flow, as compared to having airbox which have got back facing airholes.

so im just wondering whether the open pod is able to tahan riding in heavy rain.

1st and for most it is not safe to ride on heavy rain... safety 1st bro stop at the nearest shelter if possible... 2nd YES u will have problem if u ride ur bike in a swimming pool hehe LOL... joking actually u must get this understanding it does not suck in it blows out... get it now... plus our bike is fairing protected so it should not be problem... but when washing ur engine with a jet spray is best to cover it with plastic... for me i cant be bother i juz jet it...:cheers:

By the way, can I trouble you to explain the part about longer pressure hose to make our bike go further with lower temperature?

I'm having trouble rationalizing it...

Sorry man, I am quite the noob.

ill be replacing our normal overflow hose with a longer customized one until at the back of our seat or close to it so the heat from our engine travel upwards releasing it hence u will get a colder engine...:cheers::cheers:

Demaestro says: Yeah Buddy!!!

1st and for most it is not safe to ride on heavy rain... safety 1st bro stop at the nearest shelter if possible... 2nd YES u will have problem if u ride ur bike in a swimming pool hehe LOL... joking actually u must get this understanding it does not suck in it blows out... get it now... plus our bike is fairing protected so it should not be problem... but when washing ur engine with a jet spray is best to cover it with plastic... for me i cant be bother i juz jet it...:cheers:

icic~

but no difficulties getting yr bike started after the bike wash w/ jet spray?

i have such concerns because once in a long while my bike will throw tantrum. i.e. just suddenly very difficult to start. and it's usually one off instances. so i cant trace what exactly happens cause after that, the hard to start thing juz disappears and comes back in another long while.

:btw: pls drop me a PM on how much this open pod filter conversion will cost. im totally keen to learn how to adjust the a/f screw as well. :p

Don CBR150 has very nice seat cover - i think he did it in JB for about rm30.....

RM$28 to be exact

but those are PVC type

CB stands for City Bike. Example: CB125

R stands for Racing, believe it or not.

F, I'm not too sure.

So the City Bike urban legend is true. Cool dude, thanks man!

ill be replacing our normal overflow hose with a longer customized one until at the back of our seat or close to it so the heat from our engine travel upwards releasing it hence u will get a colder engine...:cheers::cheers:

Interesting... You need to show me in detail the parts in the flesh at the next CBR150 outing yeah?

Thanks for the information!

Protegas Et Deleas

icic~

but no difficulties getting yr bike started after the bike wash w/ jet spray?

i have such concerns because once in a long while my bike will throw tantrum. i.e. just suddenly very difficult to start. and it's usually one off instances. so i cant trace what exactly happens cause after that, the hard to start thing juz disappears and comes back in another long while.

:btw: pls drop me a PM on how much this open pod filter conversion will cost. im totally keen to learn how to adjust the a/f screw as well. :p

Actually Don, I have those concerns as well. I suspect the reason is due to a little water coming into the carb... I have had instances where the idling was actually a little high when suddenly, the bike died. This was in the middle of a torrential rain. We are lucky that the bike is a one cylinder powerful bike. But I think perhaps De-maestro's bike is far healthier than mine making it less sensitive to water coming in.

By the way, it's not as bad as if water enters the exhaust you know. Ho say liao! :cry:

And if you want to run open ports to increase the air intake, you can try removing the air filter and coat the inside of your air box with a little grease. Not as professionally done as De-maestro's but it is an easy way to see if the open port mod is something you are willing to live with.

Other than that, have a Rocktastic week ahead!

Protegas Et Deleas

Guys, my bike always had Jet-spray wash in JB since day 1 - never seems to have a problem after the wash. But I always tell them to focus on the engine block, wheel sets, chain & not to jet-spray the meter area. So far so good ley ............

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Actually Don, I have those concerns as well. I suspect the reason is due to a little water coming into the carb... I have had instances where the idling was actually a little high when suddenly, the bike died. This was in the middle of a torrential rain. We are lucky that the bike is a one cylinder powerful bike. But I think perhaps De-maestro's bike is far healthier than mine making it less sensitive to water coming in.

By the way, it's not as bad as if water enters the exhaust you know. Ho say liao! :cry:

And if you want to run open ports to increase the air intake, you can try removing the air filter and coat the inside of your air box with a little grease. Not as professionally done as De-maestro's but it is an easy way to see if the open port mod is something you are willing to live with.

Other than that, have a Rocktastic week ahead!

hm..for my case, the hard to start one off issue doesnt necesarily come after rain. it's usually parked in sheltered carpark.

at 1st i was wondering if it could be due to water seeping into fuel tank of sort. but figure that shouldnt be the case, since our bike doesnt have a reserve tank. so watever fuel is at the bottom of the tank gets sucked into the carb directly.

coating airbox w/ grease is one crude method. :giddy: getting yucky grease stuck on fingers + some of e grease may end up in the carb?

watever it is, learning to do a/f tuning by listening to the bike engine/exhaust is smth that's going to come in useful when experimenting w/ the various air filter mods.

Uncle Lim, I shall remember to tell the people that... But so far I have never paid someone to wash my bike. Perhaps when I'm super lazy one day.

Don - Don't apply such a thick layer lah... I totally agree with you. I am learning basic tuning as well. But as for the grease, what ever works lah right?

But actually, it's not true about water not being able to get into the fuel tank since we don't have a reserve portion. The tank cap is not water proof. You notice some water around the edges if you were to top up after riding in the rain a little while. But since you park under shelter, then perhaps water isn't even the cause.

Are you having such problems still?

Protegas Et Deleas

Don - Don't apply such a thick layer lah... I totally agree with you. I am learning basic tuning as well. But as for the grease, what ever works lah right?

But actually, it's not true about water not being able to get into the fuel tank since we don't have a reserve portion. The tank cap is not water proof. You notice some water around the edges if you were to top up after riding in the rain a little while. But since you park under shelter, then perhaps water isn't even the cause.

Are you having such problems still?

wah...still cant quite picture the image of myself having to remove the airbox to wash off the grease and recoat a fresh layer after that.

cant be sure if all types of grease can be used though. i remember seeing uncle lim helping to apply a layer of electric grease on my family car headlight connector/socket prior to installing the new pair of bulbs i got frm him. dont tink those will be suitable. :p

now problem still exists i guess.

the last it occured, my battery got weak and i simply had to give up cranking the engine. guess my battery's lifespan is due anyway. been on it for 2yrs and i dont tink it came new when i 1st took the bike (2nd hand) out frm e shop. wat happened was i simply rolled the bike down the carpark ramp and push started the bike.

the darn thing started luckily. that was 2-3weeks back already. on a new battery now and waiting for the long while to pass before i encounter the tantrum again. :p

for those who are getting new Yuasa maintenance free battery from LAB, remember to opt for the model number w/ number 5 in it. i took the one w/ number 4 in it only to realise that the stock battery model is a number 6. decided that the difference is too big & went back to LAB for a swop + topup. :sweat:

the difference in model numbering indicates the amphere and physical size differences of the battery just in case u r wondering.

Edited by d0n^

the last it occured, my battery got weak and i simply had to give up cranking the engine. guess my battery's lifespan is due anyway. been on it for 2yrs and i dont tink it came new when i 1st took the bike (2nd hand) out frm e shop. wat happened was i simply rolled the bike down the carpark ramp and push started the bike.

the darn thing started luckily. that was 2-3weeks back already. on a new battery now and waiting for the long while to pass before i encounter the tantrum again. :p

for those who are getting new Yuasa maintenance free battery from LAB, remember to opt for the model number w/ number 5 in it. i took the one w/ number 4 in it only to realise that the stock battery model is a number 6. decided that the difference is too big & went back to LAB for a swop + topup. :sweat:

the difference in model numbering indicates the amphere and physical size differences of the battery just in case u r wondering.

Lucky its MSCP. Hehe.. My battery serves me for almost 3yrs alrdy. Still working well.

Dont mind let us know how much u pay for ur new bat? Thx :angel:

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

LAB sells it at $38 if i didnt remember wrongly...

btw don, will using a model with a different model number affect anything? cos i realise that these few days my bike always needs to choke in the morning.

Oh. Thx for the info.

Kenny - the s$38 battery from LAB is a shorter version of the original right ?? But is a good Honda battery ....

Uncle Lim, what do u mean by shorter version? Do u mean the life-span is shorter?

Kenny - the s$38 battery from LAB is a shorter version of the original right ?? But is a good Honda battery ....

same length. same size. and i still cant believe i installed it on my own considering that i always "screw" things up. :angel:

Lucky its MSCP. Hehe.. My battery serves me for almost 3yrs alrdy. Still working well.

Dont mind let us know how much u pay for ur new bat? Thx :angel:

paid a similar sum as Kenneth. $38.

dont tink yr hard to start issue is due to battery leh.

frm the battery's perspective, it is either sufficient or insufficient electric current to power the starter motor.

if usage of the choke helps to solve the issue, i would trace it to carb or plug.

when was the last spark plug change?

im going to DIY maybe nxt wkend or smth.

going to hit 10,000km for the current plug liaoz.

same length. same size. and i still cant believe i installed it on my own considering that i always "screw" things up. :angel:

Erh... Next year u got to help me then. LOL :angel:

Im sucks when I got to handle cables.