PPL, im riding cbr150, and would like to ask bout engine oil, more bout the types of EO available, synthetic, semi-synthetic and fullysynthetic, which is suitable for our bike and affordable?do pm me..thanks alot..

there are tonnes of engine oil out there available...

which oil-base (full, semi-synthetic or mineral) and viscousity (40 or 50) is probably up to individual preference. once u discover a particular brand and grade that works great, just stick to it.

for me, i swear by castrol power 1 semi synthetic. this oil worked great for me on my previous bikes and i feel it works pretty well for my cbr150 as well. at $9/bottle not including worksmanship, i feel it gives me enough value for this kind of price.

have tried out this other brand of EO from carrefour called Carlube. find that it's abit too low in viscousity and rough for my engine.

understand that some of the other bros here use motul or esso gold or other brands of EO. so i guess the point is really to go experiment with some of the different brands yrself?

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

PPL, im riding cbr150, and would like to ask bout engine oil, more bout the types of EO available, synthetic, semi-synthetic and fullysynthetic, which is suitable for our bike and affordable?do pm me..thanks alot..

Tried and tested... semi synthetic stays in grade the longest...

Particularly AGIP city 10w-40. $15.

Been coming 2 months already and my engine and gear shifting still feels fine where others would have already become "chao ta".

which oil-base (full, semi-synthetic or mineral) and viscousity (40 or 50) is probably up to individual preference. once u discover a particular brand and grade that works great, just stick to it.

for me, i swear by castrol power 1 semi synthetic. this oil worked great for me on my previous bikes and i feel it works pretty well for my cbr150 as well. at $9/bottle not including worksmanship, i feel it gives me enough value for this kind of price.

have tried out this other brand of EO from carrefour called Carlube. find that it's abit too low in viscousity and rough for my engine.

understand that some of the other bros here use motul or esso gold or other brands of EO. so i guess the point is really to go experiment with some of the different brands yrself?

http://www.bike-decals.com/productgraphics/Castrol%20Honda%20Race%20Decals%20VTR1000118.jpg

Castrol for you sir?

I've been a recently converted Agip fan! :)

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

its very cheap. where u get it? share2 leh

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

http://www.bike-decals.com/productgraphics/Castrol%20Honda%20Race%20Decals%20VTR1000118.jpg

Castrol for you sir?

nice~

have always wanted a new paintwork

but another part of me says just keep the $$ and retire the bike after COE runs out by 2013.

its very cheap. where u get it? share2 leh

hm..is the price of $9/bottle w/o workmanship really so good?

from LAB

just went to get a new rear tyre fixed up yday. batalax 039SS 90/80 for $88.

hm..is the price of $9/bottle w/o workmanship really so good?

from LAB

just went to get a new rear tyre fixed up yday. batalax 039SS 90/80 for $88.

Yup its quite cheap. U might want to check with few bike shops. They should be selling at least 14bucks incl workmanship. Its 5bucks diff, change twice can get one more bottle of new 1 liao.

Oupsss, hve u always been using such a small tyre for the rear?

Hi bros n sis,

I ride my cbr150 for near a yr now.. bought secondhand FY plate.. last time i fall b4 then my fairing gt crack, now i ride some more finally the crack give way and break:cry:

soo.. how?? should i drill a hole on the fairing and use cable to tie it up? get new fairing? where to get cheap fairing by the way? pls help tyty!!

Kris

Hi bros n sis,

I ride my cbr150 for near a yr now.. bought secondhand FY plate.. last time i fall b4 then my fairing gt crack, now i ride some more finally the crack give way and break:cry:

soo.. how?? should i drill a hole on the fairing and use cable to tie it up? get new fairing? where to get cheap fairing by the way? pls help tyty!!

cable tie lo.... fairing is not cheap.... or you can just go naked.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs338.snc3/29499_10150189310265113_874490112_12671202_3170467_n.jpg

i knew that was coming, the naked bit.

i just knew it. LOL

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

Yup its quite cheap. U might want to check with few bike shops. They should be selling at least 14bucks incl workmanship. Its 5bucks diff, change twice can get one more bottle of new 1 liao.

Oupsss, hve u always been using such a small tyre for the rear?

haha...and i was just considering to support the economy abit by stop DIY-ing engine oil change. o_O

and yup..my previous tyre was also a 90/80. :p

cable tie lo.... fairing is not cheap.... or you can just go naked.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs338.snc3/29499_10150189310265113_874490112_12671202_3170467_n.jpg

a wild idea hit me that day. if wan to go naked, sekali can go grab a NSR150SP head fairing + headlight set frm the scrapyards & try to fit it onto our bike. whahaha

i knew that was coming, the naked bit.

i just knew it. LOL

WHat to do.... don't want to buy fairing is like that.. can still look fierce like this SV650!!

http://news.micronexhaust.com/upload/SV-650%20slip-on1sm.jpg

ppl...what is the recommended mileage to change EO and Spark Plug and even top up coolant?

1. Change EO when gear shifting and throttle feels "rough"... if you are caring (like me :angel:) every month or 1000km can change already, whichever comes sooner

2. Plug i one year change once

3. Coolant.... so far done nothing... some people like to flush once every 1 year but i just top up when reserve coolant tank is low... which reminds me.... i need to already... keep on putting it off... :sweat:

right now i remove everything, so really naked ah.. but my friends say not street legal.. or is it ok??

What not street legal.... if anyone catch you say you buang than fairing gone case already.... order one but still haven't come yet.. :angel:

Been riding around without fairing for quite sometime and nothing happen.

WHat to do.... don't want to buy fairing is like that.. can still look fierce like this SV650!!

http://news.micronexhaust.com/upload/SV-650%20slip-on1sm.jpg

the SV650 looks quite different frm naked cbr150 leh~

i suspect the naked look on e cbr150 can be better improved if the mainframe is black color + the exhaust is fully chromed.

i duno if adding on the middle fairing (instead of removing both middle + bottom fairing) can help retain abit more of the streamline effect as seen on SV650.

ppl...what is the recommended mileage to change EO and Spark Plug and even top up coolant?

change EO = depend on which oil base of oil u using. mineral = 1,000km. semi-syn = 3,000km. fully syn = 5,000km. these are just rough estimates given. if u ride and accelerate hard, probably have to replace more frequently.

spark plug ard 10,000km provided u dont have tuning issues w/ the carburettor.

coolant usually does not need to top up. the coolant is supposed to move in a cycle and use and re-use. if u r losing coolant, means bike is overheating or there is a leak somewhere.

the SV650 looks quite different frm naked cbr150 leh~

i suspect the naked look on e cbr150 can be better improved if the mainframe is black color + the exhaust is fully chromed.

i duno if adding on the middle fairing (instead of removing both middle + bottom fairing) can help retain abit more of the streamline effect as seen on SV650.

Dey... our bike only 150cc... how streamline you want to go that 1km/h faster??... :dot::dot::dot:

Like that must tiong the bike jackpot all the way!! Tong stomach tong endcan, mirror fold inward, moulded sharp tail, sotong tire with spoked rims, fast throttle, Lacing foot rest, big bore kit 177cc, Lacing CDI, Lacing clutch plate, YOSIMULA Car-pe-tta, BLEMBO Blake, and not forgetting lacing exhaust so you can wake the whole neighbourhood up when you come home at 3am!!! :clap:

And of cos not forgetting the LACING footwear, arai slipper and Shoei shorts.... confirm very jackpot!! All the chio bu's see already wa kee siao ah! Fierce rider!!!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_fc7SsiuL7NE/Sh4In1wQR0I/AAAAAAAACDc/TRcwhASXP2o/s1600/honda-cbr-150-01.jpg

Edited by xXxRatedxXx

thank you xxxrated and don...don, i recently changed my spark plug and EO when my mileage is 29++km, i forget which EO they changed for me...can help me gauge when is the next replacement?

Dey... our bike only 150cc... how streamline you want to go that 1km/h faster??... :dot::dot::dot:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_fc7SsiuL7NE/Sh4In1wQR0I/AAAAAAAACDc/TRcwhASXP2o/s1600/honda-cbr-150-01.jpg

hahaa

it's e looks not the actual streamline effect!

thank you xxxrated and don...don, i recently changed my spark plug and EO when my mileage is 29++km, i forget which EO they changed for me...can help me gauge when is the next replacement?

if not sure which EO they changed for u..abit hard to estimate right?

maybe just do a change at 2,500km?

nvm la... as long as feeling smooth can already... if really cannot tahan just change again lor.... then you take note now.

and yup..my previous tyre was also a 90/80. :p

My last tyre change wanted to use 80/90 and 90/80, front and rear respectively. But was told, 'u sure buang 1 with this combination' by the staff. When I heard the word 'buang' i scared liao. Not scared pain, but scared next year premium rocket to the sky. LOL

right now i remove everything, so really naked ah.. but my friends say not street legal.. or is it ok??

Ive met TP everyday OTR + even pass inspection with my naked CBR150.

U should pay more attention to the type & grade of the oil put into ur engine. Sekali its mineral & u change too late, not healthy for ur engine. :angel: