Hi, I was in the exact situation as u few months back..

I was also deciding btw a pulsar and a cbr.

I must say i was so tempted in getting a pulsar cos of the huge tank and good FC but was worried bout the branding in singapore too..

I was keeping track of their thread and also posted some queries and I must say those riders did assure me that its still alright..

However for me, I did not go ahead and buy that bike cos I have a cousin (help me check on pulsar) and strongly advise me not to buy that bike..

Well, i heed my cousin's advise and did not buy that bike. PLEASE take note! Im not saying pulsar is not a good bike.. But I just heed my cousin's advise. That's all!

So, I bought the cbr.. well, I must say it serves well as a commuter's bike.

But please, imho, I feel that this bike is not a very strong bike though..

If u read some few threads back, I believe u will know I met with an accident..

Even when not travelling at high speed, an accident causes serious damage to my bike and repair will cost ard 1.4k

And like Ozzarhomb mentioned also, this bike provides literally zero protection for the rider.

So, I would say.. if u wanna get this bike, ride safely..

if u intend to play with this bike, Im strongly against it..

All these are just my own opinions i say. If there's anything anyone's against it, I'm totally fine alright?

hi all!! i intend to a get a class 2B bike. sth that is economical. i was considering gettin pulsar due to the low FC but scared cos it's not a popular brand in singapore. my fren intro me cbr, he say FC is abt 40, somemore racing bike, can have good pickup n speed.

is it true? the FC can reali get 40km/litres? how much rpm shd i change gear at, and wad speed to travel at to achieve 40km/litre?

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

Hi, i'm a new rider on the road as well and i dun really know much about bikes still but from what u mentioned, i reckon wr200 is a high end bike in terms of $$$.

For me, i feel that cbr is alright in terms of the size.. im standing 1.78 but i dun feel that the bike is too small..

well, i guess performance-wise, maintanence-wise, $$-wise u can all find out with friends and compare them..

But looks-wise, i would say really.. ask urself which one u love??

if u really love the wr200 (and of cos ur pockket allows it), just go for that bike.

and if u really love the cbr, then get the cbr..

if u were to buy a bike that u dun really like, i believe even after u get that bike, u will keep thinking of chging/upgrading ur bike right??

if u buy thee one u like, u will love ur ride and pay more attn to it.. at least thats what i think..

Again i emphasize, this is just my very own opinions. If u are against anything, just ignore them!! :)

hi!

am new here, been interested in getting a cbr150 for ages, but I'm trying to compare the cbr150 and wr200, would love it if anyone had any tips to give! I found out that the difference in FC is huge, wr200 can go for the most 20km/l, but cbr150 can go for more than 40km/l? that's like 2full tanks of wr!

I know that these are two really different bikes, my initial idea was to get a cbr, because of the low FC, user/road friendly, etcetc, but my friends said it was too small for a 1.72m lanky person like me. and I've seen it at a shop, it looks fine really, just a lil skinnier than I expected.

then I tried the wr, which is kinda interesting, because I've always liked dirt bikes. but the maintenance is way higher considering the difference between it and the cbr. and not to mention, ++look factor on the road. hahahah (vain). but it's still pretty and more preferred by my biker friends, they said I suit the wr more.

1>> so that rounds off my question, cbr150 now then wait till 2A and get a drz (even though the FC is not much of a diff compared to the wr...) or just get a wr because I plainly like it? don't want maintenance to be a ***** and carry 2t oil everywhere I go. but considering I travel from yishun to bugis everyday for school, need to make the smarter choice for my wallet or my vanity.

all tips and comments appreciated. :)

2>> oh and also, if I do get a cbr, I noticed 2nd hand ones here are going for 2.4k to 2.6k. is it more worth it to get a 1st hand one, whack a down payment, and pay COI slowly for months after? I don't know yet if I will upgrade to a super4 or drz or whatever, yet, I might end up not even upgrading, but even if I do, I heard you can trade in your bike and continue paying COI for whatever bike you're getting. how worth it is this deal?

like I said, would appreciate if people would respond to this post. it's my first bike, that's why I'm asking so much. really need to know what's best. wahah.

thank you!

Yup i agree with lazy1000, cbr150 not very strong when accidents happen. I got into one and repairs cost me a whopping 2.3K. Felt like i was buying a new bike, everything on it broke.

Even though the strength of the bike when it comes to accident is probably not a priority in your consideration, just wanna give u a heads up :thumb: Other than that, i feel this bike is quite good for commuting.

After all up to u guys to see which bike calls out to you more than the other one. Happy bike shopping x)

Yup i agree with lazy1000, cbr150 not very strong when accidents happen. I got into one and repairs cost me a whopping 2.3K. Felt like i was buying a new bike, everything on it broke.

Even though the strength of the bike when it comes to accident is probably not a priority in your consideration, just wanna give u a heads up :thumb: Other than that, i feel this bike is quite good for commuting.

After all up to u guys to see which bike calls out to you more than the other one. Happy bike shopping x)

Woah. That's pricey! What repairs??

Even the most precious of memories fade with the passage of time

oh no, that's so sad. :cry: u giving up riding altogether? :confused:

something like that ah.

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

Woah. That's pricey! What repairs??

Front part of the bike was gone, so replaced:

Headlight casing

Front rim

Brake disc

Front fork

Handle

Master pump

Mudguard

Swingarm

Radiator

Fairing

Paintwork

etc etc... Moral of story: Ride safe and avoid head-on collision with bus :cool:

parents? girlfriend? pocket? wtf?

all of em.

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

hi i also agreed with lazy but wat i can say is think for a while b4 buying a bike dont rush if not u will spend more $$$.For me CBR really care for my pocket in terms of maintance and fuel never see this bike giving any big problem so think properly first but dont buy a bike liao then after that suffer to save here and there for a expensive bike if u intend to change bike like me get a 2nd hand one but wat i can say is diffcult to part with it even i get my bike for only 5 months so think twice

ok for the cbr vs puslar i will strongly go for cbr first thing cbr is cheaper in terms of price second cbr parts can get anywhere puslar go shop they will tell u pls go to universal they r the only shop have the parts thirdly pulsar got too much electronic parts liao spoit will be costly . cbr got fairing pulsar naked bike

answer why so many pulsar compare to cbr

cos selling point for pulsar gd FC and from far look that super 4

but then i trust honda more

All these are just my own opinions i say. If there's anything anyone's against it, I'm totally fine alright? (copy and paste from lazy later come out i treat u drink lah for the copyright k )

another thing is that shop love to take in our bike cos no problem one tday i just drop by ask how much they take in my bike quote me 1800 he told me the bike no problem one unlike kr and sp must really see

i consistently get above 40km/L, about 42 to 44 actually, travelling at 100kph max on expressways. it's more of throttling than low RPM that helps improve FC.

parts for CBR150R are plentiful and cheap. for pulsar, it's a relatively new bike so it's long term reliability is a question mark, but it's been in India for so many years liao, can't go too far off. if i'm not wrong only universal carries parts for pulsar? aint too sure about it.

any bike, u must do ur part in order for it to serve u well. i've heard of both bikes breaking down so reliability is dependent on u. from a friend, pulsar offers more lower-end torque but CBR gives higher speed. 2B bikes are usually high rev to begin with IMO.

i've seen CBR with 2 side boxes and top box, also seen it on pulsar as well. which one more comfortable? i can't tell, never ride pulsar before but looks more comfy than CBR150R. not entirely sure if there's more pulsars than CBR150Rs on the roads but they seemed to be selling better than CBR150R. :smile:

all these are my own opinions hor, just listen and let it go if u dun agree. :cheers:

reali nice to hear so many comments .. actually if u r telling me tat average FC is 42-22 for cbr, i'm rather convinced already. hehe. my greatest fear in pulsar is of cos its availability of parts, which is most prob onli available in UM. but can i jsut ask, travelling at 100kmph for a 1.8m wigh 80kg.. is it unstable? cos i know cbr quite light..

driftbaker, for me I'm happy with the speed of the CBR. try 140km/hr but in terms of speed of course 2 stroke bikes is faster but think of it again..singapore road how fast u wanna go?

haha. true oso.. but at 140.. is it unstable?

gear changing varies cos some change at high rpm. its ok to drag gear, but dun overdo it can liao, etc drag gear 2 to 8000rpm.

spare parts not necessary can get easily, some items need to be imported.

IMO there are more Pulsar than cbr150, reliability depends on how u look at it, what type of reliability u wan.

my friend who ride pulsar in india say its one of the best bike in india but in SG, depends on how u look at it, cos different ppl got different opinons.

reliability as in, if i wanna get sth tat can last me all the way to class 2.. is tat counted as reliability? pulsar just came into SG last year.. not even 2 years yet.. so i guess we cannot tell if it is reliable. but is cbr reliable?

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

Hi, I was in the exact situation as u few months back..

I was also deciding btw a pulsar and a cbr.

I must say i was so tempted in getting a pulsar cos of the huge tank and good FC but was worried bout the branding in singapore too..

I was keeping track of their thread and also posted some queries and I must say those riders did assure me that its still alright..

However for me, I did not go ahead and buy that bike cos I have a cousin (help me check on pulsar) and strongly advise me not to buy that bike..

Well, i heed my cousin's advise and did not buy that bike. PLEASE take note! Im not saying pulsar is not a good bike.. But I just heed my cousin's advise. That's all!

So, I bought the cbr.. well, I must say it serves well as a commuter's bike.

But please, imho, I feel that this bike is not a very strong bike though..

If u read some few threads back, I believe u will know I met with an accident..

Even when not travelling at high speed, an accident causes serious damage to my bike and repair will cost ard 1.4k

And like Ozzarhomb mentioned also, this bike provides literally zero protection for the rider.

So, I would say.. if u wanna get this bike, ride safely..

if u intend to play with this bike, Im strongly against it..

All these are just my own opinions i say. If there's anything anyone's against it, I'm totally fine alright?

thanks for the help! hm.. when u say not v strong, means it breaks easily when i buang? means if i ride super carefully it will be alright? hehe. is pulsar strong for tat matter? anyway, y did ur cousin disagree with getting pulsar?

ok for the cbr vs puslar i will strongly go for cbr first thing cbr is cheaper in terms of price second cbr parts can get anywhere puslar go shop they will tell u pls go to universal they r the only shop have the parts thirdly pulsar got too much electronic parts liao spoit will be costly . cbr got fairing pulsar naked bike

All these are just my own opinions i say. If there's anything anyone's against it, I'm totally fine alright? (copy and paste from lazy later come out i treat u drink lah for the copyright k )

i oso trust honda more. haha. but i sorta have a liking for things that ple do not have.. hehe. in this case.. it's bajaj pulsar. haha. u mentioned pulsar has many electronic parts so will be expensive rite? some of the fellow riders here buang cbr then complain repairs exp.. in ur opinion, which one would be more exp? but anyway, i totally agree on the part pulsar looks good from far.. n if modded, looks good from near too!!! hehe :cheeky:

anyway, really thanks alot guys for ur help. if anymore comments on pulsar n cbr, pls keep it coming. hehe.. doesn't hurt to have more..

I normally change gear at 5k rpm, and I'm getting at least 40 km/l for FC. Just hit 120 km/h today (my highest ever), I'm 1.63m, 72kg. To me it was quite stable, just vibrating quite a bit.

I think I gotta get my brakes and fork checked. Bike's only 7 months, but recently, having slight problems with brakes. Rear brakes are already screeching and handles are vibrating when I press the front brake quite hard. Might be because of my accident a couple of months ago.

i dunno bout now but 3months back when i was scouting for my very 1st bike, universal quoted me a price for pulsar which is way cheaper than what i got my cbr for..

so with rgds to cbr cheaper, i have to disagree.. maybe like now u are looking into these 2 bikes, u can go walk some shops and do ur own mkt research on this ba..

another thing bad bout this cbr is the fairing..

these few pieces of plastic are very fragile and they always go 1st if anything happens

And yet, they cost a bomb (@ few hundred bucks)

Agn i say, these are all my very own opinions alright? just ignore them if u have something of ur own..

*PS: Derrick, I hold u for a drink huh!! haha :thumb:

when i say not very strong, it means that if one meet an accident, be mentally prepared that it might be 1 hell of a damage!!

just see Fad's for example.. (then of cos theres mine but now still under repair)

sad to say but i still have to say.. sometimes its not just bout u being super careful.. (i think u get what i mean)

Bout why my cousin disagree on getting a pulsar, i din probe further after he told me cannot buy that bike. i just heed his advise.

pls do not take my words for any form of decision making alright? cos i emphasize, these are just my own opinions.. :)

thanks for the help! hm.. when u say not v strong, means it breaks easily when i buang? means if i ride super carefully it will be alright? hehe. is pulsar strong for tat matter? anyway, y did ur cousin disagree with getting pulsar?

i oso trust honda more. haha. but i sorta have a liking for things that ple do not have.. hehe. in this case.. it's bajaj pulsar. haha. u mentioned pulsar has many electronic parts so will be expensive rite? some of the fellow riders here buang cbr then complain repairs exp.. in ur opinion, which one would be more exp? but anyway, i totally agree on the part pulsar looks good from far.. n if modded, looks good from near too!!! hehe :cheeky:

anyway, really thanks alot guys for ur help. if anymore comments on pulsar n cbr, pls keep it coming. hehe.. doesn't hurt to have more..

No need lah, i'm sure u already decided what bike to get le. :smile:

If u're on our side drop by soon with a nice picture of u and ur ride, if not, u can do the same thing over at the pulsar thread. :cheeky:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

i dunno bout now but 3months back when i was scouting for my very 1st bike, universal quoted me a price for pulsar which is way cheaper than what i got my cbr for..

so with rgds to cbr cheaper, i have to disagree.. maybe like now u are looking into these 2 bikes, u can go walk some shops and do ur own mkt research on this ba..

another thing bad bout this cbr is the fairing..

these few pieces of plastic are very fragile and they always go 1st if anything happens

And yet, they cost a bomb (@ few hundred bucks)

Agn i say, these are all my very own opinions alright? just ignore them if u have something of ur own..

*PS: Derrick, I hold u for a drink huh!! haha :thumb:

thanks.. how much did UM quote u for both bikes?

when i say not very strong, it means that if one meet an accident, be mentally prepared that it might be 1 hell of a damage!!

just see Fad's for example.. (then of cos theres mine but now still under repair)

sad to say but i still have to say.. sometimes its not just bout u being super careful.. (i think u get what i mean)

Bout why my cousin disagree on getting a pulsar, i din probe further after he told me cannot buy that bike. i just heed his advise.

pls do not take my words for any form of decision making alright? cos i emphasize, these are just my own opinions.. :)

hm.. ok.. i try not to let it affect my decision too much! hehe.. in tat case, does it mean if pulsar gets into an accident, mayb the repair will be cheaper?

my turn for opinion!! :cheeky:

i feel that it's not the CBR150R is weak, bikes which meet with collision is sure to be chui de. as long there's a collision there' gonna be a lot of damage mah, fairing is made of plastic plus it's the first point of contact so confirm first to go too. hee hee, my opinion lah. :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

hello, haven start riding u thinking of buanging liao. :faint: parts from thailand cheaper or parts from India cheaper? i have no idea. :smile:

hm.. ok.. i try not to let it affect my decision too much! hehe.. in tat case, does it mean if pulsar gets into an accident, mayb the repair will be cheaper?

from my opinion i feel is cbr part will be more cheaper than pulsar.if like accident our normal meter sure cheaper than the led meter pulsar have than pulsar have those sort like the turning sensor which i dont think is cheap and lastly on price wise having few shop to choose is better than only one shop

pls do not take my words for any form of decision making alright? cos i emphasize, these are just my own opinions..

k lazy see when u ok meet somewhere near yr house for a drink on me

Hi, i'm a new rider on the road as well and i dun really know much about bikes still but from what u mentioned, i reckon wr200 is a high end bike in terms of $$$.

For me, i feel that cbr is alright in terms of the size.. im standing 1.78 but i dun feel that the bike is too small..

well, i guess performance-wise, maintanence-wise, $$-wise u can all find out with friends and compare them..

But looks-wise, i would say really.. ask urself which one u love??

if u really love the wr200 (and of cos ur pockket allows it), just go for that bike.

and if u really love the cbr, then get the cbr..

if u were to buy a bike that u dun really like, i believe even after u get that bike, u will keep thinking of chging/upgrading ur bike right??

if u buy thee one u like, u will love ur ride and pay more attn to it.. at least thats what i think..

Again i emphasize, this is just my very own opinions. If u are against anything, just ignore them!! :)

thank you for your comments! think I'll go with my instincts, see how :p

haha.. not think of buang.. just in case ma.. hehe. but anyway, thanks alot for the comments! haha. really helpful... will post somemore qns if u all dun mind.. hehe.. :cheeky: