Kawasaki 1400s

Rumors he had upgraded his gantong to Öhlins...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Bro Advrider ... swee leh.. this rumour heard from where? heezzz:cheeky:

:thumb:Honda & Kawasaki:thumb:

• Replies 6.4k

hi seniors. I'm looking at brand new 2013 FJR or 2013 Kawa 1400 and would like to get more information before i can make my decision.

1) what is the FC like?

2) Maintenance wise cost will be like?

3) any special things to take note? like top servicing for how many KM. as this would be a long time ride for me.

4) is it a difficult bike to handle?

Please advice. thanks.

1st - Bajaj Pulsar 180i

2nd - Yamaha FZ 150i

3rd - Suzuki GSR 400

4th - Suzuki GSXR 1000 K9

5th - Kawasaki Versys 1000 (Current)

Anyone knows the latest price OTR for the GTR???

Its still 36k for agent bike and 32-34 for PI bikes

Went to asphoon changi rd yday afternoon , there's one brand new black GTR . E salesman quoted me $38k including ins . This is an agent bike - once cnfd 3 werking days n the bike can be on e road oredi . Only free gift is a headlight protector .

guess it is in high demand but little output ... thats why they jack up the price...

ins is up to individual for how many years loan you taking ... we talking about machine otr pricing...

guess it is in high demand but little output ... thats why they jack up the price...

ins is up to individual for how many years loan you taking ... we talking about machine otr pricing...

Dats e funny part . He quoted $38k otr wif ins n coe(base on current coe pricing) irregardless of ur age !!

Theres pros n cons I guess .

Got an extra brand new full set of FA417/4HH EBC brake pads(ZX1400 and GTR front brakes) selling for $140 (2 set, for left and right).

sms@9222244O to deal.

Hi Neo, or anyone else.

I have a ZX14R in New Zealand. It looks like it'll cost too much to bring over. So I think I'll sell it and buy one or something similar here. I'm struggling to find where to look and buy big bikes in Singapore. Do I need to go to Malaysia?

Any suggestions anyone?

John

Hi Neo, or anyone else.

I have a ZX14R in New Zealand. It looks like it'll cost too much to bring over. So I think I'll sell it and buy one or something similar here. I'm struggling to find where to look and buy big bikes in Singapore. Do I need to go to Malaysia?

Any suggestions anyone?

John

Buying a big bike in Malaysia is more expensive than in Singapore. You may want to drop by any of the shops listed in this forum advertiser page to check it out. Their address and contact details are all listed there..

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

Hi Neo, or anyone else.

Any suggestions anyone?

John

Hi Kawa,

May I know how much is your too much? I have a customer doing removal service and seems quite a number of expat actually brought in their own bike thru ocean freight.

Hi Kongfu,

Here are the estimates that I have worked out so far:

Costs in NZ:

Freight charge $492 (may not need to pay this as an extra if we bring a container of furniture)

Bunker Adjustment Factor $166 (don't know what this is)

Peak Season Surcharge $37 (looking at Christmas time)

Depot to Port Fee (NZ) $75

Export Customs Clearance $175

Ships Document Fee $80

Origin Dangerous Goods Fee $200

Packing (crate) $750

Freight Insurance $625

Agency Fee to organise $3500

Costs in SG:

Processing Fee $25

Exhaust Emissions Testing Fee ???

Registration Fee $140

Additional Registration Fee (15%) $3750 (based on a value of $25,000)

Customs Duty (12%) $3000

GST (7%) $1750

Then on going running costs:

Road Tax $263 (per 6 months)

Comprehensive Insurance ???

So my total for getting the bike here without running costs comes to $14,765

Or if I sold my bike for $20,000 and bought a new one here for $33,000 that would cost me less and be less work and worry.

Not sure if all of these things are legit or relevant or accurate, but my best estimate at the moment.

Coming in to say hello to all gtr1400 riders. Gonna to take out my gtr soon. Hope to have a meet up session with you guys for Kopi soon.

However anyone here had a hard run in for their new gtr. Is it recommended?

Coming in to say hello to all gtr1400 riders. Gonna to take out my gtr soon. Hope to have a meet up session with you guys for Kopi soon.

However anyone here had a hard run in for their new gtr. Is it recommended?

Best result of hard run in is actually to be done on day 1 at zero mileage. that means on the day of bike collection, you should tow your bike to the dyno centre to do hard run in.

I've read the maintenance manual and it recommends valve clearance check every 24,000 km for the C14s. This tight servicing requirement surprises me given that most big bore CC Jap bikes I've owned easily lasts 80km with no real need to do. I've never heard of burnt valves, on modern Japs even on those the high milers.

In forums, its been harped upon quite often with most weighing the pro/cons of keeping within that(to keep their 3yr warranties which ours doesn't). With most mentioning that the clearance is tight, though within tolerance, and keeping a copy of the shim mappings for future references. Upon completion of adjustment to centre, an improvement in economy and smoothness is noticed. This is not the tappets design, but rather the shim under bucket design, which from what I understand from an engineering POV is a major improvement.

Mine is just a tick above 50k km and being used bike, the service history is unknown. No unusual sounds once the engine gets on the way, with good FC and a "smooth" engine.

Thus the question:

1) Anyone did that during the 24k km intervals in our climate? How was the clearance like? Too tight?

2) Any workshop recommended to do this & its related costs?

As I'm likely to keep this bike longer than most of my previous, I'd like it properly maintained in a smart way, not blindly following whatever that's on paper.

Appreciate any feedbacks.

I've read the maintenance manual and it recommends valve clearance check every 24,000 km for the C14s. This tight servicing requirement surprises me given that most big bore CC Jap bikes I've owned easily lasts 80km with no real need to do. I've never heard of burnt valves, on modern Japs even on those the high milers.

In forums, its been harped upon quite often with most weighing the pro/cons of keeping within that(to keep their 3yr warranties which ours doesn't). With most mentioning that the clearance is tight, though within tolerance, and keeping a copy of the shim mappings for future references. Upon completion of adjustment to centre, an improvement in economy and smoothness is noticed. This is not the tappets design, but rather the shim under bucket design, which from what I understand from an engineering POV is a major improvement.

Mine is just a tick above 50k km and being used bike, the service history is unknown. No unusual sounds once the engine gets on the way, with good FC and a "smooth" engine.

Thus the question:

1) Anyone did that during the 24k km intervals in our climate? How was the clearance like? Too tight?

2) Any workshop recommended to do this & its related costs?

As I'm likely to keep this bike longer than most of my previous, I'd like it properly maintained in a smart way, not blindly following whatever that's on paper.

Appreciate any feedbacks.

Hi ,

A few of my frens who are riding e GTRs did theirs at 40k n some at 60k . Cost ard $200++ . Out of e four , only 1 who did his at 40k experience e tick tick sound rather loud. Mine hitting e 40k mark soon n still deciding to do e valve clearance or wait .

Happy Riding !!

Dun worry.. You are not the only one.. :(

On a side note.. Who need brake pads for the GTR/ZZR? I still have a brand new full sets of pads for the bike.. Looking to clear..

hi guys..

I sold my GTR...

then I went to test ride many bikes...

feels like wan to buy back another GTR..

OMG !!

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC