Originally posted by josh@May 17 2005, 08:30 PM

Yo all, more info to add.. Just came back from my first servicing!

Mr Yap told me not necessary to change engine oil at 1000km, which i quite agree, since engine oil usually can last longer, just that most people in SG kiasu! He suggested that i change during 5000km but i'll most probably change during 3000km coz i think the bike was placed at the bike shop for sometime before sale, and quality of engine oil drops overtime as well!

They help me adjust my absorbant spring to level 1, although i actually wanted to adjust more. He says that it doesn't make much of a difference and may create a bumpy ride if i overdo it! He also mention that some people just adjust for the first servicing, then adjust back during the third. Me not sure, so just 1 knot to see what the diff first!

They repair all the rest of the little stuff for free! Change signal light, oil the signal tigger (they say this part got a bit of design floor, i kind of agree, the tigger doesn't spring back and often jam at the direction you switch to before), explain to me that the tunning for the thermostat is higher, but is normal for piaggio scooters.

Hope this is useful info for the rest..

Thank for sharing your info with all members :thumb: remember to join us at Scooter anniversary :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

• Replies 3.1k

No problem Kenny, will try to make it!

But currently still not sure whether i need to work that day! Have to confirm with you guys later.. Thanks for the invite! :smile:

Scare.. Scare... Safety first!

Originally posted by Brembo@May 17 2005, 02:24 AM

DT bro...

wont that feels hot when all the winds are blocked out?

my concerns are the wobbling part too...u might feel a bit more drag on this windsheild...

but nevertheless...100% on safety! :thumb:

Ya, after few days of riding wiht this new win screen, I must say it block the wind so you will feel hotter now. but you need to make your choice if you like to be blowed or you would like to feel like driving as a car without those wind noise.

So far, I don't feel wobbling at 90+ but sure feel the drake. To me, this is not the bike for "cheong" so make do with the speed.

Originally posted by josh@May 17 2005, 08:30 PM

Yo all, more info to add.. Just came back from my first servicing!

Mr Yap told me not necessary to change engine oil at 1000km, which i quite agree, since engine oil usually can last longer, just that most people in SG kiasu! He suggested that i change during 5000km but i'll most probably change during 3000km coz i think the bike was placed at the bike shop for sometime before sale, and quality of engine oil drops overtime as well!

They help me adjust my absorbant spring to level 1, although i actually wanted to adjust more. He says that it doesn't make much of a difference and may create a bumpy ride if i overdo it! He also mention that some people just adjust for the first servicing, then adjust back during the third. Me not sure, so just 1 knot to see what the diff first!

They repair all the rest of the little stuff for free! Change signal light, oil the signal tigger (they say this part got a bit of design floor, i kind of agree, the tigger doesn't spring back and often jam at the direction you switch to before), explain to me that the tunning for the thermostat is higher, but is normal for piaggio scooters.

Hope this is useful info for the rest..

Hi Josh,

If you are riding a brand new bike, it would be advisable to follow the recommanded mileage to send for servicing.

Reason:

new bike, parts new so lots of fiction and lots of "metal" filings swimming around with your engine oil. so you very first servicing is rather important. you should not use fully sync oil, just stick to the "cheap" oil (normal 4T engine oil, not even semi sync). too smooth is not going to help your engine parts to "wear" properly. That is why during the 1st 1000km, you are advise not to travel above certain speed or RPM should not go over a certain limit.

During your running period, u will have to be careful with your brakes, tires etc, as they are not very effective and needs a little wearing before they are at their top condition. so dont ever travel fast, sharp cornering, hard brakings when u just change your tires or brake pads.

during your 2nd oil change, you still use normal engine oil but this time round u can travel at a higher speed but not to drag it.

after your 3rd servicing with fully sync engine oil, u will notice your bike super smooth and your mileage will be so much better. but this time round you will have to change you oil filter to get rid of the trap metal filings.

engine oil will be degraded after 3 months or 10000km (mobil one) especially for bikes as the oil is shared between the engine and the gears and clutch unlike cars.

i have being riding for 10 yrs and own quite a few new bikes and old bikes and this is the experience and knowledge that i got over the years.

I using R4 (10w-??) can i change every 10000km...hehe...if can save$ i save...haha...but now i reach ard 4000km+++ liao like totally not smooth...

Think is better to change EO slightly earlyer than recommended oil change like 3000km.:smile:

EO affect lots of engine parts, if never take care properly will cause more problem eventually fort out more $ to repair.:giddy:

Just my 2 cent point of view. :sweat:

Originally posted by Francis@May 21 2005, 03:42 AM

I using R4 (10w-??) can i change every 10000km...hehe...if can save$ i save...haha...but now i reach ard 4000km+++ liao like totally not smooth...

if u r using sync base engine oil (normal) then it would be advisable to change it often like 2k to 3k, semi sync maybe 5k to 6k and full sync can last till 10k. all these are for 4 stroke engine.

Thanks for the advice guys! I agree the engine oil is very important. But i took the advice from Mr Yap at PSC and now the only thing is wait until 3000km. I dun want the waranty to be void ley!

So far the bike has never seem 90km yet! Not intending for it to go another faster either. It is still pretty smooth.. I actually have no idea what type of engine oil they put inside when i brought it either, but i've change all the rest of the hub oil and stuff liao during first servicing. Hmmm... Like tat how, should i go private moto tiam to change the engine oil or can wait due 3000km?

So far me riding it very carefully. Not use to scooter yet and after a major accident, i think everybody riding style will change... Mine has definitely..

So far still very much enjoying the ride on the new x8, very comfy, but the cons is that it attracts a lot of attention from other road users.. Got x9 riders purposely ride beside me or overtake me to have a look at the bike (saw the guy staring in my direction) when he pass me in CTE tunnel. Got truck uncle ask me what bike this is, how much $ and powerful anot? (In the middle of a traffic light junction) Yup.. Basically, it draws quite a bit of attention! Anyway, my x8 is black, the other day at Jurong Point saw a gold one park beside me at basement 1A, dun know whether it belongs to one of you guys!

Erm, you mean if you don't service the bike according (or do it at) PSC, the warranty will be void?

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

That what i heard... From shop or dun know who liao! But i'm not sure... Any lao jiao can clarify? :sweat:

Engine oil should not change at 10000km :giddy: How much can you save on that :confused: How much does a engine oil cost:confused: You save $ on engine oil but lost $ on piston jammed and all engine problem, which is the best:confused:

Yah hor agree...aiyah nvm lor just change every 5K right according to book. But i went down once to WM, Botak told me the hub oil(or gear oil) need not chagne everytime one???so must change that once too...

Originally posted by Francis@May 22 2005, 03:40 PM

Yah hor agree...aiyah nvm lor just change every 5K right according to book. But i went down once to WM, Botak told me the hub oil(or gear oil) need not chagne everytime one???so must change that once too...

he will tell you he did not change hie bike engine oil but mainly just top it up. :giddy: Better to change at every belt change.

hi, i am new here, got my x8 3mth ago (FY plate) clock abt 2600km, my first scooter so far, need advice from the experience bro here with some question:

1. if i dun ride my x8 for a month, do i need to change any oil or things?

2. how is everyone fuel usage, manual read 23km per litre. mine abt 30km per litre after run in.

3. i notice when i press my right brake level, there is a electrical sound that i dun hear when i press left brake. anyone have same sound?

4. any truth that warrenty by PSC is void if dun do svc there?

Hope x8 bro here can help with my question, good to find this site, wish i find it earlier. Thanks. Ride Safe.

Biking History :

Class2B Pass Oct 1995

Class2A WIP

1995 to 1997 - Yamaha RXZ 133

1997 to 2005 - Honda Rebel 125

2005 current - Piaggio X8 200

Next Bike In Mind - dun knw yet :p

Hi ronins,

Welcome to the scooters house.:cheer:

Hope you enjoy tlak co*k here with us. Heehee.

- Not neccessary, but disconnect yr battery just incase.

2. how is everyone fuel usage, manual read 23km per litre. mine abt 30km per litre after run in.

- It depends on yr ridding style, if you are a chiong kar and throttle hard and ram your bike, ofcourse you bike is more petrol thursty. But 30km/L is good for mi i think, cause mine helix is 17km/L. :sweat:

3. i notice when i press my right brake level, there is a electrical sound that i dun hear when i press left brake. anyone have same sound?

- Thats i m not sure, if worried, bring to yr mech and check.

- never heard of that! instead is good to faster go back to PSC if any faulty equipment occur and exchange for free.........hahahahaha.

for your last question on warranty please take note.

X8 is given a one year or 10000km warranty, whichever comes first, if i remembered correctly.

if within this 10000km or 1st year you happen to change (or maybe i should say MODIFY) any part to a non-X8 part, you lose your warranty.

ah leong always say ... dunno? dont do!

http://www.ibike.com.hk/08_fun/hksm/learn_a_m/ada/s_03.jpg

thanks for quick reply bro Mark.C, good to be here :thumb:

another problem i face now, CATS, i use bike cover at night but cats have been using my x8 seat / feet rest as a bed o_O and i scare they scratch or poke my seat cover, beside doing a cat bbq downstairs, any bro got solution? :help:

well, at least this prove the x8 seat is comfortable :cheeky:

Biking History :

Class2B Pass Oct 1995

Class2A WIP

1. Engine oil does expired over time as well, but it is more like half a year. 1 month shouldn't be a problem. Yes, battery disconnect is quite important! Batt died then jia lat liao..

2. My fuel usage so far is around 29km per litre. (haven't run in finish yet though)

3. Dun hear anything sound from braking so far on my x8 , maybe i not sensitive enough to my scooter.

4. I think one of the lao jiao explain this point liao.

Just to check, how come you so fast finish run in liao? I thought need to do until 5000km.. And servicing according to Mr Yap (PSC) is at 1000, 3000, 5000km. Me around 1500km now, so still haven't even go second servicing yet!

Anyway, i suggest a bicycle band (with hook) to pull down the center portion of the cover, then no space for them to go in and sleep!

Thanks all bros for the all the tips so far :thumb:

Run in to 5000km?? :confused: , i thou til 1000plus good enough :confused:

if must do till 5000km, i am in trouble cause now i already cruising 100kpm on expressway :help: anyway, my last bike was rebel125, i run in that for a long time and i notice after that my cruise speed cannot even touch 95kpm, friends told me run in distance abt 1500 to 2000km good enough :confused:

there is a differences between Run In distance and Servicing distance rite :confused:

ok, i go dig out my x8 manual :cheeky: on pg 26 say during first 1000km, dun exceed 80% of max speed, also dun keep constant speed for too long distance. After first 1000km, slowly increase speed to reach max performance if possible.

Any experience bro here can enlighten us :help:

Biking History :

Class2B Pass Oct 1995

Class2A WIP

ronins bro,

join us on the 4th of june for the scooter anniversary!!:cheer:

Scooter Anniversary

Thanks bro, will mark down the date, but have to check if on duty that day. Will go down if no family/work commitment. Cheers.

Biking History :

Class2B Pass Oct 1995

Class2A WIP

ronins and to all new bike owners,

engine oil is best to change at 3mths max, that is if you dont even travel up to 5000km cos it will start to degrade and will not help ur engine.

dont mix it with cars, engine oil for cars are really for the engine but engine oil for bikes is shared with engine and clutch. therefore it would be wise to change it at 5000km or 3mths which ever is earlier.

i understand some wants to save some cost over this, may i suggest that you use semi sync and change it at 5000km rather than using fully sync and change it at 5000km. that will save u some cost on it, the difference would be that fully sync is very much smoother compared to semi sync and it is able to take high temp. but since u are riding a small CC bike, it wont affect much.

as for running, please try to follow the instruction manual to go for your servicing.

reason, the 1st 1000km is very important as all the engine components are new and they need to wear properly the ensure smooth contact and best engine performance, never use expensive engine or too smooth as it will not help your engine to wear properly and also manual says dont travel too fast or exceed a certain speed it due to not to cause any scratch to your engine block, even a 0.1mm scratch on your engine block with cause adverse effect to your performance, some might even cause engine oil leak which results to engine oil burn and out to the exhaust, i believe some might have seen some old cars emitting white smoke from their exhaust.

try to regulate the speed, so that it will be able to change gears and season the parts, not just stick to running at 80km on the E-way which will not help you 2nd, 3rd, 4th gear etc

when it is time for your 2nd servicing as stated on your manual, go for it but still use back the normal engine oil, this time you can travel faster but not to drag it.

now during your last servicing, you can change to a better grade oil and also remember to change your oil filter to get rid of the metal filings trapped inside. after this, you will notice performance improvement and also better fuel consumption.

this is the main thing for your new bike, bikes that gone for overhaul, their running in is shorter and they only replaced the pistons, valves(not all will do it) so they are not replacing all new parts therefore do not need to run in such a long time.

just dont get confuse with what others might say, i am not trying to act smart but this is base on the books, real life experience that gain along the way. not all bike shops knowns what they are talking about, some of them do not have much studies so can you really trust what they say?

lastly, regards to the warranty, if you supposed to go for servicing at 1000km and u never go, piaggio can void ur warranty if your engine dies, it is the same even for cars but no one will want to go for more servicing before the recommended mileage.

you can go for service around 900 or 1100km to be on the safe side.

as for cars, they are required to go for 1000km, 5000km and 10000km. bikes running in are shorter.

that's all for now, hope you guys find it useful. let me know if u need any other advise.

larlee...thanks for sharing all ur the important steps for running in.... :cheer:

may i know u riding wat bike? X8? :confused:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/brownkai/X8gathering1-2.jpg

brownkai,

i am currently riding a ........

9 yrs old vespa....hehehe

dont know the model, just know that its a vespa excel.

just needed a transport as i have shifted to a new place.

Bikes that I have rode before:

Yamaha FZ150

Yamaha RXK

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha RXZ

Suzuki Bandit V

Honda Super 4 Version S

Honda Super 4 Hyper VTec 1

and now an old Vespa .....wanted to change but my wife di di GGYY. She likes both X8 and X9 but dont let me buy.....hahaha....trying hard to convince her to let me get it.

icic.... hmm.... but y ur wife didi GGYY?? :offtopic:

waste money?? must tell her the comfort and smoothness mah....

btw....like to check wif u...wat u mean by not to drag it at higher speed???

izzit if u run 90km/h try not to run at this speed for too long(during run in)???

only after the third svc u can try to hit top speend??

rpm also cannot whack hard??

auto bike got open valve?

then for all the three running in milege 1000km , 3000km , 5000km is there a limit speed whereby u r not to go too fast??? E.g the first 1000km ride at constant speed 50km-70km(max),3000km 50km to 80km(max) ???

any riders may also join in to help explain?

maybe collect all the useful information and make a list for newbies....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/brownkai/X8gathering1-2.jpg