Can I convert a class 2b license to an Australian riding license?

According to what I read, Singapore license holders don't need to take any tests to convert their license but with the 3 motorcycle license categories in Singapore as compared to only 1 in Australia, it gets rather confusing.

Has anyone done this?

• Replies 47

According to what I read, Singapore license holders don't need to take any tests to convert their license but with the 3 motorcycle license categories in Singapore as compared to only 1 in Australia, it gets rather confusing.

Has anyone done this?

only SG is having this Class 2b, 2a & class 2 thingy for bikes i think..the rest of the countries only haf 1..so juz convert it lohz..if u haf class 2b den bingo..u won urself a 'all class' bike license :thumb:

Has anyone done this?

Aus diff state diff rules , Aus only recongise US licence. Just apply international licence. if for long then go take their pactical test

3 Arai Helmet Meets Up :angel:

Class 2B will convert to a full "R" licence" in the state of Victoria. Just go to any VicRoads branch, submit a form and a licence fee.

They will take a picture for you and you get the licence on the spot (must wait a few minutes lah)

Thanks for the confirmation. I wonder if they will care if you only just got your license, ie still under probation period. I don't think so as the reply I got from them is they will convert an Sg full license to Au full license.

Au recognises licenses from a whole bunch of countries, not just US. Maybe in the past it was just US.

For car license its only valid for a yr at a time....if longer than that then you need to apply for international license

That's assuming you're still using your Sg license. If you're an Au resident, you can convert your Sg license to an Au license. It lasts as long as you keep renewing it. They do not have a lifetime license that Sg now has.

To keep renewing your licence, youonly need to have a valid residential addy. Can you friend one . . . no nee dto stay there http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/smilies/icon-angel.gif

take 2b in sg, then go au convert, then come back sg convert to 2b,2a,2 license hehehee..

Have you done this before?

I doubt this works. Since the Sg tp records show you have 2b, you'd still have to go through 2a.

You must convince that that you took lessons and test in AU to get the licence to convert to class 2 in Singapore.

If your licence date on your aussie licence is at least 2 years and you have been away for as long, i think can convert.

You must convince that that you took lessons and test in AU to get the licence to convert to class 2 in Singapore.

If your licence date on your aussie licence is at least 2 years and you have been away for as long, i think can convert.

It's definitely possible to start with class 2b in Sg, go to Au and convert to full Aussie license.

If 2 years or more later, you decide to come back to Sg, it's worth trying to convert the Aussie license to Class 2. No loss trying I suppose but no guarantees it will work out since no lessons or test were taken in Au.

Class 2B will convert to a full "R" licence" in the state of Victoria. Just go to any VicRoads branch, submit a form and a licence fee.

They will take a picture for you and you get the licence on the spot (must wait a few minutes lah)

can eleborate on the "R" license? and what it stands for?

will be going to the state of victoria :/

can eleborate on the "R" license? and what it stands for?

will be going to the state of victoria :/

"r" license just refers to the motorcycle category, just like in Sg it's class 2. I read your other thread and the information there is outdated.

It's no longer necessary to take any tests to convert your Sg license.

Out of curiosity, are you going there for studies?

"R" is indeed for motorcycles. I think it stands for Rider, but for Cars they dun just put "C", they put Cars . . . hahahaha

"r" license just refers to the motorcycle category, just like in Sg it's class 2. I read your other thread and the information there is outdated.

It's no longer necessary to take any tests to convert your Sg license.

Out of curiosity, are you going there for studies?

yes for studies.

any advice for me? :)

Can't think of any to give. So will u be riding there? Getting a >400cc bike?

I am not sure if i shld ride or drive...

if i am able to convert the motorcycle without me having to proof ownership of a bike in aussie, then i might not be getting one.

studies already are sapping up fanancially.

have to see how's life over there before i decide to get a bike or not.

I am not sure if i shld ride or drive...

if i am able to convert the motorcycle without me having to proof ownership of a bike in aussie, then i might not be getting one.

studies already are sapping up fanancially.

have to see how's life over there before i decide to get a bike or not.

PMed u since it's getting OT.

There is no need to prove ownership of a bike to convert your licence.

As the others have stated, QLD, WA, NSW, ACT and NT all have their own sets of rules.

I am familiar with only NSW.

For this state, you will require a letter from TP Spore stating when you got your licence. If it has been more than 1 yr, you can got to RTA in NSW and register for a theory test, pass it then book a practical. Pass the practical and I believe you can ride on a 250cc or less for 12 mths. After that, you can ride any CC bike.

Note: They used to have a pwr to wt ratio list of bikes that you can also ride for the 1st 12 mths. I remember the BMW GS650 on it? Also a few other 600-750cc bikes.

Biking in Aust is a wonderful experience. Leathers w/o the sweat.

Go around in jeans and ppl stare at you like some alien.

Best of luck, happy riding!

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Biking in Victoria is really an experience you cannot miss. The GOR, Yarra Valley etc. he biking scene is fairly different from Singapore and many are not for transportation, alot are for tours and weekend ride. Getting and maintaining a car is probably the same cost, at least in Melbourne in my opinion.

If you are going to Melbourne and need anything clarified, let me know. I have lived there for many years and have owned many bikes . . . ahhhh those were the days . . . .

The best combination is a SG passport with an Australian PR. After been to many places, the Singapore passport is the best . . . .everywhere no need visa . . . HUAT a !!!