Originally posted by Zandon@January 12, 2007 10:49 pm

if i'm not wrong, nus has new accounting course or something

anyone can confirm abt this?

yeah i did hear abt it when i left poly in 2005.... but average student like me confirm cannot qualify so dont bother trying.... :sweat:

Me me!! I considered SIM but was taking public transport then and its too far from my office so did ACCA and stuck to it now. :sian:

Visor Down , Full Throttle

• Replies 619

Originally posted by HelmetBOX!@January 12, 2007 10:40 pm

me.

hahah

i consider alot of different way..

like SIM UOL RMIT

SAA ACCA

MDIS Uni of Bradford.

me like you too..

in engineering course then after my dip decided to going into accounting.

consult any few people regarding accounting..

one of them is my girlfriend bro-in-law.

indeed ACCA is real recongised in the accounting whole but not everyone can complete it.( that what i'm been told)

enquired about RMIT and UOL

RMIT is slightly easier because it a aus dregee. exam is like poly semster base.

(accredited by CPA Australia)

UOL is better cuase the course it accounting and fianance unlike RMIT which is purely accounting exam is like A LEVEL. pass or fail is just that paper but it should be slightly harder then RMIT because it a UK dregee.

(accredited by ICPAS)

SAA ACCA the cheapest and the fastest if you can clear all the paper one time.

the downside it dam hard to clear all the paper especially part3 but it well recongised i believe it even more recongised then NTU accountancy if you are comparing worldwide.

for RMIT and UOL after you get your dregee you still need to go ICPAS to sit for an exam before being a provisional member of CPA

so total time spend is about 4 years!

(the above is base on what i know correct me if i'm worng)

anyway i still cannot deciede what path to choose.

hiaz..

wah v clear insight on whats available.

i love dividends.

Originally posted by onefour02@January 12, 2007 05:25 pm

btw u guys all working liao ah? like all got work exp.

for me i went to NTU and bum around for 1yr and did both ACCA and engineering for the next half a year. uninterested and engineering hence dropout, 'A' level grades C C D not good enough for any other acct course in local uni... thus ACCA..

kinda consulted misterbean b4 deciding to dropout from ntu.

i didnt consider SIM since i was already at FTC kaplan, anyone considered SIM?

bro u not alone......my woring experience can say negligible....:cheeky:

Loving my Tmax 530

wah after exam no one post much lol

exam so stress.. >

I heard SIM not all subjects are recongnise in their aspects

Break – is to enable us to walk a further more distance.

ä¼‘æ¯ â€“ 是让我们能走更长远的路程。

Originally posted by happypill@January 21, 2007 12:16 am

exam so stress.. >

everything probably based on UK law?

i love dividends.

no leh i heard frm my friend who work in MOE before she was telling me that.

Break – is to enable us to walk a further more distance.

ä¼‘æ¯ â€“ 是让我们能走更长远的路程。

Originally posted by happypill@January 21, 2007 05:17 pm

no leh i heard frm my friend who work in MOE before she was telling me that.

so its a good choice that we do acca la?

i love dividends.

Originally posted by happypill@January 21, 2007 12:16 am

exam so stress.. >

as long as the course is accredited by ICPAS or CPA Austrilia is good enough..

both courses in SIM are accreditied so it recongised.

the point is the dregee is just a stepping stone to your CPA title

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Originally posted by xb84@January 21, 2007 08:57 pm

so its a good choice that we do acca la?

YES ACCA is a good choice but a tough way.

i would say ACCA is well recongised in the accounting world.

i believe its even more recongised then NTU accountancy

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Hi bros, need some advice form u all

I'm currently taking CAT night class. During the day, i'm thinking of signing up LCCI diploma in accounting. As i'm thinking why not take up both diploma(CAT & LCCI), as both are accounting courses and it's like hitting 2 birds with one stone. Any advice?

Of course, i wish to proceed to ACCA after i complete my CAT.

Questions i need advice is

1) Is CAT consider as a diploma? or it is just a certfiticate?

2) Is it advice-able to take up both courses? (CAT & LCCI)

Please help :cheeky:

Originally posted by cyberian@January 29, 2007 01:38 am

Hi bros, need some advice form u all

I'm currently taking CAT night class. During the day, i'm thinking of signing up LCCI diploma in accounting. As i'm thinking why not take up both diploma(CAT & LCCI), as both are accounting courses and it's like hitting 2 birds with one stone. Any advice?

Of course, i wish to proceed to ACCA after i complete my CAT.

Questions i need advice is

1) Is CAT consider as a diploma? or it is just a certfiticate?

2) Is it advice-able to take up both courses? (CAT & LCCI)

Please help :cheeky:

Cyberian,

Currently I am working at a stat board, they don't recognise CAT as a Diploma. They only recognise Poly Diploma as a "proper diploma". A few of my colleagues have CAT but they don't recognise it so the HR dept takes their highest qualification as O levels only.

Why dont u just take ACCA without the LCCI diploma? Once you have ACCA, alot of companies recognise it as an equal standing to degree.

:goodluck: Hope that helps!

Originally posted by angel22@January 29, 2007 08:05 am

Cyberian,

Currently I am working at a stat board, they don't recognise CAT as a Diploma. They only recognise Poly Diploma as a "proper diploma". A few of my colleagues have CAT but they don't recognise it so the HR dept takes their highest qualification as O levels only.

Why dont u just take ACCA without the LCCI diploma? Once you have ACCA, alot of companies recognise it as an equal standing to degree.

angel22,

Does your HR dept. regonise LCCI Diploma in accounting as a "proper dioploma"? So CAT is just a cert and not a dip.? Or it depends on individual company? I saw the employment pages, a lot of company do require LCCI Diploma. I know a lot of companies regonise ACCA, i wish to at least get a cert 1st to be "stable". Any suggestions?

I just completed my NS, dun wish to work yet as i want to complete my studies 1st. i think it better to start from the basic as i already forget most of my o lvl accounting.

Erm... any advice? As CAT is only at the night. Maybe taking up LCCI diploma, i can really tell someone that i am a diploma holder? I wish to advance straight to ACCA but i afraid i might cannot manage and give up in the end. Maybe starting at the basic can refresh me a bit.

All bros in accounting sector.... Pls advice

Originally posted by cyberian@January 29, 2007 10:36 am

angel22,

Does your HR dept. regonise LCCI Diploma in accounting as a "proper dioploma"? So CAT is just a cert and not a dip.? Or it depends on individual company? I saw the employment pages, a lot of company do require LCCI Diploma. I know a lot of companies regonise ACCA, i wish to at least get a cert 1st to be  "stable". Any suggestions?

I just completed my NS, dun wish to work yet as i want to complete my studies 1st. i think it better to start from the basic as i already forget most of my o lvl accounting.

Erm... any advice? As CAT is only at the night. Maybe taking up LCCI diploma, i can really tell someone that i am a diploma holder? I wish to advance straight to ACCA but i afraid i might cannot manage and give up in the end. Maybe starting at the basic can refresh me a bit.

All bros in accounting sector.... Pls advice

No , they only recognise Poly Diploma as a proper Diploma. My colleague is taking a private diploma from PSB Academy but it isnt recognised either. I guess it could be my workplace HR being fussy. It might be recognised in the private sector... not too sure to be honest.

Don't worry , once you get to ACCA, your O level accounting also dont help much. O level accounting is too basic. If you want to do CAT or LCCI , I am sure it will all come back to your memory once the lecturer starts talking about certain topics. I didnt know CAT got no morning class. I thought they had full time class for CAT also? :confused:

I'm doing ACCA now and I have forgotten most of what I learnt in Poly. But somehow it slowly comes back to me bit by bit when the topic comes along. There's a certain degree of similarity between what I learnt in Poly and ACCA.

I guess if you want to take a cert , LCCI might be a good choice but check out whether you gain any exemptions from ACCA if you take LCCI cert. I think should be level 1 exemption if i m not wrong. If you do get exemptions and you ultimately wanna do ACCA, might as well do LCCI as I think CAT takes a longer time. Not saying CAT is bad or anything (don't get me wrong) but if both ultimately gets you to the same route, then do LCCI and ACCA.

:goodluck: :smile:

Originally posted by angel22@January 29, 2007 08:05 am

Cyberian,

why dun you do straight ACCA?

anyone doing 3 papers while working full time?? any tips 2 share on how u pulled thru besides the usual tip of starting revision early??

Loving my Tmax 530

i took LCCI dip in accounting in 2004. and my colleague is taking CAT now. She did consult me on some accounting questions. I must say CAT course is concentrating more on practical and problem-solving skills. Tricky questions. LCCI more simple and straight forward. and of course a shorter duration. So i really see no point in taking these 2 qualifications together. I would advise taking CAT if u want to proceed to ACCA. I reckon the course will prepare u better for ACCA.

If i din remember wrongly, i dun think LCCI can get any exemptions from ACCA. :smile:

Originally posted by farish@February 20, 2007 12:10 am

how did u guys fare?

wah farish u zhun zhun on the dot 12am check results liao ah...

i love dividends.

I got my results at 4plus in the afternoon... ai yo my computer was spoilt so I had to call and beg everyone I know to see who was in front of a computer so I could get results...

Heng passed my 2.4!!! :D

Originally posted by xb84@February 20, 2007 10:39 am

wah farish u zhun zhun on the dot 12am check results liao ah...

nope!!!!!! i got my results at 7 pm!!!!!!

basket!! notice that yahoo email users git results late..my frens on hotmail got the results early

Loving my Tmax 530

Originally posted by angel22@February 21, 2007 08:08 am

I got my results at 4plus in the afternoon... ai yo my computer was spoilt so I had to call and beg everyone I know to see who was in front of a computer so I could get results...

Heng passed my 2.4!!! :D

congrats! :cheer:

i love dividends.

Originally posted by IDevil@February 25, 2007 01:28 am

Shouldn't we add a sticky to this thread?

Hi peeps, I am also studying ACCA, just want to say Hi!

---

May the God Speed be with you

hello!

where r u doing ur acca?

i love dividends.