Hi everyone, i hv a question to ask ar..

Juz nw at tan tock seng hospital, i was goin STRAIGHT at a rd while an ambulance with the sirens n lights on was waiting to turn RIGHT into A&E

In this situation, am i supposed to STOP n give way to this ambulance turning right or i carry on riding past the ambulance then it wil turn.There was a car infront of me oso goin straight and nv give way to the ambulance.

Juz an enquiry, we wun be taken any photographs for the offence right?Or under what situation then the vehicle wil take photographs of you not giving way.Can anyone pls enlighten???

• Replies 16

hmmx if got sirens and light on u must give way to them.they got horn u not ? don think u will kanna ba...cos near hospital also liao

They nv horned me but the light was on.Siren i oso unsure cos i was abit dreaming.Then when i alert again then i saw the ambulance was waiting for me n the car infront of me to clear then it can turn rite.I oso nt sure the ambulance wait at there hw long ald for us to clear.

Come to think again, i nv realise tat i hv to literally stop there n give way for the ambulance to turn sia.But it happen tat it was in emergency so partly oso my fault.

Juz hope the driver wil close one eye and tink nutting of the incident.I mean its nt as if i know the ambulance is behind me n i purposely go n block its way.Tis situation is stil the first i encounter.Hope seniors here wil enlighten me.Thanks bros.

if the ambulance stop.means its not so urgent ba.sometimes they jus on light but nv on the siren means nth happen ba..can hear loud and clear de ma.and if really urgent they will honk u one i think

You should/must stop/give way for the ambulance regardless who has the right of way BUT make sure you can do so safely then you stop/give way.

Unless the situation forbids you to stop/give way for the ambulance safely then you should do so when the next opportunity comes...

The ambulance will not want another casualty too...

normally they will on their siren to ask you to SIAM from their lane. lights will be on at all time upon dispatch from their station.

and yes, you have to give way IF situation permits you to do so at that point of time.

Hmm i was nt in the same lane as them for tat situation.I was tinking even if i literally stop there for the ambulance to turn,it oso wil hv to look out for vehicles coming from behind me as i wil block their view.I was driving a lorry btw at tat time.Wouldnt tat be more dangerous??

Haha juz a tot to reassure myself only.

if the ambulance stop.means its not so urgent ba.sometimes they jus on light but nv on the siren means nth happen ba..can hear loud and clear de ma.and if really urgent they will honk u one i think

??? just on the blinkers for fun? c'mon lah, logic please. :faint:

what i do know is that drivers of these emergency vehicles would rather stop at

the junction than dash through despite their emergency status. reason being

that it's too risky given other driver's ignorance and lack of alertness, a few

accidents involving emergency vehicles and private ones that failed to give way

in the past.

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

once when i was in spain and caught in a traffic jam, its amazing to see all the vehicles making efforts to clear a lane for the ambulance. some of us at the side even went up to the pedestrain walkway to give way.

Its important to know that inside the ambulance could be a life that depends on your actions. after all, if one day (touchwood) you were in the ambulance, I am sure you would not want to be caught in a traffic jam.

Maybe time for us Singaporeans to become more socially graceful and spare more thoughts to others.

nowadays i have seens drivers with ambulance blasting sirens behind of them still can relac and driver on the extreme right lane causing the ambulance to overtake from the left of it.. zzzzzzz such people DO exist...

If i not wrong ah your situation you no need to give way cause they still have to follow normal road laws but if they behind you then you must give way. think so la. 2 cents.

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

If you are on a road with only a single lane, I suggest you should give way.

But if the road has 2 or more lanes, I suggest you should just move ahead. Even if you give way in this scenario, the other motorist might not give way amd thus you may cause confusion, jams or accident etc.

If the ambulance is really in a rush, you can tell when it's shining it's headlight or the vehicle commander is signaling you to give way.

with the blinkers on, even if the siren isn't blaring, i think it's best to give the

benefit of the doubt to the emergency vehicle and give way, safely.

if it's not an emergency, i doubt they'd turn on their lights for fun because there

are severe implications and penalties for misusing the equipment.

anyway, to the TS, the camera is mounted at the front of the vehicle, to snap

photos of drivers who hog the lane in front despite the emergency vehicle right

behind. you should be safe.

better still, let's have the drivers of such vehicles themselves to give their

take on this matter. your $0.02 and more on the topic please..

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

if there is really a life & death situation within the ambulance, the driver will be inching out until he can see clearly that vehicles from the opposite direction r stopping to give way for him to move on

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

Hmm, when i was approaching near the ambulance tat time, in my mind i onli tot "Oh ambulance on an emergency case" .But after passing the ambulance with the car in front n me goin at quite a slow speed of ard 40 plus to 50 km/hr, then it struck me."Oh ****, did i forgot to give way to that ambulance tats on emergency?,"Juz nw should i stop n let the ambulance turn or m i doin beta by driving pass then the ambulance wil turn?"

I believe this kind of "Oh ****, did i ......blah blah blah juz nw?" situation do happen to many bros n sis here rite?In my opinion lah.

But at least wil take extra care shd encounter the same situation next time.

I hope the time taken for waiting for me n the car infront to drive past wun delay much of the wateva emergency case . N of cos nt for the driver to tulan until snap me in his candid camera.Ride safe everybody.

Hmm, when i was approaching near the ambulance tat time, in my mind i onli tot "Oh ambulance on an emergency case" .But after passing the ambulance with the car in front n me goin at quite a slow speed of ard 40 plus to 50 km/hr, then it struck me."Oh ****, did i forgot to give way to that ambulance tats on emergency?,"Juz nw should i stop n let the ambulance turn or m i doin beta by driving pass then the ambulance wil turn?"

I believe this kind of "Oh ****, did i ......blah blah blah juz nw?" situation do happen to many bros n sis here rite?In my opinion lah.

But at least wil take extra care shd encounter the same situation next time.

I hope the time taken for waiting for me n the car infront to drive past wun delay much of the wateva emergency case . N of cos nt for the driver to tulan until snap me in his candid camera.Ride safe everybody.

hey bluevtec1,

firstly i would like to applaud your sincere intentions, dont worry the driver most probably wont be bothered by that small held up..

i just hope more drivers especially on highways have common sense. So comfortable in their big and comfortable cars that they dont really care about bright and noisy ambulance behind, who is trying their best to save a live.

Well for me, i believe in Karma, what goes around comes around..

P.S. if its a TP bike or car behind, trust me, everyone will give way..