XR650 Vs XT650 Vs DR650

Which is a better bike?

http://www.bikehk.com/photo/2005/p004233/001.jpg

My past n present ride...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

1998 - CBR400RRR (FP6854H) / Skipper125 (FL8169K)

1999 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / RVF400 (FQ7918X) / LC125 (FB9950)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2001 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / TZM 150 (FS4806U) / Daihatsu Hijet (GM3346G)

2002 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Toyota Starlet EP80 (SBR6249S)

2003 - Skipper125 (FL8196K) / XR200R (FS7249H)/ CBR900 (FJ76H)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2006 - Atlantic200 (FZ5576H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Tucson (SGC1185U)

2007 - DRZ400SM (FBBXXXX) / SWIFT SPORT (SGNXXXX)

Next - ....350Z???

• Replies 20

XR650 Vs XT650 Vs DR650

Which is a better bike?

Mate, you have to be more specific. Better for what purpose?

If you are comparing the DR and XT against the XR650R, it's apples and oranges.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Mate, you have to be more specific. Better for what purpose?

If you are comparing the DR and XT against the XR650R, it's apples and oranges.

So you are saying that DR and XT are the same class and XR650 is another class? tot thay are all enduro? Sorry I am really loss that why i post the question. Can kindly enlighten me? thanks:cheeky:

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

Next - ....350Z???

So you are saying that DR and XT are the same class and XR650 is another class? tot thay are all enduro? Sorry I am really loss that why i post the question. Can kindly enlighten me? thanks:cheeky:

There are only a handful of XT600s in Singapore. I don't think anyone imported the XT660.

Honda makes both the XR650L and XR650R. The L is a heavy air-cooled dual sport bike, while the R is a liquid cooled, aluminium framed Baja winning desert race bike.

There are dirt bikes with lights (e.g. KTM 2 strokes, KTM racing 4 strokes, DRZ E model, XR400, XR600, XR650R). These are suitable for like 20% road, 80% off-road.

Then there are dual sport bikes (e.g. DR650, XR650L, Dominator, XT600). These are suitable for like 80% road, 20% dirt.

In short, if you are looking for a long distance adventure touring bike, then you should look at those big cc dual sport thumpers. But if your purpose is to do trails and races on weekends, then the dirt oriented bikes will be much better.

These links will provide more information.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60038&highlight=DR650+XR650

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=192468&highlight=DR650+XR650

Enjoy.

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

There are dirt bikes with lights (e.g. KTM 2 strokes, KTM racing 4 strokes, DRZ E model, XR400, XR600, XR650R). These are suitable for like 20% road, 80% off-road.

There is one dude you know on a long road ride on his XR650R, and should be lost somewhere in Thailand now. :angel:

Yeah, our friend is one of those who just takes whatever bike he has and goes where ever he wants with it. :giddy:

Besides, he has my pair of tire irons to bail him out of flat tire situations. :angel:

Yeah, our friend is one of those who just takes whatever bike he has and goes where ever he wants with it. :giddy:

Besides, he has my pair of tire irons to bail him out of flat tire situations. :angel:

he took my spare front and rear tubes, and I throw in my towing rope for good measure. :angel:

Hope he's ok, didn't hear from him since.

There are only a handful of XT600s in Singapore. I don't think anyone imported the XT660.

Honda makes both the XR650L and XR650R. The L is a heavy air-cooled dual sport bike, while the R is a liquid cooled, aluminium framed Baja winning desert race bike.

Then there are dual sport bikes (e.g. DR650, XR650L, Dominator, XT600). These are suitable for like 80% road, 20% dirt.

In short, if you are looking for a long distance adventure touring bike, then you should look at those big cc dual sport thumpers. But if your purpose is to do trails and races on weekends, then the dirt oriented bikes will be much better.

These links will provide more information.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60038&highlight=DR650+XR650

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=192468&highlight=DR650+XR650

Enjoy.

great info :thumb:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

XR650 Vs XT650 Vs DR650

Which is a better bike?

Sorry for the distraction, as we are concern for our friend's well being who is at least 1000km away.

Not sure if there is any XT650 here, but I haven't seen one.

So if your narrow your question to which is a better bike between XR650L, and DR650, my answer is the XR650L, engineering wise.

DR650SE has been in production in 1996 whereas the XR650L was in production since 1998.

Both bikes have electrical start, and designed to get you down the highway in reasonable comfort yet include many features specifically for off-road riding, and more importantly they have street legal status in US. So basically there are targeting at almost the same crowd.

However, engineering wise, they are very different.

Engine/Drivetrain

Both engines are 4 valves SOHC with similar bore and stroke. The main difference is that DR650SE has dual spark plugs, and runs a higher compression ratio.

XR650 is pure air-cooled while DR650SE is combined air/oil cooling.

XR650L is is dry-sump while DR650SE is wet sump.

Suspension

That's the DR650SE weakest point, and it's almost technology brought forward wholesale from the pre'96 DR650s.

The XR650 incorporated many of the suspension technologies from their successful XR600 such as long travel (relative to DR), cartridge fork features 16-position compression damping adjustability and superb off-road performance. The rear suspensions are comparable however the DR650SE is simply too soft for any rider above 75kg.

Chain

DR650SE uses 525 while XR650L uses 520. Although 525 chain is tougher but you have less variety in sprocket sizes.

Aftermarket support

XRs aftermarket product are in abundance whereas it's limited for DRs. Not sure if that's a plus point for the XRs :angel:

Price

Needless to say, the DR650SE is cheaper than the XR650L regardless price on new machine or resale value.

Road Comfort

Both bikes can run at comfortably 120kph all day, but the DR650SE stock seat is very uncomfortable due to the sharp tapering at the tank.

Seat Height

The XR650L has a seat height of 37" (940mm) whereas the DR650 has two seat height settings, hi:885mm, and lo:845mm. So the XR650L is not for short legs.

Conclusion

Throw in some money (about $1500), you can make the DR650 a much better machine than stock. Throw in more money (about $5000), you can give the KTM a good fight. :angel:

have I missed anything ?

Wow thank you guys for the info. Seems like you guys have answered most of my doubt. Seems like I will be lookin for either the XR650L or DR650SE. Just another few questions:

1) Can either the XR650L or DR650SE convert to supermotard setup? (for example the DR650SE can use DRZ-sm rims??? or they have a ready setup for them???..and like wise for the XR)???

Conclusion

Throw in some money (about $1500), you can make the DR650 a much better machine than stock. Throw in more money (about $5000), you can give the KTM a good fight. :angel:

Do you mean that if i were to get DR650SE and willing to spend some $$$ it would be better than the XR650L? if so, would it means getting the DR650SE to be the better choice as the DR would be much cheaper than the XR?

3) Is the DR or XR having the aluminium frame?

4) Anyone can roughly enlighten me with the current market price new or old for the both XR and DR?

Sorry for bothering u guys with these stupid questions but i really know nuts about dirt/enduro bikes. thanks in advances!!!

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

wah piang...well guys...thanks for borrowing me the stuffs needed..i am safe now in Samui...bike is good...but My Buttcrack bigtime...the cruising was shiok....i just did cruising at 130km/hr and managed to reach Hatyai in 9-10hrs....

but my chain and front sprocket is not doing good...it must have been the trashing i made during the 4mths of ownership on trails and daily commuting...

i dunno if i wanna venture further to Krabi or not...my backside can't take it la....:cheeky:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

wah piang...well guys...thanks for borrowing me the stuffs needed..i am safe now in Samui...bike is good...but My Buttcrack bigtime...the cruising was shiok....i just did cruising at 130km/hr and managed to reach Hatyai in 9-10hrs....

but my chain and front sprocket is not doing good...it must have been the trashing i made during the 4mths of ownership on trails and daily commuting...

i dunno if i wanna venture further to Krabi or not...my backside can't take it la....:cheeky:

Hi bro, just kinda curious...i see that you riding a TDM...but why did u rode a XR to thailand instead of your TDM? another question is that you are riding the XRR right? So did you fix a panniers or box? heard that XRR cannot fix a those because of the sub-frame which is lacking in XRR compared to XRL. Issit true?

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

1) Can either the XR650L or DR650SE convert to supermotard setup? (for example the DR650SE can use DRZ-sm rims??? or they have a ready setup for them???..and like wise for the XR)???

Both have to be modified to SM. Terri-one has the XR650L SM, and Djebel has the DR650 SM. Probably the Honda FMX650 is the closest to XR650 in SM form.

2) Do you mean that if i were to get DR650SE and willing to spend some $$$ it would be better than the XR650L? if so, would it means getting the DR650SE to be the better choice as the DR would be much cheaper than the XR?

With enough money spent, any bike can be tops. But that's not the point. The DR650 has alot of potentials in it's stock form, with some money it can be a much better bike. Since they are rare species, it would be more pragmatic to buy whichever bike appears in the used market first, then decide on the mods. Both are equally good and reliable bikes.

3) Is the DR or XR having the aluminium frame?

neither

Hi bro, just kinda curious...i see that you riding a TDM...but why did u rode a XR to thailand instead of your TDM?

The "wife" has already been to thailand, this trip is for the "mistress" :angel:

very good information on DR650SE http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135295&page=495

I had been trying to get a honda XR650L or R but seems the new ones have problems with the emission control and nobody is bring them in? I ended up with a DR650SE, whic in all accounts is a ridable bike except for the seat which I intend to get it re cushioned.

yup...this is 1mth ago...my 1st touchdown at Samui with a fellow friend...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/Hatyai-KohSamuiaug07132-2.jpg

well..this is this afternoon...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/soloride133.jpg

notice how big my topbox is?and guess the weight?at least 50kg...:faint:

a little more pict.

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/soloride116.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/soloride119.jpg

XR650R...:thumb:

BoonSiew...:sian:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

very good information on DR650SE http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135295&page=495

I had been trying to get a honda XR650L or R but seems the new ones have problems with the emission control and nobody is bring them in? I ended up with a DR650SE, whic in all accounts is a ridable bike except for the seat which I intend to get it re cushioned.

How much did u get for ur DR650SE?

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

yup...this is 1mth ago...my 1st touchdown at Samui with a fellow friend...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/Hatyai-KohSamuiaug07132-2.jpg

well..this is this afternoon...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/soloride133.jpg

notice how big my topbox is?and guess the weight?at least 50kg...:faint:

a little more pict.

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/soloride116.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/soloride119.jpg

XR650R...:thumb:

BoonSiew...:sian:

Wow your bike looks nice...how much did you spend converting to the fairing and tank? Those are specially ordered from oversea?

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

wow...not bad 9-10 hours at 130km/hr....

if i was still riding the vara125 maybe can follow ur speed all the way minus the aches... :)

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

ok...i've owned 2 bikes that you mention...and i've test ride on the DR650...

the XRL is a good choice if you manage to get a good condition with low miles...which is a miracle...

why i like the L over the other 2bikes...

1.its battery operated...source for Baja headlamps,and your bike is a headturner with a very good potential touring capabilities

2.it shares most of the parts with XR600R,Dominator and some of XR400R parts

3.damn soft and confortable seat..no worries if pillioning

4.easily cruising with DR650

5.great low torque just like the brudder,XR600R..very powerfull...able to do hardcore trails...with endless power

6.If you want to make it more nasty,replace the top cam to XR600R cam and FCR carburator with a good aftermarket exhaust..

If you're able to source the Old dominator right hand side casing and kickstarter set,your bike has both the E start and kick start

7.Good front and rear suspension...superb handling

8.higher ground clearance

9.able to pop a wheelie on 2nd gear on standard exhaust,gearing and engine

downside...Its top heavy to make it a race bike...

DR650..sorry Demon...

1.cheap and reliable

2.you can still see a 12yr old DR650 on the road

3.great confort seat

4.looks good.

5.smooth cruising

6.it will take you wherever you wanna go...

7.you can still sell it at least 3k despite of its 10yr old age...

bad points

1.yes...i did a test ride on his bike..low ground clearance...not suitable for tall riders..

2.low end power is a disappointment

3.Heavy

4.it will upset the owner if the owner is a serious trail-rider

XR650R

1.you will smile from end to end when you twist the throttle

2.Freaking lite for a 650cc

3.well...i am currently owning one.

4.able to withstand nonsense so far

5.great suspensions.

6.Its a race bike

7.Its a rolls royce of motorcycle

8.you can make the RXZ,125z,NSR or super4 riders to suddenly give up the chase and sob after knowing that they are trying to be funny not with an XR400R

Bad points..

1.SEAT!!!its as solid as a rock!

2.spare parts are more expensive than my TDM.far more expensive

3.dun bother looking for spares at most of the bikeshop.

4.fast bikes=fast wear and tear

5.bike dun like to be stuck in traffic...it gets suffocation and will throw tantrum

6.i am not selling mine..:faint:

ok...i've owned 2 bikes that you mention...and i've test ride on the DR650...

the XRL is a good choice if you manage to get a good condition with low miles...which is a miracle...

why i like the L over the other 2bikes...

1.its battery operated...source for Baja headlamps,and your bike is a headturner with a very good potential touring capabilities

2.it shares most of the parts with XR600R,Dominator and some of XR400R parts

3.damn soft and confortable seat..no worries if pillioning

4.easily cruising with DR650

5.great low torque just like the brudder,XR600R..very powerfull...able to do hardcore trails...with endless power

6.If you want to make it more nasty,replace the top cam to XR600R cam and FCR carburator with a good aftermarket exhaust..

If you're able to source the Old dominator right hand side casing and kickstarter set,your bike has both the E start and kick start

7.Good front and rear suspension...superb handling

8.higher ground clearance

9.able to pop a wheelie on 2nd gear on standard exhaust,gearing and engine

downside...Its top heavy to make it a race bike...

DR650..sorry Demon...

1.cheap and reliable

2.you can still see a 12yr old DR650 on the road

3.great confort seat

4.looks good.

5.smooth cruising

6.it will take you wherever you wanna go...

7.you can still sell it at least 3k despite of its 10yr old age...

bad points

1.yes...i did a test ride on his bike..low ground clearance...not suitable for tall riders..

2.low end power is a disappointment

3.Heavy

4.it will upset the owner if the owner is a serious trail-rider

XR650R

1.you will smile from end to end when you twist the throttle

2.Freaking lite for a 650cc

3.well...i am currently owning one.

4.able to withstand nonsense so far

5.great suspensions.

6.Its a race bike

7.Its a rolls royce of motorcycle

8.you can make the RXZ,125z,NSR or super4 riders to suddenly give up the chase and sob after knowing that they are trying to be funny not with an XR400R

Bad points..

1.SEAT!!!its as solid as a rock!

2.spare parts are more expensive than my TDM.far more expensive

3.dun bother looking for spares at most of the bikeshop.

4.fast bikes=fast wear and tear

5.bike dun like to be stuck in traffic...it gets suffocation and will throw tantrum

6.i am not selling mine..:faint:

"i am not selling mine..:faint:"- this last point is funny.

http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll175/msdollylolly2/avatar.jpg

Bike history:

Gilera FXR

X9 Evo

Gilera VXR

Honda NX400

FZ6

FJR 1300