I haven't read on website and books that said 75 front 25 rear on dry day and 50 front and 50 rear on wet. Wonder why they say that? Must have their reason.

But when I talked to my frens, they also tell me should use 75 front 25 rear on wet day...

When I was using IRC on my SP, skidded twice in less than 3 weeks... Both cos I wanna brake and then brake too hard on raining days. But funny think is before these 2 skids, I nvr encounter much of skidding problem. Dun understand why...

Found an interesting article that promote Taper braking:

http://www.msgroup.org/TIP030.html

• Replies 156

Found an interesting article that promote Taper braking:

http://www.msgroup.org/TIP030.html

fantastic.

i think the trickiest part if ur on a 2b bike is the step involving tapering the front brake to prevent slow speed lockup. need to practice the timimg to initiate that step.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

IRC Tires mean Ai Lee Si [Want You Die Faster] get it? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Btw IRC tires really one fooker tires, don't ever use them! Unless lee ai si faster........

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Guest Screwball

Man you guys are freaking me out! :giddy: Just got myself a new Phantom 200 and everyone from my mechanics to my biker friends are telling me to change the rear tyre ASAP Sigh ... more money into my bike. But I love the thing :smile: My gf's sometimes jealous I pay more attention to my bike than to her. :sweat: Anyway, suppose I do change those tyres then what would you guys recommend I change them to anyway? Know absolutely nuts about tyres.

it would depend very much on your budget. bridgestone definitely good, but i think might be a little too excessive, the TA200 isnt a racer after all. got money then can try Dunlop or maybe Pirelli. as for me, i very budget, so installed some cheap korea brand, shinko front and vee rubber rear, $55 and $80. i heard some cheap shops can get u the same price for dunlop/bridgestone, but those are the rare bargain shops. but anyway i found even these cheap korea brand better than the bloody irc.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Guest Enjoy

Can try Metzeler($120 at LAB) or Pirelli. Don't save on tyres, brakes kind of things.

Guest sp_rider

i hate irc tyres. i realli realli hate irc tyres. very bad grip on wet road. the original irc on my phantom, i skidded and fall twice in 6 months, both occasions wet road.

now i change, even the cheap 'shinko' and 'vee rubber' tyres $133 front rear total, in another 6 months never skid at all since.

i hate irc tyres. i realli realli hate irc tyres.

same here i also hate irc tire as much skidded on it b4 while i was travelling on straight downward sloping road...i just apply brake then skiedded liao

So I would advice u all not to use IRC Tyres cos sure die die. I have d same experience wif my SP b4, tat Y I know. One time, one to spent more $$ on tyres or U wan ure life? Choose one... :pity: :bounce:

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

I truly agree. 60% front brake, 40% rear brake and + engine brake. Most important, ure brake pad must be a god one. Recommend EBC racing brake pad. Quite XX but gd, different model different price. So I can't give u a confirm price unless u tell me wat model of bike u r riding now. Can go to Bukit Batok, opposite Bukit Batok inspection area, there r 3 bike shop, but look for d bike shop on ure left, look for ah-kun tell him CBR fireblade ask u to look for him. He sure give U a give price.

that apply to normal braking but if really need to brake quickly like emergency, then 100% rear brake, clutch in & never touch front brake..

think those who went defensive riding during their NS should know... cornering during rainy days is bike lean in, body lean out(try to keep body upright).. if not too much pressure on tyres may cause it to skid..

IRC -IDIOT RIDERS CORNERING TO DEATH!!!!

WHAHAHA/.....JUST ajoke dont take it to seriously...

but just want to share with u all my expe with wet surface...i always go to my carpark to stunt around....then i met up with this guy who was also stunting around but with his after-washed bike water which he used...and the floor is wet....then he start to ride and ride along the water and then do E-BRAKE and DRIFITNG with his SP...which i asked him wat was he doing...he say it is for emgencery cause he finds it useful.....then i also tried...and the differ was there.,..between a dry ground drifiting and a wet ground drifting...as wet ground gives u the smootheist but then if u dont noe hw to handle u may just bua.....but after sometimes u will learn as learning cums from expe....learn hw to bua b4 u learn hw to corner...

my logical....maybe others have a differ perspecvtive.....who noes.....there are so many ppl with differ style of learning.... :p

i respect those who dares even if it was to bua...but of corz try nt to show it off during normal days lar...just for training......to drift...respect man!

ok here goes... if rainy days, then happen to skid:

skid left(bike falling left side) lock handlebar left to counter steer

skid right(bike falling right side) lock handlebar right to counter steer

this may be opposed as to our normal riding techniques as we tend to turn handlebar right when we fall left. doing counter steer will prevent bike fr falling rightaway.. if applying normal technique during skidding will cause bike to buang straight away.. the rest is ur luck oredi..

but better dun try with own bike cos will heart pain. go for defensive riding to use their bike to experiment.. somemore got instructors to guide u, safer tat way...

happy safe riding...

Actually IRC tires are dam good ....but only their 1st generation...the "originals" from thailand....more like the good imitations...quality very much like the "KumHo" tires the cars are using now.....but the later batches are from taiwan i think....these tend to slip...

U can check on the tire...there is a small marking saying where it is made...

but i think the best advice iz never to try to save on the tires....these can save ur live...

RiDe OnlY tHe OnE U LuRvE......

Ya. Agree wat U say... Dun save $$ on Tires, cos It may help U. :D

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

if u have IRC tires...those tires are only meant to do burnout and then get ready for new one man...learn burn outs with IRC,.... :cheer:

Sianz~ :cry: yesterday i skip my TA150 in the carpark.....

it was raining, but not heavy pour. I wan to warm up e bike so I go rd n rd the carpark. then, when entering e S-course rd, i yaya when cornering. i didnt notice there got branches n i go over. wobble liao but lucky i hold my tank tight tight so can balance. Alas... so suay, run over a drain cover n i do a power sping of 180 degree... :giddy: i skip some 3 or 4 metre distance wif spark coming from e left signal light n footpad, gear 2 somemore.:sweat: i injured my right arm as i try 2 support myself, left leg tio pancake by e tank, but not as bad as my arm. den my butt so shiok. :D painful since my butt land 1st but no physical injury. except tat my pant went torn apart, showing my wallet. :lol: lucky my metal plate on my wallet save my ass yesterday. :lol: last, i still can laugh at myself when i lay on e ground. asking myself "eh>am i doing some sort of moive filming?"

overall, no worry, juz replace my left signal light n put back e chain... ;)

~Look Around You And You Will Find THaT Everything S3eN Small In Your Eyes~

~But It Does Not S3en To Be As The Whole World Is Looking At You~

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

better go learn at a driving center for the effects of braking in the extra course. Or you will need to "test" yourselves in the braking effects.

always use more of front brakes. or just the front brakes.

when you brake, the weight of the bike shifts forward thus a wheel lock is very likely if you do a 50-50 braking scheme.

Good tires play a very important part in wet riding conditions.

A veteran of wet condition crashes, I found tires are the most crucial factor in causing a crash.

And as the previous post of leaning and counter steering, it's useful to learn how to control the bike if it's skidding.

Tis good in knowing how your bike handles in wet conditions.

Well, in the crap I said, it's best to invest in very good tires, as much as you can afford. And of course brake pads that function well in wet conditions. Bad quality brake pads mostly wont have much traction and suddenly locks up!

Feel free to seek other opinions....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v725/ooozy/bike%20blaze%20posters/mesuziecorner1a.jpg

ADDICTION ....

better go learn at a driving center for the effects of braking in the extra course. Or you will need to "test" yourselves in the braking effects.

always use more of front brakes. or just the front brakes.

when you brake, the weight of the bike shifts forward thus a wheel lock is very likely if you do a 50-50 braking scheme.

Good tires play a very important part in wet riding conditions.

A veteran of wet condition crashes, I found tires are the most crucial factor in causing a crash.

And as the previous post of leaning and counter steering, it's useful to learn how to control the bike if it's skidding.

Tis good in knowing how your bike handles in wet conditions.

Well, in the crap I said, it's best to invest in very good tires, as much as you can afford. And of course brake pads that function well in wet conditions. Bad quality brake pads mostly wont have much traction and suddenly locks up!

Feel free to seek other opinions....

Haha. It's my 1st time 2 fall off e bike. I feel so worth it. :D

Am i a sicko? :lol:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There's always a second time....

Ya. I noe. :D Muz be xtra careful when rains...

Hi guys. thought i should post this here... there's this stretch of road.... that leads to paya lebar... i don know the road name... its the route that bus 24 takes to Paya lebar MRT. Anyway, do avoid that stretch when its raining. They simply covered up the whole place with "metal"(or whatever it is called). The other day i was travelling towards katong via that road. it was scary i tell u. such a long stretch of road with no grip. i feel so unsafe there.

Nike - Just do it!

Hi guys. thought i should post this here... there's this stretch of road.... that leads to paya lebar... i don know the road name... its the route that bus 24 takes to Paya lebar MRT. Anyway, do avoid that stretch when its raining. They simply covered up the whole place with "metal"(or whatever it is called). The other day i was travelling towards katong via that road. it was scary i tell u. such a long stretch of road with no grip. i feel so unsafe there.

Nv go there one... But thk 4 ur info.. :shades:

If i'm not wrong, it's called Upper Paya Lebar Rd. Think they building something underground... It's really a pain in the ass... Not jus less grip, my bike also vibrate til siao...

Do be careful...

Oct 2001-- NSR 150SP

Apr 2003-- CB 250FX

Dec 2004 to Dec 2011 -- VFR 800A2

If i'm not wrong, it's called Upper Paya Lebar Rd. Think they building something underground... It's really a pain in the ass... Not jus less grip, my bike also vibrate til siao...

Do be careful...

YAH. exactly.And best is, there's some sharp bends too. somedays there's gona be a major accident there during rainy days. Then LTA and whoever is in charge will then explain to the public why like that, then start to make changes to make it safe.

Nike - Just do it!

Anyone knows how good is the Super4 original tires?

I had a tendency to lose grip when cornering or brake "slightly" hard on wet roads.

Although not as bad as my previous NSR IRC tires.

The stock tyres of S4s are alrite for normal riding and are definitely much better than IRCs. Con here is that they dun burn well thus speaking much for itz grip in wet weather riding conditions. I have juz changed my tyres to Dunlop GPR 70s... running in now still but can already feel that bite it has on tarmac. :)

"Contemplate thy powers, contemplate thy wants and thy connections; so shalt thou discover the duties of life, and be directed in all thy ways."

Guest aird
Good article..........hve a question.....how do u brake in wet weather?

1) Use 25/75 rule(rront/rear)?

2) Use 75/25 rule?

3) Use front only?

in my humble opinion,

1) use mostly for 2 up riding

2) use mostly for 1 up riding

3) use when you want to play stunt /tired of living/ when you know what you are doing

raining or not its still the same advice...don't lock your wheels. and why do ppl dun remember what the riding center teaches, brake with increasing force as you near the targeted stop line (or the bumper of a car) although its easier said than done in an emergency. alternative is to tap your brakes like an ABS which is also not easy....so the easy solution buy an ABS!