so how's comments abt those cheaper types?

still much better than the original ones?

so far so good cos can adjust the preload.

• Replies 3.9k

Yo guys, been riding vespa for the pass 3 years and when i change to wave i am shock as it requires different skills to handle them. Especially the gear. Perhaps you guys might share a few tips or two~~

Anyway just like to ask whether its a norm of the bike...

1) when changing gears sometimes i kick down, it will not go to the next gear?

2) when moving off after starting the bike, heard clanking of chain. Is it due to the original chain guard?

Thanks in advance yah! :D

1. dont tink that's very normal...perhaps u dint depress the gear pedal low enough when u up gear...this bike i feel the gear pedal quite hard...

another reason could be due to...throttle havent close enough then u try to change the gear?

2. is yr bike 1st or 2nd hand? if 2nd hand...maybe u can try taking out the lower part of the chainguard (juz need to take out 2 bolts only) then c whether yr chain is overly loose or tight...if 1st hand...bring back to bikeshop ask! :D

disclaimer: whatever stated above is juz my personal opinion :p

so far so good cos can adjust the preload.

oic...

haha...im not very familiar w/ suspensions...

meaning to say...after changing the rear suspension liao...when doing cornering at slight bends the rear of the bike wont be so shaky already right?

I live B panjang. :cheer:

w00tz...wot color yr wave? hmmz...dont really frequent panjang except to get to PIE and for tuition lessons...hehe nxt time c u muz horn horn liaoz

Guys guys.. i know u have replied this as much as the rain drop from the sky... but... im getting my blue wave tomorrow and want to change my suspension... i just need to know where to change tat for quite a reasonable price with reliable suspension. Prefered the gold colored one.. and which shop can change the suspension 4 u as well... so.. if u guys dun mind.. and... the tyres.. wat to recomend.. GREAT to join wave team.. hehe...

heard ah boy got cheap suspension. if buy from them, where can fix ? i know ah boy dun fix stuff for you rite ??? help help help.. :bounce: :bounce:

hi guys..really need some good advice real quick.

my rear tyre thread is abit thin liao, as its xmas eve, sure go cheong 2nite. any1 knows where to get it change is good?! also, i wanted to change my engine oil also?! i've got my wave as 2nd hand, so really dont know what brand of engine oil is good and how much is the cost to avoid being "chop".

can anyone please advice, thanks.

merry xmas to all wavers and rider safely.

oic...

haha...im not very familiar w/ suspensions...

meaning to say...after changing the rear suspension liao...when doing cornering at slight bends the rear of the bike wont be so shaky already right?

yes

Guys guys.. i know u have replied this as much as the rain drop from the sky... but... im getting my blue wave tomorrow and want to change my suspension... i just need to know where to change tat for quite a reasonable price with reliable suspension. Prefered the gold colored one.. and which shop can change the suspension 4 u as well... so.. if u guys dun mind.. and... the tyres.. wat to recomend.. GREAT to join wave team.. hehe...

heard ah boy got cheap suspension. if buy from them, where can fix ? i know ah boy dun fix stuff for you rite ??? help help help.. :bounce: :bounce:

if get from ah boy can DIY ownself change, if not they oso hab a workshop to help pp change. ask them.. but they charge abit for it. if ask me, sure i say buy from ah boy den DIY. if best go JB ah boy change.. as for tyres, get michellin pilot sporty. cost ard $70 for a pair in sg. higher den $70. is X liao..

merry christmas, hab fun on r wave.

Ride Safe~~

Late is better than never Reach.

hi guys..really need some good advice real quick.

my rear tyre thread is abit thin liao, as its xmas eve, sure go cheong 2nite. any1 knows where to get it change is good?! also, i wanted to change my engine oil also?! i've got my wave as 2nd hand, so really dont know what brand of engine oil is good and how much is the cost to avoid being "chop".

can anyone please advice, thanks.

merry xmas to all wavers and rider safely.

tink tis can help u.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...pic.php?t=26091

Ride Safe~~

Late is better than never Reach.

Anyone of u have change to sport rim? how much it cost and where u change it?

quote from powerwheel Mr Tan:

A new set of Sport Rims is going for S$180/- inclusive of workmenship.

And as for tubeless tires, one set of Front (70/90-17) and Rear (80/90-17) tyre is going for S$70/- also inclusive of workmenship.

welcome!

hmz..im also interested to change a set of rear suspension lar..maybe find one day some old bird here can bring us to JB to change lor...tink it's cheaper over there

anyway if u decide to DIY..tink the suspension seems relatively simple to change leh...take out rear seat side fairings then u r left w/ a few bolts and nuts bah? :confused:

for tyres...so far pple here recommend michelin pilot sport tube tyres or perhaps tt900 tubeless tyres depending on whether u prefer tube or tubeless tyres? im currently using metelzer rear tyre...so far so good..

yes

ok thks!

now muz wait for pple to jio go JB ah boy...haha must go there see see look look

w00tz...wot color yr wave? hmmz...dont really frequent panjang except to get to PIE and for tuition lessons...hehe nxt time c u muz horn horn liaoz

Mine blue wave. so far only only change blue chain guard. :cheer:

Apr '99 - Jun '00 --- TZR125

Jun '00 - May '01 --- Chauffeured by SBS & TIBS drivers

May '01 - May '02 --- Skipper125

May'02 - Nov '03 --- Steed400(VLX in VSE clothing)

Nov '03 - May '05 --- Wave125

Nov '06 - .......... --- Rebel125

welcome!

hmz..im also interested to change a set of rear suspension lar..maybe find one day some old bird here can bring us to JB to change lor...tink it's cheaper over there

anyway if u decide to DIY..tink the suspension seems relatively simple to change leh...take out rear seat side fairings then u r left w/ a few bolts and nuts bah? :confused:

for tyres...so far pple here recommend michelin pilot sport tube tyres or perhaps tt900 tubeless tyres depending on whether u prefer tube or tubeless tyres? im currently using metelzer rear tyre...so far so good..

I oso wanna chaneg the bloody suspension. JB LAB quote me RM100 for the suspension which i think quite reasonable lah. but i waiting for my ERS to come in then i can change! :D

Anyway i noe the way in liao(after potato and race impart their knowledge to me! hee) so if u all wan, we can go in after the new yr then do together, maybe we can try to negotiate for cheaper price! hee :D

I oso wanna install electric horn, cos i think our too soft to be heard... but still deciding whether to go MotorX do or JB LAB

Apr '99 - Jun '00 --- TZR125

Jun '00 - May '01 --- Chauffeured by SBS & TIBS drivers

May '01 - May '02 --- Skipper125

May'02 - Nov '03 --- Steed400(VLX in VSE clothing)

Nov '03 - May '05 --- Wave125

Nov '06 - .......... --- Rebel125

welcome!

Looks maybe decieveing~! hahaha.....

Actually not very difficult also lah....but if never do be4, sure will encounter some probs 1! so beware~! :p

I oso wanna chaneg the bloody suspension. JB LAB quote me RM100 for the suspension which i think quite reasonable lah. but i waiting for my ERS to come in then i can change! :D

Anyway i noe the way in liao(after potato and race impart their knowledge to me! hee) so if u all wan, we can go in after the new yr then do together, maybe we can try to negotiate for cheaper price! hee :D

I oso wanna install electric horn, cos i think our too soft to be heard... but still deciding whether to go MotorX do or JB LAB

Negotiate? hmmm.....i think quite hard lah. u can still try thou~! :lol:

wah...go one time come back become JB road pro liao ah? :lol:

ok can..when got go in remember to tell me...preferably a week in advance lar..hehe

ren2 zai4 army shen1 bu4 you2 ji3....

so far still happy w/ my horn lar..haha...still audible enough to go dee siao pple who cut my lane :p

by the way where's motorX huh? that day went down to dunlop st then slowly rode thru the whole street...cant seem to find the shop! wanted to go there to look for customised stickers..

Looks maybe decieveing~! hahaha.....

Actually not very difficult also lah....but if never do be4, sure will encounter some probs 1! so beware~! :p

ok..nxt time got problem changing the suspension come ask u

1. dont tink that's very normal...perhaps u dint depress the gear pedal low enough when u up gear...this bike i feel the gear pedal quite hard...

another reason could be due to...throttle havent close enough then u try to change the gear?

2. is yr bike 1st or 2nd hand? if 2nd hand...maybe u can try taking out the lower part of the chainguard (juz need to take out 2 bolts only) then c whether yr chain is overly loose or tight...if 1st hand...bring back to bikeshop ask! :D

disclaimer: whatever stated above is juz my personal opinion :p

Yo man thanks 4 e advice!!

Managed to overcome e 1st prob.

Now trying my best 2 overcome e 2nd one...any1 care 2 help? :D

Haizzz...still doing ma running in...next time c unmodified blue wave go slow2 left lane dont horn k.Might b me :shades:

chain loose?

welcome!

1) change the rear shocks need to remove the rear fairings.

2) remove rear fairings need to remove box, rack, grab rail, chain guard and centre basket.

3) fix on new suspension need to remove a bolt on exhaust so new shocks can go in.

took me quite some time to DIY. if u willing to pay mechanic, save u some trouble.

so have u tried to go and open up the lower portion of the chainguard as what i mentioned in my prev reply? opening it up can determine whether izit due to chain too loose or too tight... ;)