Originally posted by kennethy@Apr 20 2006, 01:53 AM

when you going to flush your coolant again? if possible, will like to DIY with you...

i brought mine to one of the bikeshop and they really did not do a good job; just drain the coolant 2 times and fill up with tap water... :giddy:

That's the problem with our workshops, always use what is most conveniently available and as long as can move can liao. Tap water is actually no good for our engines but I guess they think our machines are not expected to be on the road for very long. I also prefer DIY whenever possible.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-25996.jpg
  • Replies 5.7k

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 20 2006, 09:46 AM

That's the problem with our workshops, always use what is most conveniently available and as long as can move can liao. Tap water is actually no good for our engines but I guess they think our machines are not expected to be on the road for very long. I also prefer DIY whenever possible.

I must admit... I know nuts abt DIY! Am quite the noobie here! :giddy: scared of messing up the bike if I try to "gey kiang"... but even if I try to gey kiang, also dunno where to begin! haha...

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii193/khookahkiat/DSC00352-501.jpg

Missing my Super 4 Bold'Or FBA1859D always... (22nd Feb 2006 ~ 17th Feb 2009)

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 20 2006, 09:46 AM

tat's true, i will slaughter any mech who puts tap water into my coolant but so far hv yet to change anything yet. if i do i will change to water wetter

_______

khookahkiat didi hehe me too...all the parts look so complicated. later take out the screws liao dunno where to put bk :sweat:

Originally posted by Lass@Apr 21 2006, 08:57 AM

tat's true, i will slaughter any mech who puts tap water into my coolant but so far hv yet to change anything yet. if i do i will change to water wetter

_______

khookahkiat didi hehe me too...all the parts look so complicated. later take out the screws liao dunno where to put bk :sweat:

Excusable la for you. Even our "mototiam" mechs if you watch them do things will after putting back your parts have extra screws etc and try and "hai-gong" you and say no need one...really can't stand that man.

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 21 2006, 10:13 PM

Excusable la for you. Even our "mototiam" mechs if you watch them do things will after putting back your parts have extra screws etc and try and "hai-gong" you and say no need one...really can't stand that man.

wat i would do is to insist to have those screws put bk to where ever it was taken out from. however it is true that if you mod certain things to ur bike, you may not be able to use bk the same screw. for instance, i changed to hella horns, the screws on the fairing had to be replaced by another type and using an aft mkt exhaust means tat u hv to remove the screw near the belly of the exhaust to be abt to fit it. i always make it a point to ask bk whatever tat was removed because u never know when u will need it and esp when u want to sell ur bike stock, all mod stuff may be removed and replaced w stock and these things will come in v handy.

__

btw, do u guys warm up ur bike b4 riding? usually i will start the bike put on my helmie and off i go. unless it's been parked there for a few days i will warm up a bit 1st. wonder if it's must to warm up the bike every time....hmm

For me, I always warm up the engine for at least a min or 2 first before moving off...

Just like when I go jogging, I always conduct warmup exercises... so that I wont get cramps later on... :smile:

Originally posted by khookahkiat@Apr 22 2006, 11:07 AM

For me, I always warm up the engine for at least a min or 2 first before moving off...

Just like when I go jogging, I always conduct warmup exercises... so that I wont get cramps later on... :smile:

icic, wonder if i would 'hurt' my bike if i dun usually warm it up...

u certainly hv become v attached to ur bike i can see :smile:

Originally posted by Lass@Apr 22 2006, 02:05 PM

No harm warming up, but actually with our kind of temperatures and the modern oils it is not necessary. What I do do is to ride slowly first till I reach the main road and then progressively increase from there.

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 22 2006, 07:40 PM

No harm warming up, but actually with our kind of temperatures and the modern oils it is not necessary. What I do do is to ride slowly first till I reach the main road and then progressively increase from there.

oh okie good to know. fr my plc everything come out of carpark sure kerna red light so won't hv chance to go fast oso. main rd oso v jam. in the morn, simple too many cars cos my plc here got 4 - 5 schools. heard fr mum tat ppl hv complained abt the traffic situation here and they r planning to widen the rd. a small bt panjang estate has so many schools....pretty annoying in the morn. seldom small roads r jam even in the morn.

Originally posted by Lass@Apr 22 2006, 02:05 PM

of cos... its ma baby leh... and i'm pretty sure most of the bold'or riders here are very attached to their bikes too... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by khookahkiat@Apr 23 2006, 02:53 AM

of cos... its ma baby leh... and i'm pretty sure most of the bold'or riders here are very attached to their bikes too... :lovestruck:

hehe tat's true. :smile:

i believe in @ least a 3min warm up after a nite or parking...no matter how modern the oils are...it still take time to travel up from oil sump to cylinders...

--- A twist of the wrist ---

Originally posted by [c]arbine@Apr 25 2006, 06:19 AM

i believe in @ least a 3min warm up after a nite or parking...no matter how modern the oils are...it still take time to travel up from oil sump to cylinders...

Yes, oil will drip down to sump...mostly, but modern oils always leave a coating. Also the requirement to warm up is actually because in the old days oils were of single grade and so have a very limited temperature range. You would have to warm up then to get the oil to the correct viscosity. However todays oils, especially synthetics are already at the correct viscosity even at room temperatures especially in our equatorial climate.

If you do wish to warm up, you should run the engine at approx 1500-2000rpm at least as too low an rpm will not run the oil through the system properly. As such it is the same as riding off slowly at a controlled rpm.

Having said all this, it is individual preference and of course there is no harm warming up.

Guest enHANZed

if anyone want to let go their bol d or ...give me a PM

Originally posted by enHANZed@Apr 25 2006, 01:05 PM

NOT A CHANCE IN HELL!!!! :offtopic:

hehehehe...

Originally posted by enHANZed@Apr 25 2006, 01:05 PM

All the uncles,aunties, bros and sisters here very passionate :bouncefire: about their boldors so I don't think you gonna find any here for now..but :goodluck:

hahaha... i love my bike too... but at times i think singaporean are too attached to their vehicles...

for me, my bike is the next best machine other than my computer... but i never get to the extend of getting so attached that it is like a part of me for non-living objects.

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 25 2006, 11:50 PM

All the uncles,aunties, bros and sisters here very passionate :bouncefire: about their boldors so I don't think you gonna find any here for now..but :goodluck:

hehe tat's rite.... sisters? hmm who is the other sister? keke

bikeshop now will makan boldor for about 10k and think they will be selling at 11 - 12 so i think at the end of the day might as well get a new bike... my 2 cents worth.

Originally posted by Lass@Apr 26 2006, 08:25 AM

hehe tat's rite.... sisters? hmm who is the other sister? keke

bikeshop now will makan boldor for about 10k and think they will be selling at 11 - 12 so i think at the end of the day might as well get a new bike... my 2 cents worth.

Sori la, I have problems identifying the gender of some so just use general terms lor, cannot be biased right

Sorry 4 e interuption guys, juz went 2 ASPhoon tis afternoon n asking bout Boldor tri color n they say its not available anymore... is it true?

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

Burt Munro, The World's FASTEST INDIAN 1967

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 26 2006, 06:15 PM

Sori la, I have problems identifying the gender of some so just use general terms lor, cannot be biased right

hehe ok let's start eyeballing who r da sistas and brudders and the in betweens hehe

UnIoNbIkEz : perhaps they didnt' indent any. i think there is still a few units left in other shops but it's the red/white version.

Originally posted by Lass@Apr 27 2006, 12:47 AM

hehe ok let's start eyeballing who r da sistas and brudders and the in betweens hehe

UnIoNbIkEz : perhaps they didnt' indent any. i think there is still a few units left in other shops but it's the red/white version.

Oh ya , I forgot the in-betweens, sorry.

UnIoNbIkEz : The tricolor one is 2006 model. When I checked with Boon Siew in Jan, they say it would arrive towards middle of the year. I suspect most shops still trying to get rid of old stock, ie bikes manufactured in 2005.

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 27 2006, 08:50 AM

Oh ya , I forgot the in-betweens, sorry.

UnIoNbIkEz : The tricolor one is 2006 model. When I checked with Boon Siew in Jan, they say it would arrive towards middle of the year. I suspect most shops still trying to get rid of old stock, ie bikes manufactured in 2005.

:lol: never assume, be sure keke

wet wet mornz but i still ride to work after the carpark nitemare incident. a reluctant clown in rain coat rode v cautiously to work. heard abt a few accidents this mornz so ride safe folks

Originally posted by Lass@Apr 27 2006, 09:23 AM

:lol: never assume, be sure keke

wet wet mornz but i still ride to work after the carpark nitemare incident. a reluctant clown in rain coat rode v cautiously to work. heard abt a few accidents this mornz so ride safe folks

Nowadays, eyeballing alone also cannot confirm, so difficult to be sure :sweat:

Good reminder, always be extra careful on wet roads if you wish to ride. My baby is sitting pretty at home as I am away in Seoul now.

Originally posted by keiyong@Apr 27 2006, 09:42 AM

Nowadays, eyeballing alone also cannot confirm, so difficult to be sure :sweat:

Good reminder, always be extra careful on wet roads if you wish to ride. My baby is sitting pretty at home as I am away in Seoul now.

hehe true but somehow oso got tell tale sign

anyway, came bk and started to snap photo in the car park, this idiot car anyhow park jutting his car into the bike lot! :mad: