Originally posted by khookahkiat@May 20 2006, 10:57 AM

unionbikez, for a while, I thought you wrote: "HHEEEELLLLLOOOOOOO BolD'ors!!! i'm back again, no more sickness liao... 5 bloody days did not shower :giddy: "

I think you should be the one that needs showering... Now stand at least 10m from where we are, dude!

LOL :cheeky:

Heellloooo bro khoo! shower still shower ok!! @ least twice a day.... my hse got water heater 1 u know....! :nono:

Anyway, u should follow keiyong instructions; shower w 7 types of flowers coz u touched ladyboys @ bangkok... u naughty khoo :nobuaya:

LOL :cheeky:

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

Burt Munro, The World's FASTEST INDIAN 1967

• Replies 5.7k

Originally posted by Gaofar@May 20 2006, 05:33 PM

Hello all,

Well, I'm a newbie here that just seal the deal today at DX motorshop and trade in my old VTEC 1 for a black Bol'dor...

Would like some info if you all don't mind... I was thinking of some upgrades for the bike once I got it but didn't really know the price and where to get it...

1) Balancer (Recommend?)

2) Centre Stand

3) Fork / Frame Slider (Recommend?)

4) Suspension Guard (My friend say one... What's that?)

5) Belly Pan

6) Brake hose

7) PowerCut...

8) Electrical Grounding (Necessary?)

9) "Air-horn" (Recommend?)

10) BTW, anyone knows if there is any way to install a back-rest on the bike?...

I am sorry to ask so much questions for my first post... Hope can get some assistance here...

Thanks in advance!

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Hi bro Gaofar! Welcome to the thread/club :cheers:

abt ur quetions, i can help answer afew :sorry: coz me a newbie too...

1) Balancer (not recommended to change)

2) Centre Stand (u mean "Main Stand")

3) Fork / Frame Slider ( Most Recommended, u can try pm y0s_bikey)

4) Suspension Guard (Prevent theft, most shop wil give it to u as free gift)

5) Belly Pan (Collect sand but still up to individual)

6) Brake hose (Maybe sis Lass can help coz she using Venhill hose)

7) PowerCut... (U can do it @ MotoWorld w a cost)

8) Electrical Grounding (Not necessary coz new bike)

9) "Air-horn" (Up to individual)

10) BTW, anyone knows if there is any way to install a back-rest on the bike? (No idea)

Hopefully e answers help bro.... :goodluck: and ride safely!

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

To all Bros & Sistas of BolD'orS, pls do join e S4 outing 2nite @ 9pm Kallang KFC so tat we can meet each other, talk bout our riding experience etc etc... n best of all, its e eve of my B'day! :cheer:

So, see u soon tonite :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Originally posted by UnIoNbIkEz@May 20 2006, 06:26 PM

To all Bros & Sistas of BolD'orS, pls do join e S4 outing 2nite @ 9pm Kallang KFC so tat we can meet each other, talk bout our riding experience etc etc... n best of all, its e eve of my B'day! :cheer:

well happy BD in advance.....weather looks like going to rain here.....

hv fun as well :smile:

Originally posted by Lass@May 20 2006, 06:52 PM

well happy BD in advance.....weather looks like going to rain here.....

hv fun as well :smile:

thks sis Lass :cheer: u come down tonite lah, bring ur hubby along.....

Thanks for the info, but unforunately I will be leaving for Japan tonight. Weather seems a bit threatening but hopefully won't rain. Enjoy your outing.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-25996.jpg
Originally posted by keiyong@May 20 2006, 07:54 PM

Thanks for the info, but unforunately I will be leaving for Japan tonight. Weather seems a bit threatening but hopefully won't rain. Enjoy your outing.

Safe flight bro Keiyong.... :thumb:

unfortunately i cant meet most of our BolD'or fellows perhaps soon ya!

Happy birthday unionbikez... :cheer:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii193/khookahkiat/DSC00352-501.jpg

Missing my Super 4 Bold'Or FBA1859D always... (22nd Feb 2006 ~ 17th Feb 2009)

guys, u all buy the bold or, 14 plus got include insurance?

Loving my Tmax 530

Originally posted by khookahkiat@May 21 2006, 02:13 AM

Happy birthday unionbikez... :cheer:

thank you bro.... y aren't u there @ kkfc? only BolD'or of mine bro :weep:

Originally posted by farish@May 21 2006, 03:30 AM

guys, u all buy the bold or, 14 plus got include insurance?

Yup bro... 14k inclusive of insurance aka OTR price, mine is NTUC comprehensive, urself bro?

Originally posted by Gaofar@May 20 2006, 05:33 PM

Hello all,

Well, I'm a newbie here that just seal the deal today at DX motorshop and trade in my old VTEC 1 for a black Bol'dor...

Would like some info if you all don't mind... I was thinking of some upgrades for the bike once I got it but didn't really know the price and where to get it...

1) Balancer (Recommend?)

2) Centre Stand

5) Belly Pan

6) Brake hose

7) PowerCut...

10) BTW, anyone knows if there is any way to install a back-rest on the bike?...

I am sorry to ask so much questions for my first post... Hope can get some assistance here...

Thanks in advance!

Gaofar p(^.^)q

i would say it depends on your objective of changing and the amount of spare cash you have... following are my personal comment and may diffs from others...

1) Balancer (Recommend?)

some aftermarket balance are just for you to change to a different colour... that you can live with or without... but there are some that are longer and heavier. heavier balancers help to stablised on your handbar at high speed and longer ones and help take impact if you have a stationary fall so it does not hit the tank.

in my opinion $30 - $40 is a worthy investment.

2) Centre Stand

main stand are good if you have to park your bike at softer grounds like sandy paths (when you go touring). it is also good if you usually manual oil your chain...

$200+ is a bit expensive for this sort of good-to-have i say...

for protection... it is just like protective jackets and gloves you wear... really depends on the rider's risk assessment

there are many out that fancies the showa stock suspensions and they can be quite easily removed... the usual suspension guard the bike shops give dun really offer much protection frankly... cos if a thief really aims your bike, all he/she needs is to bring another long screw driver to ply open your seat; half a min job...

i have my suspension screw wield dead at seng kwang... only way is to unwield before you can take out my suspensions... something that you may consider... for $50, i say is gives me greater peace of mind...

5) Belly Pan

good for the looks... does not really serve much real purpose for a nake bike like S4...

6) Brake hose

for new bikes, you have a bit of time to consider about changing since the new stock brake hose will still serve you well for a couple of months... but the more you brake, the more the hose will expand and your effectiveness of brake reduces with it...

in my opinion, safety is my upmost concern and good set of brakelines will last long and are good investments... cost around $200 to change all 3 brakelines...

almost all class 2 bikes that i know have changed their brakelines

7) PowerCut...

are you a speed demon? it is really a trick question... if you are, then S4 is really not your bike... cos S4 is not really build for speed... nake bike with lots of air resistance, insufficient stability for high speed, etc...

if not, then dun really need to consider...

you bike comes with power cut at 13k RPM... on a well-maintained S4, you can already clock 190km/h... (well, at least that is what the meter can read till)

furthermore, push your bike into the red RPM is not really something you like doing often as it kills the engine pre-maturely...

also another thing that i personally will recommend... if done correctly and well, you should feel your ride smoother, better throttle reaction, better fuel consumption, and prolong the life of your battery, etc.

almost all class 2 bikes that i know have done grounding

louder horns are good when you encounter idiotic drivers and gives good warning to other road users... not for abuse but for a good cause...

but air horns are illegal. do select those that are street legal please...

no idea... therefore cant comment...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by UnIoNbIkEz@May 20 2006, 06:59 PM

thks sis Lass :cheer: u come down tonite lah, bring ur hubby along.....

welcome :smile: bring him from sepang? hehehe

hope u had a good time last nite

HI there, here's my 2 cents worth...

1) Balancer (Recommend?)

personally i find tat stock balancers r good enuf. unless u want longer and heavier ones, u can find it at motoworld at about $30-40 i think. longer balancer means tat u hv to be extra careful when squeezing and already stock mirrors r long. changed my mirror to 954 mirrors and stuck to stock balancers.

2) Centre Stand

like wat the rest say, it'a good to hv esp when u need to spray chain or park in some stupid tight lots

frame slider - dun look nice, happy w the 3 point crash guard for engine. fork slider, u can get fr motovation. think about 70bucks. PM Motrax33

min. protection for the suspension but u can weld it like kennethy but most ppl just use the guard. i made my bike shop give it to me for free, it's cheap stuff. at my mcsp, one fella's suspension kerna kop. stock suspensions ain't cheap.

5) Belly Pan

dun find much purpose except to collect more dirt & sand other than tat that just a cosmetic purpose

6) Brake hose

most ppl can live w stock ones and u can change it if u feel tat u need better braking power. lots of brands in the mkt - HEL, Venhill, speedbrakes (average priced ones from 175 onwards, less than 200). the premium ones - swage & goodridge think in the range of about 240 & above.

HEL - vector 1

Venhill - Motovation

Speedbrakes - Andrew Morris / think u can PM fat_di to enquire. shop at geylang

Swage - motoworld

goodridge - think u can find it at biketech 21

Dun need to worry too much abt brake pads yet cos Honda has the best stock brake pads and can last for long time.

7) PowerCut...

dun worry abt tat, it's not built for speed but for relac riding and besides in sg how fast can u go?

recommended but i hv yet to do it as well so no further comments

hehe i love this one - nv fix it where ur stock horns are. for boldor it's a bit more tricky but rather simple job - it's well concealed at the inside of the fairing, u need to get hella horns cos the stebel ones r too broad for our boldor. got my horns fixed at motoworld. think abt 30plus can't rem. need to take out the 2 small side pc (tat looked like the air intake part) connected to ur speedo unit there and changed 2 screws.

back rest - hehe this one am not sure cos i will not do something like tat. actually u can think of putting a box tat comes w the back rest. for me - box is banned for 2 reasons hehehe 1) spoil the look of the bike 2) once started, u will be addicted to having box cos it's damn convenient.

another thing i did to my bike is -

Scottoiler - auto lub for ur chain. can be fixed at motoworld at about 170 i think. save the hassle of having to lub ur chain. only thing is tat u need to be diligent to clean ur sprocket. the kit u get can last u for about 1 yr. juz need to top up the bottle of lub which is fixed in the storage compartment. well concealed

u can see the fork slider and changed brakehose.

hope e above helps.

Thanks to one and all who replied... So touched... :cry:

Anyway, thanks again for the info, I am able to have a rough feel for what I'll like to do when I received my Bol'Dor... I think the first few things I'm gonna do will be as such:

. KNN Air Filter (From my old VTEC...)

. Suspension Guard plus welding...

. Broquet Fuel Pellets (From my old VTEC...)

. Engine Crash Guard

. Electrical Grounding

. Brakehose

. Fork / Frame Slider

. Balancer

. "AirHorn" (Sorry Ms Lass, is Hella a legal brand?...)

. RevTec

. BellyPan (Maybe...)

Well, judging from the list, I'm quite a "vain-pot"... Like my bike to look good...

As for the "PowerCut", it's just that I'm sort of used to my non-powercut version of my VTEC 1. Plus there are times when I took my VTEC for a Thailand trip... At least still can keep in pace with Diversion 900 at top speed. FJX 1300... Can only smell smoke...

The back-rest is something I've always wanted to add on my VTEC, just that with VTEC 1 it's almost impossible except if you were to add a box-rack... Never like the look :cheeky:

Anyway, with VTEC 3 I think it can be achieved with the handle-grab behind. Thinking you guys must be quite more experienced with VTEC 3, thought there might be some guy have ever attempted to add a back-rest behind for the pillion to rest on without sacrificing the look of the bike... I guess if there's really no one ever done it, I might just get maybe a Phantom back-rest and weld to the place where the rear handle-grab is...

I must say I am quite excited to get my Bol'Dor as this is my first new bike in my whole biking life!... :cheer: Ten years of riding and now finally my first new bike, can't wait for it! Oh BTW, how long must I ride for engine run-in?

Thanks alot!

Gaofar p(^.^)q

"Something new is in the air.. I think my 2nd wind is here..!"

Originally posted by Gaofar@May 21 2006, 01:51 PM

Anyway, thanks again for the info, I am able to have a rough feel for what I'll like to do when I received my Bol'Dor... I think the first few things I'm gonna do will be as such:

. Engine Crash Guard

. Electrical Grounding

. Brakehose

. Fork / Frame Slider

. Balancer

. RevTec

. BellyPan (Maybe...)

Well, judging from the list, I'm quite a "vain-pot"... Like my bike to look good...

As for the "PowerCut", it's just that I'm sort of used to my non-powercut version of my VTEC 1. Plus there are times when I took my VTEC for a Thailand trip... At least still can keep in pace with Diversion 900 at top speed. FJX 1300... Can only smell smoke...

The back-rest is something I've always wanted to add on my VTEC, just that with VTEC 1 it's almost impossible except if you were to add a box-rack... Never like the look :cheeky:

Anyway, with VTEC 3 I think it can be achieved with the handle-grab behind. Thinking you guys must be quite more experienced with VTEC 3, thought there might be some guy have ever attempted to add a back-rest behind for the pillion to rest on without sacrificing the look of the bike... I guess if there's really no one ever done it, I might just get maybe a Phantom back-rest and weld to the place where the rear handle-grab is...

I must say I am quite excited to get my Bol'Dor as this is my first new bike in my whole biking life!... :cheer: Ten years of riding and now finally my first new bike, can't wait for it! Oh BTW, how long must I ride for engine run-in?

Thanks alot!

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Bro, its great to know tat u come to a decision...

:goodluck: on ur new Super BolD'or n ride safely :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Originally posted by UnIoNbIkEz@May 21 2006, 03:43 AM

Yup bro... 14k inclusive of insurance aka OTR price, mine is NTUC comprehensive, urself bro?

i just looking around , reserachingas of now.....

was quoted 14.5 without insurance, carrot price?

Loving my Tmax 530

. Engine Crash Guard

. Electrical Grounding

. Brakehose

. Fork / Frame Slider

. Balancer

. RevTec

. BellyPan (Maybe...)

Thanks alot!

Gaofar p(^.^)q

bro, can share how much the bike cost? price w or wo insurance? and downpayment if no trade in

Loving my Tmax 530

Hello there Farish,

Well, I bought the Bol'Dor at DX and they quote me $11.5K for Bol'Dor and $10.9K for normal VTEC Spec III, both are machine-price. Add another $550 for insurance from NTUC comprehensive, about $200+ (can't remember) for registration fee, blah blah blah..., interest rate of 5% per annum about $2.5K... Total I think about $14K lah... Oh BTW, I trade in my VTEC for $4K... :sweat:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

let's put it this way, anything not stock is being frowned upon but i hv not heard of anyone being booked for tat yet

Originally posted by UnIoNbIkEz@May 21 2006, 03:40 AM

thank you bro.... y aren't u there @ kkfc? only BolD'or of mine bro :weep:

ermm... not very close with the guys... plus... i dont really like big groups lah... small group is ok for me... :smile:

Originally posted by farish@May 21 2006, 03:37 PM

i just looking around , reserachingas of now.....

was quoted 14.5 without insurance, carrot price?

OMFG... thats a super duper huge carrot price man... don't bite on it!!! :sweat:

Total shld be around 14k everything plus in, like what gaofar said...

Originally posted by khookahkiat@May 21 2006, 07:57 PM

OMFG... thats a super duper huge carrot price man... don't bite on it!!! :sweat:

Total shld be around 14k everything plus in, like what gaofar said...

noted...haiz, if only i hjad joined the forum before i got my phantom, wun kana carot so badly...

by the way where is DX? got full address?

Loving my Tmax 530

De Xing Motor Pte Ltd

HQ - Blk 3006 Ubi Road 1 #01-356. No. 6-746-8582

Branch - No. 50 Bukit Batok St.23 #02-26/27 MidView Building. No. 6-316-1611

Mine's at Ubi there and you can try and look for Dom/Dominic. Patient guy who will explain whatever queries you have.

Gaofar p(^.^)q