rainy day... :( spoilt my day. pui*

howz everyone...i can see the thread is movin slowly~

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

• Replies 13.4k

hello pple. longtime no post here..... feeling kinda rash now but wad do u guys tink abt an FT plate africa twin coe 2011.... selling at $7k? tinking of 1 doing 1 last dance on the tarmac b4 i quit riding.

am oso considering the dr650se but so far the only 2nd hand one on sale is $11k. looking at budget 2nd hand bikes so dat i wun incur too much lost when i sell it next yr

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/red_rider_1979/aaa-1.jpg
hello pple. longtime no post here..... feeling kinda rash now but wad do u guys tink abt an FT plate africa twin coe 2011.... selling at $7k? tinking of 1 doing 1 last dance on the tarmac b4 i quit riding.

am oso considering the dr650se but so far the only 2nd hand one on sale is $11k. looking at budget 2nd hand bikes so dat i wun incur too much lost when i sell it next yr

AT arh..... mai tu liao..... $7k good price.... esp if its black and gold with H&B rack and box! swee!

Filthy, Lusty & Horny.....

quit riding? wah... den ksr also no more? Go for the AT lah, den go on a continental/world tour with ur girl, den maybe no need to quit riding liaoz!

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/whisperer400/14926678.jpg
Haha long time no first post ler... FIRST POST! :p

How was that web freelance you told me about coming along?

no more liao lor, customer withdrawn his request. haha

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f144/Allan82/29092008148.jpg

Chio Bu on my ex ride !!!

Everyday raining...not shiok to ride :(

wanna go touring oso not shiok :(

Like this wanna work oso not shiok :(

But sleep at home sure shiok :angel:

I thought a thought. But the thought I thought wasn't the thought I thought I thought. If the thought I thought I thought had been the thought I thought, I wouldn't have thought so much.

http://i188.photobucket.com/albums/z157/sfazruzs/My%20Car/CutePorsheSfazruzs.jpg

Propaganda outweighs journalism, prejudice defeats dialogue

Devilsown: So what's ur plan for good friday?

I'm planning to go mersing...to Teluk Buih Beach a.k.a Bubble Bay Beach. But see this kind of weather..I rather cancelled it..

Tired liao to ride in this kind of weather :giddy:

I thought a thought. But the thought I thought wasn't the thought I thought I thought. If the thought I thought I thought had been the thought I thought, I wouldn't have thought so much.

http://i188.photobucket.com/albums/z157/sfazruzs/My%20Car/CutePorsheSfazruzs.jpg

Guest chaochao
pumping session 2nd link tonite meet 930pm after aye tunnel on the left roadside...... chilling at south RnR ....... cumming pls call spy or chao...thanx

This is one of the adventurous and funny pumpz we had! hahaha... one which I managed to confirm that... busa's petrol tank can load 21.5L! ... How I know? I went till kosong lor! :lol:

We only managed to get up the Sg's flyover juz before Sg customs and saw huge jam. What did we do?... back-paddle 150m down before deciding to u-turn and push the bike down the slope! Siong ah!

Along the way back - met a young id*ot who turn into my path causing me to jam my brakes. Arrogant ba*tard buah-bo-dok keep driving and looking straight despite our horns. Went in front with hazard lights and gesture driver to the side of road to "talk". He did not budge until we saw blue blinker lights in front.

He came down and said sorry - appearing all apologetic. Even said he 'was trying to stop at side of the road'. Of course, the blue uncles interceded the matter and resolve it. Even offer sweets (what's wif the sweets??! :lol: )

But it was really enjoyable to see how that arrogant b'tard being humbled.

Guest chaochao

Not much into Enduro/offroad bikes. $7K for 2.5years looks reasonable. I am guessing AT will have higher maintenance cost - esp a high-mileaged one.

It is also heavy - imagine one bike drop and the damage can be costly.

Do ask whether owner has a maintenance log or receipts. It'll tell you what was changed and whether you need to spend more on servicing. If there's no log or receipts, ermm.. better not buy (telling from experience).

If you think of selling away during the last two years of its COE, it may not attract buyers unless you renew them. There may be new enduro models which cost a bit more than a 2nd hand model so I'm not sure if people will buy a used AT (i may be wrong on this).

AT and DR are different bikes leh. One's a Enduro-Offroad and the other is juz for off-road. You have to know what you want to do with the bike. If 60% you wanna go long distance, then AT. If 60% you are going short burst and dirt-tracks, then the DR650SE or a 400cc scram. Not sure about DR's re-sale value though.

MCN's review on AT

DR series

How about overnight mersing trip? :bounce:

Mersing

sigh....ill be leaving on a jet plane on good fri and dunno when ill be back again.....errr back on the following fri den..... sian

JET?as in private jet?u r not in commercial plane anymore huh? :cheeky:

Not much into Enduro/offroad bikes. $7K for 2.5years looks reasonable. I am guessing AT will have higher maintenance cost - esp a high-mileaged one.

It is also heavy - imagine one bike drop and the damage can be costly.

Do ask whether owner has a maintenance log or receipts. It'll tell you what was changed and whether you need to spend more on servicing. If there's no log or receipts, ermm.. better not buy (telling from experience).

If you think of selling away during the last two years of its COE, it may not attract buyers unless you renew them. There may be new enduro models which cost a bit more than a 2nd hand model so I'm not sure if people will buy a used AT (i may be wrong on this).

AT and DR are different bikes leh. One's a Enduro-Offroad and the other is juz for off-road. You have to know what you want to do with the bike. If 60% you wanna go long distance, then AT. If 60% you are going short burst and dirt-tracks, then the DR650SE or a 400cc scram. Not sure about DR's re-sale value though.

MCN's review on AT

DR series

i juz went to view the bike.... here's the review:

1) mileage is 101 000 km ie. it has clocked 1 cycle on the odometer. but owner said its normal for a 7yr old AT.

2) as for servicing records, the owner was honest enough to tell me that the engine has not been overhaul before as "local mechs arent really proficient enough to overhaul a V-engine". he only changed the clutch plates and added that changing the piston rings will be good enough.

3) outlook wise seems quite gd for a 7yr old... slight negligible scratches here n there on the fairings.... slightly cracked digital meter lights

4) he's the 3rd owner (logcard says 4)

5) accessories r standard, incl. custom crash bar, custom mainstand, givi side rack, givi topbox

6) COE ending 2011... will dis affect the price drastically when i sell it in 2009?

7) owner is damm friendly. offered me n my gf his umbrella while he ran back to his block in the heavy rain.

sigh... decisions decisions.... sianz

i juz went to view the bike.... here's the review:

1) mileage is 101 000 km ie. it has clocked 1 cycle on the odometer. but owner said its normal for a 7yr old AT.

2) as for servicing records, the owner was honest enough to tell me that the engine has not been overhaul before as "local mechs arent really proficient enough to overhaul a V-engine". he only changed the clutch plates and added that changing the piston rings will be good enough.

3) outlook wise seems quite gd for a 7yr old... slight negligible scratches here n there on the fairings.... slightly cracked digital meter lights

5) accessories r standard, incl. custom crash bar, custom mainstand, givi side rack, givi topbox

6) COE ending 2011... will dis affect the price drastically when i sell it in 2009?

7) owner is damm friendly. offered me n my gf his umbrella while he ran back to his block in the heavy rain.

sigh... decisions decisions.... sianz

i almost fell off my chair.... did not read properly....i read it as.... owner is damn friendly to offer his gf....... free gift arh?

hahahaha..... den meter will go in water bo?

Filthy, Lusty & Horny.....

i almost fell off my chair.... did not read properly....i read it as.... owner is damn friendly to offer his gf....... free gift arh?

wah lau. u tink wat? new promo method arh.....

anyway its cracked on the plastic surface only.... haiz. 1st time buying old bike... so many things to look out for. plus chao's horror stories...... muz be very careful

Guest chaochao

hahah... on first read - i also read the same as you did!... Yah, Hat, gotta watch out for those cracks on meter. And it ain't cheap to replace the entire meter.

Guest chaochao

I got my 7yr old beemer at 60,000KM and I've to spend >$2K in wear-tear replacements. And the "S" bike is a sports-tourer. Also ah-wayne's bike almost hitting 1 cycle liao and its only 2yrs old+ niah. So age of bike does not mean "normal" to hit 1 cycle leh.

That's good. To know whether to overhaul, you'll have to look at what othe AT owner does. VFR uses V-engine as well. TP use it and local consumers like Devils also own it. So I think there should be a experience mech to service ba.

Base on my beemer experience, I can say that you'll have to prepare to do quite a number of engine parts replacements.

The crack meter can be a concern. Chagne of external temperature may create condensation and can corrode other sensitive parts. Also, wouldn't it be puzzling how it got cracked in first place?

Wah! 3rd owner + no previous owner maintenance log = red flag

Accessories looks good-to-go for touring.

Usually a bike with some uniqueness does have a longer popularity e.g. busa for its power n speed; VFR FI-w for its cam-driven cam-shafts; BMW-Dukes-MV for its name n reliability. If AT has some uniqueness about it, then even if its older - it'll still have value.

But hor, you'll be 4th owner liao - not sure if this will attract buyers.

Would encourage you to do a "Search" on all AT in Used Bike Sales to see how fast does an AT sells.

Above is juz my own opinion la. If AT is what you have zoomed on - look for other AT in shops and see the cond. & price. You can also go into SBF to check if other ppl selling their ATs.