Originally posted by alyce@March 26, 2007 02:15 am

hahaha. yea. the more u ride the more u will squeeze cars and cut lane. that's normal. and till now if im in a hurry i will cut lanes and squeeze like mad. if not normal days sometime i see got one car infront of me i oso bth liao. hahaha :sweat: :cheeky:

bad examples. don learn :cheeky:

for me my bike is one dangerous obstacle on the road if i squeeze in between or cut around..lol bike bulky..

• Replies 22.3k

Originally posted by BlurLing@March 26, 2007 05:07 am

huh? i dun get wad u mean. lols!

if you say you didn't speed then you might as well take public transport cuz the time taken to travel will be same as public transport ma..so save the hassle and take the transport offered by the govt. :thumb:

Originally posted by jB@March 26, 2007 08:19 am

for me my bike is one dangerous obstacle on the road if i squeeze in between or cut around..lol bike bulky..

nt as maneuvrable as a kup but still can squeeze here n there one.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/zelot/fighterplanenEarthsig.jpg

cannot put it tat way lah..

to have ur own transport is a convenient thing.

and since a 2b bike vs taking public transport is mostly on par and could be cheaper.

yest my i take mrt + bus here and there.. cost ard $8.

argh!!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/zelot/fighterplanenEarthsig.jpg
Originally posted by jB@March 26, 2007 08:19 am

hahaha. get use of ur bike first la. aiyoo. LOL :sweat: :cheeky:

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y283/zixun/bike/kickballs.jpg

.time tells ALL wonders.

.nothing beats riding. (:

Originally posted by jB@March 26, 2007 08:21 am

if you say you didn't speed then you might as well take public transport cuz the time taken to travel will be same as public transport ma..so save the hassle and take the transport offered by the govt. :thumb:

ok. den if u mean by that, maybe i should jus sell my bike away. forget abt bike. and take public transport right?

http://s52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/forbiddenmemories/th_020220071582-1.jpghttp://s52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/forbiddenmemories/th_231220061214.jpg

Fierce bike doesnt mean Fierce rider

Originally posted by BlurLing@March 26, 2007 04:30 pm

ok. den if u mean by that, maybe i should jus sell my bike away. forget abt bike. and take public transport right?

LOL nope, you should show the guys what you're made of :thumb: and what your bike is produced for :cheeky: haha but still the saying goes "ride safe"

Originally posted by zelot@March 26, 2007 11:39 am

nt as maneuvrable as a kup but still can squeeze here n there one.

yup somewhat lose out at that point haha but I'm still loving it (: use the strengths of it to overcome the weakness :bounce:

Originally posted by BlurLing@March 26, 2007 04:30 pm

jes ... dun squeeze or ride the way cos ppl are doing it ...

just ride it your way ... :thumb:

jiayou ... and see ya around ... :smile:

----

even if a rider would to take the same amount of time to go to work/ school, riding or taking public, it does not matter, cos he/she is a rider ...

wat's the point of saving time by riding in a way the rider is not comfortable with ? :sian:

reach the destination safely...

the rider will have plenty of time/ days/years ahead ...

rush to reach the destination in a shorter time, but maybe for that one time ...

there'll never be anymore time for the rider to rush anymore ...

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

im contented riding de bike as my own speed and way. i dun care ppl see my bike like, woah, fierce bike. i dun care.

like i say, my lil boi is a lil sheep of mine.

i ride it slow and i ride it safe.

if u wanna race with me, you will probably see me far far a de back.

cos its dumb.

http://s52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/forbiddenmemories/th_020220071582-1.jpghttp://s52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/forbiddenmemories/th_231220061214.jpg

Originally posted by iVy@March 26, 2007 07:58 pm

----

thanks ivy ^^

Originally posted by iVy@March 26, 2007 07:58 pm

----

even if a rider would to take the same amount of time to go to work/ school, riding or taking public, it does not matter, cos he/she is a rider ...

wat's the point of saving time by riding in a way the rider is not comfortable with ? :sian:

reach the destination safely...

the rider will have plenty of time/ days/years ahead ...

rush to reach the destination in a shorter time, but maybe for that one time ...

there'll never be anymore time for the rider to rush anymore ...

ur post sounds sad but so true !

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

i passed my 5.02

how much time do i have before it expires and i need to retake 5.02

i've no time to go for my RTE and RTT..

How much time until time to get PDL expires, 2 weeks?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v82/boariggy/poseurborder.jpg

what's that coming over the hill? Is it a monster? Monster?

Originally posted by jB@March 26, 2007 08:21 am

Really?

I go to bus stop, I wait for 10 minutes then the bus come. The bus stops at every stops for boarding and alighting passengers, the longer the journey, more time it wasted. I go to carpark, start bike, wear helmet, sometimes remove canvas depending on the bike I ride, 5 minutes max. Don't need to stop for passengers.

I go onto expressways, buses can only travel at 60~70km/h while I can hit 90km/h and proud to declare I'm still within non-speeding limits. I go to PS, I park at 6th floor then go directly to the movie theatre, bus got go up there? Even taxi also don't want to go up. Kekeke... :cheeky:

Though many times we as the more experienced riders speed and squeeze between vehicles, I personally do not actually perform lanesplitting and riding above speed limits unless I'm in an extreme rush of time or the traffic is heavily congested that it's almost coming to a standstill. I most of the time lane split behind a stationery traffic controlled junction only and ofcourse at the safest means.

As many of them who visit this thread are still new to riding, please do not advocate the idea of having motorcyclists to speed or lane split whenever they can or as a mandatory course of riding style. Going slightly over the limit or lane splitting should be carried out at each's limits and to his or her own understanding via experience and knowledge gained over time.

Back to the public transport thing, I once tried riding at 60km/h (despite most of the roads were 70km/h thru Lornie/Bt Timah) on my Vespa from AMK to my school in Clementi, it only took about 30 mins or less. The bus no. 74 took 40 mins not inclusive of time taken waiting for the bus and walking to the bus stop, to get to my school. If I were to add the waiting and walking time, it's probably 1 hour plus.

true.. haha.. i stay bukit batok i study ite simei last time.. from my house walk to mrt take train change bus, walk to sch nid total min 1hr 15min.. MINIMUM.. if take car/bike directly.. less den 30mins or even 25mins can reach and some more INSIDE school

hahas. when i go to work, usually ive to leave my house at least 1 1/2 hr before my work time to make sure i wont be late. now, i leave my house 30-45 mins before work time. ;D~ sometimes leave a lil' early to take my time there as i always bump into peak hours. ;(

Originally posted by Tourer@March 27, 2007 01:19 am

Really?

I go to bus stop, I wait for 10 minutes then the bus come. The bus stops at every stops for boarding and alighting passengers, the longer the journey, more time it wasted. I go to carpark, start bike, wear helmet, sometimes remove canvas depending on the bike I ride, 5 minutes max. Don't need to stop for passengers.

I go onto expressways, buses can only travel at 60~70km/h while I can hit 90km/h and proud to declare I'm still within non-speeding limits. I go to PS, I park at 6th floor then go directly to the movie theatre, bus got go up there? Even taxi also don't want to go up. Kekeke... :cheeky:

>_ total time wasted = time that can beaten riding 60-70km/h on my bike safely and slowly overtaking others with ease..

btw PS needs cash card? lol the other time went into JP tot need card I stop by one side then open my wallet to find my card then insert, who knew the security guard came over and said "here motor free" then I was o_O and "orh" went in :cheeky:

Originally posted by Tourer@March 27, 2007 01:36 am

Though many times we as the more experienced riders speed and squeeze between vehicles, I personally do not actually perform lanesplitting and riding above speed limits unless I'm in an extreme rush of time or the traffic is heavily congested that it's almost coming to a standstill. I most of the time lane split behind a stationery traffic controlled junction only and ofcourse at the safest means.

As many of them who visit this thread are still new to riding, please do not advocate the idea of having motorcyclists to speed or lane split whenever they can or as a mandatory course of riding style. Going slightly over the limit or lane splitting should be carried out at each's limits and to his or her own understanding via experience and knowledge gained over time.

Back to the public transport thing, I once tried riding at 60km/h (despite most of the roads were 70km/h thru Lornie/Bt Timah) on my Vespa from AMK to my school in Clementi, it only took about 30 mins or less. The bus no. 74 took 40 mins not inclusive of time taken waiting for the bus and walking to the bus stop, to get to my school. If I were to add the waiting and walking time, it's probably 1 hour plus.

on highway squeezing = your own risk (agreed dangerous)

Lanesplitting = better done with experience (agreed dangerous)

going over speed limit = watched out for Uncle and other hazards b4 doing so ( also agreed dangerous)

for the public transport, I may consider getting a cheap vespa(in the future maybe) :p cuz its only for me to ride to & fro from my school & home..then let my dad use my phantom cuz I don't think he'll look nice nor wanna ride vespa :cheeky:

also I know some classmates and friends who wait for never coming buses and then their rides take 1 hour plus to get home( Sengkang) from our poly..jeez sad case man.. morning to school have to wake up darn early..for those who stay so far and ride, they'll do it dangerously as some may tend to speed when wake up late and rushing :giddy:

Originally posted by edlan@March 27, 2007 09:10 am

PS parking is free for bikes.

Yahoo! :cheer: I think i'll go dl the list of free parking from sbf..

Originally posted by jB@March 27, 2007 09:16 am

Yahoo! :cheer: I think i'll go dl the list of free parking from sbf..

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u191/edlan1987/DSC00113.jpg
Originally posted by kurarensu@March 27, 2007 01:59 am

true.. haha.. i stay bukit batok i study ite simei last time.. from my house walk to mrt take train change bus, walk to sch nid total min 1hr 15min.. MINIMUM.. if take car/bike directly.. less den 30mins or even 25mins can reach and some more INSIDE school

hahaha. that will soon be my turn to take 25mins-30mins to simei ite in apr. LOL -.-'' :sweat:

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y283/zixun/bike/kickballs.jpg

.time tells ALL wonders.

.nothing beats riding. (:

Originally posted by jB@March 27, 2007 09:15 am

for the public transport, I may consider getting a cheap vespa(in the future maybe) :p cuz its only for me to ride to & fro from my school & home..then let my dad use my phantom cuz I don't think he'll look nice nor wanna ride vespa :cheeky:

FYI, Vespas are no longer the perceived cheap transport as they used to be. They might be cheap due to their low maintenance simple engine setup... But think again.

The PX150 and PX200 I used to rode come with 2-strokes single cylinder engines. Their fuel consumption is about 25km/litre depending on your riding style, but to keep up with the fast paced mainstream traffic of today, you probably cannot get a good FC out of it. Because the Vespa has poor engine efficiency, low top speed, meaning you have to whack open the throttle more.

Not mentioning the not-really-cheap-2T you have to add to your Vespa also... Abit ex. I rode a Phantom and Wave after my Vespa, those are what I called cheap transport.

Again, if you are talking about the new 4-Stroker Vespas like the Granturismo, GT, LX models, they came with a heavy price tag. I remember when they were first introduced, they were like 11k machine price. Now is probably lower though, but still more expensive than an average 2B bike I guess.

Cheap? :cheeky: