Square box tyres eat so much petrol? I'm using a stock pipe but no air box. Tyres 80/80 and 90/80.but tyres eat up petrol don't really make sense! :(

Current : Honda SP 150 Dated 08/09

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b137/abc567_/31082009001.jpg

• Replies 7.8k

bigger tyre = more surface contact on the road = more friction = more energy needed to make the wheels spin

more energy needed = lousy fc

big tyres = more contact = higher stability. (however it can be offset by having a highly inflated tyres)

now we all know why bmw 7 series are more stable than chery QQ

120km per tank sound normal for a used bike.

I'm using LV pipe, 8-leg rims, 80/90 tire and my FC is 120km per tank.

My rims and tires cut my FC the most for some weird reason.

When my bike was fully stock, I manage to achieve 180km per tank.

All fuel additive are a waste of money. If they are really so effect, it would have catched on and skyrocketed to fame.

I'm using LV pipe.. And 6 leg rim plus 80/90 and 90/80.. 120km per tank. 3 little..

guys, need your help. any reliable workshop in the north to repair/overhaul wave?

think of spraying the bike also. any recommended freelance or shop to do it?

Square box tyres eat so much petrol? I'm using a stock pipe but no air box. Tyres 80/80 and 90/80.but tyres eat up petrol don't really make sense! :(

It's due to "The Effects of Rotational Inertia on Automotive Acceleration"

Link : More information

So even 1 gram more on rims/tires makes alot of difference...

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Is when those whom I love,

Cry every time I get on my motorcycle.

I just changed my rims to racing boy...just returned and bought from jb. Changed oversized break-disc also. My bike feels much heavier compared to the the previous and very stable. Will take a few pix of it and post it here soon. For the time being, unable to monitor my mileage as my speedo reached 99999.9. Gonna get it changed soon...anyone has a used digital speedometer can sell me? Wave-S btw.

I feel that jb workmanship is not as good as Singapore but of course the parts there as much cheaper compared with shops here in sg. Just my opinion.

tyga-performance.com

Square box tyre? What is that? Any particular brand? Never heard of a square box tyre...only got round circle tyre leh...tyres do play a role on your petrol consumption. So do breakings. Tyres that have insufficient air would need more energy for the engine to work on rather than Tyres that are filled with sufficient air. Take a bicycle, how much energy would you need to pedal with a flat tyre and an air-filled tyre? Time to ponder...;)

tyga-performance.com

guys, need your help. any reliable workshop in the north to repair/overhaul wave?

think of spraying the bike also. any recommended freelance or shop to do it?

Any problems on my bike, I will only go to Planet motors. Ah Chong the trustworthy mechanic located at Ubi. Sorry, not at north area.

Top quality spray shop along Ang Mo Kio industrial 1. Forgot the shop name. They are known for their top finisher. :)

tyga-performance.com

change at where? Better braking by alot?

I went backto where I buy my bike just now they told me they clean the piston and block before alrd and uses air filter and not air box and if they set the fc any lower, the bike's top speed might not even hit 100km/hr. :( now my fc about 110-120 per tank only. And how do I know if my wave is a s, x or r? I know these 3 uses caburetor.

Wave S - digital odometer and fuel gauge

Wave R - Mechanical/analogue speedometer

Wave X- slimmer and got 2 headlight

Wave I - digital speedo and Fuel injector

Correct me if I'm wrong...

tyga-performance.com

Square box tyre? What is that? Any particular brand? Never heard of a square box tyre...only got round circle tyre leh...tyres do play a role on your petrol consumption. So do breakings. Tyres that have insufficient air would need more energy for the engine to work on rather than Tyres that are filled with sufficient air. Take a bicycle, how much energy would you need to pedal with a flat tyre and an air-filled tyre? Time to ponder...;)

Lol squarebox tyre.. Hahaha.. Time for "squarebox" to open tyre shop liao..

Wave S - digital odometer and fuel gauge

Wave R - Mechanical/analogue speedometer

Wave X- slimmer and got 2 headlight

Wave I - digital speedo and Fuel injector

Correct me if I'm wrong...

yups correct

â™  Living life fast throttleâ™ 

◕‿◕

And, what are the jb bikeshop u all go to? Is it the same as those sp goes? Or u all do bikes in sg? Any ways to increase fc?

Ah Boy shop.. best way to increase fc is your right hand, power:weight and stock settings.

My fav jb wrkshop ks motor =) increasing fc try broquet ..

Hmm rarely hear about it recently..

very important! :) NX i might be changing to steel brake hose for better braking efficiency.. wanna join?

Its essential :thumb:

Pump your tyre pressure correctly or it'll eat the tyre apart from petrol. More friction..

bigger tyre = more surface contact on the road = more friction = more energy needed to make the wheels spin

more energy needed = lousy fc

big tyres = more contact = higher stability. (however it can be offset by having a highly inflated tyres)

now we all know why bmw 7 series are more stable than chery QQ

lol 7 series comparison to chery is too off dude.. the diff is too big. Even a 320i is too much to be compared with QQ :lol: wheelbase, weight, chassis, suspension, ride width etc.

let's do an outing again! whose in?

My wave's back with me, see when ;)

Helloooo. I just got a wave FW plate left 2yrs COE for 1.3k Machine from shop. Was it overpriced?

Sorry to dissapoint, it is IMHO.

hi, just brought my wave X.. need some advise from all the senior .... anyone change their horn to a louder one? where u guys mount it?

changing fast throttle or racing CDI will it help to increase the performance?

thanx

Inside front fairing.. fast throttle is only shortening the line travel only. Racing CDI helps a lil, to get maximum performance increase, you need to mod a lot of things. I've got my Racing Clutch Springs for sale, used only a few tanks nia.

torco' date=' the one @ alexandra motor ah? i only use royal purple.. so far the smoothest i felt! but must DIY.. haha[/quote']

where to get royal purple? been wanting to try on either of my bikes..

Anyone tried torco EO before?

where's that from?

can put a photo of your racing footrest? would like to see how it looks like on a wave.. :)

I took it off already, try to find :thumb: It feels comfy and good, should have come in stock for wave :lol:

Selling my month old under utilised Red colour Pop Domino(best quality in the market I was told) Racing Footrest with passenger footrest and rear brake steel cable line instead of the usual unorthodox method of welding your stock shaft to it, going for $150 as a set paid more than 200 because of the additional steel cable. Condition 8.5 or 9/10, bike hardly ridden also.. sms me at 8ll2399O. Reverted back to stock cuz I bought my 4th bike.

Also selling my racing clutch spring for $20, good for drag and power transmission if you have lots of power and engine mods.

Selling my month old under utilised Red colour Pop Domino(best quality in the market I was told) Racing Footrest with passenger footrest and rear brake steel cable line instead of the usual unorthodox method of welding your stock shaft to it, going for $150 as a set paid more than 200 because of the additional steel cable. Condition 8.5 or 9/10, bike hardly ridden also.. sms me at 8ll2399O. Reverted back to stock cuz I bought my 4th bike.

Also selling my racing clutch spring for $20, good for drag and power transmission if you have lots of power and engine mods.

So tempting...... :cry:

Class 3 - 25 Nov 08

Class 2B - 03 Sep 09 - Honda wave 125.

Class 2A -19 June 12 -

It's a bittersweet symphony, this life.

Live to ride another day.

hi fellow wave riders.i am wondering what ur fc's are.im hitting 40km/l on stock setting with 8 legged sports rim.i was thinking of fixing lv pipe and perhaps meddle with some performance parts along but im not considering doing big bore.i wana know how bad the fc can drop to.care to share?

My Rides

Gilera VXR200(2007-2009)

Kawasaki KRR150(2009-2009)

Suzuki K9 DRZ400sm(2009-Present)

Honda Wave125S(2010-Present)

hi fellow wave riders.i am wondering what ur fc's are.im hitting 40km/l on stock setting with 8 legged sports rim.i was thinking of fixing lv pipe and perhaps meddle with some performance parts along but im not considering doing big bore.i wana know how bad the fc can drop to.care to share?

I'm using 8-legged sports rims and LV pipe. No engine mods.

I'm getting 40km/l.

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Is when those whom I love,

Cry every time I get on my motorcycle.

is coocase good?

Wats wave actual full tank capacity..? 4l or 3.2l .. ...?

3.7l ? Correct me if i am wrong..

Class 3 - 25 Nov 08

Class 2B - 03 Sep 09 - Honda wave 125.

Class 2A -19 June 12 -

It's a bittersweet symphony, this life.

Live to ride another day.

So tempting...... :cry:

lai lai :lol:

expect 30km/L if you big bore I believe.

is coocase good?

I tot coocase is by Givi also? lol seems not bad my buddy using.

Does wave need to warm up..? N sometimes when i start it jst dies off.. Need open choke den ok.. Is it normal or prob..? I seldom ride it.. Could it be the reason..