[Discussions] Run-in A New Cub

Sgbiker23

• Replies 224

there r getting more n more ppl buying 1st hand cubs nowadays... like Wave, Spark, X1, magic, etc

me myself getting a new Magic soon, wanna ask whom has the best way of running in...

from wat i recently learnt from fren, it goes like this:

1st 500km max speed 60km/h

2nd 500km max speed 70km/h

anyone has better ideas ?

pls state how u ran in ur bike, and wats the best fuel consumption/ bike performance u can get out of ur new bike... thks

Class 2bHonda TA150, Yamaha RXZ135, SYM Magic110, Kawasaki KSR110, SYM GTS200, Paijifa F150, Yamaha Cygnus Z125

Class 2aHonda CB400 Project Big 1, Version S, Honda Shadow 400

Class 2Yamaha Vmax1200, Honda CBR1100XX, Honda Deauville650, Honda CB1300, Yamaha FZ6S, Honda Varadero1000, Suzuki Hayabusa GSX1300R

I like my bike to be strong and 'healthy' what i did when run-in:

First 1000km run 60km/h

Second 1000km 70-80km/h

lastly, 1000km 80-90km/h

Totally 3000km to run-in. That what I called RUN-IN.

Some cubs riders did just 100km... or below..just dont feel anxious to whack yur throttle or someone rev u...

I did a longer run-in Because I heed advise from experienced riders ... after run-in.... it really good for yur engine and feel better respone from the engine compare to others cub tt didnt not had a appropraite run-in .....

anyway , just wanna share... :goodluck: :cheer:

no matter what type of run in you use, make sure u let the engine idle until the engine hot enough before move off and only use mineral oil for first 1500km. mineral oil cheap, so change more frequent at early stage. first change at 32km, 2nd at 410km. tomorrow will be 3rd on at 1000km. last one at 1500km. after that maybe 3000km once using semi. anyway i use hard run in, guess if wont affect much on the power compare to normal or long run in. why? dont ask, i guess you will be more confuse later on. you can find info about it somewhere else.

i found lot of powdery metal debris during my 32km oil change, although got oil filter. luckily remove most of it before it completely cycle inside the engine.

Originally posted by LoveBird@Jan 9 2006, 07:07 PM

there r getting more n more ppl buying 1st hand cubs nowadays... like Wave, Spark, X1, magic, etc

me myself getting a new Magic soon, wanna ask whom has the best way of running in...

from wat i recently learnt from fren, it goes like this:

1st 500km max speed 60km/h

2nd 500km max speed 70km/h

anyone has better ideas ?

pls state how u ran in ur bike, and wats the best fuel consumption/ bike performance u can get out of ur new bike... thks

so... Tips here and there :goodluck:

MERGED THREAD

Topic : How 2 Run in A new bike

Description : X1

gUys n gers riding x1, can help me... :smile:

how 2 run in the bike har?

no idea how 2 man, thanks alot hope 2 hear fr u all soon...:bounce:

Run in with mineral oil.

Run in speed is 70km/h to 80km/h. But that doesnt mean full throttle each gear till u reach 70-80 then ease ur throttle. accelerate gently. Change oil after ur run in period.

Lastly, there's also hard run-in method. But that one i never tried, tested or seen personally. Hope that helps. Some other bros or sis may chip in some pointers i may have left out....

for me, i rode like normal after getting my bike. but once hit expressway, i wack like there's no tomorrow.

My EO change is 800km-1500km-2500km-every2500-3000km

changed to semi syn once, and subsequently all to fully syn.

~ You may be faster than the wind, but never time ~

Originally posted by hanazawa_rui@May 7 2006, 07:04 PM

oic wats e diff between semi n full sync... price diff n wat else...

buying next week so need 2 prepare myself 2 do wat first... :cheer:

cant wait 2 ride man

semi is cheaper than fully and of course the fully is much better than semi....but your first change shld be mineral oil/`~~:smile:

bro just follow manual.. even if u exceed manual stated eo change, also nvm but don exceed too much.. for the first 3 free services, they will let u use minerals.. after the 3rd free service then u change fully syn if u want take care your bike or semi will do..

the warr card shld have the eo change mileage.. use the first 3 mileages as guide lines..

semi-syn last ard 3000km then change

fully-syn last ard 6000km then change

of course different riders may beg to differ. for me i change fully syn every 4000km.. i not riding x1 but a small 125cc new bike.. eo only 1 bottle. use semi and fully to me not much difference in pricings so i just give my bike the best i can.. hehe

Jan 05 - Mar 06 : Honda NSR150SP

Mar 06 - Mar 07 : Suzuki RMX250

Mar 07 - Sep 07 : Honda XR400R

Aug 05 - Nov 09 : Honda XR125L

Sep 07 - Nov 09 : Suzuki GSR400K7

Mar 09 - Present : Yamaha R6'06

Nov 09 - Present : Honda Hornet 600

Originally posted by hanazawa_rui@May 12 2006, 01:33 AM

anyway how long u ride ur x1 liao, anything need 2 change 4 the new bike cause i buying...

now dunno how much hor the price tat time how much u bought n frm where?

ban hon brothers, bought it on the road 4.3OTR, me 22 yrs old that year...~~insurance 2nd party is $600...~

nothing to change just the EO lor...and till now i have not changed much cause this is a transport bike and not a mod bike so keep it clean and FC efficent...currently at close 9000km going for my next EO and sparkplug change...~tires were changed after 8000km with the IRC...anyway the IRC can change lar at the start cause it sucks big time...:smile:

Originally posted by hanazawa_rui@May 12 2006, 09:50 AM

oh ya read tat the stock tyres are no good rite, n the rear subs shld change right?...

cant wait 2 get my bike man!... =]

which rear subs r u refering to.......n why must change ah?

hmm :weep: so how 2 do a hard run in...

n i mean the rear suspension... read tat need 2 change 2 other cause the stock 1 will b beri bouncy... :smile:

n the tyres the dunlop tt900 is ard how much, wats e diff between t900

so whose riding a x1 mayb nxt sat free can accompany me take bike haha =]:bounce: