All about Atom

Sev

Originally posted by Sev@Jan 16 2006, 11:16 AM

another things i noticed was when you use Atom for longer time and it gets heated up, it respone better... :faint: :faint:

it is like a bike! warmup is a must!

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Arai AGV Alpinestar Dainese Sidi Coolmax

• Replies 398

Can any Techsavvy Guys Highlight me on the Diff between the Dopod 818 and the O2 Atom as in which will be a better buy? Mainly on the Processor Speed. Thanks in advance for any replies!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

i'm not a power user, just do some search you will know atom speed is 416mhz while 818pro is 196mhz.

due to some firmware problem, atom is running slower than 818pro now, the new ROM upgrade will be release in Feb.

you may want to wait for a little longer see what improvement on Atom.

if atom's problem get fix after the ROM upgrade, then Atom is the good buy, but now, better keep your finger cross at the moment...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Thanks Bro! Did a bit of read up that's why i posted about the Processor thingy. As i am not familiar with IT stuff thats why i am hoping for some end users to share the Pro & Cons of these two. Just like to know if the speed of 196Mhz is acceptable by me.

Guest *Garnet*

the volume of my atom quite soft leh... always can't hear. initially got quite a few prob... i did a hard reset and somehow the prob is not there liao.

Originally posted by GalanteD@Jan 16 2006, 03:31 PM

Thanks Bro! Did a bit of read up that's why i posted about the Processor thingy. As i am not familiar with IT stuff thats why i am hoping for some end users to share the Pro & Cons of these two. Just like to know if the speed of 196Mhz is acceptable by me.

it is up to yourself to decide which is acceptable to you, kind of strange to ask people to tell you what should you accept or decline...:giddy:

SEV>they dont loan hps la..lucky for me,i got another hp... :p consider myself lucky too..they say it took 2-3 days then can get the atom back..but mine took juz overnite.. :cheeky:

Galanted>Hmm..if im u..i buy sumting wich i tink i can use without difficulty..but if u shld compare btween atom n dopod..i tink i choose atom..its smaller n compact..n i had tis huge confidence it been better in future~!heheheh PEACE!

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y16/globalvtec/5460f210-1188-4a34-87ea-a334058d3d72.jpg http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y16/globalvtec/aa2264a9-8aa5-449f-8ea4-c8a2aaa56056.jpg

Sev - Maybe i should put it bluntly to you that i am actually quite an idiot to this sort of phones. Main concern of mine is to know which will be a faster phone when accessing the internet and how big the difference is like.

GobalVtec - Thanks Bro!

818 is running on TI OMAP 850 at 195Mhz.

Atom is on Intel PXA 272 at 416Mhz.

both are running on different processor, comparing e specs, Atom is on e bright side.

FYI, i cannot over-clock e Atom.

e reason i still using back e dopod, party is b`cos of job.

& it's more stable at e time being.

dopod users will get to d/l e register versions of CE-star FOC.

oei, i'm not here to flame O2 users, i'm a O2 user for some time.

dun flame mi back hor.

ok, i'll share e screct here.

if u can manage to remove e extra programs tat Atom comes with, it'll operate much more faster.

e engeering sample tat i tested have much more programs than e ones sold in e market, & it's much more slower.

after flashing & removing (leaving onli e normal programs), it operates much more faster than O2 Mini. (both running on 416Mhz)

but of cos, making a mistake when doing e above will resulting e OS to crash.

note: even if u did make it, it'll voild yr warrenty.

make sure to back up b4 doing.

i once read up on a Malaysia PDA fourm, & they actually compare Atom, Eten M600, dopod 818, 838.

winner is M600.

你期望你所è¦å¾—, 但å´æ²¡æœ‰å‘现到你所真正ç惜的

Originally posted by GalanteD@Jan 17 2006, 12:10 AM

Sev - Maybe i should put it bluntly to you that i am actually quite an idiot to this sort of phones. Main concern of mine is to know which will be a faster phone when accessing the internet and how big the difference is like.

GobalVtec - Thanks Bro!

818 & Atom oso comes with WiFi in-built.

Atom is on .11b, while 818 is on .11b/g

'b' = 11Mps

'g' = 54Mps

if u surf e net using WiFi, tat's e speed u got.

i guess tat's onli wat u're interested on.

abit more info.

both on 128mb rom/64mb ram.

both using QVGA screen.

Atom is Tri-band, 818 is Quard band.

Bluetooth version:

Atom V1.2

818 V2.0

(higher number = latest version.)

if u're getting a dopod, let mi koe.

mayb i can help.

Bro Lollypop, Thank You so much for your Infos! But then! Can tell me which one is faster when surfing the net? Don't really understand your figures.....

Also, you want to PM me what you can help out if i decide on the Dopod? Do you sell them?

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Jan 17 2006, 12:22 AM

ok, i'll share e screct here.

if u can manage to remove e extra programs tat Atom comes with, it'll operate much more faster.

e engeering sample tat i tested have much more programs than e ones sold in e market, & it's much more slower.

after flashing & removing (leaving onli e normal programs), it operates much more faster than O2 Mini. (both running on 416Mhz)

but of cos, making a mistake when doing e above will resulting e OS to crash.

note: even if u did make it, it'll voild yr warrenty.

make sure to back up b4 doing.

i once read up on a Malaysia PDA fourm, & they actually compare Atom, Eten M600, dopod 818, 838.

winner is M600.

hey.. would you be kind enough to PM me the details on this?

and yes. Eten is the winner on alot of websites.

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Originally posted by GalanteD@Jan 17 2006, 09:40 AM

Bro Lollypop, Thank You so much for your Infos! But then! Can tell me which one is faster when surfing the net? Don't really understand your figures.....

Also, you want to PM me what you can help out if i decide on the Dopod? Do you sell them?

surfing net would be mem and pro. i guess atom will be faster?

Originally posted by globalvtec@Jan 16 2006, 09:31 PM

SEV>they dont loan hps la..lucky for me,i got another hp... :p consider myself lucky too..they say it took 2-3 days then can get the atom back..but mine took juz overnite.. :cheeky:

Galanted>Hmm..if im u..i buy sumting wich i tink i can use without difficulty..but if u shld compare btween atom n dopod..i tink i choose atom..its smaller n compact..n i had tis huge confidence it been better in future~!heheheh PEACE!

thanks, may be i go to Bugis O2 service center to request for a ROM upgrade too.

Originally posted by GalanteD@Jan 17 2006, 09:40 AM

i rephase it for u again.

Atom is on .11b, 818 is on .11b/g

at .11b, yr speed is 11Mps.

at .11g, yr speed is 54Mps.

a 11 or 54, which u think is faster?

e higher e number, e faster yr speed.

i can't help if u're getting at 2 yrs plan or upgrade.

but if u're getting at retail price, drop mi a PM on which model u interested & i'll check it out for u.

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Jan 17 2006, 11:23 AM

i rephase it for u again.

Atom is on .11b, 818 is on .11b/g

at .11b, yr speed is 11Mps.

at .11g, yr speed is 54Mps.

a 11 or 54, which u think is faster?

e higher e number, e faster yr speed.

i can't help if u're getting at 2 yrs plan or upgrade.

but if u're getting at retail price, drop mi a PM on which model u interested & i'll check it out for u.

What's b/g? I really not good with this sort of things......So sorry!

And Yes! I am getting without plans.

Thanks Guys!

Originally posted by GalanteD@Jan 17 2006, 11:28 AM

What's b/g? I really not good with this sort of things......So sorry!

And Yes! I am getting without plans.

if you're gg wireless, dopod is definitely faster. G is 54Mbps with wider ranger compared to B's 11Mbps with smaller range. BUT.. that is subjected to the isp.

if you're surfing thru pc usb. atom would be faster.

Originally posted by GerardSantaCruz@Jan 17 2006, 12:11 PM

if you're gg wireless, dopod is definitely faster. G is 54Mbps with wider ranger compared to B's 11Mbps with smaller range. BUT.. that is subjected to the isp.

if you're surfing thru pc usb. atom would be faster.

Thank you so much! I get the picture already! Guess it's a Dopod for me!

Originally posted by GerardSantaCruz@Jan 17 2006, 02:08 PM

shiet. why didn't i make him buy an atom? was it something i said? :cry:

:sorry: Bro! My main usage is to access Mails via WiFi and the speed really matters to me.

how i wish i can delete most of the default programs in the atom..it'll be much much more faster after dat! :cheeky:

wow..dopod seems to be better!hmm..too bad bought the atom already..lan lan got to use! hehhee

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y16/globalvtec/5460f210-1188-4a34-87ea-a334058d3d72.jpg http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y16/globalvtec/aa2264a9-8aa5-449f-8ea4-c8a2aaa56056.jpg

818pro is better at the moment, but after Atom get fix up, then we have to see again...

Atom has better hardware, it just they need to fix the firmware issue...