Didn't I say before?

Friday, shipment takes around 1 to 2 weeks. Minimum order quantity is 60 pcs.

• Replies 261

assuming 6 per signal, that's 24 ambers.

then 7 * 3 array (backlighting and brakelighting with redundancy) for brake light, that's 21 reds.

total = 45 leds. with diy boards and resistors, wires, connectors, fuses, etc. that's ~$50. hmm... not really cheap...

Brakelighting array

*  *  *  *  *  *  * <----- row only on when brake is applied
 ^    ^    ^
 +-------+-----+------- redundant parallel circuit so that you get ok visibility in failure event

Signal array

+-------- redundant circuit
  v
^    ^
+------+---- redundant parallel circuit so that you get ok visibility in failure event

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 19 2006, 02:04 AM

Is there a price for satisfaction? :D

problem is the older i get the higher my tendency to procrastinate. last round when i bought the magnets it took me at least 3mths before i got to fixing them... :sweat:

in fact i've bought some so called superbright leds (no specs :sian:) from slt for over 6mths liao wanting to either replace my pilot lights or simply additional front identification lighting but haven't got around to do it yet... :cheeky:

wonder if i will bother to do the signals and brakelighting (been thinking for ages and ages) when i've long long been contemplating a change of ride... :giddy:

The actual price is slightly less than $1 actually. Cheaper ones can be found for much lower prices, i've even seen some going for 5cents each. These can be bad batch rejects, older models etc.

So far I havn't seen any online shops selling the newer higher output Superflux LEDs.

i dunno how to solder to circuit boards liddat~ so neo if u were to make a pair of signal lights, how much will it set me back at?

Originally posted by StingRhea@Jan 19 2006, 02:51 AM

i dunno how to solder to circuit boards liddat~ so neo if u were to make a pair of signal lights, how much will it set me back at?

You pass me your signal lights, I figure out how to do it, then pass it back to you.

$25 per LED inclusive of resistor. Refer to the picture above for single LED mod.

minimum quantity is 60, can we mix and match the colors? or have to stick to one color? only limited to superflux LEDs hor? :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Minimum 60 per person or minimum all of us should order 60 before u consider helping us buy?

NEO LED ORDER LIST

1. Naz - 10 pcs Amber ($10)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Originally posted by Naz@Jan 19 2006, 11:53 AM

Minimum 60 per person or minimum all of us should order 60 before u consider helping us buy?

NEO LED ORDER LIST

2. doktor des - 10 pcs amber ($10)

count me in!

looking for drz parts, any parts will do!

Originally posted by desmondspencer@Jan 19 2006, 01:26 PM

count me in!

NEO LED ORDER LIST

2. doktor des - 10 pcs amber ($10)

3. MC28 12 pieces Amber ($12)

Dudes, should we put this on Mass Order thread? Can get more pple to join in, So that Pple who didn't visit this thread can get the deal too.

Neo:

Got to agree with the theory of colour filtration... forgot about white light is made of 3 primary colour.

91-92: 84 Yam LC125

95-97: 88 Suz GSX400R & 88 GSX400FW

97-01: 95 Suz Bandit400

01-04: 96 Suz DR650SE

04-11: 99 Suz SV650S

05-05: 94 Suz DR200SE

06-16: 06 Kia Rio 1.4(M) Sedan

11-12: 02 BMW F650GS

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Nobody wants red?

I just ordered 60pcs red and 60pcs amber....

Limsteel > I got some white Luxeon III LEDs, when used as pole lights, can be effective daytime running lights. But I've yet to figure out how to fit them into headlights. Maybe you wanna give it a try?

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 19 2006, 06:32 PM

Nobody wants red?

I just ordered 60pcs red and 60pcs amber....

Limsteel > I got some white Luxeon III LEDs, when used as pole lights, can be effective daytime running lights. But I've yet to figure out how to fit them into headlights. Maybe you wanna give it a try?

Is it bright if i put 3 LEDs per signal??

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 19 2006, 08:45 PM

I think you need at least 6 per side.

I wonder if i can squeeze 6 into each side..

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 19 2006, 06:32 PM

Can't my twin head light is one huge box... unless I drill or force it open... (which I highly not Want to). :giddy:

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by EmptyVessel@Jan 19 2006, 01:58 AM

assuming 6 per signal, that's 24 ambers.

then 7 * 3 array (backlighting and brakelighting with redundancy) for brake light, that's 21 reds.

total = 45 leds. with diy boards and resistors, wires, connectors, fuses, etc. that's ~$50. hmm... not really cheap...

Brakelighting array

*   *   *   *   *   *   *  <----- row only on when brake is applied
   ^        ^       ^
   +-------+-----+------- redundant parallel circuit so that you get ok visibility in failure event

Signal array

+-------- redundant circuit
    v
^       ^
+------+---- redundant parallel circuit so that you get ok visibility in failure event

I prefer my Brake light to be in this format... I draw only 4 row of Series connected LED... You can install 100 if you please...

The Long Zig-Zag lines are Bigger Value Resistor for Dimmer light. Shorter Zig-Zag is ~75Ohm for max light output.

Once connected, all the LED will light up moderately as lower current pass thru the bigger resistor, but when brake is activated, the smaller value resistor open the flood gate of higher current to rush in Maximising the light output...

http://img483.imageshack.us/img483/5008/ledbrakelight0uw.jpg

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

NEO LED ORDER LIST

2. doktor des - 10 pcs Amber ($10)

3. MC28 16 pieces Amber ($16)

Total Amber LEDs: 36

Might anyone of you be kind enough to post a circuit diagram for Signals?

Eg: 6 Superflux LEDs per side + the resistor..

nEo: if i connect 6 of ur LEDs in series, what is the resistor value which i would need inorder for the LEDs to perform at it's optimal..

each LED has a voltage drop of 3V+ if you put 6 in series, each one at most will get 2V or less... your bike batt only 12V.

So you gotta connect 3 in series then another 3 in series, connect them parallel... like the above Brake light connection... MINUS the biger value resistor.

Consider you LED each takes 3.5V , total = 10.5V

Depending on your LED, 20mA of current is needed.

Voltage = Current x Resistor. (Vol drop across Resistor is 12V - 10.5V)

So Resistor = 1.5V / 0.02 = 75Ohm.

Power rating = Current x Voltage = 0.03W (meaning a 1/4W resistor can handle this curcuit)

check here My Webpage

You can buy ONE Resistor and connect all the +ve side to it... but be warn if anything happens to the LONE resistor, everything fails. Worst if during a short curcuit all the LED will BURN in one swift action.

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Limsteel > You can connect 4 in series actually.

MC28 > You cannot connect 6 in series, because each LED draws 2.5volts, 6 will require more than 15volts to run.

Optimum is 4 LEDs. PLease take out your secondary school textbooks if you don't understand below

I = 70mA

Vf = 2.5V

Vin = 14volts (Maximum for motorcycles)

R = V / I = 14 - 10 / 0.070

= 57.14ohms

750ohms, you're gonna get a very dim brakelight. These are higher powered LEDs, not those 10mA "normal" ones :D

Alittle more detailed info for the above suggession.

P = I V = 0.07 X 4

So get at least 1/2 watt resistors.

Hope this helps in your LED designs! :D

Depend on the LED specs.. My LED min is 3.0V (Max at 3.8V) and requires only 20mA to function at max output. So I took 3.5V as a convenient figure to calculate.

Oh yea, you can sub all the spec of your LED into my Excel calculator. get the resistor value and power rating

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Threw away my textbooks long time ago... :lol:

Maybe i will just squeeze 4 into a signal then..Thanks for the help..