What 4T best supported?  

429 members have voted

1. 1. What 4T best supported?

• Replies 763

Motul :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg
Guest imported_Ah_Ben
Originally posted by sabbaha@Oct 31 2006, 12:38 PM

Used to use Motul..but after using Maxima Ultra..it is much much better! :smile:

try 300v...

motul :thumb:

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

I personally tried Maxima, and i'm currently still using Maxima... But intend to switch back to Motul... I feel Maxima is as gd... But... Very 'Leh Chey'... Coz hav to change EO when milege reached 3 to 4k km... Whereas Motul can last till 5k km... and its nt dat rough after 3k km...

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg

Using Maxima Extra now. Reaching 5000km but still going strong (no rough or anything). Previously tried Esso, used less then 1000km i can feel the roughness liao. :thumb: Maxima

how bout castrol r4 or power1??? i have been using it for 1 yr liao... haven try other b4.. so don really know hows good is castrol

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

Originally posted by Flaky_Boi@Oct 31 2006, 07:32 PM

I personally tried Maxima, and i'm currently still using Maxima... But intend to switch back to Motul... I feel Maxima is as gd... But... Very 'Leh Chey'... Coz hav to change EO when milege reached 3 to 4k km... Whereas Motul can last till 5k km... and its nt dat rough after 3k km...

Maxima, to borrow a tagline from Yokohama Advan tyres, "Not for everyone"! Those who use the right grade of Maxima for their bike and ride sufficiently long and hard will find that it stay smooth well into 5k even with hard track usage.

Originally posted by ANR Impex@Nov 1 2006, 12:35 AM

Maxima, to borrow a tagline from Yokohama Advan tyres, "Not for everyone"! Those who use the right grade of Maxima for their bike and ride sufficiently long and hard will find that it stay smooth well into 5k even with track usage.

So what type of Maxima EO would you recommend for a Super 4 bike? The Maxima Ultra or the Maxima Extra? Well let's just say we want endurance wise... eg having a smooth ride till 5k km or more?

http://www.mypixshare.com/images/4482/5378/00000004.jpg

total 15w50 .....every 3000-3500km i just change it with STP engine oil treatment... cos i budget budget ... :sweat:

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k175/des_child75/signature/watermark.jpg

Ink and Needles is where i feels my pain...I am a 60km/h rider so don't horn at me ... ...

MOTUL Double Ester Factory line, 15W 50...... :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: up!

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

Burt Munro, The World's FASTEST INDIAN 1967

Originally posted by juhzac@Nov 1 2006, 12:48 AM

So what type of Maxima EO would you recommend for a Super 4 bike? The Maxima Ultra or the Maxima Extra? Well let's just say we want endurance wise... eg having a smooth ride till 5k km or more?

Use Maxima Extra... Maxima ultra is thinner than Extra thus it's not as good...

NSR150SP -> Wave 125S ->CB400Spec II -> R607 -> DRZ400SM -> CB400Spec II -> Ducati Monster 400 -> Suzuki Swift/Gilera ST200 -> Colt Version R -> Jazz GD1 -> ???

Maxima Extra 15w50 :thumb: :thumb:

http://files.conceptcarz.com/img/mitsuoka/le-seyde%20a%20type%202.0.jpg

Sometimes

We just don't appreciate those people who really care for us

Until they leave us

Until we lose them

Then we regret

Outer beauty doesn't matter; it's the inner one that counts

It's better to tell someone how much you love them

Originally posted by hanzi24@Nov 5 2006, 09:56 AM

Thinner EO doesnt means its nt as gd.... :smile:

i tried maxima very lasting, this time round i try using elf. very smooth n solid. cheaper than maxima too. full syn.

Honda NSR 150 SP - May'04 to July'05

Honda Wave S 125 - July'05 to March'06

Honda CB400 Vtec - March'06 to March'08

Originally posted by Flaky_Boi@Nov 5 2006, 03:14 PM

Thinner EO doesnt means its nt as gd.... :smile:

ooo... ok... im just quoting what the mechanic to me... so i believe him lor... :sweat:

NSR150SP -> Wave 125S ->CB400Spec II -> R607 -> DRZ400SM -> CB400Spec II -> Ducati Monster 400 -> Suzuki Swift/Gilera ST200 -> Colt Version R -> Jazz GD1 -> ???

Originally posted by hanzi24@Nov 5 2006, 09:52 PM

ooo... ok... im just quoting what the mechanic to me... so i believe him lor... :sweat:

U cant say gd or no gd regardin dis... There's a purpose for using diff types of EO... If like wad ur mechanic says, y dun they stop selling thinner EO like mineral oil totally...?

All i can say is, diff ppl gt diff preference.... :smile:

Originally posted by hanzi24@Nov 5 2006, 09:56 AM

Yup just changed to Maxima Extra.... shoiks! Can feel the difference, smoother ride, smoother gear changing.... But i noticed the engine sound on idle is louder.... But Maxima rocks! Recommended.... macam i work for maxima like that..... haha!

http://www.mypixshare.com/images/4482/5378/00000004.jpg
Originally posted by hanzi24@Nov 5 2006, 09:52 PM

Thin oil favours high rpm power, engine and shifting smoothness. Thick oil favours lower rpm smoothness, quietness and shifting. The gearbox design can also be a contributing factor to which oil viscosity works best. In general, super4 seems to work great with a wide range of viscosity, mostly depending on user preference and riding style (high or low rpm). As for mechanic, they can only give you a generalised view of things, you have to try it out yourself and find your own preference.

The Ultra is the top end product with a superior base oil ester to Extra. The special ester is extra tough and temperature stable, hence allowing a thinner oil without sacrificing durability. It is meant for the most demanding applications, including turbocharged engines. If thicker is the solution to performance, we'll all be running 20W60 oils.

Wao... tough choice... i dunno pick which ultimate oil for my future bikes. But maybe I would share the experience i had form the use in some of the oils in this vote.

I have tried 5 of the mentioned brands since my first ride on a 4 stroke machine.

Very old CBR400RR-J :-

I had bad experience with castrol. Great and smooth on the fresh change. But to my surprise, within the 3rd day, it felt like a 4000km mileage oil. Flushed it out immediately and tried motul. Heavily commuting both in VERY high revs and traffic stuck conditions, it manages to stay consistent and maintains the same "viscosity feeling" throughout 5000km. But can really feel a tad of "heaviness" in the oil.

2000 R1 :-

Silkolene feels really consistent and virtually last up till 7~8k mileage. I was using the 15W~50, and this riding feel that it last very long indeed.

Tried Maxima once (thinner oil .. can't remember the viscousity). Immediately, I can feel the difference. With an almost 90k mileage engine, the maxima felt very much noiser. But the GOOD part is, its much smoother into the high revs and slightly lowered engine running temperature. i dunno whats the numerical difference, but it did felt cooler. Gearshifts feels alot more silky rather than the sticky/cushioned feeling from sikolene. Not an issue to me but, i would love up/downshifts to be fast n silky when my tacho needle is somewhwere int he clock's 1st quadrant.

VFR 2003 :-

All along using sikolene as its stable, last damn long, consistent. So consistent that before and after and oil change, i don't feel any difference though. And i ride my VFR very relak one. The high revs also not very high as compared to the sport machines.

I used Maxima 15W50 whjen once asked to be a guinea pig :smile: It felt smoooher a little bit. Consistency and mileage it can cover is almost comparable to the sikolene. but once i tried maxima thinner oils on it, i ssem to have not as good gear shifts, especially down & to neutral. After changing back to thicker oil. I am a happy man.

2006 R6 :-

With experience from the R1 and friend's bike who uses a thinner oil, I went for maxima, and a lower visc 5W50. Silky smooth once its passd about the 1k mileage. shiftings were very positive. Very constant high revs in NS highway + high revs with intense gear change on the track gave me bright smile. It remained well reving, and consistent till abt the 4~5k mark before it went "coarse" feeling. Temp wise, i cannot comment. The R6 is so hot that i can't tell from feeling. :giddy:

Next change i did with 5W40. Fantastic.!.. thinner.. yet I loved it more. But with stuck in lights kinda traffic, it feels thin out.. dunno why. But my temps reading almost 105deg liaos!!. With this visc in, i rode very little commuting, but almost max revs in m'sia. Surprisingly it lasted till almost 6k++ before its got the "time to change ME" indication while riding. Should thins oils need to rev hard to get it going and prolonged? i wunder... :confused:

I would reckon myself to go for thinner oils if I am constantly revvyyy. As for which brand(of the same low visc), i have no comments as the R6 have been fed with Maxima. Pose no problems so far. low visc gives smooth, slick, fast gear shifts, exactly what i want to have in a high revving, quickshift situations. Somemore it maintains stability and lasted quite a while considering always at ridiculous revs..i think i got the most out of the 2.5liters man. :cheer:

Low revs, relak riding with cushy slicky shift is what i prefer and think i would pick a thicker oil. Last longer anwyays.... sikolene and maxima the thick category.. i'll anyone one man!

I happen to read up this article, http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/guide/story/0...,116836,00.html on the newpaper (electric version) thickness of oil only, dunt 100% determine wear n tear to engine. The labs test shows oil quality itself is the secondary factor to protection/wear rate. The oil I am using for my R6 now is one of the top 4 contenders in the test... So why not? I'll probably stick to Maxima for this high revving baby till someone unveils another fluid to convince me. :sweat: somemore the last part mention more BHP leh... ok mah..

I think ultimately is to identify which type of riding holds a higher percentage in the amount of KMs you spend on your baby. Then you can choose which visc to try out, followed the different brands of the same visc.

Take heed in what you hear, percieve deep in what you see, decide finally on what you feel from using it.

Ride hard & safe...