welcome back. u kidding about the XR right? If u want a proper scrambler to play track (jump around a bit), u min need at least a long fork tall model scrambler. Go for the WR. power good, fc good, light and affordable.

XR is for transport and light trails. good luck searching.

hi,nope! xr can jump 2. xlr/dr more 4 transport.

2 many internet racers and not enough real racers in s g!

• Replies 135

hi,sev. welcome back! xr 200 (plastic tank) or xlr 200 (metal tank) ? wr 200 or any other bike on the market,u have 2 juz find the rite 1. but most wr would require some work done cos the bikes so old already

hi, just back from Malaysia. too much traveling, very tiring.

came back and realized the petrol price go up again, wtf....

it was a XR with plastic tank, the tank quite small though.

now it is really tough time for me to get a extra bike.

the petrol price keeps on rising, need more money to feed my car, sian...

work so hard and yet can keep up with the shitty inflation.... :angry:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

so in summary , wats recommended then ?:

Budget 2-3k

Purpose: trail, off road, maybe track later on

Scrammie xperience: zero

height: 1.65-1.7m

Xr4 was highly recommended .good for transport n trail. slightly heavier, tall, good FC, 4 stroke good for power slide.got power.

KTM200 no good for transport but great for trail..Shorty forks good for shoter riders. power.

wr200 2 stroke. power but spares gettin hard to find. much older bike so must choose carefully a good condition one. cheap. more for trails also

1995 Rd135 (3months);1995-1997 Kawa K100 97-00 Honda Steed cool black;00-02 Suzuki Swift

02-05 Ford Focus;05-07 Nissan Sucky

07- Camry;jan 08 -feb 08 KRR ;feb 08-apr08 -- Cbr400 J model ;

mar08 - sept 08 Cbr400 R model ; may08 -oct08 KTM200; oct 08 - feb09 XR4 ; feb09-apr10 gixxer 750 Apr09 -June10 DR650;apr10-aug 10 Africa Twin; sep 10- current fazer 1k....Jan-13 FortyEight

hi,sev,ninjalite.

i would say the honda xr 200(platic tank) or the honda 400 would be the best choice 4 u guys. boon siew still have parts 4 these models. they will serve u well! juz got 2 check the tanks 2 ensure no cracks in the plastic. top end job is cheaper than a multi cylinder bike n so is the insurance 4 u guys! budget however is higher than the 2 -3 k range 4 the 400.

the 400 can be use 4 transport 4 work/play on weekends. car use at nite or on rainy days n dat would help 2 lower the cost.

yp dats gud news... my cbr400 top servicin starts from $120,,,, each shim abt $12 -15...n ther r 12 *^&*%^ shims....haha

viewin some XR4 tomolo ....hope to able get a gud one...

1995 Rd135 (3months);1995-1997 Kawa K100 97-00 Honda Steed cool black;00-02 Suzuki Swift

mar08 - sept 08 Cbr400 R model ; may08 -oct08 KTM200; oct 08 - feb09 XR4 ; feb09-apr10 gixxer 750 Apr09 -June10 DR650;apr10-aug 10 Africa Twin; sep 10- current fazer 1k....Jan-13 FortyEight

lol ur siggy. Nissan sucky. my sentiments exactly. nice, going to have many bikes and got camry too! when i grow up, i wanna be just like u. IDOL~~~~

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

how i wish i can ride to work.

need to wear formal and need to meet customer too.

can't really ride bike to work, may be possible on casual wear Friday.

NinjaLite,

I rode my fren's XR400 before, quite ok power. good torque. exhaust sounds better as well, haha.

but i'm nt getting a 2a bike, insurance and rd rax is higher. i only use bike as weekend ride, so going to get something as low cost as possible.

airtime,

thanks for your advise.

I think i also prefer honda than yamaha.

will start sourcing for a good xr200.

huh?? got cars n bikes r liabilities.. must learn from others who got lots of condos n landed properties..those r assets...

like sev, i oni get cheaper bikes to satisfy d passion ..if can afford..i wld hv gotten d K8 n KTM RC 8 liao..haha

lol ur siggy. Nissan sucky. my sentiments exactly. nice, going to have many bikes and got camry too! when i grow up, i wanna be just like u. IDOL~~~~

hmm make sense...it wil b wkend bike to mi too..so i shd get a ktm200...think ah d orange color n design is stuck on on my mind

how i wish i can ride to work.

need to wear formal and need to meet customer too.

can't really ride bike to work, may be possible on casual wear Friday.

NinjaLite,

I rode my fren's XR400 before, quite ok power. good torque. exhaust sounds better as well, haha.

but i'm nt getting a 2a bike, insurance and rd rax is higher. i only use bike as weekend ride, so going to get something as low cost as possible.

airtime,

thanks for your advise.

I think i also prefer honda than yamaha.

will start sourcing for a good xr200.

zyro..so its u ....yesterday i came home havin made up my mind to view ur ktm but saw u sold areadi..i was so sad....

so today went to view n book 1 ktm200 from other forumer...

oh not kealso...bot from Monedine..orange ktm...

dreamin of orange tonite:D

zyro. zyrofillica. haha not obvious meh? which ktm u booked? the 3.6k kealso one really looks tempting lol

going US for 5 months. when i come back will look for a proper long fork ktm do go track and trail. no choice sell now, dun want to let her rust for months and come back only to discover she kena stolen!

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

hey, dun scare mi la... i buyin today...

better buy more locks n chains n alarm n two Alsatians...in dat case...

went ubi last saturday.

planet motor no scrambler, ASP got one black xr400.

no xr200 in sign.

not in hurry, so will continue look for a good one.

ninjalite, take some photo of you rnew ride and show us. ktm2 is a damn good looking bike.

yaya..veri nice lookin... but d ride is a bit bumpy n kinda slow on d road compare to my fireblade...stil not used to it..no speedo also haha...

i go now n fix some lites..

yaya..veri nice lookin... but d ride is a bit bumpy n kinda slow on d road compare to my fireblade...stil not used to it..no speedo also haha...

i go now n fix some lites..

hi,take yr time 2 get used 2 the bike, esp in the corners as there isn't much weight on the front end compare 2 a sports bike. don't hurry! :)

yup... but prob oni ride on wkend... my sx pipe not veri legal i think..scared..

mayb shd change back to original pipe...

sigh..shop say my front suspensions not inverted type...is ther a lot of $ difference btw d older forks vs inverted ?

yup... but prob oni ride on wkend... my sx pipe not veri legal i think..scared..

mayb shd change back to original pipe...

sigh..shop say my front suspensions not inverted type...is ther a lot of $ difference btw d older forks vs inverted ?

There is nothing wrong with conventional forks. Marzocchi or WP (I'm assuming yours are one of these) conventionals are decent front ends. I personally prefer conventional forks on trails, as these flex a little more, and are more supple, compared to the very stiff and rather harsh inverted forks.

Come, let's hit the dirt. Have laid off far too long liao, due to lack of other uncles on the trails. :angel:

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

There is nothing wrong with conventional forks. Marzocchi or WP (I'm assuming yours are one of these) conventionals are decent front ends. I personally prefer conventional forks on trails, as these flex a little more, and are more supple, compared to the very stiff and rather harsh inverted forks.

Agree...

conventional forks are fine... and they leak much less

KTM2 is a fun machine... enjoy her while you can :D

miss the sales of a $800 xr200 on slackriders.com...

it was posted on 24 May, what a waste... :(

so cheap, even it needs a full engine restore still worth the price.

Pang scooter shop say he got few wr waitin for rebuild....

hey happy to hear dat ..mine is WP forks...

so i wil get d basic protective gears n join guys for trail

ya bro Uly, do take out ur bike for trail ....

any activity sms mi 82880070

miss the sales of a $800 xr200 on slackriders.com...

it was posted on 24 May, what a waste... :(

so cheap, even it needs a full engine restore still worth the price.

hi,sev! juz saw a xr 200 at projekt revolution! don know if its 4 sale or not! but maybe u can drop them aline 2 ask? tel 68421907 :)