the easiest way to see if it is UG2 or UG3, just look at the cockpit. if you see 2 analog meter means its a UG2. if digital meter = UG3.

anyway now they dont have any 2nd hand pulsar dont means they wont have it when you pass. likewise, even if they have it now, dont means it will still be there when you pass. when you pass your tp already, try going down or call UM again. if all else fail, look for Nemesis.. he always will post who and who want to sell their pulsar. he's like a part time sale man in UM. :lol:

insurance pricing is weird nowadays. i seen on BBDC thread, insurance for kup also can go as high as 1k+. :giddy:

Oh okok, thanks.. I'll keep a look out and hopefully when I pass TP, I'll manage to find a bike :)

Hi Nemesis :p lol

umpl is currently selling a black pulsar180 for $2500 machine i believe. i viewed it last week. very good condition, start up on first time with healthy engine sound :)

don't know if its still the same one.. so take this with a big pinch of salt!

Hi Wavy, yup i checked out the link.. just didnt know how much it was going for.. so normally for 2nd hand bike if the bike already is $2500.. how do i go abt transferring it to my name? from scratch?

and do I have to pay the seller $2500 cash? That doesnt nvolve the insurance right? So after I buy the bike from seller, then I go apply for 1st party insurance possibly from AXA? Is that all? Anything else I need to do?

Sorry people, I have got absolutely nooo clue as to how one buys 1st hand or 2nd hand bikes/cars and the whole process :( Apologies for the nob questions

Oh okok, thanks.. I'll keep a look out and hopefully when I pass TP, I'll manage to find a bike :)

Waaahhhh!!! Say hi to Nemesis only huh????

:gun: ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ :bouncefire:

Hahaha.. but i said Hi to u on sms :p

ok lah.. Hello everyone.. im in dire need of knowledge about bike buying.. plz help me. yes yes i m super noob :D

yes, u may want to consider changing fork oil, and adding more oil in if im not wrong is 200ml, per fork. try asking the mech to add 50ml more.

Go back UM to check. try give jackie to check. if it still the same.... look for michael.

Will try to find jackie when i can go down again. If all else fail then change fork oil to 250ml/fork.

Hiiii...... SuV...... Lol....

Better to be Late then Never....

It's Your Choice : LATE / NEVER

Class 2A - 01 Dec 2009

Hahaha.. but i said Hi to u on sms :p

ok lah.. Hello everyone.. im in dire need of knowledge about bike buying.. plz help me. yes yes i m super noob :D

Hi intro le....

Hi Wavy, yup i checked out the link.. just didnt know how much it was going for.. so normally for 2nd hand bike if the bike already is $2500.. how do i go abt transferring it to my name? from scratch?

and do I have to pay the seller $2500 cash? That doesnt nvolve the insurance right? So after I buy the bike from seller, then I go apply for 1st party insurance possibly from AXA? Is that all? Anything else I need to do?

Sorry people, I have got absolutely nooo clue as to how one buys 1st hand or 2nd hand bikes/cars and the whole process :( Apologies for the nob questions

if you see properly, that link... it was posted by UM, so if you buy via motorshop, usually you can ask for machine price or OTR (on the road) price. transfer fee, insurance, road tax etc are all included inside. just pay the money, they will do the work for you.

if you buy from private owner, you can pay him full cash or find a bike shop for reloan. then you need to go to LTA office at Sin Ming to do the paper work. then find an insurance company yourself. i think should be like this la... i never brought from private owner before too. :p

肥仔七åƒå·

hi.. welcome to Singapore Bajaj team. Any enquiry, feel free to contact me at 8288 8807.

Regardless of race,religion and gender.

We sworn to our duty and honour.

We carry out our duty as a team and not indivdual.

We protect the Honour and interest of the TEAM.

Because,

We are all BIKERS

Will try to find jackie when i can go down again. If all else fail then change fork oil to 250ml/fork.

Hiiii...... SuV...... Lol....

change of plan... call me

Because,

We are all BIKERS

All Pulsarian,,

This coming sat is the first MONTHLY MEETUP for our Team. those who can make it, please meet at Kallang KFC at 930pm. For this time we onli stick to kallang kfc, as time go, we will plan some other place, but meeting point will be still at kallang KFC.

those coming please put ur nick now.

1) NEmesis_5k

Because,

We are all BIKERS

HQ calling ROADRUNNER..... HQ calling RoadRunner....

RoadRunner.... status ? MIA, KIA or VMO ?

Because,

We are all BIKERS

i have not purchased from shops. you better ask properly to avoid 'surprise' costs. shop usually quote machine price as the other costs are dependant on rider age and type of insurance etc.

don't quote me on this, but my recently check for only 3rd party insurance was about $320+ for a 29yo. if 2nd party (or 3rd party + fire and theft) will have to add about $100+ more. these estimates are for my honda wave 125.

also, i compared axa, ntuc income and one other insurance.. forgot which one. ntuc income quoted me the quickest and cheapest. you might want to check that out. call first to handle all admin stuff over the phone and you don't have to spent time queueing at the branch, just walk in and pay, less than 10 mins.

im currently hunting for a pulsar too.. but still can't decide on buying new or 2nd hand :(

Im new here so I'd just like to say hello and intro myself for a bit. Im 21, female taking TP at SSDC next week.

I have looked around and read the threads and I've decided to buy myself a Bajaj 180. Since Im unable to purchase it 2nd hand, I'll have to go ahead with buying it first hand at UM..

However, I know nuts about bikes apart from basic stuff and I got no clue as to what to check when I do go and see a bike. Or do I just go see the bike and agree to buy it? :S ?

Also, how much cash do I need to come up with for the downpayment, different insurance schemes, carpark at HDB, monthly payments, petrol and other misc costs, if any?

Say I travel 30km per day, 6 days a week.. that makes it 720km per month.. assuming I can travel 45km per L of fuel, I need about 16L of fuel per month.. Is that how I calculate? So how much wld all these expenses add up to approximately?

Would anyone be able to explain and possibly do a breakdown of the cost for me so atleast I m well prepared for a bike before I buy it..

if first hand, it's good already. just need to run in properly that's all. if you not confident on the first hand price, you can get a second hand one perhaps. for me, i just bought one from universal motors so i can roughly tell u the pricing for ya. when you wanna buy your pulsar, get someone experienced to tag along with you. i'm sure any of us will be nice enough to help you on this.

if buying at UM, downpayment is $1000. Insurance for me is $700. 3rd party + fire & theft. 21 years old. P-plater also. season parking is $15-$17/mth. Mthly payment depend on how much you buy and how long you wanna pay. just remember the longer the installments is, the higher the interests are.

if you think you will travel 720km in 1 mth, good for you. 1 full tank can last you almost a month. provided you are riding conservatively.

if you want an example breakdown of cost, this is mine. Down $1.2k. $170 for 18 mths. and that's for 2nd hand pulsar. about $60 of petrol but that one also in JB top up. i heavy traveller la. hehe.. 1 mth can run about 2000km. so i just spend about $250 every mth on bike stuff. not forgetting changing engine oil every mth. very important for me.

lastly, you sure you want to stick with pulsar for a long time? lucky for me, i got a 2nd hand one. now, i itching to get the new R125 or RS125. haha.. if you interested, i can sell u mine. :D

when you pay the seller the fee agreed upon the bike, you two have to decide who pays for the paperwork, transfer of ownership and stuffs. the best thing is that you can scout for the best insurance policy for your bike. from 1st to 3rd. if you take installment from shop, must take 2nd party one.

anyway, second hand pulsar will range from 2.5k to 4k depending on the amount of COE left and model of pulsar. you must also think on your budget, if you wanna pay full cash or installment. this can help you decide on getting a 1st hand or 2nd hand pulsar.

All Pulsarian,,

This coming sat is the first MONTHLY MEETUP for our Team. those who can make it, please meet at Kallang KFC at 930pm. For this time we onli stick to kallang kfc, as time go, we will plan some other place, but meeting point will be still at kallang KFC.

1) NEmesis_5k

friday cannot?? i thought i wanna join if on friday!! working on saturday night la. haiz... last time wanna go, bike in workshop. now wanna go, saturday. sianz....

All Pulsarian,,

1) NEmesis_5k

Alamak sat working OT le. Cannot go le...

Hi :D :D :D :D :D

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg

if u get from direct owner..... plan with him when he can pass u the bike. than u do your insurance first and tell the insurance agent when u wanna start your insurance(is mostly the time u make the transfer at LTA). and the duration for your insurance is mostly till your bike inspection. than u must get a transfer form from LTA and make him sign.. and your particular, the fee i'm not sure.. around $20++ i tink.... than once finish u meet the guy and get your key than ride your bike and can start joining the monthly gathering.....

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
All Pulsarian,,

1) NEmesis_5k

2) Solar

Currently, testing on DIY cruise control for my next bike trip. Check it out at Cheap A** Throttle lock site.

Its only for highway when you are at Max gear, its work really well for a cheap soluation.

And for the DIY PVC camera stand also working well too. Currently, its a handle-bar mount so the captured video has a lot of movements in it,

left and right turning form handle-bar. Next project will be a DIY tank mount camera stand.

Will be posting photos on these projects soon, sorry lately a bit busy :cheeky: .

All Pulsarian,,

1) NEmesis_5k

i think i will be going to meet that guy that sell us the alarm instead. mine suddenly not working liao. :pity: :pity: :pity:

肥仔七åƒå·

as what Bruder wjyx said.

its better to get a second hand pulsar as u have a choice to sign up for third party insurance. if brand new u 'have' to sign up 'second' or 1st party. meaning more money lor...

as for $1,000 insurance, best u ask your fren to ask them again.. if Bro Wjyx

kena $600-$700 for his third party.. so yours should be $700-800 third party.

so most likely (not sure) its will be second party... and try to get AXA insurance.

its one of the lowest insurance. NTUC cut throat.

and yes, he also mention, ask yourself are u gonna Keep this bike for long

or u intend to do your class 2A.. if u have plan for class 2A, than i advice u be patient and get a second hand UG3...

anyway hor... Motorcycle COE has just increase hor.. now is 1.4k++

but 1600cc car COE drop to amazing $9k++... so Sis, get car can already.

Perodua Kelisa :D

Okok, thanks again GoofRider :D Car ex, besides, I have yet to book class 3 TP..let alone class 3 license! Just re-sat for my expired FTT and passed it on 3rd re-attempt.

Also, can I just ask whats 1st party insurance, 2nd party insurance n 3rd party insurance? Which is better? How to see which one I should get for myself?