Guest Bite1968
  foofrancis said:
Welcome back !!!

u would love the NSHW

• Replies 8.9k

• NinjaLite

• ChaoPuzzy1968

• redname

• lava

Guest Bite1968
  edwardlong said:
honestly i cannot see why that box would cost that much money.

:dot::dot::dot:

redname said:
a personal testimony from my army fren is tht he once has a truck (or might be trailer) whack right at the box, no damages, the box jus popped open cause of the impact

We dropped the v-strom during off-road more than 6 times...try it on your bike and see any damage. We get only scratches at the bottom. Many save money thru giving the slim GIVI side boxes. Seen 3 of them open top side and the content fly away. Before u buy it, u would wonder why it is so expensive. For long journey- it is worth it. My ice cream box put slippers and rain coat w rubberband on top. Going Camping tentage etc etc can tie to top wo using the box space meant for clothing which need to be waterproof.

  Bite1968 said:
We dropped the v-strom during off-road more than 6 times...try it on your bike and see any damage. We get only scratches at the bottom. Many save money thru giving the slim GIVI side boxes. Seen 3 of them open top side and the content fly away. Before u buy it, u would wonder why it is so expensive. For long journey- it is worth it. My ice cream box put slippers and rain coat w rubberband on top. Going Camping tentage etc etc can tie to top wo using the box space meant for clothing which need to be waterproof.

Yours is a plastic side boxes right? I am refering to the aluminium box that cost over a thousand bucks.

IMO the plastic box is stronger than the aluminium one from a aluminium fabricator point of view.

TA200 April 2008 - 16 Oct 2009

Dragstar XVS400 Classic 16 Oct 2009 -

1 John 4:10 (Amplified Bible)

10 In this is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation (the atoning sacrifice) for our sins.

  NinjaLite said:
halo boys n gals, hope everyone had enjoi d ride n makan session...

its

cheap petrol.... Praise GOD...great weather...thou on return trip it does look bit threatenin

miss d ST11 as markers ...:(....

next trip Bekuk Waterfall ....wif makan sessions enroute.... n hilite of d trip wif b ass riding by special request... :)

YK Thanks for organising the ride on Fri night. We had a great night.

Great ride, great food, great people - thanks to our Great God

Just a thought, sometimes its best to do a study (or read up on reviews) about these boxes (provided there is any). Though the plastic ones may look sturdier but what you want is one that can withstand a crash or to be able to provide a proper cushionin. The aluminium ones may be contructed such that they are soft enough to take majority of the impact, hence saving the rider and the bike?

My previous box was givi E21 (side box) on a super 4, during accident the box near tore into two. Now the one I have is a H&B and I only have the rear box when I crashed, the bike and myself was saved, and it was on a Fazer.

Romans 11:29 For the gifts and the calling of God is irrevocable.

  x_00_x said:
Just a thought, sometimes its best to do a study (or read up on reviews) about these boxes (provided there is any). Though the plastic ones may look sturdier but what you want is one that can withstand a crash or to be able to provide a proper cushionin. The aluminium ones may be contructed such that they are soft enough to take majority of the impact, hence saving the rider and the bike?

My previous box was givi E21 (side box) on a super 4, during accident the box near tore into two. Now the one I have is a H&B and I only have the rear box when I crashed, the bike and myself was saved, and it was on a Fazer.

Its true that aluminium can dampen impact by absorbing the force, but can you imagine what good it will be to the rider?

I feel that a very strong side box will help more if the bike should slide. Something like a crash bar.

It would definitely be good if there is a product review on this boxes.

10 In this is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation (the atoning sacrifice) for our sins.

better not to ask the shop unless the guys really is close to you. I am basing on real life testimony from some of my friends and myself lei. I got one friend who has his bike crashed along NSHW and his H&B side box literally flew off and rolled along the highway for a good distance. Yet its still good for use after that.

Edward, I am not saying the alum is definitely a better choice. But it does has its advantages. Cars are made of softer material nowadays because they realized that the force of impact should be absorb by the car and not the human body. Can you imagine how many newtons will go through you bones and veins upon impact? A material that can absorb as well as give a good amount of abrasion protection is the most ideal one. That is why people dont mine spending on helmets like Shoei or Arai. Hence for me, its H&B or some reputable brand that has truly being tested in real life.

  NinjaLite said:
next trip Bekuk Waterfall ....wif makan sessions enroute.... n hilite of d trip wif b ass riding by special request... :)

Bekuk Waterfall :thumb: ..... when ???

today is a better day than yesterday and the day before

  x_00_x said:
better not to ask the shop unless the guys really is close to you. I am basing on real life testimony from some of my friends and myself lei. I got one friend who has his bike crashed along NSHW and his H&B side box literally flew off and rolled along the highway for a good distance. Yet its still good for use after that.

Edward, I am not saying the alum is definitely a better choice. But it does has its advantages. Cars are made of softer material nowadays because they realized that the force of impact should be absorb by the car and not the human body. Can you imagine how many newtons will go through you bones and veins upon impact? A material that can absorb as well as give a good amount of abrasion protection is the most ideal one. That is why people dont mine spending on helmets like Shoei or Arai. Hence for me, its H&B or some reputable brand that has truly being tested in real life.

wat r the other reputable brands for boxes?

the alum ones r really priced too high for me. the plastic ones ard ard 300+, which is still acceptable to me

get a sports bike - no need box !!

KDX200/XLR200

XR250R/CBR400RR(N)

CBR900RR/ST1100/GL1500SE/ZX11R

R1/CBR1100RR/S4s/S4II/

CBR1000RR(repsol)/TA200/XLR200/Typhoon125/vxr200

S4III/FZ1s

one big round - back to 2B bike and now climbing up again !!

Guest Bite1968

I have seen a busa with boxes

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3645/3372209903_7a0258dd26.jpg?v=0

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3293/3372299741_c959c9d7f6.jpg?v=0

  redname said:
wat r the other reputable brands for boxes?

the alum ones r really priced too high for me. the plastic ones ard ard 300+, which is still acceptable to me

check the magazines ?? So far I am using H&B and I can assure you that it is a good investment. Sometimes its better to save up to get a better one that can last longer. My two cents worth of opinion lah :)

  redname said:
i might get the plastic one aft looking at the price of the metal ones.

abt half the price

Personally i use GIVI plastic box since 80s. i have used a GIVI E45 for abt 20 years. The box was tranfered from my old bike (Yamaha LC350) to my new bike (CG125) in 1992 (which i rode for 15 years before changing to CB750 in 2007) ..... no problemo.

i dun have any truck crashing onto my back and cannot compare the impact and durability of the GIVI box vs Aluminum box.... thank GOD :) :angel:

i think the rule of the thumb is that if you take care of your box; it will serve you well for years ..... in my case 20 years :thumb::thumb::thumb:

Edited by EddyMeng

  EddyMeng said:
Personally i use GIVI plastic box since 80s. i have used a GIVI E45 for abt 20 years. The box was tranfered from my old bike (Yamaha LC350) to my new bike (CG125) in 1992 (which i rode for 15 years before changing to CB750 in 2007) ..... no problemo. :

Another supporter of GIVI E45..i had my rear box dislodged from the rack on bumpy road. It drop and skidded ahead of my bike to a complete stop. All i did was just picking it up, mount back and continue riding. Before riding off, of course i got say "pai se" to the traffic jam caused by me behind me la...:sian:

Honda TA200 (Sep'04 - Dec'06)

HD RoadKing Classic(Dec'06 - Jul'13)

Yamaha RXZ (Jun'08 - Sep'09)

Yamaha Spark-Z (Sep'09 - Apr'13)

Subaru Impreza (Apr'13 - Now)

F650GS Dakar (Sep14 - Now)

  foofrancis said:

Coz no place to put box.

Except for the 1 greenish yellow back bird with the 2 side boxes which cost a bomb to ship.

It's usually not the bike, Check the Biker

Guest Bite1968
  edwardlong said:
Yours is a plastic side boxes right? I am refering to the aluminium box that cost over a thousand bucks.

IMO the plastic box is stronger than the aluminium one from a aluminium fabricator point of view.

No, mine is the ice cream 38 litre boxes cost S$1200.

http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm61/veronicachay/Thailand/Betong%208-13Aug08/DSCF0091.jpg

http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm61/veronicachay/Thailand/3%20NCR%2019%20Oct%2008/DSCF0013.jpg

Edited by Bite1968
Guest Bite1968
  foofrancis said:

We 'saw' your bike @hatyai on thursday nite with boxes!!!o_Oo_Oo_O were u there????o_Oo_Oo_Oo_O

Guest Bite1968

The Hayabusa have H&B junior sides. around $900

38 litre ice cream box $1200

42 litre ice cream box $1500

  Bite1968 said:
We 'saw' your bike @hatyai on thursday nite with boxes!!!o_Oo_Oo_O were u there????o_Oo_Oo_Oo_O

no la...it cant be me or my bike.

as far as i know...i was in Sg, and so is my bike. or did someone put another bike under the cover???

Oh no, better go and check now !!

Byeeeeee

KDX200/XLR200

XR250R/CBR400RR(N)

R1/CBR1100RR/S4s/S4II/

S4III/FZ1s

  Bite1968 said:
u would love the NSHW

Oh i love it - probably gotta go and check the road conditions again soon.

hahahaha....

KDX200/XLR200

XR250R/CBR400RR(N)

R1/CBR1100RR/S4s/S4II/

S4III/FZ1s

  hoelwill said:
Another supporter of GIVI E45..i had my rear box dislodged from the rack on bumpy road. It drop and skidded ahead of my bike to a complete stop. All i did was just picking it up, mount back and continue riding. Before riding off, of course i got say "pai se" to the traffic jam caused by me behind me la...:sian:

Yes, plastic box is sufficient .....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/People/Vladimar%20Yarets/12copy.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/People/Vladimar%20Yarets/10copy-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/People/Vladimar%20Yarets/35copy.jpg

Yarets of Belarus has gone round the World in his BMW 650 GS with plastic boxes :cheeky:

  Bite1968 said:
No, mine is the ice cream 38 litre boxes cost S$1200.

http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm61/veronicachay/Thailand/Betong%208-13Aug08/DSCF0091.jpg

http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm61/veronicachay/Thailand/3%20NCR%2019%20Oct%2008/DSCF0013.jpg

Why did MC choose to pay $1200 alu box over the plastic ones? How did he come to the conclusion to pay for more?

Will the non original design box cause the bike to be unstable at higher speeds? Cause Stanley (the guy with the haya) ever told me once that its best to get factory original.

x_00_x said:

Why do you think i am selling aluminium boats and not plastic boats ? :angel:

Eddy is asking if i can manufacture aluminium box to sell in the bike market.

EddyMeng said:

Those boxes looks like suitcase....:cheers:

In the last picture...got someone look very familiar in the background. So scary.